DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations with the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to the Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware of, in the specification.
Status of Claims
The list of claims 1-6, 8-10 and 12-20 is pending. In the claim set filed 10/15/2025:
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10 and 12-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 8, 16 and 20 is/are the independent claim(s) observed in the instant application.
Claim(s) 7 and 11 has/have been cancelled.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-10 and 14-20 has/have been indicated as amended.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 12, 13 has/have been indicated as originally presented.
Response to Arguments
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 10/15/2025; the Applicant's “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered. The Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
With respect to the invocation(s) of U.S.C. § 112(f) claim(s) 1-6, 8-10 and 12-20, the Applicant’s “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered but are not entirely persuasive.
The Examiner has found the Applicant’s “Amendments and Remarks” regarding the invocation(s) of U.S.C. § 112(f) pertaining to the terms “a distance control mechanism” in claim(s) 1 and 20; “a messenger” in claim(s) 1, 8 and 20; “an update timer” in claim(s) 2 and 8; “a maneuver timing controller” in claim(s) 2 and 9; and “a monitor component” in claim(s) 14 as persuasive; therefore the above invocations of U.S.C. § 112(f) are withdrawn.
However, the Applicant has not amended claim 6 as with claim 14, and therefore, the Examiner has maintained the invocation of U.S.C. § 112(f) pertaining to the recitation of “a monitor component” in claim 6.
With respect to the objection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 9 and 10, the Applicant’s “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 9 and 10 has/have been withdrawn.
With respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 103, the Applicant’s “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection(s) of claim(s) the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 103 has/have been withdrawn.
With respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. § 101, the Applicant’s “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection(s) of claim(s) the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 has/have been withdrawn.
Office Note: Due to applicant’s amendments, further claim rejections appear on the record as stated in the Final Office Action below.
Final Office Action
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 8 is/are objected to because of the following minor informalities:
Claim(s) 1 contains the following grammatical issue: “A work machine constructed to discharge material through a chute of a discharge port at a moving discharge target in a coordinated maneuver during which the moving discharge target is movable but confined within a bounded area defined by bed of a haul truck, the work machine comprising:” Appropriate correction is required to instead recited “by a bed of a haul truck.”
Claim(s) 6 contains the following grammatical issue: “the work machine further comprising a display at an operator station thereof constructed to present the data generated by the monitor. component.:” Appropriate correction is required to instead recited “by the monitor. ”
Claim(s) 8 contains the following grammatical issue(s):
“the system comprising: a work machine comprising of the plurality of work machines” Appropriate correction is required to instead recited “the system comprising: a work machine comprising one of the plurality of work machines.”
“sensors constructed to generate respective signals by which a position of the work machine relative to another work machine of the plurality of work machines is indicated during the coordinated maneuver between the work machine and the another work machine,” Appropriate correction is required to instead recited “between the work machine and another work machine.”
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a monitor component constructed to generate data” in claim(s) 6.
Claim limitations: “a monitor component constructed to generate data” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder(s) such as “component” respectively coupled with functional language: without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
In the specification, the applicant describes the structure of the “monitor component” as follows: “ECM 460 may include a milling monitor component 466 to which data are provided including the aforementioned data generated by bed monitor 444,contact location sensor 446 and noncontact location sensor 448. Additionally, milling monitor component 466 may include data processing resources by which the performance of the coordinated maneuver is monitored, and controlled” [Specification; Fig. 4; ¶: 0041].
Prior to this paragraph, the Applicant describes the ECM as follows: “ECM 460 may be implemented through hardware or a combination of hardware and software to process data provided by functional components thereof and to provide data processing results that inform participants in the coordinated maneuver” [Specification; Fig. 4; ¶: 0035].
Therefore, the examiner has interpreted the “monitor component” as including but not limited to any combination of generic computing hardware and software that is configured to achieve the claim functionality, for example.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Missotten et al. (United States Patent Publication 2024/0302198 A1), referenced as Missotten moving forward.
With respect to claim 1, Missotten discloses:
“A work machine constructed to discharge material through a chute of a discharge port at a moving discharge target in a coordinated maneuver during which the moving discharge target is movable but confined within a bounded area defined by bed of a haul truck, the work machine comprising:” [Missotten; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Missotten discloses a work machine, denoted 202 in Fig. 2 for example, that discharges harvested material via a tube, denoted 212 in Fig. 2 for example, to a container, denoted 208 in Fig. 2 for example, attached to a tractor, denoted 210 in Fig. 2 for example. The disclosed container that is pulled by the tractor has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "bounded area defined by bed of a haul truck." Missotten further discloses that the container is moved in order to control the distribution of harvested crops in the container such that the height of crops harvested in the filled portion of the container does not exceed a threshold height; therefore, the location of filling within the container has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "moving discharge target;" Fig. 1, 2; ¶: 0105, 0108-0118];
“distance control mechanism circuitry constructed to select path information to a dwell location of a plurality of dwell locations of the coordinated maneuver for the moving discharge target in the bounded area defined by the bed of the haul truck” [Missotten; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Missotten discloses filling the cited container in "a “rear to front” filling process, wherein the unloading tube moves in a step-wise fashion from the rear of the container 308 to the front of the container (controlled by either a relative speed of the harvester 302 and container 308 and/or the position of the unloading tube 312). Missotten further discloses: "eventually a pile of the harvested crop 332 in the rear portion will exceed the threshold height and interrupt the radiation signal 326. As a result, the point of reflection 330 moves forward from the rear wall 338 to the pile of harvested crop 332, which in this example is 5 metres. The controller 324 determines the new propagation distance and outputs the fill-state accordingly." The cited "propagation distance(s)" has/have been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "plurality of dwell locations of the coordinated maneuver for the moving discharge target in the bounded area defined by the bed of the haul truck," and the cited "controller" has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "distance control mechanism circuitry;" Fig. 1-3; ¶: 0105, 0108-0118, 0124];
“sensors constructed to generate respective signals by which a position of a distal end of the chute of the discharge port relative to the bounded area defined by the bed of the haul truck is indicated during the coordinated maneuver” [Missotten; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Missotten discloses a tube position sensor, denoted 360 in Fig. 3 for example, for which Missotten discloses: "The controller 324 can receive the tube positioning data from a tube position sensor 360 positioned on the unloading tube 312. The controller 324 can further receive the harvester positioning data from one or more harvester position sensors (not shown) positioned on the harvesting machine. The controller 324 may estimate the position and/or orientation of the container 308 relative to the harvesting machine and/or unloading tube 312 (the positioning state) based on signals from the one or more harvester position sensors, the tube position sensor and the first and second position sensors 356, 358;" Fig. 3, ¶: 0126-0136];
