Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “each of the plurality of point evaporation sources comprise a plurality of nozzles” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Claim 10 is missing. Misnumbered claims 11-13 have been renumbered 10-12, respectively.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: claim 1 evaporation source which has been interpreted as a nozzle and crucible with heater and thermocouple, and equivalents thereto, as set forth, e.g., in the specification at para. 39; claim 4 chiller unit wherein no specific structure was located in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
As discussed above, “chiller unit” invokes interpretation under U.S.C. 112(f). However, no reference of “chiller unit” in the disclosure details a specific structure to perform the claimed function attributed thereto. Without any disclosure of any structure, materials, or acts for performing the functions or any link of structure to the functions, one cannot conclude that the inventor was in possession of the claimed invention. Therefore, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. In order to expedite examination, the claims have been written and any feature capable of providing the claimed function has been interpreted as readable thereon.
Claims 2 and 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Any claim not specifically mentioned is rejected based on its dependence.
With respect to claim 5, claim limitation “chiller unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See above for claim interpretation.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 2, which is dependent on claim 1 recites “a throw distance”, whereas claim 1 recites “at least one nozzle assembly … at a distance from the substrate”. These two recitations appear to refer to the same distance and have been interpreted as such. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim 4 recites “actively water-cooled partitions” (emphasis added). It is unclear what structural feature (or functional feature related thereto) the emphasized portion of the recitation is meant to refer. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed the emphasized portion is merely related to an intended use of the claimed structural feature (e.g., in use vs. out of use). Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim 7 recites “each of the plurality of point evaporation sources comprise a plurality of nozzles”. However, as per the specification and drawings, it does not appear that any individual evaporation source comprises a plurality of nozzles, as the claim language implies. Rather, as illustrated in Fig. 6, each evaporation source 18a-c comprises a nozzle 21a-c. Additionally, claim 7 does not clearly recite or require more than one plurality of evaporation sources (i.e. more than one bundle). Thus, it is unclear what feature(s) “each” and “plurality” are meant to further define. In order to expedite examination, the claims have been examined as inclusive of an arrangement where each evaporation source has a nozzle such that overall, a plurality of nozzles are provided with respect to the bundle (or each bundle in further dependent claims 8 and 9). Claim 7 has not been interpreted as reciting or requiring a plurality of bundles. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim 7 also recites the phrase “good mixing”. The term “good” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “good” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In order to expedite examination, “mixing” any implicitly or explicitly disclosed mixing with respect to a claimed prior art invention is considered “good” mixing.
Claim 10 (previously claim 11) recites “each bundle” and “a plurality of arms”. However, neither claim 10, or claim 1, 7, the claims from which claim 10 depends, recite more than a bundle. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed, the claim was meant to recite “wherein the system comprises a plurality of bundles, each bundle disposed on one of a plurality of swing arms” and has examined accordingly. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
As mentioned above, clarification and/or correction is requested in all instances.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified KR 20040004755 to Asada et al. in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2006/0162647 to Chi.
Regarding claim 1: In Figs. 1-6, e.g., Asada et al. disclose a system for deposition of evaporated material on a substrate (3) substantially as claimed, the substrate having a central axis (e.g., a central vertical axis), the system comprising: (a) an evaporation chamber (1); (b) at least one nozzle assembly (plurality of structures) having a plurality of point evaporation sources (7), the point evaporation sources disposed adjacent to the central axis of the substrate and at a distance from the substrate whereby the nozzle assembly provides for (i.e. is capable of providing for) molecules of evaporated material to arrive at the substrate at an incident angle of less than or equal to 5 degrees; and (c) a shadow mask (4A) disposed adjacent the substrate.
With respect to the claimed incident angle of less than or equal to 5 degrees, Asada et al. disclose that an angle of each point evaporation source of the plurality of the point evaporation sources can be freely selected and adjusted to achieve a desired incident angle (see, e.g., translation), wherein the courts have rule where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Additionally, Asada et al. fail to explicitly disclose, each evaporation source of the nozzle assembly including in addition to a crucible (7), a nozzle, heater and thermocouple.
