General Remarks
Examiner acknowledges Applicants election of Group II (claims 10-14) for Examination on the merits and withdrawal of claims 1-9 and 15-20 from further consideration.
Examiner requires changing of indicator of non-elected claims from “Withdrawal” to “Cancel”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102(a)2
Claim(s) 10-11,13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by ELAZZOUNI et al (20240049283 A1) hereinafter as ELAZZOUNI.
Regarding claim(s) 10, ELAZZOUNI discloses a method, comprising:
performing, by a processor of an apparatus, a channel access procedure to initiate a channel occupancy time (COT) for sidelink (SL) over unlicensed spectrum (SL-U) communications with a peer apparatus (See Fig(s). 1, 3, See ¶ 75, the first sidelink UE may perform an LBT procedure or other CCA to gain access to the COT 320 in an unlicensed (e.g., shared) frequency spectrum.);
retaining, by the processor, the COT by filling a gap between two consecutive transmissions. (See Fig(s). 14, step 1450, See ¶ 99, 171, If a COT sharing UE does not have data to transmit in its respective allocated time, the COT sharing UE may transmit random data to retain the COT.).
Regarding claim(s) 11, ELAZZOUNI discloses wherein the filling of the gap between two consecutive transmissions comprises: transmitting, by the processor, a cyclic prefix extension (CPE) in one or more guard symbols (See ¶ 90, In some aspects, the COT sharing information may indicate the same cyclic prefix extension (CPE) length 412 allocated to the second sidelink UE).
Regarding claim(s) 13, ELAZZOUNI discloses wherein the filling of the gap between two consecutive transmissions comprises: transmitting, by the processor, data or a pre-defined sequence in symbols corresponding to a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) occasion where no acknowledgement (ACK) or non-acknowledgement (NACK) is to be transmitted (See Fig(s). 14, step 1450, See ¶ 99, 171, If a COT sharing UE does not have data to transmit in its respective allocated time, the COT sharing UE may transmit random data to retain the COT….no ack is initiated for COT retention).
Regarding claim(s) 14, ELAZZOUNI discloses wherein the data comprises physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) data (See ¶ 78,103), and wherein the pre-defined sequence comprises a PSFCH-like signal (See Fig(s). 1, See ¶ 114, the UE 115j may transmit the COT access request via a PSSCH, a PSCCH, a PSFCH, SCI, a MAC CE message, a unicast message, a groupcast message….. The UE 115i and the UE 115k may interpret the single bit PSFCH as a COT access request when there is no mapping of the PSFCH to a PSSCH.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ELAZZOUNI et al (20240049283 A1) hereinafter as ELAZZOUNI in view of Chien (20250386371 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 12, Chien discloses wherein the one or more guard symbols comprise at least one of a first guard symbol before an automatic gain control (AGC) symbol of a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) and a second guard symbol at the end of an SL slot (See Fig(s). 8, See ¶ 438-439, 452-453A guard symbol can be reused for PSSCH transmission if the guard symbol is not present. An AGC symbol at the first symbol of an SL slot can be reused for PSSCH transmission if the guard symbol at the end of the previous SL slot is not indicated.).
A guard period which allows Tx-Rx or Rx-Tx switching provides for proper synching between terminals of interest.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Chien within ELAZZOUNI, so as to provides for proper synching between terminals of interest.
Conclusion
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411