DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 03/16/2026, 04/08/2026, and 07/21/2026 is/are in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure is being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment with respect to claim(s) 1, and 10 filed on 06/05/2026 have been fully considered for examination based on their merits. The previously presented claim(s) 2-9, and 11-20 have been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pages 9-14, filed 06/05/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-13, and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and claim(s) 3, 5-6, and 14-18, under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made with the view of XIE.
Regarding Claim 1. Applicant argues that LILAK fails to disclose or suggest the amended features to claim 1, now recites, “a semiconductor device comprising: a dielectric pillar located...in direct physical contact with…first source/drain regions; and a backside gate dielectric cap…in in direct physical contact with… first gate structure.” The Examiner agrees that the arguments are persuasive and therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as mentioned in the above paragraph. For instance, the prior art of XIE teaches a semiconductor device comprising: a dielectric pillar located beneath the first FET and in direct physical contact with one of the first source/drain regions; and a backside gate dielectric cap located adjacent to the dielectric pillar, wherein the backside gate dielectric cap is in direct physical contact with a surface of the first electrode of the first gate structure.
Regarding Claims 2-20: The dependent claims 2-20 follow similar arguments as Claim 1, upon further consideration, a new-grounds of rejection is made based on the prior-art mentioned above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-13, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Aaron D. Lilak et al, (hereinafter LILAK), US 20200294998 A1, in view Ruilong Xie et al, (hereinafter XIE), US 20230215767 A1.
The applied reference (US20230215767A1 as above) has a common assignee/joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding Claim 1, LILAK teaches a semiconductor device (Fig. 1A, stacked transistor architecture, [0012]) comprising:
a first field effect transistor (FET) (Fig. 1A, 104, lower device region) having a first gate structure (Fig. 1A, 120A/122A/123A, gate electrodes/gate dielectrics/gate spacers) and a pair of first source/drain regions (Fig. 1A, 124A);
a second FET (Fig. 1A, 108, upper device region) stacked over the first FET (Fig. 1A, 104, lower device region) and having a second gate structure (Fig. 1A, 120B/122B/123B, gate electrodes/gate dielectrics/gate spacers) and a pair of second source/drain regions (Fig. 1A, 124B);
LILAK does not explicitly disclose a semiconductor device comprising: a dielectric pillar located beneath the first FET and in direct physical contact with one of the first source/drain regions of the pair of first source/drain regions; and a backside gate dielectric cap located adjacent to the dielectric pillar, wherein the backside gate dielectric cap in direct physical contact with a surface of a first gate electrode of the first gate structure.
XIE teaches a semiconductor device (Fig. 2, 100, exemplary semiconductor structure) comprising:
a dielectric pillar (Fig. 2, 351, second dielectric) located beneath the first FET (Fig. 2, FET including a FET first source-drain region, a FET second source-drain region, a FET gate between the first and second source-drain regions, and a FET channel region under the FET gate and between the first and second source-drain regions, [0034]) and in direct physical contact with one of the first source/drain regions (Fig. 2, 353, epitaxial regions) of the pair of first source/drain regions (Fig. 2, 353, epitaxial regions); and
a backside gate dielectric cap (Fig. 2, 325/381, dielectric liner/dielectric fill) located adjacent to the dielectric pillar (Fig. 2, 351, second dielectric), wherein the backside gate dielectric cap (Fig. 2, 325/381, dielectric liner/dielectric fill) is in direct physical contact with a surface of a first gate electrode of the first gate structure (Fig. 2, 361, replacement gate structure of FET).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified LILAK to incorporate the teachings of XIE, such that a semiconductor device comprising: a dielectric pillar located beneath the first FET and in direct physical contact with one of the first source/drain regions of the pair of first source/drain regions; and a backside gate dielectric cap located adjacent to the dielectric pillar, wherein the backside gate dielectric cap in direct physical contact with a surface of a first gate electrode of the first gate structure. The above arrangements improve the routability of back end of line (BEOL) interconnects and may reduce or eliminate VBPR to gate short or VBPR-to-nearby epitaxy short (XIE, [0001-0008]).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding Claim 2, LILAK as modified by XIE teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1.
LILAK further teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 1A, stacked transistor architecture, [0012]), wherein the dielectric pillar (Fig. 1A, 140, etch selective material, can be a dielectric material, [0028]) further comprises a sidewall having a first portion (Fig. 1A, 126, spacer) that directly contacts a sidewall (Fig. 1A, 123A, gate spacer) of the first gate electrode (Fig. 1A, 120A, gate electrodes) and a second portion that directly contacts a sidewall of the backside gate dielectric cap (Fig. 1A, 136, etch selective material, are dielectric materials, [0028]).