As part of a system for deposition of evaporated material, Chi discloses a nozzle assembly comprising a plurality of point evaporation sources, wherein evaporation source of the plurality of evaporation sources comprises a crucible (120), nozzle ([formed by 140], see, e.g., paras. 32-33), and thermocouple (not illustrated, see, e.g., para. 30) for the purpose of providing a system which prevents adhesion of deposition material to the nozzle assembly so that maintenance, management and use of the nozzle assembly is made easy (see, e.g., para. 10).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the system of Asada et al. comprising point evaporation sources including a crucible, nozzle and thermocouple in order to provide a system which prevents adhesion of deposition material to the nozzle assembly so that maintenance, management and use of the nozzle assembly is made easy as taught by Chi.
With respect to claim 2, in modified Asada et al., with respect to the size of the substrate, Examiner notes that the courts have ruled the inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Additionally, with respect to the “throw distance” (also, “at least one nozzle assembly … at a distance from the substrate” as described in claim 1), Asada et al. teach that a distance between the evaporation sources and the substrate may be adjusted according to the size of the substrate, the deposition material or the deposition situation, wherein the courts have ruled where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to claim 3, in modified Asada et al., Asada et a;. disclose the nozzle assembly provides (i.e. is capable of providing) an overlap of a plurality of evaporating material plumes originating from a point located near the central axis of the substrate (depending on position of the nozzle assembly and how “near” is interpreted). The overlap is provided in order to allow for binary, dual, multiple deposition (e.g., see translation).
With respect to claim 7, in modified Asada et al., Asada et al. teach point evaporation source of the plurality of evaporation sources comprises a nozzle (as detailed above) such that they are in a bundle close to each other and equidistant from the substrate (e.g. in a vertical direction) to provide mixing of evaporated materials on a molecular level via merging of individual plumes into a single plume.
Claim(s) 1 and 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2005/0005848 to Yamazaki et al. (1) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2004/0123804 to Yamazaki et al. (2). and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2006/0162647 to Chi.
Regarding claim 1: In Figs. 1-3E, e.g., Yamazaki et al. (1) discloses a system for deposition of evaporated material on a substrate substantially as claimed, the substrate having a central axis (e.g., a central vertical axis), the system comprising: (a) an evaporation chamber (101)(also see, e.g., paras. 20, 24-25, 92, 143 and claim 3 teach that the chamber is connected to evacuation and exhaust chamber/means); (b) at least one nozzle assembly (109) having a plurality of point evaporation sources (110), the point evaporation sources disposed adjacent to the central axis of the substrate and at a distance from the substrate whereby the nozzle assembly provides for (i.e. is capable of providing for) molecules of evaporated material to arrive at the substrate at an incident angle of less than or equal to 5 degrees; and (c) a shadow mask (113) disposed adjacent the substrate. Regarding the incident angle, Yamazaki et al. (1) disclose that an angle of a nozzle (810) of each point evaporation source of the plurality of the point evaporation sources can be freely selected and adjusted to achieve a desired incident angle upon the substrate (see, e.g., paras. 66-67 and 71), wherein the courts have rule where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
However, while Yamazaki et al. (1) fails to explicitly disclose the evaporation chamber is a vacuum chamber. This a feature well known in the art.
Yamazaki et al. (2) explicitly teach providing an evaporation chamber with vacuum exhausting means in order to keep the chamber under a reduced pressure (see, e.g., para. 151).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the evaporation chamber as an evaporation vacuum chamber in order to keep the chamber under reduced pressure during a similar evaporation deposition process as taught by Yamazaki et al. (2).
Yamazaki et al. (1) disclose each evaporation source of the nozzle assembly including a crucible (110), a nozzle (810), heater 9801 and 804), but not a thermocouple.