“messenger circuitry constructed to indicate the selected path information for relocation of the bounded area defined by the bed of the haul truck relative to the distal end of the chute according to a next dwell location of the plurality of dwell locations” [Missotten; "As a rear portion of the container 308 (e.g., a portion within a predefined distance of the rear wall 338, such as within 1 metre) continues to receive harvested crop from the unloading tube 312, eventually a pile of the harvested crop 332 in the rear portion will exceed the threshold height and interrupt the radiation signal 326. As a result, the point of reflection 330 moves forward from the rear wall 338 to the pile of harvested crop 332, which in this example is 5 metres. The controller 324 determines the new propagation distance and outputs the fill-state accordingly. The controller 324 may output the fill-state and/or control signals to the truck/tractor and/or harvester (as described above) and the unloading position of the container 308 may be adjusted manually or automatically such that the unloading tube moves forward towards the front wall 336. The process may continue until the propagation distance indicates that a front portion of the container 308 is full (the pile of harvested crop 332 exceeds the threshold height at a portion of the container 308 within a predefined distance of the front wall). At this point, the controller 324 can output a fill-state indicating that the container 308 is completely full and requires replacement;" Fig. 3; ¶: 0124; See also: ¶: 0126-0136];
“control circuitry configured to output a control signal to the haul truck to control autonomous operation of the haul truck to move the moving discharge target in the bounded area defined by the bed of the haul truck relative to the distal end of the chute of the discharge port according to the coordinated maneuver and based on the selected path information indicated by the messenger circuitry” [Missotten; "The controller 324 may determine a portion of the container 308 being filled to be full or nearly full, based on the fill-state and the positioning state. For example, in a single laser transceiver system the fill-state may indicate that a first portion of the container 308 from 5 metres to 7 metres from the front of the container is full and a second portion from 0 meters to 5 metres is not full (i.e. the propagation distance is 5 metres indicating that the harvested crop 332 exceeds the threshold height (as illustrated)). Meanwhile, the positioning state may indicate that the unloading tube 312 is positioned at 5.5 metres from the front of the container 308, over the first portion (not as illustrated). The controller 224 may output the current filling status indicating that the harvested crop 332 exceeds the threshold height at the portion of the container currently being filled. In response, the controller 324 may determine a new unloading position for the container 308 or a new position and/or orientation of the container relative to the unloading tube 312 and/or harvesting machine. The controller 324 may output the new relative position/orientation to one or more agricultural vehicles, for example to the display unit of the tractor or harvesting machine. The controller 324 may output control signals to a control system of the agricultural vehicle for controlling the agricultural machine such that the new position/orientation is reached. Furthermore, if the current filling status indicates the portion of the container 308 being filed is not full, the controller 324 may continually monitor the fill-state and the position/orientation of the container 308 relative to the harvesting machine and/or unloading tube 312 and output the control signals to the harvesting machine and/or truck/tractor to maintain a constant relative position/orientation while a particular portion is being filled. This can advantageously avoid a drift in the relative position due to any relative motion of the harvesting machine and the truck/tractor. In this way, the controller 324 can monitor and automatically adjust a distance between the container 308 and the harvesting machine (based on the position state and the fill-state) thereby realising automatic filling of the container 308;" Fig. 3; ¶: 0134; See also: Fig. 2; ¶: 0029-0031, 0116, 0124, 0126-0133, 0135, 0136];
“wherein the dwell location corresponds to stopping of the moving discharge target relative to the distal end of the chute of the discharge port as part of a repeating pattern of moving and stopping the moving discharge target relative to the distal end of the discharge port for the coordinated maneuver” [Missotten; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Missotten discloses the following repeated sequence of control steps in order to harvest a field of crops: "a combine harvester makes use of an internal grain tank or hopper for storing grains during harvesting. Once full, the contents of the tank can be transferred into a grain cart by means of an unloading tube. The grain cart may comprise a truck or a trailer pulled by a tractor. Similarly, a forage harvester may continually transfer foraged crop as it is processed to an adjacent truck or trailer via an unloading tube. A plurality of trucks or trailers may be operated in rotation to provide continuous unloading capability to the harvesting machine. For example, when a first truck is full it may leave the side of the harvesting machine and drive to a delivery point. A second truck or trailer may replace the first truck beside the harvesting machine to provide continuous unloading. The first truck may return to the harvesting machine when the second truck is full or nearly full;" ¶: 0002; See also: Fig. 2, 3; ¶: 0101, 0124].
With respect to claim 5, Missotten discloses: “The work machine of claim 1, wherein the sensors include a noncontact location sensor constructed to generate a signal indicative of distance to the bounded area” [Missotten; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Missotten discloses that the crop container comprises one or more radiation sensors in the form of laser transceivers, denoted as 322 in Figure 3, for example, which have been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "noncontact location sensor;" See also: Fig. 3; ¶: 0067, 0121-0131].
With respect to claim 6, Missotten discloses: “The work machine of claim 1, wherein the sensors include a monitor component constructed to generate data by which activities at the moving discharge target are monitored, the work machine further comprising a display at an operator station thereof constructed to present the data generated by the monitor.” [Missotten; "In some examples, the controller 224 may output the fill-state as an indication signal for indicating the fill-state of the container to an operator, such as a driver of the tractor 210 (or truck) and/or the harvesting machine 202. The indication signal may be suitable for display on a display screen of the tractor 210 (or truck) and/or the harvesting machine 202. For example, the indication signal may be displayed as the propagation distance and/or a visual graphic representing the spatial distribution of the harvested crop 232 in the container 208. The indication signal may alternatively, or additionally, comprise a visible, audible or haptic indication or alert;" Fig. 2; ¶: 0108; See also: ¶: 0112-0114, 0143].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 8-10, 12-14, 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Missotten in view of DESAI et al. (United States Patent 2020/0319632 A1), referenced as Desai moving forward.
With respect to claim 2, while Missotten discloses: “and a maneuver timing control circuitry at an operator station thereof by which the signal parameters are modified to control performance of the coordinated maneuver in accordance with the state of the timing signal” [Missotten; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Missotten discloses: "The controller 324 may output the lateral position of the peak of the pile as part of the fill-state or as a separate signal. A lateral position of the unloading tube (a position in a direction perpendicular to the direction of travel of the harvesting machine and container 308) may be adjusted (automatically via control signals from the controller 324, or manually by an operator) such that the peak moves back towards the centreline 345 in response to the information in the fill-state;" ¶: 0130, wherein, the operator manually controlling the position of the container relative to the harvesting machine by adjusting the speed of the of the vehicle, has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited modified signal parameters to "control performance of the coordinated maneuver;" See also: ¶: 0102, 0108],
Missotten does not specifically state: “further comprising: an update timer circuitry constructed to generate a timing signal that is compliant with operator selectable signal parameters, the update timer circuitry being communicatively coupled to the messenger circuitry and constructed to change the messenger state in accordance with a state of the timing signal.”