Regarding Claim 4, LILAK as modified by XIE teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1.
LILAK further teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 1A, stacked transistor architecture, [0012]), further comprising a backside source/drain contact structure (Fig. 1A, 138) contacting the other first source/drain region (Fig. 1A, 124A) of the pair of first source/drain regions (Fig. 1A, 124A).
Regarding Claim 7, LILAK as modified by XIE teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 4.
LILAK further teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 1A, stacked transistor architecture, [0012]), further comprising a shared frontside (Fig. 1A, 101) source/drain contact structure (Fig. 1A, 125, [0026]) contacting the first source/drain region (Fig. 1A, 124A) of the pair of first source/drain regions (Fig. 1A, 124A) that is located on the dielectric pillar (Fig. 1A, 140, etch selective material, can be a dielectric material, [0028]) and one of the second source/drain regions (Fig. 1A, 124B) of the pair of second source/drain regions (Fig. 1A, 124B).
Regarding Claim 8, LILAK as modified by XIE teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 7.
LILAK further teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 1A, stacked transistor architecture, [0012]), wherein the shared frontside (Fig. 1A, 101) source/drain contact structure (Fig. 1A, 125, [0026]) is connected to a frontside back-end-of-the-line (BEOL) structure (Fig. 1A, 101/105, frontside contact region, or BEOL, [0029]) by a metal via and a metal line (Fig. 1A, M0…MN, interconnect/metallization layers, [0029]).
Regarding Claim 9, LILAK as modified by XIE teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 8.
LILAK further teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 1A, stacked transistor architecture, [0012]), further comprising a frontside (Fig. 1A, 101) source/drain contact structure (Fig. 1A, 125, [0026]) contacting the other second source/drain region (Fig. 1A, 124B) of the pair of second source/drain regions (Fig. 1A, 124B) and connected to the frontside BEOL structure (Fig. 1A, 101/105, frontside contact region, or BEOL, [0029]) by a metal via and at least one metal line (Fig. 1A, M0…MN, interconnect/metallization layers, [0029]).
Regarding Claim 10, LILAK as modified by XIE teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 8.
LILAK further teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 1A, stacked transistor architecture, [0012]), further comprising a frontside (Fig. 1A, 101) shared first/second gate electrode contact structure (Fig. 1A, 120A/120B/122A/122B/123A/123B, gate electrodes/gate dielectrics/gate spacers) contacting both the first gate electrode (Fig. 1A, 120A) of the first gate structure (Fig. 1A, 120A/122A/123A, gate electrodes/gate dielectrics/gate spacers), and a second gate electrode (Fig. 1A, 120B) of the second gate structure (Fig. 1A, 120B/122B/123B, gate electrodes/gate dielectrics/gate spacers) and connected to the frontside BEOL structure (Fig. 1A, 101/105, frontside contact region, or BEOL, [0029]) by yet another metal via and a yet another metal line (Fig. 1A, M0…MN, interconnect/metallization layers, [0029]).
Regarding Claim 11 LILAK as modified by XIE teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1.
LILAK further teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 1A, stacked transistor architecture, [0012]), wherein the second gate structure (Fig. 1A, 120B/122B/123B, gate electrodes/gate dielectrics/gate spacers) comprises a second gate electrode, and wherein the second gate electrode (Fig. 1A, 120B) is composed of a compositionally different work function metal (Fig. 1A, 120B, p-type work function metal, [0021]) than the first gate electrode (Fig. 1A, 120A).
Regarding Claim 12, LILAK as modified by XIE teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1.
LILAK further teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 1A, stacked transistor architecture, [0012]), wherein the first gate structure (Fig. 1A, 120A/122A/123A, gate electrodes/gate dielectrics/gate spacers) is wrapped around a portion of at least one first semiconductor channel material nanosheet (Fig. 1A, 116A, nanowires, [0013]) of a first nanosheet stack (Fig. 1A, 116A, nanowires, [0013]), and the second gate structure (Fig. 1A, 120B/122B/123B, gate electrodes/gate dielectrics/gate spacers) is wrapped around a portion of at least one second semiconductor channel material nanosheet (Fig. 1A, 116B, nanowires, [0013]) of a second nanosheet stack (Fig. 1A, 116B, nanowires, [0013]).
Regarding Claim 13, LILAK as modified by XIE teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1.
