DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on May 27, 2026 is acknowledged. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claim 3 is canceled. Claim 14 is newly presented.
The previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the connecting parts" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted this limitation to refer to the “connection parts” of line 4. Claims 2-13, which depend on claim 1, are similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yan (CN 203406359 U).
Regarding claim 14, Yan discloses a confluence component for connecting battery cells ([0010] and Figs. 1 and 4, connection structure), the confluence component comprising: a main body part ([0032] and Fig. 1, flexible connecting strip 1); and two connection parts connected to two sides, respectively, of the main body part in a length direction of the confluence component ([0013], washer 2), each of the connection parts comprising a connection region electrically connected to a battery cell ([0013], [0032], and see Annotated Fig. 2 below, connection region including holes connected to an electrode on two adjacent battery cells by screws 3); wherein in a thickness direction of the confluence component, the main body part is at least partially recessed to form a recessed part and is deformable under a preset stress to absorb vibrations in the thickness direction ([0032] and Fig. 1, flexible part 12 is shaped like a raised hill and can absorb the impact caused by vibration); and each of the two connection parts and the main body part at least partially overlap with each other in the thickness direction to form an overlapping part, and the two overlapping parts are connected to two sides of the recessed part in the length direction, respectively ([0032] and see Annotated Fig. 2 below, connecting ends 11 connected to opposite sides of flexible part 12); and each of ends of the main body part in a width direction of the confluence component does not exceed corresponding ends of the two overlapping parts in the width direction of the confluence component, and the width direction of the confluence component is perpendicular to both the length direction and the thickness direction (see Annotated Fig. 2 below, flexible connecting strip 1 and washers 2 have the same size in the width direction).
Yan Annotated Fig. 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 206313023 U, hereinafter “Li”) in view of Kojima et al. (US 2021/0384589 A1, cited by Applicant in IDS filed on October 10, 2024, and hereinafter “Kojima”).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a confluence component for connecting battery cells ([0025] and Fig. 1, flexible connector), the confluence component comprising: a main body part ([0025] and Fig. 1, flexible connection portion 1); and two connection parts connected to two sides, respectively, of the main body part in a length direction of the confluence component ([0025] and Fig. 1, rigid portion 2 disposed at both ends of flexible connection portion 1), each of the connection parts comprising a connection region electrically connected to a battery cell ([0030] and Fig. 1, electrodes are fixed to rigid portion 2 through electrode fixing hole 21); wherein in a thickness direction of the confluence component, the main body part is at least partially recessed ([0030] and Fig. 1, flexible connection portion 1 is U-shaped) and is deformable under a preset stress to absorb vibrations in the thickness direction ([0030], flexible connection portion 1 can absorb and buffer the mutual vibration of the batteries); and each of the connection parts comprises a plurality of connection layers stacked along the thickness direction ([0025] and Fig. 1, rigid portion 2 made of hot pressed layers of metal foil 3).
Li does not disclose for one of the connecting parts, an area of a first connecting layer of the plurality of connecting layers is larger than an area of a second connecting layer of the plurality of connecting layers, and the first connecting layer is closer to the battery cell than the second connecting layer.
Kojima discloses a busbar 4 with a first connecting layer ([0032] and Figs. 2-4, terminal joints 14) and a second connecting layer ([0032] and Figs. 2-4, voltage detection line connector 18), wherein an area of a first connecting layer is larger than an area of a second connecting layer ([0036] and Figs. 2-4, slope 22 on terminal joint 14), and the first connecting layer is closer to the battery cell than the second connecting layer (Figs. 2-4).
Li and Kojima are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of confluence components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the rigid portion of Li with the teachings of Kojima, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would prevent stress from being concentrated on the middle coupler when the busbar is deformed (Kojima [0036]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Li discloses the limitations of claim 1. Li further discloses wherein the main body part is made of a same material as the connection parts, and the main body part and the connection parts are integrally formed ([0025] and Fig. 1, both flexible connection portion 1 and rigid portion 2 are formed from multiple layers of metal foil 3).
Regarding claim 5, modified Li discloses the limitations of claim 1. Li further discloses wherein a strength of the main body part is less than a strength of the connection parts ([0025], rigid portion 2 are less flexible than flexible connection portion 1).