Desai, which is in the same field of invention of control systems/methods to control work vehicles to perform cooperative maneuvers, teaches: “further comprising: an update timer circuitry constructed to generate a timing signal that is compliant with operator selectable signal parameters, the update timer circuitry being communicatively coupled to the messenger circuitry and constructed to change the messenger state in accordance with a state of the timing signal” [Desai; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Desai discloses controlling a plurality of autonomous grain carts, denoted as 72, 74, 76, 82 and 86 respectively in Fig. 5 for example, to transport material from a combine, denoted 10 in Fig. 5 for example, to a product storage tank, denoted 78 in Fig. 5 for example. Desai further discloses that the timing of this process is based "a current location of the unloaded grain cart 82, a current location of the combine 10, the harvesting map, the location of the agricultural product storage tank 78, the terrain along the route, the rate of unloading of the combine 10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural product storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof;" Fig. 5; ¶: 0041;
By monitoring the fill status of the respective autonomous grain carts, the combine and the product storage tank, Desai further discloses being able to predict a future position of the combine as well as the current amount of harvested crop in the current loading grain cart, such that " the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine the route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on the rate of unloading of the combine 10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), or a combination thereof, such that the controller of the loading grain cart 72 determines when and/or where the loading grain cart 72 will be loaded next, and determines a route that enables the loading grain cart 72 to arrive at the loading location at or before that time;" Fig. 5; ¶: 0040; See also: Fig. 3; ¶: 0034-0039, 0042, 0043, 0047-0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle as disclosed by Missotten to incorporate the teachings regarding implementing the functions of the receiving vehicle in an autonomous way by implementing predicted future locations of the respective work vehicles based on the operating parameters of the respective vehicles as taught by Desai with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle that “may reduce operator and vehicle costs. For example, replacing an operator-driven tractor that hauls a grain cart between an agricultural vehicle and an agricultural product storage tank with an autonomous grain cart may reduce operator costs,” while additionally increasing harvesting efficiency [Desai; ¶: 0019; See also: ¶: 0004, 0031, 0051].
With respect to claim 3, Missotten does not specifically state: “wherein the maneuver timing control circuitry is constructed to define the state of the timing signal through the signal parameters, the state of the timing signal including an activation state and a deactivation state that establish the messenger state.”
Desai teaches: “wherein the maneuver timing control circuitry is constructed to define the state of the timing signal through the signal parameters, the state of the timing signal including an activation state and a deactivation state that establish the messenger state” [Desai; Deasai further discloses: "The route 80 and/or the speed to travel may also be updated synchronously. For example, the controller of the loaded grain cart 76 may query the other grain carts as to their locations, statuses, or the like, for periodically (e.g., every second, every five seconds, every ten seconds, etc.). If there is an indication that the route 80 and/or speed to travel should be modified (e.g., a grain cart has stopped, has slowed, has a reduced turning radius, etc.), the controller of the loaded grain cart 76 may do so;" Fig. 3; ¶: 0041;
Based on the collected information, signals are sent between the respective communication devices, denoted 60 in Fig. 3 for example, which in conjunction with the controller, denoted 52 in Fig. 3 for example, enables to the system to coordinate travel of the respective autonomous grain carts in real time; See also: Fig. 5; ¶: 0034-0040, 0042, 0043, 0047-0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle as disclosed by Missotten to incorporate the teachings regarding implementing the functions of the receiving vehicle in an autonomous way by implementing predicted future locations of the respective work vehicles based on the operating parameters of the respective vehicles as taught by Desai with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle that “may reduce operator and vehicle costs. For example, replacing an operator-driven tractor that hauls a grain cart between an agricultural vehicle and an agricultural product storage tank with an autonomous grain cart may reduce operator costs,” while additionally increasing harvesting efficiency [Desai; ¶: 0019; See also: ¶: 0004, 0031, 0051].
With respect to claim 8, Missotten discloses:
“A system constructed to perform a coordinated maneuver among a plurality of work machines, the system comprising: a work machine comprising of the plurality of work machines including:” [Missotten; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Missotten discloses a control system and method for performing coordinated maneuvers between a harvesting machine, denoted as 402 in Fig. 4 for example, and a plurality of grain carts comprising a trailer pulled by a tractor, denoted as 408 and 410 respectively in Fig. 4 for example. The combination of the harvesting machine and tractor-trailer vehicle has been interpreted as patentably distinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "plurality of work machines." Furthermore, the disclosed harvesting machine has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "work machine," and the disclosed crop container has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "another/the other work machine;" Fig. 4; ¶: 0138];
“sensors constructed to generate respective signals by which a position of the work machine relative to another work machine of the plurality of work machines is indicated during the coordinated maneuver between the work machine and the another work machine” [Missotten; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Missotten discloses that the crop container comprises one or more radiation sensors in the form of laser transceivers, denoted as 322 in Figure 3, for example, which are configured to: "determine a range profile of the open-top crop container and the portion of the harvesting vehicle; estimate a position and/or orientation of the open-top crop container relative to the harvesting vehicle and/or an unloading tube of the harvesting vehicle, based on a position of the harvesting machine in the range profile; and output a positioning state representative of the relative position and/or orientation;" ¶: 0067; See also: Fig. 3; ¶: 0121-0131];
“where the other work machine traverses a trajectory over which the coordinated maneuver is performed, in response to an output of the messenger circuitry, as individual maneuver relocations and interposing dwell locations at which the other work machine is stationary relative to the work machine to relocate a discharge target within a bounded area defined by a receptacle of the other work machine” [Missotten; "The controller 324 may determine a portion of the container 308 being filled to be full or nearly full, based on the fill-state and the positioning state. For example, in a single laser transceiver system the fill-state may indicate that a first portion of the container 308 from 5 metres to 7 metres from the front of the container is full and a second portion from 0 meters to 5 metres is not full (i.e. the propagation distance is 5 metres indicating that the harvested crop 332 exceeds the threshold height (as illustrated)). Meanwhile, the positioning state may indicate that the unloading tube 312 is positioned at 5.5 metres from the front of the container 308, over the first portion (not as illustrated). The controller 224 may output the current filling status indicating that the harvested crop 332 exceeds the threshold height at the portion of the container currently being filled. In response, the controller 324 may determine a new unloading position for the container 308 or a new position and/or orientation of the container relative to the unloading tube 312 and/or harvesting machine. The controller 324 may output the new relative position/orientation to one or more agricultural vehicles, for example to the display unit of the tractor or harvesting machine. The controller 324 may output control signals to a control system of the agricultural vehicle for controlling the agricultural machine such that the new position/orientation is reached. Furthermore, if the current filling status indicates the portion of the container 308 being filed is not full, the controller 324 may continually monitor the fill-state and the position/orientation of the container 308 relative to the harvesting machine and/or unloading tube 312 and output the control signals to the harvesting machine and/or truck/tractor to maintain a constant relative position/orientation while a particular portion is being filled. This can advantageously avoid a drift in the relative position due to any relative motion of the harvesting machine and the truck/tractor. In this way, the controller 324 can monitor and automatically adjust a distance between the container 308 and the harvesting machine (based on the position state and the fill-state) thereby realising automatic filling of the container 308;" Fig. 3; ¶: 0134; See also: Fig. 2; ¶: 0029-0031, 0116, 0124, 0126-0133, 0135, 0136];
“and control circuitry configured to output a control signal to the other work machine to control autonomous operation of the other work machine to relocate the discharge target according to the individual maneuver relocations and interposing dwell locations” [Missotten; "The controller 324 may determine a portion of the container 308 being filled to be full or nearly full, based on the fill-state and the positioning state. For example, in a single laser transceiver system the fill-state may indicate that a first portion of the container 308 from 5 metres to 7 metres from the front of the container is full and a second portion from 0 meters to 5 metres is not full (i.e. the propagation distance is 5 metres indicating that the harvested crop 332 exceeds the threshold height (as illustrated)). Meanwhile, the positioning state may indicate that the unloading tube 312 is positioned at 5.5 metres from the front of the container 308, over the first portion (not as illustrated). The controller 224 may output the current filling status indicating that the harvested crop 332 exceeds the threshold height at the portion of the container currently being filled. In response, the controller 324 may determine a new unloading position for the container 308 or a new position and/or orientation of the container relative to the unloading tube 312 and/or harvesting machine. The controller 324 may output the new relative position/orientation to one or more agricultural vehicles, for example to the display unit of the tractor or harvesting machine. The controller 324 may output control signals to a control system of the agricultural vehicle for controlling the agricultural machine such that the new position/orientation is reached. Furthermore, if the current filling status indicates the portion of the container 308 being filed is not full, the controller 324 may continually monitor the fill-state and the position/orientation of the container 308 relative to the harvesting machine and/or unloading tube 312 and output the control signals to the harvesting machine and/or truck/tractor to maintain a constant relative position/orientation while a particular portion is being filled. This can advantageously avoid a drift in the relative position due to any relative motion of the harvesting machine and the truck/tractor. In this way, the controller 324 can monitor and automatically adjust a distance between the container 308 and the harvesting machine (based on the position state and the fill-state) thereby realising automatic filling of the container 308;" Fig. 3; ¶: 0134; See also: Fig. 2; ¶: 0029-0031, 0116, 0124, 0126-0133, 0135, 0136];
Missotten does not specifically state: “an update timer circuitry constructed to generate a timing signal that is compliant with operator selectable signal parameters; a messenger circuitry communicatively coupled to the update timer and constructed to change a messenger state in accordance with a state of the timing signal defined by the signal parameters.”
