DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Remarks
Claims 13-14 and 24-25 are withdrawn as of October 14, 2025, with traverse.
Claims 2-3 and 16-17 are canceled. Dependent claims 18-21 are dependent on canceled claim 17 and are therefore canceled. Ergo, Claims 16-21 are canceled.
Claims 1, 4-12, 15 and 22-23 are examined.
This application contains 13-14 and 24-25 are drawn to an invention nonelected with traverse. A complete reply to the final rejection must include cancellation of nonelected claims 13-14 and 24-25 or other appropriate action (37 CFR 1.144) See MPEP § 821.01.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims, 13-14 and 24-25, to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention with Applicant’s amendment and response to this Non-final office action.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicant’s arguments filed on March 2, 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Examiner formally withdraws the rejection under 35 USC 101.
Applicant argues that Claim 1 is not taught by Fujishiro. Examiner respectfully disagrees. See new rejection infra for explanation of the rejected both Independent Claim 1 and 15, infra under 35 USC 102 including the newly added limitation. See final office action, infra:
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4 depends on canceled claim 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 and 15-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Masato Fujishiro (US Publication No. 2022/0394579 A1 and Fujishiro hereinafter).
Regarding Claims 1 and 15, Fujishiro teaches a method, comprising:
determining at a user equipment that a current non-terrestrial cell (Figure 6, whole figure, infra):
belonging to a network has become unavailable (i.e., backhaul communicator 240 is connected to a neighboring base station via an interface between the base stations. The backhaul communicator 240 is connected to an AMF/UPF 300 via an interface between the base station and the core network) Para [0048] and (i.e., UE 100 and the RRC of the gNB 200, the UE 100 is in an RRC idle state.) Para [0058] to the user equipment (i.e., The communication control method includes, based further on whether a cell is a non-terrestrial cell, the non-terrestrial cell being formed by a radio transceiver of a satellite or an aircraft, determining, by the user equipment, a rank of the cell in the cell reselection) Para [0007]; and determining whether to initiate a cell search based on at least information at the user equipment about timing of availability to the user equipment (i.e., When there is connection (RRC connection) between the RRC of the UE 100 and the RRC of the gNB 200, the UE 100 is in an RRC connected state) Para [0058] of one or more other non-terrestrial cells belonging to the network (i.e., a satellite or an aircraft equipped with the non-terrestrial radio transceiver (hereinafter referred to as “altitude of the non-terrestrial radio transceiver”) may be several tens of thousands of kilometers, and thus the propagation delay is large in communication between the UE 100 present on the ground and the non-terrestrial cell) Para [0064].
In regards to the newly added limitation of March 2, 2026, “equipment, wherein determining that the current non-terrestrial cell has become unavailable to the user equipment comprises determining that a service time has been reached after a determination at the user equipment that measurements with the user equipment of the current non-terrestrial cell do not meet one or more cell selection criteria and
wherein, in the event that the information indicates that one or more other non-terrestrial cells belonging to the network are to become available to the user equipment before a maximum waiting time after the service time, determining at the user equipment not to initiate a cell search before one or more of the one or more other cells of the non-terrestrial network becomes available according to the information at the user equipment.”