As part of a system for deposition of evaporated material, Chi discloses a nozzle assembly comprising a plurality of point evaporation sources, wherein evaporation source of the plurality of evaporation sources comprises a crucible (120), nozzle ([formed by 140], see, e.g., paras. 32-33), and thermocouple (not illustrated, see, e.g., para. 30) for the purpose of providing a system which prevents adhesion of deposition material to the nozzle assembly so that maintenance, management and use of the nozzle assembly is made easy (see, e.g., para. 10).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the system of Yamazaki et al. (1) comprising point evaporation sources including a crucible, nozzle and thermocouple in order to provide a system which prevents adhesion of deposition material to the nozzle assembly so that maintenance, management and use of the nozzle assembly is made easy as taught by Chi.
With respect to claim 3, in modified Yamazaki et al. (1), Yamazaki et al. (1) disclose the nozzle assembly provides (i.e. is capable of providing) an overlap of a plurality of evaporating material plumes originating from a point located near the central axis of the substrate (depending on position of the nozzle assembly and how “near” is interpreted). The overlap is provided in order to allow for mixing during co-evaporation.
With respect to claim 4, in modified Yamazaki et al. (1), Yamazaki et al. (2) teach providing point evaporation sources separated from each other by a like plurality of water-cooled partitions (802) (capable of being active, i.e., in use) to reduce thermal cross talk between sources. See, e.g., Fig. 9 and para. 25.
With respect to claim 5, in modified Yamazaki et al. (1), Yamazaki et al. (2) teach the water-cooled partitions have built in channels (810) to propagate water flow delivered from an external chiller unit (necessarily functionally provided as a source of water).
With respect to claim 6, which is drawn to intended use of the apparatus, the courts have ruled a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
With respect to claim 7, in modified Yamazaki et al. (1), each point evaporation source of the plurality of evaporation sources comprises a nozzle (810), such that they are in a bundle close to each other and equidistant from the substrate (e.g. in a vertical direction) to provide mixing of evaporated materials on a molecular level via merging of individual plumes into a single plume.
With respect to claim 8, in modified Yamazaki et al. (1), Yamazaki et al. (1) disclose the system including three bundles of the point evaporation sources. See, e.g., Fig. 1, 102a, 102b, 102c.
With respect to claim 9, in modified Yamazaki et al. (1), Yamazaki et al. (1) fail to disclose the system including four bundles duplication 102a, 102b, 102c, instead of three. However, providing four bundles would not produce a new or unexpected result, wherein the courts have ruled that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to claim 10 (previously claim 11), in modified Yamazaki et al. (1), Yamazaki et al. (1) disclose bundle of three bundles is disposed on one of a plurality of swinging arms (106a-c).
Claim(s) 11 and 12 (previously claims 12-13) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Yamazaki et al. (1) as applied to claims 1 and 3-10 above and further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No.
2003/0223853 to Caveney
Modified Yamazaki et al. (1) disclose the system substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, modified Yamazaki et al. (1) fail to explicitly disclose each swing arm of the plurality of swing arms is driven by a step motor for positioning of the bundle adjacent to the central axis of the substrate; or the step motor located outside said evaporation vacuum chamber, where motion is executed using a belt drive through a seal. Examiner does note however that the courts have ruled that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Caveney et al. disclose a swing arm driven by a step motor or another suitable type for rotatable positioning of items within a vacuum chamber wherein the step motor is located outside of said vacuum chamber and motion is executed a belt (e.g., Fig. 11, pulley and/or belt 626) through a seal (634S) for the purpose of providing independently extendible and retractable end effectors (i.e. swing arms) having a smaller footprint and therefore reduced cost per manufacturing floor space (also, see, e.g., paras. 39-41).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided each swing arm of the plurality of swing arms driven by a step motor for positioning of the bundle adjacent to the central axis of the substrate, the step motor located outside said evaporation vacuum chamber, where motion is executed using a belt drive through a seal in order to provide independently extendible and retractable (i.e. swing arms) having a smaller footprint and therefore reduced cost per manufacturing floor space as taught by Caveney et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USP Pub. 2007/0251457; JP-2007239070-A; JP-4287698-B2; and KR-102335724-B1 disclose systems for deposition of evaporated material on a substrate having at least one nozzle assembly having a plurality of evaporation sources.
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716