LILAK further teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 1A, stacked transistor architecture, [0012]), wherein the first FET (Fig. 1A, 104, lower device region) is spaced apart from the second FET (Fig. 1A, 108, upper device region) by a bonding dielectric layer (Fig. 1A, 106, isolation region, for example, with an insulator layer (e.g. oxide or nitride), [0018]; bonding material may further act as an isolation region, 106, [0027]).
Regarding Claim 19, LILAK as modified by XIE teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1.
LILAK further teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 1A, stacked transistor architecture, [0012]), wherein the first FET (Fig. 1A, 104, lower device region) and the second FET (Fig. 1A, 108, upper device region) are present in a first active area (annotated Figure 1A), and wherein at least one other second FET (Fig. 1A, 108, upper device region) stacked above at least one other first FET (Fig. 1A, 104, lower device region) are located in a second active area (annotated Figure 1A) that is spaced apart from the first active area (annotated Figure 1A), wherein one source/drain region (Fig. 1A, 124A) of the at least one other first FET (Fig. 1A, 104, lower device region) is electrically connected to a frontside BEOL structure (Fig. 1A, 101/105, frontside contact region, or BEOL, [0029]) by a combination of a backside source/drain contact structure (Fig. 1A, 138, [0013]), a backside metal connector (Fig. 1A, 128, backside interconnect), a frontside/backside deep via structure, a metal via and a metal line (Fig. 1A, M0…MN, interconnect/metallization layers, [0029]).
Regarding Claim 20, LILAK as modified by XIE teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 19.
LILAK further teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 1A, stacked transistor architecture, [0012]), wherein the backside metal connector (Fig. 1A, 128, backside interconnect) directly contacts a sidewall of a lower portion (annotated Figure 1A) of the frontside/backside deep via structure (Fig. 1A, M0…MN, interconnect/metallization layers, [0029]), and a sidewall of the backside source/drain contact structure (Fig. 1A, 138, [0013]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LILAK, in view of XIE as applied to claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-13, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Li-Zhen Yu et al, (hereinafter YU), US 20230121408 A1.
Regarding Claim 3, LILAK as modified by XIE teaches the semiconductor device Claim 1.
LILAK further teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 1A, stacked transistor architecture, [0012]), wherein the dielectric pillar (Figs. 1A/6F, 140/356, etch selective material, can be a dielectric material, [0028], [0049]) has a height that is greater than a height (annotated Figure 6F) of the backside (Fig. 1A, 103, backside contact region) gate dielectric cap (Fig. 1A, 136, etch selective material, are dielectric materials, [0028]).
Though the etch selective dielectric material, 356 (or dielectric pillar) height is greater than the gate dielectric cap, 136, LILAK as modified by XIE does not explicitly disclose the semiconductor device, wherein the dielectric pillar has a height that is greater than a height of the backside gate dielectric cap.
YU teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 32A, integrated circuit structure), wherein the dielectric pillar (Fig. 32A, 270, front side dielectric cap include silicon nitride or other suitable dielectric material, [0048]) has a height that is greater than a height of the backside (Fig. 32A, 103, backside contact region) gate dielectric cap (Fig. 1A, 240, front-side dielectric caps, [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have LILAK as modified by XIE to incorporate the teachings of YU, such that the semiconductor device, wherein the dielectric pillar has a height that is greater than a height of the backside gate dielectric cap, so that the dielectric materials 240 and 270 having different heights may have different etch selectivity for ease in manufacturing of the stacked integrated circuit (YU, [0044], [0048]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LILAK, in view of XIE as applied to claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-13, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Alexander Reznicek et al, (hereinafter REZNICEK), US 20220085013 A1.
Regarding Claim 5, LILAK as modified by XIE teaches the semiconductor device Claim 4.
LILAK further teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 1A, stacked transistor architecture, [0012]), further comprising an inner spacer (annotated Figure 1A) separating the backside source/drain contact structure (Fig. 1A, 138) from the first gate electrode (Fig. 1A, 120A, gate electrodes).
LILAK as modified by XIE does not explicitly disclose the semiconductor device, further comprising an asymmetric inner spacer separating the backside source/drain contact structure from the first gate electrode.
REZNICEK teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 13, 1300, inverter structure, [0132]), further comprising an asymmetric inner spacer (annotated Figure 13) separating the backside source/drain contact structure (Fig. 13, 850/850C, [0135]) from the first gate electrode (Fig. 13, 1250/1250A, gate metal, [0138]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have LILAK as modified by XIE to incorporate the teachings of REZNICEK, such that the semiconductor device, further comprising an asymmetric inner spacer separating the backside source/drain contact structure from the first gate electrode, so that the inner spacers provide dielectric isolation between the S/D and the gate structure (REZNICEK, Figure 13, [0047]).