Fujishiro teaches equipment, wherein determining that the current non-terrestrial cell has become unavailable to the user equipment (i.e. User equipment according to an aspect performs cell reselection of selecting a serving cell by ranking a plurality of cells based on radio quality. Based further on whether a cell is a non-terrestrial cell, the non-terrestrial cell being formed by a radio transceiver of a satellite or an aircraft, the user equipment determines a rank of the cell in the cell reselection) [Abstract] comprises determining that a service time has been reached after a determination at the user equipment that measurements (i.e., measurement control function ) Para [0028] with the user equipment of the current non-terrestrial cell do not meet one or more cell selection criteria (i.e., handover of user equipment from a source cell to a target cell. The communication control method includes, when the target cell is a non-terrestrial cell formed by a radio transceiver of a satellite or an aircraft, receiving, by the user equipment, a time offset to be applied to communication with the non-terrestrial cell from the source cell. The time offset is time for delaying start timing or expiration timing of a timer used at time of performing communication with the target cell ) Para [0008] and wherein, in the event that the information indicates that one or more other non-terrestrial cells belonging to the network (i.e., cell reselection on the basis of ranking for the plurality of measured cells. In other words, the UE 100 ranks the plurality of cells, and reselects a cell of a high rank as the serving cell. The UE 100 calculates a rank R.sub.s of the current serving cell and a rank R.sub.n of neighboring cells. The UE 100 selects a cell having a rank R.sub.n higher than R.sub.s over a predetermined period (Treselection.sub.RAT) as a target cel) Para [0061] are to become available to the user equipment before a maximum waiting time after the service time (i.e., over a predetermined period (Treselection.sub.RAT) as a target cell. ) Para [0061], and (i.e., timer is a timer for determining waiting time in which reception of a random access response (RA response) from the cell is to be waited for after the UE 100 transmits a random access preamble (RA preamble) in the RA procedure from the UE 100 to the cell) Para [0066] determining at the user equipment not to initiate a cell search before one or more of the one or more other cells of the non-terrestrial network becomes available according to the information at the user equipment (i.e., The value of the time offset may be configured in proportion to the value of altitude of the non-terrestrial radio transceiver. As the value of altitude of the non-terrestrial radio transceiver is larger, the value of the time offset may be configured to be larger. The value of the time offset may be represented in number of milliseconds (ms), or may be represented in number of subframes.) Para [0071] and (i.e., determines the rank (R.sub.n described above) of each of cell #2 to cell #4 with a first method (a method of preferentially selecting the terrestrial cell). In the first method, when a cell is the non-terrestrial cell, the UE 100 determines the rank of the cell so that the determined rank is lower than when the cell is not the non-terrestrial cell.) Para [0090].
Regarding Claim 4, Fujishiro teaches wherein determining whether to initiate a cell search comprises: starting a timer in response to determining that the current cell has become unavailable to the user equipment; determining that the information at the user equipment indicates that a non-terrestrial cell belonging to the network is not available to the user equipment before expiry of the timer (i.e., propagation delay in communication with the non-terrestrial cell is by far larger than the propagation delay in communication with a terrestrial cell (a cell formed by a radio transceiver installed on the ground). Thus, when the UE 100 applies, to the non-terrestrial cell, the same timer value as that of the timer (for example, the RA timer) applied to the terrestrial cell, the UE 100 may not be able to receive a response message (for example, the RA response) within timer time. In this case, the RA procedure does not succeed, which thus inhibits the UE 100 from communicating with the non-terrestrial cell.) Para [0070]; and initiating a cell search in response to expiry of the timer (i.e., determines R.sub.n of the non-terrestrial cell, the UE 100 calculates R.sub.n by multiplying “Qoffset” in the above-described expression of “R.sub.n=Q.sub.meas, n−Qoffset−Qoffset.sub.temp” by the value of the time offset. When the UE 100 calculates R.sub.n of the terrestrial cell, the UE 100 does not multiply “Qoffset” by the value of the time offset. In other words, the UE 100 calculates the rank of cell #2 according to “R.sub.n=Q.sub.meas, n−Qoffset−Qoffset.sub.temp”, and calculates the rank of cell #3 and cell #4 according to “R.sub.n=Q.sub.meas, n−Qoffset×time offset−Qoffset.sub.temp”. The value of the time offset to be applied to cell #3 is larger than the value of the time offset to be applied to cell #4, and thus when the radio qualities (Q.sub.meas, n) regarding cell #2 to cell #4 are substantially the same, and the same “Qoffset” and “Qoffset.sub.temp” are applied to cell #2 to cell #4, the rank of cell #3 is determined so that the determined rank is lower than the rank of cell #4, and the rank of cell #4 is determined so that the determined rank is lower than the rank of cell #2.) Para [0091].
Regarding Claim 5, Fujishiro teaches wherein the timer has a value hard-coded into the user equipment (i.e., the cell is the non-terrestrial cell, regarding each of cell #2 to cell 4. The UE 100 may determine each of cell #3 and cell #4 that broadcast the time offset as the non-terrestrial cell. The UE 100 may determine whether the cell is the non-terrestrial cell, based on predetermined information other than the time offset. The predetermined information includes information indicating altitude of the cell (altitude of the radio transceiver that forms the cell) and/or a flag indicating that the cell is the non-terrestrial cell.) Para [0087].
Regarding Claim 6, Fujishiro teaches wherein the timer has a value based on information received with the current cell (i.e., various timers used by the UE 100 are defined. Values of such various timers are configured from the gNB 200 to the UE 100. Examples of the timer include an RA timer in a random access (RA) procedure, a timer T300 in an RRC connection procedure, and/or a timer T319 in an RRC recovery procedure. Here, the RA procedure is a procedure executed when the UE 100 transitions from the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state to the RRC connected state and/or when the UE 100 in the RRC connected state performs handover ) Para [0065].
