DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
An amendment responsive to the non-final Office Action dated January 22, 2026 was submitted on May 1, 2026. Claims 1, 4, 16 and 19-21 were amended. Claims 1-26 are currently pending.
The amendments to claims 16 and 20 have overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) of claims 16-20 (¶¶ 4-6 of the Office Action). These rejections have therefore been withdrawn.
The amendments to claims 1, 16 and 21 have overcome the prior art rejections of claims 1-21 (¶¶ 9-25 and 30-44 of the Office Action). These rejections have therefore been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection of these claims have been made as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 13, 14, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0368025 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kudo discloses a mask assembly (Abstract of Kim, mask assembly) comprising: a frame (FIG. 4 of Kim, frame #100) including: a first lateral part and a second lateral part extending in a first direction and spaced apart from each other in a second direction crossing the first direction (FIG. 4 of Kim, frame #100 includes first and second opposed lateral parts extending in a first direction); and a third lateral part and a fourth lateral part extending in the second direction and spaced apart from each other in the first direction (FIG. 4 of Kim, frame #100 includes third and fourth opposed lateral parts extending in a second direction), the third lateral part and the fourth lateral part being connected with the first lateral part and the second lateral part and defining a frame opening (FIG. 4 of Kim, first and second lateral parts connected to third and fourth lateral parts to form the frame #100 having an opening #120); an open sheet (FIG. 5 of Kim, structural auxiliary mask #200 which is in sheet form and which has openings #210) including: a body part in which a plurality of sheet openings arranged in the first direction and the second direction and overlapping the frame opening is defined (FIG. 5 of Kim, structural auxiliary mask #200 includes mask opening #210; FIG. 6 of Kim, mask openings #210 overlap frame opening); and a connecting part protruding from the body part and at least partially overlap the frame, the connecting part including: a first connecting part overlapping the first lateral part (FIGS. 5 and 6 of Kim, protrusions #224 of structural auxiliary mask #200 overlap the first lateral part of frame); a second connecting part overlapping the second lateral part; third connecting parts overlapping at least a portion of the third lateral part; and fourth connecting parts overlapping at least a portion of the fourth lateral part (FIGS. 5 and 6 of Kim, protrusions #224 of structural auxiliary mask #200 overlap the second, third and fourth lateral parts of frame); and masks spaced apart from each other and respectively overlapping the plurality of sheet openings (FIG. 3 of Kim, cell unit mask #300; FIG. 10 of Kim, masks #300 overlap mask openings #210 of structural auxiliary mask #200; [0088] of Kim, cell unit masks spaced apart at a predetermined distance), each of the masks including: a deposition part in which deposition openings overlapping a corresponding sheet opening among the plurality of sheet openings are defined (FIG. 10 of Kim, deposition pattern portion #310 of mask #300 includes openings and overlaps mask openings #210 of structural auxiliary mask #200); and coupling parts protruding from the deposition part and spaced apart from each other with the deposition part therebetween (FIG. 14 of Kim, cell unit mask #300 has portions which extend from the deposition pattern portion #310 which are used to couple the mask #300 to the structural auxiliary mask #200).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses that the third connecting parts are spaced apart from each other in the second direction, wherein the fourth connecting parts are spaced apart from each other in the second direction, and wherein the third connecting parts and the fourth connecting parts do not overlap the plurality of sheet openings when viewed in the first direction and the second direction (FIG. 6 of Kim, portions of structural auxiliary mask #200 that overlap sides of frame #100 are spaced apart from one another along length of frame).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses that a first portion of the body part adjacent to the third lateral part is spaced apart from the third lateral part by a predetermined gap, and wherein a second portion of the body part adjacent to the fourth lateral part is spaced apart from the fourth lateral part by a predetermined gap (FIG. 6 of Kim, portions of structural auxiliary mask #200 forming openings adjacent frame members spaced from frame members to form a gap).