DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0386338 hereinafter Kawai in view of WO 2020/241438 A1 [English equivalent US 2022/0238919] hereinafter Ishiguro, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2008/0193852 hereinafter Murai and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0140321 hereinafter Ahn.
Regarding Claims 1, 9, 13, and 15-16, Kawai teaches a lithium ion secondary battery and a method of preparing the lithium ion secondary battery (paragraphs 40-50, see Production Examples), wherein the lithium ion secondary battery comprises: a positive electrode; a negative electrode; a separator disposed between the electrodes; and an electrolytic solution, wherein the positive electrode comprises LiNiCoMnDO (D is Ge and P) active material (paragraph 163); and wherein the electrolytic solution comprises difluorophosphate, fluoroethylene carbonate, and lithium salt (paragraphs 92, 105, 114).
With regards to the percentage mass content of the compounds, Ishiguro teaches a secondary battery and a method of preparing the secondary battery (paragraphs 11, 63, see Example 1), wherein the secondary battery comprises: a positive electrode; a negative electrode; a separator disposed between the electrodes; and a liquid electrolyte solution (paragraph 11), wherein the liquid electrolyte solution comprises lithium fluorosulfonylimide [LiFSI] (paragraphs 29, 38, 41).
Murai teaches an electrolyte that comprises 1% by mass of triphenyl phosphate (see Example 136, paragraph 210) to suppress swelling of a battery when left in high temperature environments (paragraph 24). Murai further teaches the positive electrode active material comprises transition metal (paragraph 11) and such metals include palladium [Pd] (see MPEP § 2143, B).
In addition, Ahn teaches a secondary battery and a method of preparing the secondary battery (paragraphs 11-12), wherein the secondary battery comprises an electrolyte solution including fluoroethylene carbonate in an amount of 5 wt % or less based on the total weight of the electrolyte (paragraph 68). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an additive such as fluoroethylene carbonate in an amount of 5 wt % or less in the electrolyte before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Ahn discloses that such configuration can inhibit the swelling of the cell (paragraph 68).
The combination teaches an electrolyte solution that comprises triphenyl phosphate, lithium fluorosulfonylimide [LiFSI], and fluoroethylene carbonate in the amount as claimed (i.e., including an amount of zero as claimed).
Regarding Claims 2-5 and 10-13, the combination teaches an electrolyte solution that comprises triphenyl phosphate, lithium fluorosulfonylimide [LiFSI], and fluoroethylene carbonate in the amount as claimed (see Kawai, Ishiguro, Murai and Ahn).
Regarding Claim 6-8, the combination teaches a device comprising the battery module as described above (paragraphs 3, 77 of Ishiguro).
Claim(s) 1-13 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0028169 hereinafter Wu in view of WO 2020/241438 A1 [English equivalent US 2022/0238919] hereinafter Ishiguro, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2008/0193852 hereinafter Murai and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2019/0140321 hereinafter Ahn.
Regarding Claims 1, 9, 13, and 15-16, Wu teaches a lithium-ion secondary battery and a method of preparing the lithium ion secondary battery (paragraphs 74-75, see Production Examples), wherein the lithium-ion secondary battery comprises: a positive electrode; a negative electrode; a separator disposed between the electrodes; and an electrolyte, wherein the positive electrode comprises LiNiCoMnAOX (A is Ce and X is S, N, or F) active material (paragraphs 36-37); and wherein the electrolyte comprises lithium difluorophosphate and lithium fluorosulfonylimide [LiFSI] (paragraph 84).
With regards to the percentage mass content of the compounds, Ishiguro teaches a secondary battery and a method of preparing the secondary battery (paragraphs 11, 63, see Example 1), wherein the secondary battery comprises: a positive electrode; a negative electrode; a separator disposed between the electrodes; and a liquid electrolyte solution (paragraph 11), wherein the liquid electrolyte solution comprises lithium fluorosulfonylimide [LiFSI] (paragraphs 29, 38, 41).
Murai teaches an electrolyte that comprises 1% by mass of triphenyl phosphate (see Example 136, paragraph 210) to suppress swelling of a battery when left in high temperature environments (paragraph 24). Murai further teaches the positive electrode active material comprises transition metal (paragraph 11) and such metals include palladium [Pd] (see MPEP § 2143, B).
In addition, Ahn teaches a secondary battery and a method of preparing the secondary battery (paragraphs 11-12), wherein the secondary battery comprises an electrolyte solution including fluoroethylene carbonate in an amount of 5 wt % or less based on the total weight of the electrolyte (paragraph 68). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an additive such as fluoroethylene carbonate in an amount of 5 wt % or less in the electrolyte before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Ahn discloses that such configuration can inhibit the swelling of the cell (paragraph 68).
The combination teaches an electrolyte solution that comprises triphenyl phosphate, lithium fluorosulfonylimide [LiFSI], and fluoroethylene carbonate in the amount as claimed (i.e., including an amount of zero as claimed).
Regarding Claims 2-5 and 10-13, the combination teaches an electrolyte solution that comprises triphenyl phosphate, lithium fluorosulfonylimide [LiFSI], and fluoroethylene carbonate in the amount as claimed (see Wu, Ishiguro, Murai and Ahn).
Regarding Claim 6-8, the combination teaches a device comprising the battery module as described above (paragraphs 3, 77 of Ishiguro).
Conclusion
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752