DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 206313023 U, see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Li et al. discloses a confluence component for connecting battery cells (paragraph 0025 and Fig. 1, flexible connector), the confluence component comprising: a main body part (paragraph 0025 and Fig. 1, flexible connection portion 1); and two connection parts connected to two sides, respectively, of the main body part in a length direction of the confluence component (paragraph 0025 and Fig. 1, rigid portion 2 disposed at both ends of flexible connection portion 1), each of the connection parts comprising a connection region electrically connected to a battery cell (paragraph 0030 and Fig. 1, electrodes are fixed to rigid portion 2 through electrode fixing hole 21); wherein in a thickness direction of the confluence component, the main body part is at least partially recessed (paragraph 0025 and Fig. 1, flexible connection portion 1 is U-shaped) and is deformable under a preset stress to absorb vibrations in the thickness direction (paragraph 0030, flexible connection portion 1 can absorb and buffer the mutual vibration of the batteries).
Regarding claim 2, Li et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Li et al. further discloses wherein the main body part is made of a same material as the connection parts, and the main body part and the connection parts are integrally formed (paragraph 0025 and Fig. 1, both flexible connection portion 1 and rigid portion 2 are formed from multiple layers of metal foil 3).
Regarding claim 3, Li et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Li et al. further discloses wherein each of the connection parts comprises a plurality of connection layers stacked along the thickness direction (paragraph 0025 and Fig. 1, rigid portion 2 formed by hot pressing multiple layers of metal foil 3).
Regarding claim 5, Li et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Li et al further discloses wherein a strength of the main body part is less than a strength of the connection parts (paragraph 0025, rigid portion 2 are less flexible than flexible connection portion 1).
Claims 1, 4-5, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yan (CN 203406359 U, see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Yan discloses a confluence component for connecting battery cells (paragraph 0032 and Fig. 1, flexible connecting strip 1), the confluence component comprising: a main body part (paragraph 0032 and Figs. 1 and 2, flexible part 12); and two connection parts connected to two sides, respectively, of the main body part in a length direction of the confluence component (paragraph 0032 and Figs. 1 and 2, connecting ends 11 at both ends of the flexible connecting strip 1), each of the connection parts comprising a connection region electrically connected to a battery cell (paragraph 0032 and Fig. 1, connecting ends 11 connected to an electrode on two adjacent battery cells by screws 3); wherein in a thickness direction of the confluence component, the main body part is at least partially recessed and is deformable under a preset stress to absorb vibrations in the thickness direction (paragraph 0032 and Figs. 1 and 2, flexible part 12 is shaped like a raised hill and can absorb the impact caused by vibration).
Regarding claim 4, Yan discloses the limitations of claim 1. Yan further discloses wherein each of the connection parts comprises a reinforced plating layer at least partially disposed in the connection region (paragraph 0033 and Fig. 2, connecting end 11 is tin-plated or nickel-plated).
Regarding claim 5, Yan discloses the limitations of claim 1. Yan further discloses wherein a strength of the main body part is less than a strength of the connection parts (paragraph 0032 and Figs. 1 and 2, connecting ends 11 are less flexible than flexible part 12).
Regarding claim 12, Yan discloses the limitations of claim 1. Yan further discloses a battery comprising a plurality of battery cells and the confluence component according to claim 1 (paragraph 0010 and Fig. 4, battery 4 composed of multiple battery cells), wherein adjacent battery cells are electrically connected through the confluence component (paragraph 0010 and Fig. 4, flexible connecting strips 1 connect adjacent battery cells).
Claims 1, 5, 7, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (US 2018/0047958 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sato et al. discloses a confluence component for connecting battery cells (paragraph 0020 and Fig. 1, bus bar modules 20), the confluence component comprising: a main body part (paragraph 0023 and Fig. 3, flexible flat conductor 40); and two connection parts connected to two sides, respectively, of the main body part in a length direction of the confluence component (paragraph 0023 and Fig. 3, bus bars 30), each of the connection parts comprising a connection region electrically connected to a battery cell (paragraph 0036 and Figs. 1 and 2, bus bars 30 connected to electrode terminals 13 through through-holes 31a); wherein in a thickness direction of the confluence component, the main body part is at least partially recessed and is deformable under a preset stress to absorb vibrations in the thickness direction (paragraph 0046 and Fig. 3, connection areas 40b formed into a mountain fold shape to absorb deviation along with tolerance variations).
Regarding claim 5, Sato et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Sato et al. further discloses wherein a strength of the main body part is less than a strength of the connection parts (paragraphs 0034 and 0026, metal bus bars 30 are less flexible than flexible flat conductor 40).
Regarding claim 7, Sato et al. discloses the limitations of claim 5. Sato et al. further discloses wherein one connection part of the connection parts and the main body part at least partially overlap with each other in the thickness direction (Fig. 3, overlap between flexible flat conductor 40 and bus bars 30).
Regarding claim 11, Sato et al. discloses the limitations of claim 7. Sato et al. further discloses wherein the one connection part is riveted to the main body part (paragraph 0040, connectors 32 are inserted through the bus bar holder 42b and deformed as to caulk the bus bar holder 42b).
Regarding claim 12, Sato et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1. Sato et al. further discloses a battery comprising a plurality of battery cells and the confluence component according to claim 1 (paragraph 0020, battery pack 1 includes a plurality of battery cells 11 and bus bar modules 20), wherein adjacent battery cells are electrically connected through the confluence component (paragraph 0024, bus bars 30 connect adjacent battery cells 11).