Desai teaches: “an update timer circuitry constructed to generate a timing signal that is compliant with operator selectable signal parameters; a messenger circuitry communicatively coupled to the update timer and constructed to change a messenger state in accordance with a state of the timing signal defined by the signal parameters” [Desai; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Desai discloses controlling a plurality of autonomous grain carts, denoted as 72, 74, 76, 82 and 86 respectively in Fig. 5 for example, to transport material from a combine, denoted 10 in Fig. 5 for example, to a product storage tank, denoted 78 in Fig. 5 for example. Desai further discloses that the timing of this process is based "a current location of the unloaded grain cart 82, a current location of the combine 10, the harvesting map, the location of the agricultural product storage tank 78, the terrain along the route, the rate of unloading of the combine 10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural product storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof;" Fig. 5; ¶: 0041;
By monitoring the fill status of the respective autonomous grain carts, the combine and the product storage tank, Desai further discloses being able to predict a future position of the combine as well as the current amount of harvested crop in the current loading grain cart, such that " the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine the route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on the rate of unloading of the combine 10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), or a combination thereof, such that the controller of the loading grain cart 72 determines when and/or where the loading grain cart 72 will be loaded next, and determines a route that enables the loading grain cart 72 to arrive at the loading location at or before that time;" Fig. 5; ¶: 0040; See also: Fig. 3; ¶: 0034-0039, 0042, 0043, 0047-0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle as disclosed by Missotten to incorporate the teachings regarding implementing the functions of the receiving vehicle in an autonomous way by implementing predicted future locations of the respective work vehicles based on the operating parameters of the respective vehicles as taught by Desai with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle that “may reduce operator and vehicle costs. For example, replacing an operator-driven tractor that hauls a grain cart between an agricultural vehicle and an agricultural product storage tank with an autonomous grain cart may reduce operator costs,” while additionally increasing harvesting efficiency [Desai; ¶: 0019; See also: ¶: 0004, 0031, 0051].
With respect to claim 9, Missotten discloses: “further comprising a maneuver timing control circuitry at an operator station thereof by which the signal parameters are modified to control performance of the coordinated maneuver” [Missotten; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Missotten discloses: "The controller 324 may output the lateral position of the peak of the pile as part of the fill-state or as a separate signal. A lateral position of the unloading tube (a position in a direction perpendicular to the direction of travel of the harvesting machine and container 308) may be adjusted (automatically via control signals from the controller 324, or manually by an operator) such that the peak moves back towards the centreline 345 in response to the information in the fill-state;" ¶: 0130, wherein, the operator manually controlling the position of the container relative to the harvesting machine by adjusting the speed of the of the vehicle, has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited modified signal parameters to "control performance of the coordinated maneuver;" See also: ¶: 0102, 0108].
With respect to claim 10, Missotten does not specifically state: “wherein the maneuver timing control circuitry is constructed to define the state of the timing signal through the signal parameters, the state of the timing signal including an activation state, and a deactivation state that establish the messenger state.”
Desai teaches: “wherein the maneuver timing control circuitry is constructed to define the state of the timing signal through the signal parameters, the state of the timing signal including an activation state, and a deactivation state that establish the messenger state” [Desai; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Desai discloses controlling a plurality of autonomous grain carts, denoted as 72, 74, 76, 82 and 86 respectively in Fig. 5 for example, to transport material from a combine, denoted 10 in Fig. 5 for example, to a product storage tank, denoted 78 in Fig. 5 for example. Desai further discloses that the timing of this process is based "a current location of the unloaded grain cart 82, a current location of the combine 10, the harvesting map, the location of the agricultural product storage tank 78, the terrain along the route, the rate of unloading of the combine 10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural product storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof;" Fig. 5; ¶: 0041;
By monitoring the fill status of the respective autonomous grain carts, the combine and the product storage tank, Desai further discloses being able to predict a future position of the combine as well as the current amount of harvested crop in the current loading grain cart, such that " the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine the route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on the rate of unloading of the combine 10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), or a combination thereof, such that the controller of the loading grain cart 72 determines when and/or where the loading grain cart 72 will be loaded next, and determines a route that enables the loading grain cart 72 to arrive at the loading location at or before that time;" Fig. 5; ¶: 0040;
Based on the collected information, signals are sent between the respective communication devices, denoted 60 in Fig. 3 for example, which in conjunction with the controller, denoted 52 in Fig. 3 for example, enables to the system to coordinate travel of the respective autonomous grain carts in real time; See also: Fig. 3; ¶: 0034-0039, 0042, 0043, 0047-0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle as disclosed by Missotten to incorporate the teachings regarding implementing the functions of the receiving vehicle in an autonomous way by implementing predicted future locations of the respective work vehicles based on the operating parameters of the respective vehicles as taught by Desai with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle that “may reduce operator and vehicle costs. For example, replacing an operator-driven tractor that hauls a grain cart between an agricultural vehicle and an agricultural product storage tank with an autonomous grain cart may reduce operator costs,” while additionally increasing harvesting efficiency [Desai; ¶: 0019; See also: ¶: 0004, 0031, 0051].
With respect to claim 13, Missotten discloses: “wherein the sensors include a noncontact location sensor constructed to generate a signal indicative of distance to a bounded area” [Missotten; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Missotten discloses that the crop container comprises one or more radiation sensors in the form of laser transceivers, denoted as 322 in Figure 3, for example, which have been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "noncontact location sensor;" See also: Fig. 3; ¶: 0067, 0121-0131].
