DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
2. Claims 27-28, 30-34, 36-44, 49-52 are pending in this office action.
Claims 27-28, 30-34, 36-44, 49-52 have been rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3a. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103(a) which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
3b. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
3c. The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) are summarized as follows:
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
4. Claims 27, 32-34, 36, 38, 39-42, 43, 44, 49, 51, 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dijcker et al. WO 2020/229357 A1 in view of Miller et al. USPN 4888185 in view of Pratt et al. USPN 3806001.
5. Regarding claims 27, 32, 36, 51, Dijcker et al. discloses a feed composition comprising ‘total mixed ration’ and further comprising water, binders e.g. starch-based binder, protein binder etc. (at least page 2, under summary, Paragraphs 1-3 ). Dijcker et al. also discloses nutrients like vitamins, minerals can be used in feed composition (at least page 2, under summary, Paragraph 3 and page 3 , last paragraph, page 4 first two paragraphs). It is known that vitamins, minerals can be considered as fine particulates to meet “fine particulates “ of claim 27 and “vitamins, minerals’ of claim 36. Therefore, it also meets “Total mixed ration” of claim 27. Therefore, it meets the claim limitation of the fine particulates are “vitamins, minerals’ as claimed in claim 36.
Dijcker et al. discloses that mature dairy cows tend to sort for the smaller feed components of their total mixed ration and therefore, loosing valuable nutritional components from mixed ration (at least page 2, second paragraph). Dijcker et al. also discloses that binder in the composition provides reduction of feed sorting in livestock (Under Summary of the Invention, paragraph 2). Dijcker et al. also discloses the method of reducing feed sorting behavior by evaluating the feed sorting behavior score (FSS) (at least on page 5 paragraphs 1-5) with the reduction of feed sorting by controlling the separation of small particulates with the adherence with binders etc. and therefore, it reduces the tendency of small particulates (e.g. vitamins etc.) to which fall down from the total composition as adherence of the base feed materials is increased and is effective at any weather condition (at least first four paragraphs of page 7). Furthermore, Dijcker et al. also discloses that the reduction of feed sorting provides benefits of utilization and consumption of all the nutritional components present in the feed composition by the livestock, e.g. ruminants, so that rumen health is improved, as every bite taken by the cow, has the same nutritional value (at least two last paragraphs of page 6).
It is to be noted that claim 27 can be interpreted as the steps include mixing the (i) aqueous composition, (ii) fine particulates (iii) and the total mixed ration as claimed in claim 27. It is to be noted that aqueous composition can be aqueous water or any aqueous solution or suspension in water. In this instance only aqueous water in combination with fine particulates cannot make ‘an increased consistency of fine particulates”.
It is evidenced by applicants specification (at least in PGPUB [0096]) and also as claimed in claim 32 (discussed below) that fine particulates are not rejected (i.e. sorted out) by the animals during consumption of feed composition when they are allowed to adhere with the large particles present in the aqueous composition, to make aggregates, which makes uniformity of the distribution of all components in the composition and it increases consistency of fine particulate dosing to animals as claimed in claim 27.
It is to be noted that Dijcker et al. discloses the addition of ‘aqueous water’ and binders, additives etc. separately to the feed composition (at least in Abstract, and page 2, under Summary of the invention, paragraphs 1-3) as discussed above. Dijcker et al. also discloses that binders stimulate the adherence of feed particles (at least page 4, third paragraph) and it reduces feed sorting in livestock ( page 6, third paragraph under “Detailed description”, which include fine particulates like minerals etc. (at least page 3 last paragraph). Dijcker et al. also discloses that water may be optional (page 2under Summary of the invention, third paragraph), however, addition of water is preferable because it has positive effect on the reduction of segregation ( page 11, mid-section e.g. “Effect of adding Water”).
However, more specifically, Dijcker et al. does not specifically teach an aqueous composition comprising ‘water plus binder’ together to be added to TMR plus fine particulates as an “aqueous composition” as claimed in claims 27, 32. In order to have the combined positive effects of water and binder in the “aqueous composition”. This will allow fine particulate to adhere with the large particles present in the aqueous composition during mixing together in order to make an increased consistency of fine particulates as evidenced by applicants’ specification (at least in PGPUB [0096]) when mixed with fine particulates containing TMR as claimed in claim 27.
