DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/23/2026 with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues Djosic does not disclose identifying a first sequence from the plurality of sequences, wherein the first sequence includes a first plurality of states in the claimed fashion because the states as claimed are associated with a user action in association of an API in the claimed fashion and Djosic is directed to user behavior that occurs before the authentication step and is therefore Not associated with a user action in association of an API.
The examiner disagrees. Djosic discloses:
continuously intercepting API traffic between a client and a server, the API traffic associated with a plurality of sequences, wherein each sequence of the plurality of sequences includes a plurality of states, wherein a state of the plurality of states is associated with a user action in association of an API (Fig. 1 and [0033]-[0035]; particularly, “The API traffic comes to the gateway form different sources, such as mobile applications, desktop applications, Internet of Things (IoT) etc. Along with regular traffic, the attempt to access API service may come from malicious users, hackers, automated robots, and the goal of protection service is to block such traffic…While, many existing API cybercheck protection systems deploy the protection service either at the API gateway or at some firewall/Web Application Firewall (WAF), in some embodiments described herein, there is provided a multilayer approach, where in addition to the protection service at gateway, the protection service is deployed before and after a gateway, providing early warning, continuous and incremental protection services.” “multilayer” reading on “multiple sequence of stages”);
identifying a first sequence from the plurality of sequences, wherein the first sequence includes a first plurality of states ([0037]-[0039]; particularly “The first layer, or alpha 220, calculates risk score 222 by using the user's IP and device information as the identifiers. At this level a user's credentials 202, ID and password, are not known. The system calculates the score at this level mostly based on retrieved information from a user's fraud 224 and activity profile 226. During this process, the system should be capable to recognize some typical boot behaviour or create a default user's profile for a first-time end user based on the aforementioned boot behaviour. This layer may be seen as an early warning system.” At least “activity profile” and “boot behaviour” reading on “the first sequence includes a first plurality of states a plurality of states”).
The applicant’s arguments are flawed and misdirected as the claim recites, “a state of the plurality of states is associated with a user action in association of an API.” That is, user authentication is not recite in the claim and even if Djosic’s user behavior is before a user authentication, how does such user behavior not read on “a user action in association of an API”?
In other words, the claim has one user action and one defined state among the plurality of states and limits the user action only as associated with an API when the claim recites, “a plurality of states, wherein a state of the plurality of states is associated with a user action in association of an API.” A user “attempt to access API service” as described in Djosic [0033]-[0035] would clearly read on a user action in association of an API.
In sum, the applicant’s conclusionary statement, “Djosic is directed to user behavior that occurs before the authentication step and is therefore Not associated with a user action in association of an API,” is clearly erroneous and lacks logic because, again, why would an attempt by user to access an API service not be considered a user action associated with an API? It clearly would be and therefore the claim limitations are disclosed by Djosic.
The applicant further argues Spiers fails to teach or suggest, detecting whether the first sequence is associated with a fraudulent event based on ordering of states of the first plurality of states and a duration associated with each state of the first plurality of states, as claimed. Specifically, the applicant alleges Spiers only considers if the amount time exceeds a threshold and in contrast, the instant application anticipates a situation where "sequence 2 is suspicious7 sequence" where "the typical time between logic and entering transfer details, as shown in sequence 1, is 2:45" and where "in sequence two, the time between logic and entering transfer details is eight seconds", thereby not exceeding a threshold but by being below a typical time.
The examiner disagrees. Spiers discloses:
detecting whether a first sequence is associated with a fraudulent event based on ordering of states and a duration associated with each state of a plurality of states ([0154], particularly, “For example, if a given phase (e.g., create phase, boot phase, unlock phase, connect phase, etc.) doesn't finish within a predetermined threshold (e.g., a time duration threshold), then the cloud orchestrator 318 (or secure boot server 1204) may determine that an anomalous event has occurred and abort the process (e.g., sending instructions to abort the process, deleting/designating the reservation as void, denying the request for components, and/or other cautionary actions). In one example involving the create phase, the start of the phase may be triggered by the recording of the first token in association with a reservation, and the end of the phase may be triggered by the receipt of the first token from cloud DMZ 306. If the time duration of the create phase exceeds the threshold, an entry may be recorded in a log file (e.g., recording the identity of the source, destination, time, date, and other information) and the process aborted to prevent possibly malicious activity.”)