With respect to claim 14, Missotten discloses: “wherein the sensors include a monitor constructed to generate data by which activities at the discharge target are monitored, the work machine further comprising a display at an operator station thereof constructed to present the data generated by the monitor” [Missotten; "In some examples, the controller 224 may output the fill-state as an indication signal for indicating the fill-state of the container to an operator, such as a driver of the tractor 210 (or truck) and/or the harvesting machine 202. The indication signal may be suitable for display on a display screen of the tractor 210 (or truck) and/or the harvesting machine 202. For example, the indication signal may be displayed as the propagation distance and/or a visual graphic representing the spatial distribution of the harvested crop 232 in the container 208. The indication signal may alternatively, or additionally, comprise a visible, audible or haptic indication or alert;" Fig. 2; ¶: 0108; See also: ¶: 0112-0114, 0143].
With respect to claim 16, Missotten discloses:
“A method of performing a coordinated maneuver among a plurality of work machines comprising:” [Missotten; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Missotten discloses a control system and method for performing coordinated maneuvers between a harvesting machine, denoted as 402 in Fig. 4 for example, and a plurality of grain carts comprising a trailer pulled by a tractor, denoted as 408 and 410 respectively in Fig. 4 for example. The combination of the harvesting machine and tractor-trailer vehicle has been interpreted as patentably distinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "plurality of work machines." Furthermore, the disclosed harvesting machine has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "first work machine of the plurality of work machines," and the disclosed crop container has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "second work machine of the plurality of work machines;" Fig. 4; ¶: 0138];
“propelling a second work machine of the plurality of work machines to follow a trajectory over which the coordinated maneuver is performed, in response to the messenger circuitry, as individual maneuver relocations and interposing dwell locations at which the second work machine is stationary relative to a discharge source of material to be discharged towards a discharge target defined by a bounded receptacle of the second work machine” [Missotten; "The controller 324 may determine a portion of the container 308 being filled to be full or nearly full, based on the fill-state and the positioning state. For example, in a single laser transceiver system the fill-state may indicate that a first portion of the container 308 from 5 metres to 7 metres from the front of the container is full and a second portion from 0 meters to 5 metres is not full (i.e. the propagation distance is 5 metres indicating that the harvested crop 332 exceeds the threshold height (as illustrated)). Meanwhile, the positioning state may indicate that the unloading tube 312 is positioned at 5.5 metres from the front of the container 308, over the first portion (not as illustrated). The controller 224 may output the current filling status indicating that the harvested crop 332 exceeds the threshold height at the portion of the container currently being filled. In response, the controller 324 may determine a new unloading position for the container 308 or a new position and/or orientation of the container relative to the unloading tube 312 and/or harvesting machine. The controller 324 may output the new relative position/orientation to one or more agricultural vehicles, for example to the display unit of the tractor or harvesting machine. The controller 324 may output control signals to a control system of the agricultural vehicle for controlling the agricultural machine such that the new position/orientation is reached. Furthermore, if the current filling status indicates the portion of the container 308 being filed is not full, the controller 324 may continually monitor the fill-state and the position/orientation of the container 308 relative to the harvesting machine and/or unloading tube 312 and output the control signals to the harvesting machine and/or truck/tractor to maintain a constant relative position/orientation while a particular portion is being filled. This can advantageously avoid a drift in the relative position due to any relative motion of the harvesting machine and the truck/tractor. In this way, the controller 324 can monitor and automatically adjust a distance between the container 308 and the harvesting machine (based on the position state and the fill-state) thereby realising automatic filling of the container 308;" Fig. 3; ¶: 0134; See also: Fig. 2; ¶: 0029-0031, 0116, 0124, 0126-0133, 0135, 0136];
“and selectively providing the material at the discharge target within the bounded receptacle of the second work machine relative to the first work machine from which the material is discharged according to the individual maneuver relocations and interposing dwell locations and coordinated maneuver between the first and second work machines according to the trajectory” [Missotten; "The controller 324 may determine a portion of the container 308 being filled to be full or nearly full, based on the fill-state and the positioning state. For example, in a single laser transceiver system the fill-state may indicate that a first portion of the container 308 from 5 metres to 7 metres from the front of the container is full and a second portion from 0 meters to 5 metres is not full (i.e. the propagation distance is 5 metres indicating that the harvested crop 332 exceeds the threshold height (as illustrated)). Meanwhile, the positioning state may indicate that the unloading tube 312 is positioned at 5.5 metres from the front of the container 308, over the first portion (not as illustrated). The controller 224 may output the current filling status indicating that the harvested crop 332 exceeds the threshold height at the portion of the container currently being filled. In response, the controller 324 may determine a new unloading position for the container 308 or a new position and/or orientation of the container relative to the unloading tube 312 and/or harvesting machine. The controller 324 may output the new relative position/orientation to one or more agricultural vehicles, for example to the display unit of the tractor or harvesting machine. The controller 324 may output control signals to a control system of the agricultural vehicle for controlling the agricultural machine such that the new position/orientation is reached. Furthermore, if the current filling status indicates the portion of the container 308 being filed is not full, the controller 324 may continually monitor the fill-state and the position/orientation of the container 308 relative to the harvesting machine and/or unloading tube 312 and output the control signals to the harvesting machine and/or truck/tractor to maintain a constant relative position/orientation while a particular portion is being filled. This can advantageously avoid a drift in the relative position due to any relative motion of the harvesting machine and the truck/tractor. In this way, the controller 324 can monitor and automatically adjust a distance between the container 308 and the harvesting machine (based on the position state and the fill-state) thereby realising automatic filling of the container 308;" Fig. 3; ¶: 0134; See also: Fig. 2; ¶: 0029-0031, 0116, 0124, 0126-0133, 0135, 0136];
Missotten does not specifically state:
“generating, at a first work machine of the plurality of work machines, a timing signal that is compliant with operator selectable signal parameters”
Or “activating, at the first work machine, a messenger circuitry in accordance with a state of the timing signal defined by the signal parameters, and deactivating, at the first work machine, the messenger circuitry in accordance with another state of the timing signal defined by the signal parameters.”