Claims 1, 4-5, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan (CN 203406359 U) in view of German et al. (DE 102006015566 A1, machine translation relied upon herein, and hereinafter “German”) and Kojima (US 2021/0384589 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yan discloses a confluence component for connecting battery cells ([0032] and Fig. 1, flexible connecting strip 1), the confluence component comprising: a main body part ([0032] and Figs. 1 and 2, flexible part 12); and two connection parts connected to two sides, respectively, of the main body part in a length direction of the confluence component ([0032] and Figs. 1 and 2, connecting ends 11 at both ends of the flexible connecting strip 1), each of the connection parts comprising a connection region electrically connected to a battery cell ([0032] and Fig. 1, connecting ends 11 connected to an electrode on two adjacent battery cells by screws 3); wherein in a thickness direction of the confluence component, the main body part is at least partially recessed and is deformable under a preset stress to absorb vibrations in the thickness direction ([0032] and Figs. 1 and 2, flexible part 12 is shaped like a raised hill and can absorb the impact caused by vibration).
Yan does not disclose wherein each of the connection parts comprises a plurality of connection layers stacked along the thickness direction; and for one of the connecting parts, an area of a first connecting layer of the plurality of connecting layers is larger than an area of a second connecting layer of the plurality of connecting layers, and the first connecting layer is closer to the battery cell than the second connecting layer.
German discloses a pole connector 10 that comprises a plurality of connection layers stacked along the thickness direction ([0045]-[0047] and Figs. 5, 6, and 8, conductor elements 11 that are welded at their ends 13, 14 and spaced apart from each other).
Yan and German are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of confluence components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connection ends of Yan with the teachings of German, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would result in a pole connector with improved cooling, lower electrical resistance and power loss, and high flexibility (German [0047]).
Modified Yan does not disclose for one of the connecting parts, an area of a first connecting layer of the plurality of connecting layers is larger than an area of a second connecting layer of the plurality of connecting layers, and the first connecting layer is closer to the battery cell than the second connecting layer.
Kojima discloses a busbar 4 with a first connecting layer ([0032] and Figs. 2-4, terminal joints 14) and a second connecting layer ([0032] and Figs. 2-4, voltage detection line connector 18), wherein an area of a first connecting layer is larger than an area of a second connecting layer ([0036] and Figs. 2-4, slope 22 on terminal joint 14), and the first connecting layer is closer to the battery cell than the second connecting layer (Figs. 2-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the conductor elements of modified Yan with the teachings of Kojima, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would prevent stress from being concentrated on the middle coupler when the busbar is deformed (Kojima [0036]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Yan discloses the limitations of claim 1. Yan further discloses wherein each of the connection parts comprises a reinforced plating layer at least partially disposed in the connection region ([0033] and Fig. 2, connecting end 11 is tin-plated or nickel-plated).
Regarding claim 5, modified Yan discloses the limitations of claim 1. Yan further discloses wherein a strength of the main body part is less than a strength of the connection parts ([0032] and Figs. 1 and 2, connecting ends 11 are less flexible than flexible part 12).
Regarding claim 12, modified Yan discloses the limitations of claim 1. Yan further discloses a battery comprising a plurality of battery cells and the confluence component according to claim 1 ([0010] and Fig. 4, battery 4 composed of multiple battery cells), wherein adjacent battery cells are electrically connected through the confluence component ([0010] and Fig. 4, flexible connecting strips 1 connect adjacent battery cells).
Claims 1, 5, 7, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 2018/0047958 A1, hereinafter “Sato”) in view of German (DE 102006015566 A1) and Kojima (US 2021/0384589 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses a confluence component for connecting battery cells ([0020] and Fig. 1, bus bar modules 20), the confluence component comprising: a main body part ([0023] and Fig. 3, flexible flat conductor 40); and two connection parts connected to two sides, respectively, of the main body part in a length direction of the confluence component ([0023] and Fig. 3, bus bars 30), each of the connection parts comprising a connection region electrically connected to a battery cell ([0036] and Figs. 1 and 2, bus bars 30 connected to electrode terminals 13 through through-holes 31a); wherein in a thickness direction of the confluence component, the main body part is at least partially recessed and is deformable under a preset stress to absorb vibrations in the thickness direction ([0046] and Fig. 3, connection areas 40b formed into a mountain fold shape to absorb deviation along with tolerance variations).