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses that one portion of each of the third connecting parts overlaps the frame opening, and a remaining portion of each of the third connecting parts overlaps the third lateral part, and wherein one portion of each of the fourth connecting parts overlaps the frame opening, and a remaining portion of each of the fourth connecting parts overlaps the fourth lateral part (FIG. 6 of Kim, portions of structural auxiliary mask #200 overlapping frame members also overlap frame opening adjacent frame members).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses first welding protrusions formed on the remaining portion of each of the third connecting parts; and second welding protrusions formed on the remaining portion of each of the fourth connecting parts ([0094] of Kim, frame #100 and structural auxiliary mask #200 joined together by spot welding).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses that two third connecting parts adjacent to each other among the third connecting parts, the third lateral part, and the first portion of the body part define an empty space extending in the second direction in a plan view, and wherein two fourth connecting parts adjacent to each other among the fourth connecting parts, the fourth lateral part, and the second portion of the body part define an empty space extending in the second direction in the plan view (FIG. 6 of Kim, portions of structural auxiliary mask #200 overlapping frame members are spaced apart along length of frame members).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses that the first connecting part extends in the first direction and entirely overlaps the first lateral part, and wherein the second connecting part extends in the first direction and entirely overlaps the second lateral part (FIG. 6 of Kim, portions of structural auxiliary mask #200 overlapping frame members completely overlap frame members).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses that each of the coupling parts extends in the first direction (FIG. 7A of Kim, coupling parts of mask #300 surround openings in deposition pattern portion #310 and therefore extend in both frame directions and therefore would necessarily extend in the first direction).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses welding protrusions formed on the first connecting part and the second connecting part ([0094] of Kim, frame #100 and structural auxiliary mask #200 joined together by welding which would necessarily form spots or protrusions of welded material on the sections of structural auxiliary mask #200 overlapping frame members).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses each of the first connecting part and the second connecting part, when viewed in the second direction, overlaps sheet openings arranged in the first direction among the plurality of sheet openings (FIG. 6 of Kim, portions of structural auxiliary mask #200 that overlap sides of frame #100 extend along the length of each side of frame and therefore overlap openings in structural auxiliary mask #200).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses that each of the masks has a thickness of about 10 micrometers to about 30 micrometers ([0098] of Kim).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses a mask assembly manufacturing method (Abstract of Kim) comprising: providing a frame including first lateral parts extending in a first direction and second lateral parts extending in a second direction crossing the first direction and defining a frame opening with the first lateral parts (FIG. 4, Frame #100); stretching an open sheet including a body part in which sheet openings overlapping the frame opening and connecting parts protruding from the body part are defined (FIG. 5 of Kim, structural auxiliary mask #200; [0094] of Kim, mask #200 stretched); coupling the connecting parts to the frame through a first welding process (FIG. 6, [0094] of Kim, protruding parts of stretched mask #200 welded to frame #100); stretching a mask ([0125] of Kim, cell unit masks stretched) including: a deposition part in which deposition openings overlapping one sheet opening among the sheet openings are defined (FIG. 10 of Kim, deposition pattern portion #310 of mask #300 includes openings and overlaps mask openings #210 of structural auxiliary mask #200); and coupling parts protruding from the deposition part in the second direction and extend in the first direction (FIG. 14 of Kim, cell unit mask #300 has portions which extend from the deposition pattern portion #310 which are used to couple the mask #300 to the structural auxiliary mask #200); and coupling the coupling parts to the open sheet through a second welding process ([0131] of Kim, cell unit mask #300 fixed by welding), stretching another mask spaced apart from the mask ([0088] of Kim, cell unit masks spaced apart at a predetermined distance), the another mask including: a deposition part in which deposition