Desai teaches:
“generating, at a first work machine of the plurality of work machines, a timing signal that is compliant with operator selectable signal parameters” [Desai; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Desai discloses controlling a plurality of autonomous grain carts, denoted as 72, 74, 76, 82 and 86 respectively in Fig. 5 for example, to transport material from a combine, denoted 10 in Fig. 5 for example, to a product storage tank, denoted 78 in Fig. 5 for example. Desai further discloses that the timing of this process is based "a current location of the unloaded grain cart 82, a current location of the combine 10, the harvesting map, the location of the agricultural product storage tank 78, the terrain along the route, the rate of unloading of the combine 10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural product storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), the maximum grain cart turn rate, the maximum grain cart turn angle, or any combination thereof;" Fig. 5; ¶: 0041;
By monitoring the fill status of the respective autonomous grain carts, the combine and the product storage tank, Desai further discloses being able to predict a future position of the combine as well as the current amount of harvested crop in the current loading grain cart, such that " the controller of the loading grain cart 72 may determine the route 80 and/or speed to travel to the agricultural product storage tank 78 based at least in part on the rate of unloading of the combine 10, the rate of unloading of each grain cart to the agricultural storage tank 78, the speed of the combine 10 while harvesting the crop area 32, the maximum speed of each grain cart (loaded and unloaded), or a combination thereof, such that the controller of the loading grain cart 72 determines when and/or where the loading grain cart 72 will be loaded next, and determines a route that enables the loading grain cart 72 to arrive at the loading location at or before that time;" Fig. 5; ¶: 0040; See also: Fig. 3; ¶: 0034-0039, 0042, 0043, 0047-0050];
And “activating, at the first work machine, a messenger circuitry in accordance with a state of the timing signal defined by the signal parameters, and deactivating, at the first work machine, the messenger circuitry in accordance with another state of the timing signal defined by the signal parameters” [Desai; Deasai further discloses: "The route 80 and/or the speed to travel may also be updated synchronously. For example, the controller of the loaded grain cart 76 may query the other grain carts as to their locations, statuses, or the like, for periodically (e.g., every second, every five seconds, every ten seconds, etc.). If there is an indication that the route 80 and/or speed to travel should be modified (e.g., a grain cart has stopped, has slowed, has a reduced turning radius, etc.), the controller of the loaded grain cart 76 may do so;" Fig. 3; ¶: 0041;
Based on the collected information, signals are sent between the respective communication devices, denoted 60 in Fig. 3 for example, which in conjunction with the controller, denoted 52 in Fig. 3 for example, enables to the system to coordinate travel of the respective autonomous grain carts in real time; See also: Fig. 5; ¶: 0034-0040, 0042, 0043, 0047-0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle as disclosed by Missotten to incorporate the teachings regarding implementing the functions of the receiving vehicle in an autonomous way by implementing predicted future locations of the respective work vehicles based on the operating parameters of the respective vehicles as taught by Desai with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle that “may reduce operator and vehicle costs. For example, replacing an operator-driven tractor that hauls a grain cart between an agricultural vehicle and an agricultural product storage tank with an autonomous grain cart may reduce operator costs,” while additionally increasing harvesting efficiency [Desai; ¶: 0019; See also: ¶: 0004, 0031, 0051].
With respect to claim 17, Missotten discloses: “further comprising: modifying the timing signal to control performance of the coordinated maneuver by the second work machine from an operator station of the first work machine” [Missotten; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Missotten discloses: "The controller 324 may output the lateral position of the peak of the pile as part of the fill-state or as a separate signal. A lateral position of the unloading tube (a position in a direction perpendicular to the direction of travel of the harvesting machine and container 308) may be adjusted (automatically via control signals from the controller 324, or manually by an operator) such that the peak moves back towards the centreline 345 in response to the information in the fill-state;" ¶: 0130, wherein, the operator manually controlling the position of the container relative to the harvesting machine by adjusting the speed of the of the vehicle, has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited modified signal parameters to "control performance of the coordinated maneuver;" See also: ¶: 0102, 0108].
With respect to claim 18, Missotten discloses: “further comprising: generating respective signals at sensors disposed on the first work machine by which the position thereof relative to the second work machine is indicated during the coordinated maneuver over which the discharge target is relocated” [Missotten; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Missotten discloses a tube position sensor, denoted 360 in Fig. 3 for example, for which Missotten discloses: "The controller 324 can receive the tube positioning data from a tube position sensor 360 positioned on the unloading tube 312. The controller 324 can further receive the harvester positioning data from one or more harvester position sensors (not shown) positioned on the harvesting machine. The controller 324 may estimate the position and/or orientation of the container 308 relative to the harvesting machine and/or unloading tube 312 (the positioning state) based on signals from the one or more harvester position sensors, the tube position sensor and the first and second position sensors 356, 358;" Fig. 3; ¶: 0126-0136].
With respect to claim 20, Missotten discloses:
“A system constructed to perform a coordinated maneuver among a pair of work machines” [Missotten; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Missotten discloses a control system and method for performing coordinated maneuvers between a harvesting machine, denoted as 402 in Fig. 4 for example, and a plurality of grain carts comprising a trailer pulled by a tractor, denoted as 408 and 410 respectively in Fig. 4 for example. The combination of the harvesting machine and tractor-trailer vehicle has been interpreted as patentably distinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "pair of work machines." Furthermore, the disclosed harvesting machine has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "work machine," and the disclosed crop container has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "another/the other work machine;" Fig. 4; ¶: 0138];
“the system comprising: a work machine including: a distance control circuitry constructed to select path information to a dwell locations of the coordinated maneuver between the pair of work machines” [Missotten; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Missotten discloses filling the cited container in "a “rear to front” filling process, wherein the unloading tube moves in a step-wise fashion from the rear of the container 308 to the front of the container (controlled by either a relative speed of the harvester 302 and container 308 and/or the position of the unloading tube 312). Missotten further discloses: "eventually a pile of the harvested crop 332 in the rear portion will exceed the threshold height and interrupt the radiation signal 326. As a result, the point of reflection 330 moves forward from the rear wall 338 to the pile of harvested crop 332, which in this example is 5 metres. The controller 324 determines the new propagation distance and outputs the fill-state accordingly." The cited "propagation distance(s)" has/have been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "plurality of dwell locations of the coordinated maneuver for the moving discharge target in the bounded area defined by the bed of the haul truck," and the cited "controller" has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "distance control mechanism circuitry;" Fig. 1-3; ¶: 0105, 0108-0118, 0124];
“sensors constructed to generate respective signals by which a position of a chute of a discharge port to a bounded area is indicated during the coordinated maneuver between the pair of work machines” [Missotten; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Missotten discloses a tube position sensor, denoted 360 in Fig. 3 for example, for which Missotten discloses: "The controller 324 can receive the tube positioning data from a tube position sensor 360 positioned on the unloading tube 312. The controller 324 can further receive the harvester positioning data from one or more harvester position sensors (not shown) positioned on the harvesting machine. The controller 324 may estimate the position and/or orientation of the container 308 relative to the harvesting machine and/or unloading tube 312 (the positioning state) based on signals from the one or more harvester position sensors, the tube position sensor and the first and second position sensors 356, 358;" Fig. 3, ¶: 0126-0136];
“a messenger circuitry constructed to indicate the selected path information for relocation of the bounded area according to a next dwell location of the plurality of dwell locations” [Missotten; "As a rear portion of the container 308 (e.g., a portion within a predefined distance of the rear wall 338, such as within 1 metre) continues to receive harvested crop from the unloading tube 312, eventually a pile of the harvested crop 332 in the rear portion will exceed the threshold height and interrupt the radiation signal 326. As a result, the point of reflection 330 moves forward from the rear wall 338 to the pile of harvested crop 332, which in this example is 5 metres. The controller 324 determines the new propagation distance and outputs the fill-state accordingly. The controller 324 may output the fill-state and/or control signals to the truck/tractor and/or harvester (as described above) and the unloading position of the container 308 may be adjusted manually or automatically such that the unloading tube moves forward towards the front wall 336. The process may continue until the propagation distance indicates that a front portion of the container 308 is full (the pile of harvested crop 332 exceeds the threshold height at a portion of the container 308 within a predefined distance of the front wall). At this point, the controller 324 can output a fill-state indicating that the container 308 is completely full and requires replacement;" Fig. 3; ¶: 0124; See also: ¶: 0126-0136];
“and another work machine” [Missotten; Based on at lest the paragraphs and figures cited, the crop container disclosed by Missotten has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "another/the other work machine;" Fig. 4; ¶: 0138].