Miller et al. discloses that a ruminant feed supplement can contain a fluid suspension comprising fat, molasses protein (i.e. binders) etc. (at least in Abstract) to be added to feed stuffs to correct nutritional imbalance in the feed ( col 2 lines 48-52).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Dijcker et al. by modifying Dijecker’s separate addition of water and binder with the teaching of Miller to make aqueous composition with water and binder’s together in order to have an additive ‘aqueous composition’ to be added in the feedstuff (col 2 lines 48-52 of Miller) which would have resulted in a more efficient system because of homogeneous mixing and uniform distribution of aqueous composition into feed composition will distribute the agglomerated particles made by fine particulates adhered to binder component in the aqueous composition and thereby it increases consistency and better utilization of fine particulates containing nutritional elements with minimal tendency to reject them.
Therefore, the adherence of the small particles to be bound to the large particles (e.g. binders) present in the aqueous composition, will make aggregates as discussed above as also claimed in claim 32.
Dijcker et al. in view of Miller et al. disclose the claim limitations of claim 27.
However, they do not specifically teach the claimed step by step of addition and mixing steps in a vessel as claimed in claim 27.
It would have been obvious that the disclosed ingredients can be mixed in a vessel to make final TMR to be used by the animal. Also, it is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to consider the teachings of Dijcker et al. in view of Miller et al. to address these claimed steps as claimed in claim 27.
For example, Dijcker et al. discloses that feed composition includes base feed materials such as roughage etc. which is Total mixed ration (TMR) (Abstract, page 3 second paragraph) roughage plus minerals (i.e. fine particulates) (At least in Abstract and page 3 last paragraph). It is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to add them in a container (i.e. vessel).
Dijcker et al. also discloses that minerals, vitamins (Abstract, page 3, last paragraph) which are known fine particulates can be added to TMR.
Dijcker et al. also discloses that base feed mixed ration (TMR ) composition can further comprise water, binder etc. (Abstract). This can be interpreted that TMR plus fine particulates and aqueous composition with ‘water plus binder’ can read on “mixed total mixed ration of claim 27.
Therefore, it meets “adding TMR to a vessel and adding fine particulates to the vessel” as claimed in claim 27.
As discussed above, Miller et al. discloses a ruminant feed supplement can contain a fluid suspension comprising fat, molasses protein (i.e. binders) etc. (at least in Abstract) to be added to feed stuffs to correct nutritional imbalance in the feed ( col 2 lines 48-52).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make aqueous composition having water plus binder together as taught by Dijcker et al. in view of Miller et al. to be ready to add to the vessel containing TMR and fine particulates to meet the ‘step of adding an aqueous composition’ to the vessel as claimed in claim 27.
Regarding mixing step to mix aqueous composition , the fine particulates, and the total mixed ration, it is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to mix them together with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have homogeneous mixing of aqueous composition with no/minimal segregation of small particulates in the final mixerd total mix ration to be delivered to an animal. It is to be noted that it is also within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the mixed total mixed ration to an animal.
However, more specifically Dijcker et al. in view of Miller et al. is silent about specific arrangement of apparatus with a vessel having mixing arrangement to perform the claimed steps, including mixing steps as claimed in claim 27.
Pratt et al. discloses an apparatus and process to add the dry particulates as dry additive(s) from dry additive and liquid including aqueous liquid composition which can be added to a final mixer 28 which is a vessel (Fig 1, #28 mixing vessel and at least in col 3 lines 1-12).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Dijcker et al.in view of Miller et al. by including the teaching of Pratt et al., to perform the steps with the disclosed apparatus using mixing vessels in order to provide the homogeneous mixing of all the ingredients to make mixed total mixed ration before it is delivered to the animal (Fig 1 #28 and at least in col 3 lines 1-12).