The applicant has failed to appreciate the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim and has failed to provide an accurate interpretation in their remarks. That is, the applicant has given a specific example from the instant specification to illustrate an isolated situation that Spiers may not suggest, but that is clearly not the broadest reasonable interpretation of the limitations as limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. The applicant even states this baldly in arguing, “the instant application anticipates a situation where…” That is, the applicant is not even arguing the claim language but rather, “the instant application…”
In sum, Spiers discloses both a specific ordering of phases (“states”) and time durations tied to those phases and detecting fraudulent events therefrom as discussed above. The applicant’s failure to provide an accurate broadest reasonable interpretation of the instant claim limitation enabled the applicant to reach a flawed and inaccurate conclusion with regard to Spiers’s disclosure with respect to the instant claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5,7, 9-13,15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Djosic et al (US Pub. No. 2021/0152555), hereafter, “Djosic,” in view of Spiers et al (US Pub. No. 2012/0266231), hereafter, “Spiers.”
As to claim 1, Djosic discloses a method for performing continuous API-based fraud detection based on sequences (Abstract), comprising:
continuously intercepting API traffic between a client and a server, the API traffic associated with a plurality of sequences, wherein each sequence of the plurality of sequences includes a plurality of states, wherein a state of the plurality of states is associated with a user action in association of an API (Fig. 1 and [0033]-[0035]; particularly, “The API traffic comes to the gateway form different sources, such as mobile applications, desktop applications, Internet of Things (IoT) etc. Along with regular traffic, the attempt to access API service may come from malicious users, hackers, automated robots, and the goal of protection service is to block such traffic…While, many existing API cybercheck protection systems deploy the protection service either at the API gateway or at some firewall/Web Application Firewall (WAF), in some embodiments described herein, there is provided a multilayer approach, where in addition to the protection service at gateway, the protection service is deployed before and after a gateway, providing early warning, continuous and incremental protection services.” “multilayer” reading on “multiple sequence of stages”);
identifying a first sequence from the plurality of sequences, wherein the first sequence includes a first plurality of states ([0037]-[0039]; particularly “The first layer, or alpha 220, calculates risk score 222 by using the user's IP and device information as the identifiers. At this level a user's credentials 202, ID and password, are not known. The system calculates the score at this level mostly based on retrieved information from a user's fraud 224 and activity profile 226. During this process, the system should be capable to recognize some typical boot behaviour or create a default user's profile for a first-time end user based on the aforementioned boot behaviour. This layer may be seen as an early warning system.” At least “activity profile” and “boot behaviour” reading on “the first sequence includes a first plurality of states a plurality of states”);
detecting whether the first sequence is associated with a fraudulent event based on ordering of states of the first plurality states ([0037]-[0039]; particularly “During this process, the system should be capable to recognize some typical boot behaviour or create a default user's profile for a first-time end user based on the aforementioned boot behaviour. This layer may be seen as an early warning system.” See also [0058], particularly, “The user behavior may pertain to interface interactive pattern (e.g., mouse movement, keyboard stroke), and the end user access pattern (time pattern, behavior pattern). Based on this information an API-EWIS can signal the warning before a user's authentication about a potential distributed denial of service (DDoS), stacking, malicious bot traffic, and fraudulent accesses. It should be noted that web application firewall (WAF) filter do not have user behavior information.” “pattern” reading on “ordering of states”); and
reporting an alert based on the detection of the fraudulent event ([0037]-[0039]; particularly “During this process, the system should be capable to recognize some typical boot behaviour or create a default user's profile for a first-time end user based on the aforementioned boot behaviour. This layer may be seen as an early warning system.” See also [0058]-[0060], particularly, “The user behavior may pertain to interface interactive pattern (e.g., mouse movement, keyboard stroke), and the end user access pattern (time pattern, behavior pattern). Based on this information an API-EWIS can signal the warning before a user's authentication about a potential distributed denial of service (DDoS), stacking, malicious bot traffic, and fraudulent accesses. It should be noted that web application firewall (WAF) filter do not have user behavior information.”)