Missotten does not specifically state:
“and a transmitter that is constructed to transmit the selected path data;”
“a receiver communicatively coupled to the transmitter and constructed to receive the selected path data;”
Or “an automatic drive communicatively coupled to the receiver and constructed to propel the other work machine to the dwell locations in accordance with the selected path data.”
Desai teaches:
“and a transmitter that is constructed to transmit the selected path data” [Desai; "The controller 52 is communicatively coupled to a communication device 60 that enables the controller 52 to send and receive information over a communication network, such as a wireless communication network;" Fig. 3; ¶: 0031; See also: Fig. 5; ¶: 0023];
“a receiver communicatively coupled to the transmitter and constructed to receive the selected path data” [Desai; "The controller 52 is communicatively coupled to a communication device 60 that enables the controller 52 to send and receive information over a communication network, such as a wireless communication network;" Fig. 3; ¶: 0031; See also: Fig. 5; ¶: 0023];
“and an automatic drive communicatively coupled to the receiver and constructed to propel the other work machine to the dwell locations in accordance with the selected path data” [Desai; "The controller 52 is communicatively coupled to a drive system 55 configured to propel, accelerate, and/or decelerate the autonomous grain cart 50. The drive system 55 may include a motor and/or braking system. The controller 52 is also communicatively coupled to a steering system 57 configured to steer, navigate, and/or orient the autonomous grain cart 50;" "The controller 52 is communicatively coupled to a communication device 60 that enables the controller 52 to send and receive information over a communication network, such as a wireless communication network;" Fig. 3; ¶: 0032; See also: Fig. 5; ¶: 0034].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle as disclosed by Missotten to incorporate the teachings regarding implementing the functions of the receiving vehicle in an autonomous way by implementing predicted future locations of the respective work vehicles based on the operating parameters of the respective vehicles as taught by Desai with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle that “may reduce operator and vehicle costs. For example, replacing an operator-driven tractor that hauls a grain cart between an agricultural vehicle and an agricultural product storage tank with an autonomous grain cart may reduce operator costs,” while additionally increasing harvesting efficiency [Desai; ¶: 0019; See also: ¶: 0004, 0031, 0051].
Claim(s) 4, 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Missotten in view of Berning et al. (United States Patent 2016/0053445 A1), referenced as Berning moving forward.
With respect to claim 4, Missotten does not specifically state: “wherein the sensors include a contact location sensor constructed to generate a signal indicative of contact with structure of another work machine on which the bounded area is defined.”
Berning, which is in the same field of invention of control systems/methods to control work vehicles to perform cooperative maneuvers, teaches: “wherein the sensors include a contact location sensor constructed to generate a signal indicative of contact with structure of another work machine on which the bounded area is defined” [Berning; "It is preferably specified for the sensing element to extend symmetrically to a longitudinal centre line of the transport conveyor and/or to extend at an essentially parallel distance to the transport conveyor. This enables a collision to be detected early without the transport conveyor, on the bottom side, and/or the collision object being damaged;" ¶: 0016; See also: Fig. 1 & 2; ¶: 0051-0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle as disclosed by Missotten to incorporate the teachings regarding implementing sensors that enable collision detection between operating during cooperative maneuvers between a milling machine and a second work vehicle as taught by Berning with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle that is more robust in its ability to detect collisions early such that components thereby preventing possible damage to certain components that may have otherwise occurred without the early warning [Berning; ¶: 0012, 0016].
With respect to claim 12, Missotten does not specifically state: “wherein the sensors include a contact location sensor constructed to generate a signal indicative of contact with structure of the other work machine on which a bounded area is defined.”
Berning teaches: “wherein the sensors include a contact location sensor constructed to generate a signal indicative of contact with structure of the other work machine on which a bounded area is defined” [Berning; "It is preferably specified for the sensing element to extend symmetrically to a longitudinal centre line of the transport conveyor and/or to extend at an essentially parallel distance to the transport conveyor. This enables a collision to be detected early without the transport conveyor, on the bottom side, and/or the collision object being damaged;" ¶: 0016; See also: Fig. 1 & 2; ¶: 0051-0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle as disclosed by Missotten to incorporate the teachings regarding implementing sensors that enable collision detection between operating during cooperative maneuvers between a milling machine and a second work vehicle as taught by Berning with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle that is more robust in its ability to detect collisions early such that components thereby preventing possible damage to certain components that may have otherwise occurred without the early warning [Berning; ¶: 0012, 0016].
With respect to claim 15, while Missotten discloses: “wherein the work machine is” a harvesting machine “and the other work machine is a hauling machine constructed to capture milled material from the” harvesting machine “according to the individual maneuver relocations and interposing dwell locations” [Missotten; "FIG. 1 illustrates a harvesting machine 102 (which is an example of a harvesting vehicle), for example a combine harvester or a forage harvester, performing a harvesting operation in a field 100. The harvesting machine 102 harvests crops from a crop area 104 leaving behind a harvested crop area 106 in portions of the field 100 already harvested. The harvesting machine 102 may unload harvested crop into a mobile open-top crop container 108, which may be referred to herein as a container 108. In this example, the harvesting machine 102 unloads the harvested crop to the container 108 using an unloading tube 112 of the harvesting machine 102. In the case of a forage harvester, the unloading tube is also called spout. The container 108 may be positioned in an unloading position adjacent to the moving harvesting machine 102. The unloading position may be a relative position adjacent to the moving harvesting machine 102 such that the container 108 moves in a parallel direction to, and at the same speed as, the harvesting machine 102;" Fig. 1; ¶: 0100],
Missotten does not specifically state: “wherein the work machine is a milling machine and the other work machine is a hauling machine constructed to capture milled material from the milling machine”
Berning teaches: “wherein the work machine is a milling machine and the other work machine is a hauling machine constructed to capture milled material from the milling machine” [Berning; "The milling machine comprises a controller for the travelling and milling operation, as well as a working drum for the milling of, for example, a road pavement. A transport conveyor device, for example, a transport conveyor device comprising no less than one transport conveyor, is present in front of or behind the working drum as seen in the direction of travel. The transport conveyor device comprises a discharge end at which the milled material is discharged onto the loading surface of the no less than one transport vehicle via a flight path in the form of a parabolic trajectory attributable to the conveying speed;" ¶: 0005; See also: ¶: 0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle as disclosed by Missotten to incorporate the teachings regarding implementing sensors that enable collision detection between operating during cooperative maneuvers between a milling machine and a second work vehicle as taught by Berning with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle that is more robust in its ability to detect collisions early such that components thereby preventing possible damage to certain components that may have otherwise occurred without the early warning [Berning; ¶: 0012, 0016].
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Missotten in view of Desai and Berning.
