DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-4 and 6-20 in the reply filed on 1/5/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (US pub 20220157730).
With respect to claim 1, Jang et al. teach a printed circuit board, comprising (see figs. 1-12, particularly fig. 11 and associated text):
a substrate portion 100 including a first insulating layer 112, a first wiring layer 122, 123 disposed on or within the first insulating layer, and a cavity (area where 200 occupies) penetrating through at least a portion of the first insulating layer;
a connection structure 200 disposed within the cavity of the substrate portion, and including a second insulating layer 212, a second wiring layer 222 disposed on or within the second insulating layer, and a metal layer M disposed on a lower surface and a side surface of the second insulating layer,
wherein the metal layer is disposed on an outermost side of the connection structure.
With respect to claim 2, Jang et al. teach the connection structure further comprises a protective layer (insulating layer right under 223) disposed between the metal layer and the second insulating layer. See fig. 11 and associated text.
With respect to claim 12, Jang et al. teach wiring density of the second wiring layer is greater than wiring density of the first wiring layer. See fig. 11 and associated text.
With respect to claim 13, Jang et al. teach a thickness of any one of the second insulating layers is less than a thickness of any one of the first insulating layers. See fig. 11 and associated text.
With respect to claim 14, Jang et al. teach the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer comprise an organic material, respectively. See fig. 11 and associated text.
With respect to claim 15, Jang et al. teach a first semiconductor chip 310 disposed on a portion of the substrate portion and a portion of the connection structure, and connected to a portion of the substrate portion and a portion of the connection structure; and a second semiconductor chip 320 disposed on another portion of the substrate portion and another portion of the connection structure, and connected to another portion of the substrate portion and another portion of the connection structure and connected to the first semiconductor chip through the connection structure. See fig. 11 and associated text.
With respect to claim 16, Jang et al. teach the connection structure includes first (top) and second (bottom) surfaces opposing each other in which the second surface faces a bottom surface of the cavity, and third (left) and fourth (right) surfaces opposing each other, and the metal layer provides only the second to fourth surfaces among the first to fourth surfaces of the connection structure. See fig. 11 and associated text.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US pub 20220157730).
With respect to claim 4, Jang et al. fail to teach the metal layer is copper or al.
However, the use of copper or al metal layer is well-known semiconductor art.
Claim(s) 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang et al. (US pub 20220157730).
With respect to claim 17, Jang et al. teach a printed circuit board, comprising (see figs. 1-12, particularly fig. 11 and associated text):
a substrate portion 100 including a first insulating layer 112, a first wiring layer 122, 123 disposed on or within the first insulating layer, and a cavity (area where 200 occupies) penetrating through at least a portion of the first insulating layer; and
a connection structure 200 disposed within the cavity of the substrate portion, and including a second insulating layer 212, a second wiring layer 222 disposed on or within the second insulating layer, a protective layer (insulating layer right under 223) covering a lower surface and a side surface of the second insulating layer, and a metal layer M disposed on the protective layer.
With respect to claim 20, Jang et al. teach the connection structure includes first (top) and second (bottom) surfaces opposing each other in which the second surface faces a bottom surface of the cavity, and third (left) and fourth (right) surfaces opposing each other, and the metal layer provides only the second to fourth surfaces among the first to fourth surfaces of the connection structure. See fig. 11 and associated text.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6-11, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner’s Cited References
The cited references generally show the similar or related structure having a connecting wiring structure covered with a metal shielding layer partly embedded in another wiring structure as presently claimed by applicant.
Conclusion
LONG . PHAM
Examiner
Art Unit 2823
/LONG PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897