DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
At this time Examiner is not requiring a restriction as the method claims all read upon the device claims. At such time as this is no longer the case Examiner will require a restriction.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the writing of this office action no information disclosure statement has been made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 7-8, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7,
Applicant removed the term “a pair of the trenches” from claim 1. Therefore, the term “the pair of trenches” is indefinite as it lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as claim 7 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 10-12, 14-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Fukuhara (US 2022/0068918 A1) (“Fukuhara”).
Regarding claims 1, and 11, Fukuhara teaches at least in figures 5-7:
a first transistor (2m) including (detailed below):
a plurality of trenches (area occupied by 28/29 in 2m; hereinafter “A”) extending into a semiconductor substrate (21/23);
a plurality of source regions (26s in region 2m; hereinafter “D”),
each source region (26) between a corresponding pair of adjacent trenches (A); and
a first source terminal (310m) connected to the plurality of source regions (26); and
a second transistor (2s) including (detailed below):
a central source region (a 26 in the middle of 2s; hereinafter “B”) between first and second ones of the trenches (the trenches occupied by 28/29 in 2s; hereinafter “C”); and
a second source terminal (310s) connected to the central source region (B) and conductively isolated from the first source terminal (310m; this is shown in figure 5, where 310s and 310m are isolated from each other).
Wherein the first source terminal (310m) and second source terminal (310s) extend over the first and second trenches (this can be seen in figure 6 where there are a plurality of trenches 29 in which 310m and 310s extend over).
Regarding claims 2, and 12, Fukuhara teaches at least in figures 5-7:
wherein the central source region (B) is colinear with one of the plurality of source regions (D).
Regarding claims 4, and 14, Fukuhara teaches at least in figures 5-7:
wherein the first transistor (2m) includes a plurality of gate electrodes (29),
each gate electrode (29) in a corresponding one of the plurality of trenches (A), and
the second transistor (2s) includes a pair of gate electrodes (29),
each of the pair of gate electrodes (29) in a corresponding one of the pair of adjacent trenches (C),
the plurality of gate electrodes (29) and the pair of gate electrodes (29) connected to a same gate terminal (312g/311g).
Regarding claims 5, and 15, Fukuhara teaches at least in figures 5-7:
wherein a drain of the first transistor (22 in region 2m) and a drain of the second transistor (22 in region 2s) are connected in parallel to a same voltage node (figure 7 shows they are connected together).
Regarding claims 6, and 16, Fukuhara teaches at least in figures 5-7:
wherein the second transistor (2s) includes a plurality of the trenches (C).
Regarding claims 10, and 20, Fukuhara teaches at least in figures 5-7:
wherein the first transistor shields the second transistor from spreading resistance (Applicant is claiming a characteristic or feature of the structure of claim 1. Under MPEP 2112, something new does not become patentable upon the discovery a new characteristic of the prior art. Further, this characteristic need not be recognized in the prior art. As stated, since the prior art teaches the claimed structure, it will inherently contain this characteristic. If this is not the case then Applicant appears to be missing an essential element of the device that would create this characteristic.).
Claim(s) 7, 9, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuhuhara,
Regarding claims 7, and 17, Fukuhara teaches at least in figures 5-7:
wherein the pair of trenches is a first pair of trenches, and the central source region is a first central source region directly over a drain region laterally between and touching the pair of trenches, and further comprising: a third transistor including: a plurality of second central source regions between a second pair of the trenches; and a third source terminal connected to the plurality of second central source regions and conductively isolated from the first source terminal and the second source terminal. (This claim is directed to creating a plurality of second transistors called third transistors. This is considered a duplication of parts under MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). This duplication of parts is supported by Hoshi where in at least figures 3-4 one can see that there are a plurality of terminals are used to connected a plurality of conductively isolated transistors.).
Regarding claims 9, and 19, Fukuhara teaches at least in figures 5-7:
wherein the central source region (310s) is between a first subset of the trenches and a second subset of the trenches (based upon the plan view in figure 5 there will be a first and second subset of trenches of 2m),
the first and second subset having a same number of trenches (while not explicitly taught by Fukuhara it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art top arrange or rearrange the trenches of the device as the courts have the shifting of parts is an obvious matter of design choice. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). Further, there is no unexpected results arising from the claimed arrangement. Thirdly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the first and second subset of trenches as it would provide an even current detection to the sense transistor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3, 8, 13, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 3, and 13
Applicant’s arguments concerning claim 3 is persuasive.
Regarding claims 8, and 18
Claim 8 would be allowable for the same reasons as claim 3 above. However, it is currently rejected under 35 USC § 112(b).
Claim 21 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 21,
Claim 21 is allowable for the same reasons as claim 3 above.
.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1,
Applicant argues the prior art does not teach:
Wherein the first source terminal and second source terminal extend over the first and second trenches.
However, as shown in the analysis of the claim above, and in figure 6, the prior art teaches this limitation.
Regarding claim 3,
Applicant’s arguments are persuasive for the reasons indicated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VINCENT WALL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898