With respect to claim 19, while Missotten discloses: “further comprising: discharging the material from a discharge port at a distal end of a chute of” of a harvesting machine “implementing the first work machine” [Missotten; "FIG. 1 illustrates a harvesting machine 102 (which is an example of a harvesting vehicle), for example a combine harvester or a forage harvester, performing a harvesting operation in a field 100. The harvesting machine 102 harvests crops from a crop area 104 leaving behind a harvested crop area 106 in portions of the field 100 already harvested. The harvesting machine 102 may unload harvested crop into a mobile open-top crop container 108, which may be referred to herein as a container 108. In this example, the harvesting machine 102 unloads the harvested crop to the container 108 using an unloading tube 112 of the harvesting machine 102. In the case of a forage harvester, the unloading tube is also called spout. The container 108 may be positioned in an unloading position adjacent to the moving harvesting machine 102. The unloading position may be a relative position adjacent to the moving harvesting machine 102 such that the container 108 moves in a parallel direction to, and at the same speed as, the harvesting machine 102;" Fig. 1; ¶: 0100],
Missotten does not specifically state: “a milling machine implementing the first work machine.”
Berning teaches: “a milling machine implementing the first work machine” [Berning; "The milling machine comprises a controller for the travelling and milling operation, as well as a working drum for the milling of, for example, a road pavement. A transport conveyor device, for example, a transport conveyor device comprising no less than one transport conveyor, is present in front of or behind the working drum as seen in the direction of travel. The transport conveyor device comprises a discharge end at which the milled material is discharged onto the loading surface of the no less than one transport vehicle via a flight path in the form of a parabolic trajectory attributable to the conveying speed;" ¶: 0005; See also: ¶: 0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle as disclosed by Missotten to incorporate the teachings regarding implementing sensors that enable collision detection between operating during cooperative maneuvers between a milling machine and a second work vehicle as taught by Berning with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling positioning of two work vehicles performing cooperative operations in which one work vehicle conveys material to a second work vehicle that is more robust in its ability to detect collisions early such that components thereby preventing possible damage to certain components that may have otherwise occurred without the early warning [Berning; ¶: 0012, 0016].
Prior Art (Not relied upon)
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached form 892.
Simon (United States Patent Publication 2013/0076101 A1) discloses: A work train, a device and a method for distance measurement between a transport device and a milling device. During the loading of a transport device with milled material from the milling device, the operator of the milling device normally transmits control commands to the transport device driver for coordination of the loading process. Through the automated distance measuring between the transport device and the milling device and control of a display device according to the present invention, this task is taken over from the operator of the milling device, who can concentrate on the actual milling process.
KORMANN (United States Patent Publication 2014/0193234 A1) discloses: A control arrangement and method for controlling the transfer of agricultural crop from a harvesting machine to a transport vehicle comprises a loading container. The control arrangement is able to be operated to automatically deposit the crop during the harvesting mode successively at different points in the loading container, following a predetermined loading strategy, by means of a discharging device of the harvesting machine, where the loading strategy may be changed and/or a choice may be made between different loading strategies.
Krug et al. (United States Patent Publication 2016/0084957 A1) discloses: A sonar device for positioning a second vehicle within relative proximity of a first vehicle that includes a light indicator having at least two light outputs. A controller has first and second settings calibrated to correspond to first and second signal strengths. The first signal strength corresponds to a near distance between the first and second vehicles. The second signal strength corresponds to a far distance between the vehicles. Based on the strength of a returned sonar signal, the controller actuates the light indicator to indicate when the vehicles are at the near distance from each other and when the vehicles are at the far distance from each other. The vehicle operators use the light indicators to regulate the actual distance between the two vehicles to be within the near and far distances.
Zahr (United States Patent Publication 2016/0170415 A1) discloses: A method for controlling a work train including a self-propelled road paver and a self-propelled feeder travelling ahead of the road paver, to a work train comprising a self-propelled road paver and a self-propelled feeder, as well as to a feeder and to a road paver for such a work train. According to one aspect of the present invention, the control of the road paver is affected automatically, to which end particularly the position of the feeder is determined and travel commands for the road paver are generated based on this information.
Engelmann (United States Patent Publication 2018/0298569 A1) discloses: A control system for a mobile machine that is configured to transfer material into a receptacle. The control system may include a first sensor configured to generate a first signal indicative of one of a speed of the mobile machine and a distance between the mobile machine and the receptacle, a display system having at least one display device configured to show information relating to one or more of the mobile machine and the receptacle to an operator of the receptacle, and a controller electronically connected to the first sensor and the display system. The controller may be configured to determine a relative speed of the receptacle with respect to the mobile machine based at least in part on the first signal and generate on the at least one display device a first visual indicator indicative of the relative speed of the receptacle with respect to the mobile machine.
Shelton et al. (United States Patent Publication 2019/0377363 A1) discloses: An apparatus for controlling the movement of a material transfer vehicle with respect to the front end of a paving machine that is being operated by a driver/operator and is being supplied with asphalt paving material by the material transfer vehicle includes a controller that is mounted on the material transfer vehicle and is operatively connected to control mechanisms for controlling the speed and braking of the material transfer vehicle. A sensor is mounted on the material transfer vehicle and is operatively connected to the controller. The sensor is located and adapted to execute non-contact sensor scan passes across the front end of the paving machine to determine the distance from the sensor to the paving machine. The sensor is also adapted to communicate information to the controller about the distance from the sensor to the paving machine. The apparatus includes no components that are mounted on the paving machine.
Berning et al. (United States Patent Publication 2020/0109528 A1) discloses: The invention relates to an automotive milling machine as well as to a method for unloading milled material. The milling machine comprises a controller for the travelling and milling operation as well as a working drum for the milling of, for example, a road pavement. A transport conveyor device, for example, a transport conveyor device comprising no less than one transport conveyor is located in front of or behind the working drum as seen in the direction of travel. The transport conveyor device comprises a discharge end at which the milled material is discharged onto the loading surface of the no less than one transport vehicle via a flight path in the form of a parabolic trajectory that is attributable to the conveying speed.
Fritz et al. (United States Patent Publication 2020/0262428 A1) discloses: The present invention relates to a working combination encompassing a self-propelled earth working machine constituting a first vehicle and at least one further self-propelled vehicle, the vehicles of the working combination being embodied to move, during working operation as intended, one behind another in a common working direction with a setpoint spacing that is within a predetermined setpoint spacing value range.
Singh et al. (United States Patent Publication 2021/0333802 A1) discloses: A control system that includes a controller configured to determine a target speed between a first target position of a haul vehicle relative to a harvester and a second target position of the haul vehicle relative to the harvester based on a flow rate of agricultural product through a conveyor of the harvester. The haul vehicle is coupled to a storage compartment, an outlet of the conveyor is aligned with a first unloading point within the storage compartment while the haul vehicle is positioned at the first target position, and the outlet of the conveyor is aligned with a second unloading point within the storage compartment while the haul vehicle is positioned at the second target position. Furthermore, the controller is configured to output a control signal indicative of instructions to direct the haul vehicle from the first target position to the second target position at the target speed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.N.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3666C
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666