openings overlapping another sheet opening among the sheet openings are defined; and coupling parts protruding from the deposition part in the second direction and extending in the first direction; coupling the coupling parts of the another mask to the open sheet through the second welding process ([0125]-[0131] of Kim, each of the cell unit masks #300 stretched and welded to structural auxiliary mask #200), wherein a connecting part having a first area coupled with the frame among the connecting parts extends in the first direction (FIG. 10 of Kim, mask #200 includes projections extending in a first direction which overlap the frame #100), and wherein the stretching the mask includes stretching the coupling parts in the second direction ([0125] of Kim, cell unit masks stretched; stretching of cell unit masks would necessarily stretch the coupling parts of the masks).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses an arrangement direction of welding protrusions formed on the connecting part having the first area coupled with the frame among the connecting parts is the same as an arrangement direction of welding protrusions formed on the coupling parts (FIG. 7A of Kim, welding points #321 formed around the perimeter of mask #300; welding points #320 would therefore necessarily be oriented in the same direction as the welding points between the mask #200 and the frame #100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kudo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0199732 A1, cited in previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 14, Kim does not specifically disclose that the frame, the open sheet, and the masks include one of invar and stainless steel. Kudo, however, discloses a deposition mask assembly wherein the mask #1 is made of invar ([0029] of Kudo); a support member made of invar ([0032] of Kudo) and a frame #3 made of invar ([0034] of Kudo). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the components of the mask assembly of Kim from invar since Kudo establishes that it was known to do so. Moreover, as set forth in the MPEP, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP § 2143 I A). The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art also would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 21, Kim discloses a mask assembly (Abstract of Kim, mask assembly) comprising: a frame (FIG. 4 of Kim, frame #100) including: a first lateral part and a second lateral part extending in a first direction and spaced apart from each other in a second direction crossing the first direction (FIG. 4 of Kim, frame #100 includes first and second opposed lateral parts extending in a first direction); and a third lateral part and a fourth lateral part extend in the second direction and spaced apart from each other in the first direction (FIG. 4 of Kim, frame #100 includes third and fourth opposed lateral parts extending in a second direction), the third lateral part and the fourth lateral part being connected with the first lateral part and the second lateral part and defining a frame opening (FIG. 4 of Kim, first and second lateral parts connected to third and fourth lateral parts to form the frame #100 having an opening #120); an open sheet (FIG. 5 of Kim, structural auxiliary mask #200 which is in sheet form and which has openings #210) including: first sticks extending in the first direction and spaced apart from each other in the second direction (FIG. 5 of Kim, structural auxiliary mask #200 includes spaced first segments extending in a first direction); and second sticks extending in the second direction and spaced apart from each other in the first direction (FIG. 5 of Kim, structural auxiliary mask #200 includes spaced second segments extending perpendicularly to first segments), the second sticks being intersecting the first sticks and defining a plurality of sheet openings (FIG. 5 of Kim, spaced second segments extend perpendicularly to spaced first segments to form openings #210); and masks spaced apart from each other and respectively overlapping the plurality of sheet openings (FIG. 3 of Kim, cell unit mask #300; FIG. 10 of Kim, masks #300 overlap mask openings #210 of structural auxiliary mask #200; [0088] of Kim, cell unit masks spaced apart at a predetermined distance), each of the masks including: a deposition part in which deposition openings overlapping a corresponding sheet opening among the plurality of sheet openings are defined (FIG. 10 of Kim, deposition pattern portion #310 of mask #300 includes openings and overlaps mask openings #210 of structural auxiliary mask #200); and coupling parts protruding from the deposition part and spaced apart from each other with the deposition part therebetween (FIG. 14 of Kim, cell unit mask #300 has portions which extend from the deposition pattern portion #310 which are used to couple the mask #300 to the structural auxiliary mask #200).