Sato does not disclose wherein each of the connection parts comprises a plurality of connection layers stacked along the thickness direction; and for one of the connecting parts, an area of a first connecting layer of the plurality of connecting layers is larger than an area of a second connecting layer of the plurality of connecting layers, and the first connecting layer is closer to the battery cell than the second connecting layer.
German discloses a pole connector 10 that comprises a plurality of connection layers stacked along the thickness direction ([0045]-[0047] and Figs. 5, 6, and 8, conductor elements 11 that are welded at their ends 13, 14 and spaced apart from each other).
Sato is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of confluence components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bus bars of Sato with the teachings of German, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would result in a pole connector with improved cooling, lower electrical resistance and power loss, and high flexibility (German [0047]).
Modified Sato does not disclose for one of the connecting parts, an area of a first connecting layer of the plurality of connecting layers is larger than an area of a second connecting layer of the plurality of connecting layers, and the first connecting layer is closer to the battery cell than the second connecting layer.
Kojima discloses a busbar 4 with a first connecting layer ([0032] and Figs. 2-4, terminal joints 14) and a second connecting layer ([0032] and Figs. 2-4, voltage detection line connector 18), wherein an area of a first connecting layer is larger than an area of a second connecting layer ([0036] and Figs. 2-4, slope 22 on terminal joint 14), and the first connecting layer is closer to the battery cell than the second connecting layer (Figs. 2-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the conductor elements of modified Sato with the teachings of Kojima, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would prevent stress from being concentrated on the middle coupler when the busbar is deformed (Kojima [0036]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Sato discloses the limitations of claim 1. Sato further discloses wherein a strength of the main body part is less than a strength of the connection parts ([0026] and [0034], metal bus bars 30 are less flexible than flexible flat conductor 40).
Regarding claim 7, modified Sato discloses the limitations of claim 5. Sato further discloses wherein one connection part of the connection parts and the main body part at least partially overlap with each other in the thickness direction (Fig. 3, overlap between flexible flat conductor 40 and bus bars 30).
Regarding claim 11, modified Sato discloses the limitations of claim 7. Sato further discloses wherein the one connection part is riveted to the main body part ([0040], connectors 32 are inserted through the bus bar holder 42b and deformed as to caulk the bus bar holder 42b).
Regarding claim 12, modified Sato discloses the limitations of claim 1. Sato further discloses a battery comprising a plurality of battery cells and the confluence component according to claim 1 ([0020], battery pack 1 includes a plurality of battery cells 11 and bus bar modules 20), wherein adjacent battery cells are electrically connected through the confluence component ([0024], bus bars 30 connect adjacent battery cells 11).
Regarding claim 13, modified Sato discloses the limitations of claim 12. Sato further discloses an electrical device comprising the battery according to claim 12 ([0020], battery pack 1 mounted on vehicles).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2018/0047958 A1) in view of German (DE 102006015566 A1) and Kojima (US 2021/0384589 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Wang (CN 204793010 U).
Regarding claim 6, modified Sato discloses the limitations of claim 5. Sato does not disclose wherein the main body part is welded to the connection parts.
Wang discloses wherein the main body part is welded to the connection parts ([0026] and Fig. 1, soft copper strip 11 is welded to copper blocks 2).
Wang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of confluence components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the bus bar modules of Sato with the teachings of Wang using known methods to yield the predictable result of integrating the main body part with the connection parts, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when doing so. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2018/0047958 A1) in view of German (DE 102006015566 A1) and Kojima (US 2021/0384589 A1) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Yamamoto (JP 2013041175 A).
Regarding claim 8, modified Sato discloses the limitations of claim 7. Sato further discloses that the main body part is provided with a second fixing hole ([0040] and Fig. 2, through-holes 42b1 of bus bar holder 42b). Sato does not disclose wherein the one connection part is provided with a first fixing hole; the confluence component further comprising: a fastener; wherein the first fixing hole and the second fixing hole are fitted through the fastener, so as to fixedly connect the one connection part to the main body part. Sato does disclose connectors formed on the bus bars that are deformed to caulk the bus bar holder, which fixedly connects the bus bars to the bus bar holder ([0040] and Fig. 3).