Regarding claim 13, Sato et al. discloses the limitations of claim 12. Sato et al. further discloses an electrical device comprising the battery according to claim 12 (paragraph 0020, battery pack 1 mounted on vehicles).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 2018/0047958 A1) in view of Wang (CN 204793010 U, see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 6, Sato et al. discloses the limitations of claim 5. Sato et al. does not disclose wherein the main body part is welded to the connection parts.
Wang discloses wherein the main body part is welded to the connection parts (paragraph 0026 and Fig. 1, soft copper strip 11 is welded to copper blocks 2).
Sato et al. and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of confluence components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bus bar modules of Sato et al. with the teachings of Wang using known methods to yield the predictable result of integrating the main body part with the connection parts, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when doing so. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 2018/0047958 A1) in view of Yamamoto (JP 2013041175 A, see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 8, Sato et al. discloses the limitations of claim 7. Sato et al. further discloses that the main body part is provided with a second fixing hole (paragraph 0040 and Fig. 2, through-holes 42b1 of bus bar holder 42b). Sato et al. does not disclose wherein the one connection part is provided with a first fixing hole; the confluence component further comprising: a fastener; wherein the first fixing hole and the second fixing hole are fitted through the fastener, so as to fixedly connect the one connection part to the main body part. Sato et al. does disclose connectors formed on the bus bars that are deformed to caulk the bus bar holder, which fixedly connects the bus bars to the bus bar holder (paragraph 0040 and Fig. 3).
Yamamoto discloses wherein the one connection part is provided with a first fixing hole (paragraph 0092 and Fig. 12, through hole 271b); the confluence component further comprising: a fastener (paragraph 0092, connecting screw); wherein the first fixing hole and the second fixing hole are fitted through the fastener, so as to fixedly connect the one connection part to the main body part (paragraph 0092, connecting screw inserted through the through holes 253b and 271b).
Sato et al. and Yamamoto are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of confluence components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the connectors of Sato et al. with the teachings of Yamamoto to yield the predictable result of integrating the main body part with the connection parts, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 2018/0047958 A1) in view of Yun et al. (US 2010/0310909 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Sato et al. discloses the limitations of claim 7. Sato et al. discloses wherein one of the main body part and the one connection part is provided with a protruding end (paragraph 0041, connectors 32 extend orthogonally from a flat surface of the bus bar main body 31), and another one of the main body part and the one connection part is provided with a connection hole (paragraph 0040, through-holes 42b1 of bus bar holder 42b). Sato et al. does not disclose the confluence component further comprising: a limit component; wherein the protruding end passes through the connection hole and fits with the limit component, so as to fixedly connect the one connection part to the main body part. Sato et al. does disclose deforming the connectors to caulk the bus bar holder, which fixedly connects the bus bars to the bus bar holder (paragraph 0040 and Fig. 3).
Yun et al. discloses the confluence component further comprising: a limit component (paragraph 0227 and Fig. 10, second coupling component 420-3); wherein the protruding end passes through the connection hole and fits with the limit component, so as to fixedly connect the one connection part to the main body part (paragraphs 0227-0028 and Fig. 10, bolt formed on second lower fixing plate 420-1 passes through the through-hole formed on second upper fixing plate 420-2, and second coupling component 420-3 is installed to an end of the bolt).
Sato et al. and Yun et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of confluence components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the deformation of the connectors of Sato et al. with the teachings of Yun et al. to yield the predictable result of integrating the main body part with the connection parts, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when doing so. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 2018/0047958 A1) in view of Yamamoto (JP 2013041175 A, see attached machine translation) and Yun et al. (US 2010/0310909 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Sato et al. discloses the limitations of claim 7. Sato et al. discloses wherein one of the main body part and the one connection part is provided with a protruding end (paragraph 0041, connectors 32 extends orthogonally from a flat surface of the bus bar main body 31), and another one of the main body part and the one connection part is provided with a connection hole (paragraph 0040, through-holes 42b1 of bus bar holder 42b). Sato et al. does not disclose the confluence component further comprising: a limit component; wherein the protruding end passes through the connection hole and fits with the limit component, so as to fixedly connect the one connection part to the main body part. Sato et al. does disclose deforming the connectors to caulk the bus bar holder, which fixedly connects the bus bars to the bus bar holder (paragraph 0040 and Fig. 3).
Yun et al. discloses the confluence component further comprising: a limit component (paragraph 0227 and Fig. 10, second coupling component 420-3); wherein the protruding end passes through the connection hole and fits with the limit component, so as to fixedly connect the one connection part to the main body part (paragraphs 0227-0028 and Fig. 10, bolt formed on second lower fixing plate 420-1 passes through the through-hole formed on second upper fixing plate 420-2, and second coupling component 420-3 is installed to an end of the bolt).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the deformation of the connectors to caulk the bus bar holder of Sato et al. with the teachings of Yun et al. to yield the predictable result of integrating the main body part with the connection parts, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when doing so. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Modified Sato does not disclose wherein the one connection part is provided with a first fixing hole, and the main body part is provided with a second fixing hole; the confluence component further comprising: a fastener; wherein the first fixing hole and the second fixing hole are fitted through the fastener, so as to fixedly connect the one connection part to the main body part.
Yamamoto discloses wherein the one connection part is provided with a first fixing hole (paragraph 0092 and Fig. 12, through hole 271b), and the main body part is provided with a second fixing hole (paragraph 0092 and Fig. 12, through hole 253b); the confluence component further comprising: a fastener (paragraph 0092, connecting screw); wherein the first fixing hole and the second fixing hole are fitted through the fastener, so as to fixedly connect the one connection part to the main body part (paragraph 0092, connecting screw inserted through the through holes 253b and 271b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the bus bar modules of modified Sato with the teachings of Yamamoto using known methods to yield the predictable result of integrating the main body part with the connection parts, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Conclusion
/J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/TAMIR AYAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726