Kim does not specifically disclose that stick recesses are defined in a thickness direction on sticks disposed away from the frame among the first sticks and the second sticks, and portions of sticks disposed adjacent to the frame are inserted into the corresponding stick recesses. Kudo, however, discloses a deposition mask assembly comprising a support member #2 which includes a plurality of belt shaped members #24A having grooves #25 for insertion of belt shaped members #24B (Abstract, FIG. 14B of Kudo). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the support member #2 of Kudo as the structural auxiliary mask #200 in the mask assembly of Kim since Kudo establishes that it was known to use such support members in deposition mask assemblies. Moreover, as set forth in the MPEP, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP § 2143 I B). As evidenced by Kim, the prior art contained a device (method, product, etc.) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of some components (step, element, etc.) with other components. In addition, as also evidenced by Kudo, the substituted components and their functions were known in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art could also have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 22, Kudo discloses each of the first sticks includes first connecting portions coupled with the first lateral part and the second lateral part and a first central portion disposed between the first connecting portions and overlapping the frame opening, and wherein each of the second sticks includes second connecting portions coupled with the third lateral part and the fourth lateral part and a second central portion disposed between the second connecting portions and intersecting the first central portions and define the plurality of sheet openings (FIGS. 14A-14B of Kudo, portions of belt shaped members #24A #24B extend across frame opening and overlap sides of frame #3).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Regarding claim 15, Kim does not specifically disclose that the open sheet (i.e., the support member #2) has a thickness of about 50 micrometers to about 200 micrometers. Kim, however, discloses that the structural auxiliary mask #200 has a thickness of 100 to 200 µm ([0079] of Kim). Kim therefore clearly teaches a thickness range (i.e., 100 to 200 µm) that overlaps with that recited in claim 15 (i.e., 50 to 200 µm) which would render the claimed thickness range obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, the courts have held that where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Ikenaga et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 6701543 B2, machine language translation provided in previous Office Action and cited below).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Kim does not specifically disclose that the widths of the first lateral part and the second lateral part in the first direction are greater than widths of the third lateral part and the fourth lateral part in the second direction as recited in claim 10 or that the widths of the first lateral part and the second lateral part in the first direction are smaller than widths of the third lateral part and the fourth lateral part in the second direction as recited in claim 11. Ikenaga, however, discloses a frame for a vapor deposition mask wherein the frame members extending in a first direction are wider than the frame members extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (FIG. 1, pg. 27, frame #15). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a frame having wider frame members extending in a first direction since Ikenaga establishes that such frames were known for vapor deposition masks. Moreover, as set forth in the MPEP, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP § 2143 I A). The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art also would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Regarding the limitation that the widths of the first and second lateral parts are greater or smaller than that of the third and fourth lateral parts, it is noted that either set of opposing frame members of Ikenaga could be considered the first and second lateral parts.
Claims 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Obata et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0092862 A1, cited in previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 17, Kim does not specifically disclose that each of the coupling parts includes a first portion protruding from the deposition part and a second portion protruding from the first portion, and wherein the stretching the mask includes stretching the second portion in a direction in which the second portion protrudes. Obata, however, discloses a method for stretching a vapor deposition mask which comprises attaching a stretching assistance member to the edge of the mask and stretching the mask pulling the stretching assistance member (Abstract, [0006] of Obata). According to Obata, the stretching method is simple, lightweight and satisfies high definition ([0014] of Obata). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach stretching assistance members to the edges of the mask in the method of Lee and to stretch the mask by pulling the stretching assistance members. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a method that is simple, lightweight and which satisfies high definition as taught by Obata ([0014] of Obata).
Regarding claim 18, Obata discloses removing the second portions from the mask ([0085] of Obata, stretching assistance members #50 removed from mask after fixing mask to frame).
Regarding claim 20, Kim does not specifically disclose that a portion of the body part adjacent to a connecting part having a second area coupled with the frame among the connecting parts is spaced apart from the frame by a predetermined gap, and the second area is smaller than the first area. Obata, however, discloses a reinforcement frame #65 for a vapor deposition mask comprising a grid of reinforcement frame members (FIG. 17c of Obata) wherein the width of the reinforcement frame members extending in a first direction is larger than that of the members extending in the perpendicular direction ([0140] of Obata). Obata also discloses spacing the wider crosswise direction grid members further from the frame than the narrower lengthwise grid members (FIG. 1a of Obata). According to Obata, using wider frame members in the first direction provides a frame with enhanced rigidity while reducing the spacing between adjacent masks and thereby increasing the number of masks that can be used with the frame ([0139]-[0140] of Obata). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use reinforcement frame members of different widths in each direction in the method of Kim. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the spacing between adjacent masks thereby increasing the number of masks that can be used with the frame while maintaining the rigidity of the structure as taught by Obata ([0139]-[0140] of Obata). Since the overlap area of the narrower frame members would be smaller, the area of the mask #200 coupled to the narrower frame members would be smaller than the area of the mask coupled to the wider frame members.