However, Djosic does not explicitly disclose a duration associated with each state of the plurality of states.
But, Spiers discloses detecting whether a first sequence is associated with a fraudulent event based on ordering of states and a duration associated with each state of a plurality of states ([0154], particularly, “For example, if a given phase (e.g., create phase, boot phase, unlock phase, connect phase, etc.) doesn't finish within a predetermined threshold (e.g., a time duration threshold), then the cloud orchestrator 318 (or secure boot server 1204) may determine that an anomalous event has occurred and abort the process (e.g., sending instructions to abort the process, deleting/designating the reservation as void, denying the request for components, and/or other cautionary actions). In one example involving the create phase, the start of the phase may be triggered by the recording of the first token in association with a reservation, and the end of the phase may be triggered by the receipt of the first token from cloud DMZ 306. If the time duration of the create phase exceeds the threshold, an entry may be recorded in a log file (e.g., recording the identity of the source, destination, time, date, and other information) and the process aborted to prevent possibly malicious activity.”)
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Djosic and Spiers as a means to more effectively identify and prevent fraudulent and malicious activities.
As to claim 9 and 17, they are rejected by a similar rationale to that set forth in claim 1’s rejection.
As to claims 2, 10, and 18, the teachings of Djosic and Spiers as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose each of state of plurality of stages is associated with an API request and response (Djosic, [0038]-[0041]).
As to claims 3, 11, and 19, the teachings of Djosic and Spiers as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose detecting a fraudulent event includes applying API data to a prediction model, the API data generated based on the intercepted API traffic (Djosic, [0038]-[0041], particularly, “The system calculates the score at this level mostly based on retrieved information from a user's fraud 224 and activity profile 226. During this process, the system should be capable to recognize some typical boot behaviour or create a default user's profile for a first-time end user based on the aforementioned boot behaviour. This layer may be seen as an early warning system.” See also [0049] describing the model).
As to claims 4, 12, and 20, the teachings of Djosic and Spiers as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose detecting a fraudulent event includes identifying a fraudulent event associated with a selected state within the first sequence (Djosic, [0038]-[0041]).
As to claims 5 and 13, the teachings of Djosic and Spiers as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose detecting a fraudulent event includes clustering a plurality of identified sequences (Djosic, [0038]-[0041], see [0031] and [0080] describing the clustering).
As to claims 7 and 15, the teachings of Djosic and Spiers as combined for the same reasons set forth in claim 1’s rejection further disclose generating a severity score for the fraudulent event based at least in part on a frequency of sequence-based fraudulent events (Djosic, [0038]-[0041]).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Djosic and Spiers in view of Shivamoggi et al (US. Pub. No. 2019/0141066).
As to claims 6 and 14, Djosic and Spiers disclose the parent claim but does not disclose reporting includes providing data regarding a fraudulent ring associated with more user accounts than user email addresses. However, Shivamoggi discloses identifying outlier clusters generated by the clustering process ([0008]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Djosic and Spiers with Shivamoggi as a means identify and sort the clusters more effectively.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Djosic and Spiers in view of Mityagin (US. Pub. No. 2020/0228514).
As to claims 8 and 16, Djosic and Spiers disclose the parent claim but does not disclose reporting includes providing data regarding a fraudulent ring associated with more user accounts than user email addresses. However, Shivamoggi discloses reporting includes providing data regarding a fraudulent ring associated with more user accounts than user email addresses ([0051]-[0052]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Djosic and Spiers with Shivamoggi as a means identify and prevent malicious actions more effectively.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS J DAILEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458