It is to be noted that In this instance, Pratt et al. has broadly disclosed the apparatus to make such feed composition. Pratt et al. is used only specifically to address “vessel” and having mixing arrangement to the vessel to serve as mixing vessel. It is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to consider his teaching of “mixing vessel” of Pratt et al. to perform the claimed mixing steps with a vessel with reasonable expectation of success to make homogeneously mixed final mixed total mix ration.
According to MPEP 2143.01, “Obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 986, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (discussing rationale underlying the motivation-suggestion-teaching test as a guard against using hindsight in an obviousness analysis). Axonics, Inc. v. Medtronic, Inc., 73 F.4th 950, 957-58, 2023 USPQ2d 795 (Fed. Cir. 2023) (the court found an erroneous framing of the motivation inquiry led to an incorrect conclusion of nonobviousness). In this instance, there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to consider “mixed vessel” etc. to do so as taught by Pratt et al. to modify Dijcker et al.in view of Miller et al. to meet the claimed invention of claim 27.
6. Regarding claims 33, 34, Dijcker et al. discloses that the composition may contain water in an amount of at least 5% to at least 25% by weight (at least in claim 8 of Dijcker et al.). It is to be noted that when binder, water, are mixed in combination with fine particulates (e.g. vitamins) as discussed above for claim 27, it is the aqueous composition which comprises the particles from binder and fine particles together. It would have been obvious that when binder is mixed with water, it makes “Aqueous composition” of claim 27 with desired binder like starch, etc. which would have obvious to bind fine particulates in order to serve as agglomerating agent as is also evidenced by applicant’s specification (in PGPUB [0096]). Therefore, even if the combinations of prior arts do not specifically mention the increase of average particle size in presence of the aqueous composition, as claimed in claims 33,34, it depends on the size of the fine particulates and type of binder which makes an aqueous composition after mixing together with water and other components in the TMR.
It is also within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to consider the particle size of the initial fine particulates with the type of binder which contributes the particle size of the binder in the mixture comprising mixed aqueous composition and to optimize time of mixing together to make the final increase of the average particle size within the total mixed ration by at least about 10 percent as claimed in claim 33 and also “at least 50 percent” as claimed in claim 34.
Absent showing of unexpected results, the specific amount of an increased in the average particle size is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the initial particle size of the fine particle, number of fine particles to be adhered to the large particles (e.g. binder) in the aqueous composition) are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the aggregation conditions like time of mixing etc., the precise amount would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, an increased average particle size in Dijcker et al. to amounts, including that presently claimed in claims 33, 34 , in order to obtain the desired effect e.g. desired increase in average particle size within the total mixed ration in order to have an increased consistency of fine particulate dosing to animals (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
7. Regarding claims 38, 52, Miller et al. discloses that the aqueous suspension can include fat in an amount of up to 30% by weight in such ruminant feed composition (at least in Abstract and under Table in col 11 lines 32-35). It is known that fat is hydrophobic which meets claim 52.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Dijcker et al. by including the teaching of Miller to include fat in the ruminant’s feed composition in order to provide more complete nutritionally balanced feed composition ((at least in Abstract and under Table in col 11 lines 32-35).
8. Regarding claims 39-42, Dijcker et al. discloses that the composition may contain water in an amount of at least 5% to at least 25% by weight (at least in claim 8 of Dijcker et al.). Even if water adds further components to make aqueous composition, still it meets the claim limitation of claims 39-42 because claims 39-42 claims the amount of the aqueous composition with the phrase “at least” 2.5% -10% by weight ”. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
9. Regarding claim 43, Pratt et al. discloses that the content in the transport cart 30 is disposed in the plurality pans (i.e. feed bunk) at the feed yard (at least in Fig 1, col 3 lines 1-12) to meet claim 43.
10. Regarding claim 44, as discussed for claim 27 above, and is applicable for claim 44 also that Dijcker et al. discloses that the feed composition according to the present disclosure reduces feed sorting of livestock, by controlling the separation of small particulates with the adherence with binders etc. and therefore, it reduces the tendency of small particulates (e.g. vitamins etc.) to which fall down from the total composition as adherence of the base feed materials is increased and is effective at any weather condition (at least first four paragraphs of page 7). Therefore, it is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the time to provide the mixed total mixed ration to the animal within the short time interval after the mixing step with the aqueous composition, the fine particulates, and the total mixed ration together including claimed “no more than 360 minutes” with a reasonable expectation of success to prevent ‘sorting’ which is separation of fine particulates in order to minimize “feed sorting” by maintaining an increased consistency of the fine particulates dosing to animals during consumption of mixed total mixed ration.