Regarding Claim 7, Fujishiro teaches wherein the timer has a value dependent on one or more parameters of the user equipment (i.e., various timers used by the UE 100 are defined. Values of such various timers are configured from the gNB 200 to the UE 100. Examples of the timer include an RA timer in a random access (RA) procedure, a timer T300 in an RRC connection procedure, and/or a timer T319 in an RRC recovery procedure. Here, the RA procedure is a procedure executed when the UE 100 transitions from the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state to the RRC connected state and/or when the UE 100 in the RRC connected state performs handover ) Para [0065].
Regarding Claim 8, Fujishiro teaches wherein the one or more parameters comprises one of more of: a combined uplink performance capability and downlink performance capability of the user equipment (i.e., Between the MAC layer of the UE 100 and the MAC layer of the gNB 200, data and control information are transmitted via a transport channel. The MAC layer of the gNB 200 includes a scheduler. The scheduler determines transport formats (transport block sizes, modulation and coding schemes (MCSs)) in the uplink and the downlink and resource blocks to be allocated to the UE 100) Para [0052], battery settings of the user equipment, or battery condition of the user equipment (i.e. The controller 130 performs various types of control in the UE 100. The controller 130 includes at least one processor and at least one memory electrically connected to the processor) Para [0039].
Regarding Claims 9 and 22, Fujishiro teaches wherein the information is received at the user equipment with the current cell (i.e., he gNBs 200 are connected to each other via an Xn interface being an interface between the base stations. The gNB 200 manages one or a plurality of cells. The gNB 200 performs radio communication with the UE 100 that has established connection with its own cell. The gNB 200 includes a radio resource management (RRM) function, a routing function of user data (hereinafter simply referred to as “data”), a measurement control function for mobility control and scheduling, and/or the like) Para [0028].
Regarding Claims 10 and 23, Fujishiro teaches wherein the information based on measurements and calculations at the user equipment (i.e., The gNB 200 manages one or a plurality of cells. The gNB 200 performs radio communication with the UE 100 that has established connection with its own cell. The gNB 200 includes a radio resource management (RRM) function, a routing function of user data (hereinafter simply referred to as “data”), a measurement control function for mobility control and scheduling, and/or the like.) Para [0028].
Regarding Claim 11, Fujishiro teaches wherein the information is based on orbital information about the satellites operating non-terrestrial cells (i.e., he second architecture, the gNB 200 is equipped in a satellite or an aircraft. The radio transceiver included in the gNB 200 serves as a non-terrestrial radio transceiver, and forms a non-terrestrial cell. The gNB 200 may include one or a plurality of distributed units (DUs) and one central unit (CU), and in this case, the DU serves as a non-terrestrial radio transceiver and forms a non-terrestrial cell) Para [0031].
Regarding Claim 12, Fujishiro teaches wherein the network is a home public land mobile network for the user equipment (i.e., the mobile communication system includes user equipment (UE) 100, a 5G radio access network (next generation radio access network (NG-RAN)) 10, and a 5G core network (5G core network (5GC)) 20 ) Para [0026].
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
M. FUJISHIRO (US Patent Publication No. 20220394579 A1), “COMMUNICATION CONTROL METHOD AND USER EQUIPMENT” (December 8, 2022), discloses user equipment according to an aspect performs cell reselection of selecting a serving cell by ranking a plurality of cells based on radio quality. Based on whether a cell is a non-terrestrial cell, the non-terrestrial cell being formed by a radio transceiver of a satellite or an aircraft, the user equipment determines a rank of the cell in the cell reselection.
C. Park (US Patent No. 12262264 B2), “Timing And Synchronization Parameters For Handover In Non-terrestrial Network:” (March 15, 2025) discloses a handover, wherein the configuration information indicates, for a target non-terrestrial cell, timing and synchronization parameters including a scheduling timing offset, a round trip time between a reference point and a target base station associated with the target non-terrestrial cell, satellite ephemeris information, an ephemeris validity duration associated with the satellite ephemeris information, common timing advance parameters, and a common timing advance validity duration associated with the common timing advance parameters.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.qov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free).
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Diane.Mizrahi@USPTO.gov