DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 10/9/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shimada (US 2022/0013440).
1. A semiconductor package, comprising:
a substrate (Fig.4A-4B (1/100) and [0021]) extending in first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction (x/y/z direction- see Fig.4A-4B the substrate is a 3D structure) and comprising a solder resist layer (Fig.2B (300) and [0021]) having an open area thereon (Fig.2B/4B (303) and [0024]);
a semiconductor chip (Fig.4A-4B (500) and [0032]) on the substrate (Fig.4A-4B (1/100) and [0021]) in a third direction (Fig.4A-4B (500) and [0032]), the third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction (x/y/z direction- see Fig.4A-4B the substrate is a 3D structure),
a first surface of the semiconductor chip (Fig.4A-4B (500-bottom surface) and [0032]) facing the substrate (Fig.4A-4B (1/100) and [0021]); and
a bump structure (Fig.4B (400) and [0032]) in contact with a first connection pad (Fig.4B (200) and [0032]) on the open area (Fig.2B/4B (303) and [0024]) and a second connection pad (Fig.4B (510) and [0032]) on the first surface of the semiconductor chip (Fig.4A-4B (500-bottom surface) and [0032]), and configured to connect the substrate (Fig.4A-4B (1/100) and [0021]) to the semiconductor chip (Fig.4A-4B (500) and [0032]), wherein the open area (Fig.2B/4B (303) and [0024]) comprises a first area (Fig.4B (opening above middle 300) and [0024])/ (Fig.2B (303- portion 301) and [0024]) corresponding to a central part of the semiconductor chip (Fig.4A-4B (500) and [0032]) and having a first length (Fig.2B (303- portion 301) and [0024]) extending in the first direction (x-direction); and a second area (Fig.4B (openings on left and right near peripheral regions 300) and [0024]) disposed in a corresponding peripheral part of the first area semiconductor chip (Fig.4A-4B (500) and [0032]), and having a second length (Fig.2B (303- portion 302) and [0024]) in the first direction (x-direction) wherein the first length (Fig.4B (opening above middle 300) and [0024])/(Fig.2B (303- portion 301) and [0024])) of the first area in the first direction is greater than the second length (Fig.4B (openings on left and right near peripheral regions 300) and [0024])/ (Fig.2B (303- portion 302) and [0024]). See annotated drawing below:
2. The semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein a ratio of the length of the first area (Fig.2B (303- portion 301) and [0024]) in the first direction (x-direction) to a length of the first area (Fig.2B (303- portion 301) and [0024]) in the second direction (z-direction) is larger than a ratio of the length of the second area (Fig.2B (303- portion 302) and [0024]) in the first direction (x-direction) to a length of the second area (Fig.2B (303- portion 302) and [0024]) in the second direction (z-direction) See Fig.2B).
3. The semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein a width of the bump structure (Fig.4B/5A-5B (400/410) and [0032]) in the first area (Fig.2B (303- portion 301) and [0024]) in the second direction (z-direction) is smaller than a width of the bump structure (Fig.4B/5A-5B (400/410) and [0032]) in the second area (Fig.2B (303- portion 302) and [0024]) in the second direction (z-direction).
4. The semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein a length of the first area (Fig.2B (303- portion 301) and [0024]) in the second direction (z-direction) is substantially the same as a length of the second area (Fig.2B (303- portion 302) and [0024]) in the second direction (z-direction).
5. The semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein a length of the bump structure (Fig.4B/5A-5B (400/410) and [0032]) in the first area (Fig.2B (303- portion 301) and [0024]) in the first direction (x-direction) is greater than a length of the bump structure (Fig.4B/5A-5B (400/410) and [0032]) in the first area (Fig.2B (303- portion 302) and [0024]) in the second direction (z-direction).
6. The semiconductor package of claim 1, wherein the open area (Fig.2B/4B (303) and [0024]) comprises a plurality of spaced portions (Fig.2A-2B (303- portions 301 and 302) and [0024]) spaced apart from each other in the second direction (y/z direction- See Fig.s 2A-2B).
7. The semiconductor package of claim 6, wherein each of the plurality of spaced portions comprises curved parts (Fig.6A/6B (301/302/303) and [0041]).
8. The semiconductor package of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of alignment patterns disposed adjacent to edge areas of the semiconductor chip, when viewed in a plan view (Fig.1A- electrodes 200/ solder resists openings 303 are aligned and are interpreted as alignment marks for the mounting board and chip- [0021]).
9. The semiconductor package of claim 8, wherein the plurality of alignment patterns have different shapes (Fig.1A/6A/6B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada (US 2022/0013440) in further view of Lee et al (US 20070096336).
In reference to claim 10, Shimada teaches the limitations of claim 1 as cited above; however fails to explicitly teach the limitation of claim 10 as recited below:
10. The semiconductor package of claim 1, further comprising a non-conductive material layer between the substrate and the semiconductor chip.
However Lee et al teaches: further comprising a non-conductive material layer (Fig.1A (12) and [0003]) between the substrate (Fig.1A (11) and [0003])and the semiconductor chip (Fig.1A (10) and [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Shimada’s teachings to further include an underfill material (Fig.1A (12) and [0003]) as taught by Lee – because doing so provides additional strength to secure the chip and prevent deformation [Lee- [0003]). Moreover, such underfill materials are well-known and commonplace in the art for such purposes.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada (US 2022/0013440) in further view of Motoyoshi (WO 2014/136241)
Shimada teaches the limitations of claim 1 as cited above, however fails to teach the limitations of claim 11 as recited below:
11. The semiconductor package of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of semiconductor chips electrically connected via a through via and a connection structure on the semiconductor chip.
However, Motoyoshi teaches a plurality of semiconductor chips electrically connected via a through via and a connection structure on the semiconductor chip (Fig.2A (TSV chips 21) and [0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shimada’s teachings to include a chip stack connected via through vias as taught by Motoyoshi because such a configuration is well known in the art of semiconductors and allows for more chip functionality with limited surface space.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Examiner in the interview assured the Applicant that the claim amendment would overcome the art of record. The Examiner’s interview summary indicates that the Examiner encouraged the Applicant to include the protrusion portion taught in the Applicant’s specification and to amend the claims further than the proposed amendment. It appears only the proposed amendment was filed.
The proposed amendment is anticipated by Shimada as cited above and annotated below:
The first opening is longer than the second opening in the x direction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park et al (US 20230223327); Igarshi et al (WO 2011102561); and Lee (US 20250336857) teach similar structures.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M MENZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813
6/8/26