DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
IDS
The IDS document(s) filed on April 7, 2026 has been considered. Copies of the PTO-1449 documents are herewith enclosed with this office action.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s remarks with respect to claims #1-13, 21 in the reply filed on February 19, 2026 have been carefully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Claims 19 and 20 remain indicated as being allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-13, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0139799 A1), hereafter “Jung”, and further in view of Yamashita et al. (JP 2018-44148), as cited in the IDS and improved machine translation previously provided, hereafter “Yamashita”.
As to claim 1, Jung teaches:
A film substrate CT+110. See Jung, FIG. 4.
A wiring layer 120 on the film substrate.
A semiconductor chip 100/101 on the wiring layer and electrically connected to the wiring layer.
Wherein the film substrate comprises a first layer 110.
Wherein the first layer is an insulating layer having the wiring layer thereon. Jung teaches an insulating material for the first layer. Id. at ¶ [0047].
Wherein the film substrate further comprises a second layer 151.
Wherein the second layer is in direct contact with a bottom of the first layer. Id. at FIG. 4.
Wherein the second layer is configured to be peeled off of the first layer. Jung teaches the second layer 151 is an adhesive or tape. Id. at ¶ [0057].
However, Jung does not teach the second layer comprises gas.
On the other hand, Yamashita teaches an adhesive comprising a first side-chain crystalline polymer and foaming agent, wherein the foaming agent comprises a gas or nitrogen gas. See Yamashita, Abstract, ¶¶ [0019], [0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the adhesive comprising gas as taught by Yamashita for the adhesive layer as taught by Jung, in order to yield the predictable benefit of reducing residue after peeling. Id. at ¶ [0006]. Furthermore, the adhesive layer as taught by the combination of Jung and Yamashita would continue to function as intended.
As to claim 2, Yamashita teaches a foaming property. Id. at ¶ [0026]. The Examiner notes that “when exposed to light” is not a structural limitation. Jung and Yamashita teaches the structure as claimed.
As to claim 3, Yamashita teaches nitrogen gas, an inert gas. Id. at ¶ [0029].
As to claim 4, the Examiner notes the recited limitations are not structural limitations. Jung and Yamashita teaches the structure as claimed.
As to claim 5, Yamashita teaches heating the adhesive layer to a temperature equal to or greater than a foaming temperature to reduce cohesive force and enable removing the adhesive layer. Id. at 7. The Examiner notes the limitation “when the gas foams, the second layer is configured to be peeled off of the first layer” is not claiming additional structure beyond the second layer merely being an adhesive layer and having a gas component.
As to claim 6, Jung teaches the second layer 151 is an adhesive layer, which is inherently capable of being peeled off of the first layer when the semiconductor package is connected to an external device. The Examiner notes the limitation “configured to be peeled off of the first layer when the semiconductor package is connected to an external device” is not claiming additional structure beyond the second layer merely being an adhesive layer.
As to claim 7, neither Jung nor Yamashita specifies an exact thickness of the first layer.
On the other hand, if the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In re Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 220 USPQ 777.
As to claim 10, Jung teaches a fourth layer 160 attached to a bottom of the second layer 151.
As to claim 11, Jung teaches the second layer 151 comprises adhesive material. See Jung, ¶ [0057].
As to claim 12, neither Jung nor Yamashita teaches the gas comprises at least 50% of a volume of the second layer.
On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select an adhesive with a relevant gas percentage by volume, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. As a matter of design choice, there are a limited number of materials that can provide the gas percentage.
As to claim 13, Jung teaches the semiconductor package is connected to a display panel and is configured to convert and relay signals for controlling the display panel. See Jung, ¶¶ [0004], [0024]-[0036], FIG. 1.
As to claim 21, Jung teaches:
A film substrate CT+110. Id. at FIG. 4.
A wiring layer 120 on the film substrate.
A semiconductor chip 100/101 on the wiring layer and electrically connected to the wiring layer.
Wherein the film substrate comprises an insulating first layer 110 that has no conductive circuitry extending therethrough.
Wherein the film substrate further comprises a second layer 151.
Wherein the second layer is on a bottom of the insulating first layer. Id. at FIG. 4.
Wherein the second layer is configured to be peeled off of the insulating first layer. Jung teaches the second layer 151 is an adhesive or tape. Id. at ¶ [0057].
However, Jung does not teach the second layer comprises gas.
On the other hand, Yamashita teaches an adhesive comprising a first side-chain crystalline polymer and foaming agent, wherein the foaming agent comprises a gas or nitrogen gas. See Yamashita, Abstract, ¶¶ [0019], [0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the adhesive comprising gas as taught by Yamashita for the adhesive layer as taught by Jung, in order to yield the predictable benefit of reducing residue after peeling. Id. at ¶ [0006]. Furthermore, the adhesive layer as taught by the combination of Jung and Yamashita would continue to function as intended.
Claims Allowable If Rewritten in Independent Form
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 8, Jung’s third layer 153, an adhesive, is not attached to a bottom of the second layer 151 wherein the Examiner has interpreted ‘attach/attached’ as requiring contact.
Indication of Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claims 19 and 20 are indicated as being allowable because Jung’s third layer 153, an adhesive, is not attached to a bottom of the second layer 151 wherein the Examiner has interpreted ‘attach/attached’ as requiring contact.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUBERR L CHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893