Claim(s) 6, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LILAK, in view of XIE as applied to claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-13, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Guo-Huei Wu et al, (hereinafter WU), US 20200328212 A1.
Regarding Claim 6, LILAK as modified by XIE teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 4.
LILAK further teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 1A, stacked transistor architecture, [0012]) further comprising a backside back-end-of-the-line (BEOL) structure (Figs. 1A, 102) located beneath the first FET (Fig. 1A, 104, lower device region) and connected to the backside source/drain contact structure (Fig. 1A, 138).
LILAK as modified by XIE does not explicitly disclose the semiconductor device, further comprising a backside back-end-of-the-line (BEOL) structure located beneath the first FET and connected to the backside source/drain contact structure by a backside VSS power source.
WU teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 2A, semiconductor devices, a complementary FET or CFET, [0034]), further comprising a backside back-end-of-the-line (BEOL) structure (Fig. 2A, 330, bottom via contact) located beneath the first FET (Fig. 2A, 111, NMOS) and connected to the backside source/drain contact structure (Fig. 2A, 130/135) by a backside VSS power source (Fig. 2A, 320, supply line Vss[0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have LILAK as modified by XIE to incorporate the teachings of WU, such that the semiconductor device, further comprising a backside back-end-of-the-line (BEOL) structure located beneath the first FET and connected to the backside source/drain contact structure by a backside VSS power source, so that one of the power supply lines (power rail) Vss, 320 (e.g. negative or ground potential) for supplying power to the CFET is located below the CFET, (WU, [0039]).
Regarding Claim 17, LILAK as modified by XIE teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1.
LILAK as modified by XIE teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 1A, stacked transistor architecture, [0012]), further comprising a frontside/backside deep via structure (Fig. 1A, M0…MN, interconnect/metallization layers, [0029]) having a first end electrically connected to one of the second source/drain regions (Fig. 1A, 124B) of the pair of source/drain regions (Fig. 1A, 124B) by a frontside second gate (Fig. 1A, 120B) source/drain contact structure (Fig. 1A, 125).
LILAK as modified by XIE does not explicitly disclose the semiconductor device, further comprising a frontside/backside deep via structure having a first end electrically connected to one of the second source/drain regions of the pair of source/drain regions by a frontside second gate source/drain contact structure, and a second end electrically connected to a backside BEOL structure by a VDD power source.
WU teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 2A, semiconductor devices, a complementary FET or CFET, [0034]) of Claim 1, further comprising a frontside/backside deep via structure (Fig. 2A, 340/342/344, via contact, [0048]) having a first end electrically connected to one of the second source/drain regions (Fig. 2A, 230/235) of the pair of source/drain regions (Fig. 2A, 230/235) by a frontside second gate (Fig. 2A, 120) source/drain contact structure (Fig. 2A, 230/235), and a second end electrically connected to a backside BEOL structure (Fig. 2A, 330, bottom via contact) by a VDD power source (Fig. 2A, 130/135) by a backside VSS power source (Fig. 2A, 310/350/360/370, supply line Vdd/signal lines, [0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have LILAK as modified by XIE to incorporate the teachings of WU, such that the semiconductor device, further comprising a frontside/backside deep via structure having a first end electrically connected to one of the second source/drain regions of the pair of source/drain regions by a frontside second gate source/drain contact structure, and a second end electrically connected to a backside BEOL structure by a VDD power source, so that one of the power supply lines (power rail) Vdd, 310 (e.g. positive potential) for supplying power to the CFET is located below the CFET, (WU, [0039]).
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LILAK, in view of XIE as applied to claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-13, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Aaron D. Lilak, (hereinafter LILAK2), US 20200006329 A1.
Regarding Claim 14, LILAK as modified by XIE teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 1.
LILAK as modified by XIE does not explicitly disclose the semiconductor device, further comprising a first gate cut structure located adjacent to the first FET, and a second gate cut structure located adjacent to the second FET.
LILAK2 teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 2a, integrated circuit, [0002-0003]), further comprising a first gate cut structure (Fig. 2a, 109a/109b/111, iso wall/gate spacers, dielectric/insulator material, [0028-0029]) located adjacent to the first FET (Fig. 2a, lower device region, [0032]) and a second gate cut structure (Fig. 2a/3, 113a/113b/321, iso wall/spacers, dielectric/insulator material, [0035]) located adjacent to the second FET (Fig. 2a, upper device region, [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have LILAK as modified by XIE to incorporate the teachings of LILAK2, such that the semiconductor device, further comprising a first gate cut structure located adjacent to the first FET, and a second gate cut structure located adjacent to the second FET, so that the isolation wall with variable etch selectivity and etch rate compared to the STI has been implemented to effectively isolate the fin structures both in the lower and upper device region (LILAK2, [0028], [0034-0035]).