11. Regarding claim 49, Dijcker et al. discloses that the livestock is preferably ruminants (at least on page 6, Under “Detailed Description of the invention”-third paragraph).
12. Regarding claim 51, as discussed above, Dijcker et al. discloses that mature dairy cows tend to sort for the smaller feed components of their total mixed ration and therefore, loosing valuable nutritional components from mixed ration (at least page 2, second paragraph). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been interested to select “an animal exhibiting feed sorting behavior” from mature dairy cows to meet claim 51.
13. Claims 28, 30, 31, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dijcker et al. WO 2020/229357 A1 in view of Miller et al. USPN 4888185 in view of Miller et al. USPN 4888185 in view of Pratt et al. USPN 3806001 as applied to claim 27 and further in view of Taylor et al. US 2006/00734194.
14. Regarding claims 28, 30, 31, Dijcker et al. WO 2020/229357 A1 in view of Miller et al. and Pratt et al. are silent about surfactant, sarsasaponins and yucca extract.
Taylor et al. discloses that Yucca extract is approved for use in animal feed composition ([0017], [0018]) because it is the source of saponin ([0015]) (i.e. sapogenin), a source of multi-vitamins ([0021]), and also serves as an antiprotozoal composition ([0013]). Taylor et al. also discloses that Sarsapogenin is the major sapogenins found in yucca extract having antiprotozoal activity ([0013]). Taylor et al. also discloses Saponin composition can be in a solution form also ([0026]). Taylor et al. discloses Yucca extracts as liquid saponin composition contains vitamins like E, B1, B2, B6, B12 etc. and water ([0021]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify feed ration of Dijcker et al. in view of Miller et al. and Pratt et al. to make a liquid Yucca/saponin composition as an “aqueous composition” to be use in animal feed ration ([0021], [022]) in order to provide a source surfactant (e.g. saponin) , a source of vitamins, and as an antiprotozoal composition ([0013]) and it is approved for use in animal feed composition ([0017], [0018]).
15. Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dijcker et al. WO 2020/229357 A1 in view of Miller et al. USPN 4888185 in view of Pratt et al. USPN 3806001 as applied to claim 21 and further in view of Raun USPN 3794732.
16. Regarding claim 37, Pratt et al. is silent about animal feed contains fine particulate monensin and the animal comprising ruminant.
Raun et al. discloses that Ruminant animals having a developed rumen function convert their feed more efficiently to energy when monensin is used in the feed composition (at least in Abstract, Under Summary, col 2 lines 36-45 and claims 1-3 of Raun et al.).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify feed ration of Dijcker et al. in view of Pratt et al. to consider the teaching of Raun et al. to include monensin in the form of fine particulates in the animal composition of animal including ruminants because monensin has beneficial effect to convert the feed more efficiently to energy when monensin is used in the feed composition (at least in Abstract, Under Summary, col 2 lines 36-45 and claims 1-3 of Raun et al.).
17. Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dijcker et al. WO 2020/229357 A1 in view of Miller et al. USPN 4888185 in view of Pratt et al. USPN 3806001 as applied to claim 27 and as evidenced by Bogh et al. WO 2017/144730 A1.
18. Regarding claim 50, Dijcker et al. discloses that the livestock is preferably ruminants, cows etc. (at least on page 6, Under “Detailed Description of the invention”-third paragraph). It is known and as evidenced by Bogh et al. that cow is “Bos Taurus (in Bogh et al. Second paragraph, under Summary of the Invention).
Conclusion
19. Any inquiry concerning the communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Bhaskar Mukhopadhyay whose telephone number is (571)-270-1139.
/BHASKAR MUKHOPADHYAY/
Examiner, Art Unit 1792