Claims 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kudo as applied to claim 22 above and further in view of Obata.
Regarding claim 23, while Kudo discloses that a first central portion of each of first sticks adjacent to the first lateral part and the second lateral part among the first sticks is coupled with the first lateral part and the second lateral part ([0034] of Kudo, frame and support member joined together by spot welding), Kudo does not specifically disclose that the widths of the first sticks in the first direction are greater than widths of the second sticks in the second direction, wherein the first sticks are disposed farther away from the frame than the second sticks. Obata, however, discloses a reinforcement frame #65 for a vapor deposition mask comprising a grid of reinforcement frame members (FIG. 17c of Obata) wherein the width of the reinforcement frame members extending in a first direction is larger than that of the members extending in the perpendicular direction ([0140] of Obata). Obata also discloses spacing the wider crosswise direction grid members further from the frame than the narrower lengthwise grid members (FIG. 1a of Obata). According to Obata, using wider frame members in the first direction provides a frame with enhanced rigidity while reducing the spacing between adjacent masks and thereby increasing the number of masks that can be used with the frame ([0139]-[0140] of Obata). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use reinforcement frame members of different widths in each direction in the modified mask assembly. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the spacing between adjacent masks thereby increasing the number of masks that can be used with the frame while maintaining the rigidity of the structure as taught by Obata ([0139]-[0140] of Obata).
Regarding claim 24, Kudo discloses that each of the coupling parts is coupled to a corresponding first central portion among the first central portions (FIG. 7 of Kudo, spot welds #20 between mask #1 and support member #2).
Regarding claim 25, while Kudo discloses that the second central portion of each of second sticks adjacent to the third lateral part and the fourth lateral part among the second sticks is coupled with the third lateral part and the fourth lateral part ([0034] of Kudo, frame and support member joined together by spot welding), Kudo does not specifically disclose that the widths of the first sticks in the first direction are greater than widths of the second sticks in the second direction, wherein the second sticks are disposed farther away from the frame than the first sticks. Obata, however, discloses a reinforcement frame #65 for a vapor deposition mask comprising a grid of reinforcement frame members (FIG. 17c of Obata) wherein the width of the reinforcement frame members extending in a first direction is larger than that of the members extending in the perpendicular direction ([0140] of Obata). Obata also discloses spacing the crosswise direction grid members which are wider closer to the frame than the lengthwise grid members (FIG. 17c of Obata). According to Obata, using wider frame members in the first direction provides a frame with enhanced rigidity while reducing the spacing between adjacent masks and thereby increasing the number of masks that can be used with the frame ([0139]-[0140] of Obata). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use reinforcement frame members of different widths in each direction in the modified mask assembly. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the spacing between adjacent masks thereby increasing the number of masks that can be used with the frame while maintaining the rigidity of the structure as taught by Obata ([0139]-[0140] of Obata).
Regarding claim 26, Kudo discloses that each of the coupling parts is coupled to a corresponding second central portion among the second central portions (FIG. 7 of Kudo, spot welds #20 between mask #1 and support member #2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered to the extent that they apply to the new grounds of rejection but they are not persuasive.
The applicant asserts that Kudo does not disclose masks spaced apart from each other and respectively overlapping the plurality of sheet openings as recited in claims 1, 16 and 21 (pp. 16-17 of the amendment). The Office Action, however, is relying upon the newly cited Kim reference to address this limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER W. RAIMUND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/CHRISTOPHER W RAIMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746