Regarding Claim 15, LILAK as modified by XIE, and LILAK2 teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 14.
LILAK2 further teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 2a, integrated circuit, [0002-0003]), wherein the first gate cut structure (Fig. 2a, 109a/109b/111, iso wall/gate spacers, dielectric/insulator material, [0028-0029]) comprises a first outer dielectric material liner (Fig. 2a, 111, gate spacers, may be silicon nitride or silicon dioxide etc., [0030]) encasing a first inner core dielectric material (Fig. 2a, 109a/109b, iso wall, dielectric/insulator material, [0028-0029]), and wherein the second gate cut structure (Fig. 2a/3, 113a/113b/321, iso wall/spacers, dielectric/insulator material, [0035]) comprises a second outer dielectric material liner (Fig. 3, 321, spacers, silicon nitride or silicon oxynitride etc., [0046]) encasing a second inner core dielectric material (Fig. 2a, 113a/113b, iso wall, dielectric/insulator material, [0035]).
Regarding Claim 16, LILAK as modified by XIE and LILAK2 teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 14.
LILAK2 further teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 2a, integrated circuit, [0002-0003]), wherein the first gate structure (Fig. 2a, 109a/109b/111, iso wall/gate spacers, dielectric/insulator material, [0028-0029]) and the second gate structure (Fig. 2a/3, 113a/113b/321, iso wall/spacers, dielectric/insulator material, [0035]) are spaced apart by a bonding dielectric layer (Fig. 3, 101, [0036]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LILAK, in view of XIE and WU, as applied to Claim(s) 6, and 17 above, and further in view of Mark I. Gardner et al, (hereinafter GARDNER), US 20220238520 A1.
Regarding Claim 18, LILAK as modified by XIE, and WU teaches the semiconductor device of Claim 17.
LILAK further teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 1A, stacked transistor architecture, [0012]), wherein the frontside/backside deep via structure (Fig. 1A, M0…MN, interconnect/metallization layers, [0029]) has an upper via portion encased in a second outer dielectric material liner (Fig. 1A, the contact structures, 125 include a conductive liner or barrier layer, deposited in a contact trench formed in an insulator layer over the source and drain regions, 124B, [0026]), and a middle portion (Fig. 1A, 106, isolation region) that is encased in a bonding dielectric layer (Fig. 1A, 106, isolation region, bonding material (e.g., silicon nitride, SiOx) may further act as an isolation region, 106, [0027]) that is located between the first FET (Fig. 1A, 103, lower device region) and the second FET (Fig. 1A, 108, upper device region).
LILAK as modified by XIE and WU does not explicitly disclose the semiconductor device, wherein the frontside/backside deep via structure has an upper via portion encased in a second outer dielectric material liner, a lower portion that is encased in a first outer dielectric material liner.
GARDNER teaches the semiconductor device (Fig. 24, 1800, fourth semiconductor device), wherein the frontside/backside deep via structure (Figs. 9-15/24, planarized via etching to form dielectric spacers, 910/2310, [0032], [0035]) has an upper via portion (Fig. 24, 2332, PMOS device) encased in a second outer dielectric material liner (Fig. 24, 2440/1880, dielectric material/second dielectric layer), a lower portion (Fig. 24, 2331, NMOS device) that is encased in a first outer dielectric material liner (Fig. 24, 2440/1870, dielectric material/first dielectric layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have LILAK as modified by XIE and WU to incorporate the teachings of GARDNER, such that the semiconductor device, wherein the frontside/backside deep via structure has an upper via portion encased in a second outer dielectric material liner, a lower portion that is encased in a first outer dielectric material liner, so that a dielectric material 640/2440 can be deposited to encapsulate the PMOS (or NMOS) devices 631/632/2431/2432 and be planarized via, for example, CMP (GARDNER, [0032]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230187551 A1 – Figure 10
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – A schematic cross-sectional view of an intermediate structure of the semiconductor integrated circuit device, wherein the dielectric liner in direct physical contact with the source/drain elements of the transistor.
US 20210407999 A1 – Figure 2 (iii)
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – A plan view and cross-sectional view of an integrated circuit structure including stacked forksheet transistors, wherein the dielectric backbone is in direct physical contact with the source/drain regions.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SESHA SAIRAMAN SRINIVASAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2817 /MARLON T FLETCHER/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817