Yamamoto discloses wherein the one connection part is provided with a first fixing hole ([0092] and Fig. 12, through hole 271b); the confluence component further comprising: a fastener ([0092], connecting screw); wherein the first fixing hole and the second fixing hole are fitted through the fastener, so as to fixedly connect the one connection part to the main body part ([0092], connecting screw inserted through the through holes 253b and 271b).
Yamamoto is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of confluence components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the connectors of Sato with the teachings of Yamamoto to yield the predictable result of integrating the main body part with the connection parts, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2018/0047958 A1) in view of German (DE 102006015566 A1) and Kojima (US 2021/0384589 A1) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Yun et al. (US 2010/0310909 A1, hereinafter “Yun”).
Regarding claim 9, modified Sato discloses the limitations of claim 7. Sato further discloses wherein one of the main body part and the one connection part is provided with a protruding end ([0041], connectors 32 extend orthogonally from a flat surface of the bus bar main body 31), and another one of the main body part and the one connection part is provided with a connection hole ([0040], through-holes 42b1 of bus bar holder 42b).
Sato does not disclose the confluence component further comprising: a limit component; wherein the protruding end passes through the connection hole and fits with the limit component, so as to fixedly connect the one connection part to the main body part. Sato does disclose deforming the connectors to caulk the bus bar holder, which fixedly connects the bus bars to the bus bar holder ([0040] and Fig. 3).
Yun discloses the confluence component further comprising: a limit component ([0227] and Fig. 10, second coupling component 420-3); wherein the protruding end passes through the connection hole and fits with the limit component, so as to fixedly connect the one connection part to the main body part ([0227]-[0028] and Fig. 10, bolt formed on second lower fixing plate 420-1 passes through the through-hole formed on second upper fixing plate 420-2, and second coupling component 420-3 is installed to an end of the bolt).
Yun is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of confluence components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the deformation of the connectors of Sato with the teachings of Yun to yield the predictable result of integrating the main body part with the connection parts, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when doing so. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2018/0047958 A1) in view of German (DE 102006015566 A1) and Kojima (US 2021/0384589 A1) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Yamamoto (JP 2013041175 A) and Yun (US 2010/0310909 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Sato discloses the limitations of claim 7. Sato further discloses wherein one of the main body part and the one connection part is provided with a protruding end ([0041], connectors 32 extends orthogonally from a flat surface of the bus bar main body 31), and another one of the main body part and the one connection part is provided with a connection hole ([0040], through-holes 42b1 of bus bar holder 42b).
Sato does not disclose the confluence component further comprising: a limit component; wherein the protruding end passes through the connection hole and fits with the limit component, so as to fixedly connect the one connection part to the main body part. Sato does disclose deforming the connectors to caulk the bus bar holder, which fixedly connects the bus bars to the bus bar holder ([0040] and Fig. 3).
Yun discloses the confluence component further comprising: a limit component ([0227] and Fig. 10, second coupling component 420-3); wherein the protruding end passes through the connection hole and fits with the limit component, so as to fixedly connect the one connection part to the main body part ([0227]-[0028] and Fig. 10, bolt formed on second lower fixing plate 420-1 passes through the through-hole formed on second upper fixing plate 420-2, and second coupling component 420-3 is installed to an end of the bolt).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the deformation of the connectors to caulk the bus bar holder of Sato with the teachings of Yun to yield the predictable result of integrating the main body part with the connection parts, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when doing so. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B).
Modified Sato does not disclose wherein the one connection part is provided with a first fixing hole, and the main body part is provided with a second fixing hole; the confluence component further comprising: a fastener; wherein the first fixing hole and the second fixing hole are fitted through the fastener, so as to fixedly connect the one connection part to the main body part.
Yamamoto discloses wherein the one connection part is provided with a first fixing hole ([0092] and Fig. 12, through hole 271b), and the main body part is provided with a second fixing hole ([0092] and Fig. 12, through hole 253b); the confluence component further comprising: a fastener ([0092], connecting screw); wherein the first fixing hole and the second fixing hole are fitted through the fastener, so as to fixedly connect the one connection part to the main body part ([0092], connecting screw inserted through the through holes 253b and 271b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the bus bar modules of modified Sato with the teachings of Yamamoto using known methods to yield the predictable result of integrating the main body part with the connection parts, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2 and 4-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 24 July 2026