DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant election group I, species II, without traverse is acknowledged. Examiner notes that a typographical error existed in the office action issued 11/12/2025, wherein group I was indicated to include Claim 1-15, while it is meant Claims 1-10 instead. The restriction included 3 groups
Group I: claims 1-10, as alleged by the Examiner drawn to a memory device, classified in H10B 12/488;
Group II: claims 11-15, as alleged by the Examiner drawn to a memory device, classified in G11C 8/14; and
Group III: claims 16-20, as alleged by the Examiner drawn to a semiconductor device, classified in H01L 21/743.
Wherein the restriction office action stated:
Inventions I and II are directed to related devices. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed in Claim 1 requires a plurality of first-word-lines, wherein each first-word-line has a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion; a plurality of second-word-lines, wherein each second-word-line has a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion; and a memory array having a first side, a second side laterally opposite the first side, and a third side; wherein the first portion of each first-word-line is spaced apart from its third portion, and the first portion of each second-word-line is spaced apart from its third portion, wherein the second portion of each first-word-line is non-parallel and non-co-linear with its first portion and its third portion, and the second portion of each second-word-line is non-parallel and non-co-linear with its first portion and its third portion, wherein each first-word-line is disposed such that its second portion is adjacent to the first side, and each second-word-line is disposed such that its second portion is adjacent to the second side, wherein the first portion of each first-word-line has a first length, the second portion of each first-word-line has a second length, and the third portion of each first-word-line has a third length, wherein the first portion of each second-word-line has a fourth length, the second portion of each second-word-line has a fifth length, and the third portion of each second-word-line has a sixth length, wherein the first length is greater than the third length, and the fourth length is greater than the sixth length; while Claims 11 requires a first-word-line, at least partially disposed within the memory array, having a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion, wherein the first portion, the second portion, and the third portion, of the first-word-line are continuous with each other; a second-word-line, at least partially disposed within the memory array, having a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion, wherein the first portion, the second portion, and the third portion, of the second-word-line are continuous with each other; and a first-side-word-line-pickup-structure comprising the second portion of the first-word- line, a section of the first portion of the first-word-line, and a section of the third portion of the first-word-line; wherein the first portion and the third portion of the first-word-line are spaced apart from each other, wherein the first portion and the third portion of the second-word-line are spaced apart from each other. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Inventions I and III are directed to related devices. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed in Claim 1 requires a plurality of first-word-lines, wherein each first-word-line has a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion; a plurality of second-word-lines, wherein each second-word-line has a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion; and a memory array having a first side, a second side laterally opposite the first side, and a third side; wherein the first portion of each first-word-line is spaced apart from its third portion, and the first portion of each second-word-line is spaced apart from its third portion, wherein the second portion of each first-word-line is non-parallel and non-co-linear with its first portion and its third portion, and the second portion of each second-word-line is non-parallel and non-co-linear with its first portion and its third portion, wherein each first-word-line is disposed such that its second portion is adjacent to the first side, and each second-word-line is disposed such that its second portion is adjacent to the second side, wherein the first portion of each first-word-line has a first length, the second portion of each first-word-line has a second length, and the third portion of each first-word-line has a third length, wherein the first portion of each second-word-line has a fourth length, the second portion of each second-word-line has a fifth length, and the third portion of each second-word-line has a sixth length, wherein the first length is greater than the third length, and the fourth length is greater than the sixth length, while Claim 16 requires a first-word-line, wherein the first-word-line has a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion, the second portion of the first-word-line being disposed closer to the first side than to the second side, the first portion and the third portion being spaced apart from each other, and the first-word-line coupled to the plurality of memory cells of a first memory row; a second-word-line, wherein the second-word-line has a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion, the second portion of the second-word-line being disposed closer to the second side than to the first side, the first portion and the third portion being spaced apart from each other, and the second-word-line coupled to the plurality of memory cells of a second memory row; a third-word-line, wherein the third-word-line has a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion, the second portion of the third-word-line being disposed closer to the first side than to the second side, the first portion and the third portion being parallel to each other, and the third-word-line coupled to the memory cells of a third memory row; and a fourth-word-line, wherein the fourth-word-line has a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion, the second portion of the fourth-word-line being disposed closer to the second side than to the first side, the first portion and the third portion being parallel to each other, and the fourth-word-line coupled to the memory cells of a fourth memory row. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Inventions II and III are directed to related devices. The related inventions are distinct if: (1) the inventions as claimed are either not capable of use together or can have a materially different design, mode of operation, function, or effect; (2) the inventions do not overlap in scope, i.e., are mutually exclusive; and (3) the inventions as claimed are not obvious variants. See MPEP § 806.05(j). In the instant case, the inventions as claimed 11 requires, a second portion, and a third portion, wherein the first portion, the second portion, and the third portion, of the first-word-line are continuous with each other; a second-word-line, at least partially disposed within the memory array, having a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion, wherein the first portion, the second portion, and the third portion, of the second-word-line are continuous with each other; and a first-side-word-line-pickup-structure comprising the second portion of the first-word- line, a section of the first portion of the first-word-line, and a section of the third portion of the first-word-line; while Claim 16 requires a first-word-line, wherein the first-word-line has a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion, the second portion of the first-word-line being disposed closer to the first side than to the second side, the first portion and the third portion being spaced apart from each other, and the first-word-line coupled to the plurality of memory cells of a first memory row; a second-word-line, wherein the second-word-line has a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion, the second portion of the second-word-line being disposed closer to the second side than to the first side, the first portion and the third portion being spaced apart from each other, and the second-word-line coupled to the plurality of memory cells of a second memory row; a third-word-line, wherein the third-word-line has a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion, the second portion of the third-word-line being disposed closer to the first side than to the second side, the first portion and the third portion being parallel to each other, and the third-word-line coupled to the memory cells of a third memory row; and a fourth-word-line, wherein the fourth-word-line has a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion, the second portion of the fourth-word-line being disposed closer to the second side than to the first side, the first portion and the third portion being parallel to each other, and the fourth-word-line coupled to the memory cells of a fourth memory row. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
It is clear that comparing groups I and II, was between Claims 1 and 11; comparing groups I and III, was between Claims 1 and 16; comparing groups II and III, was between Claims 11 and 16. This is clearly indicating that group I includes ONLY Claim 1-10.
Accordingly, applicant election of group I, species II, without traverse, will include Claims 1-10, and will be examined on the merit. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TONG et al. (CN-112349720), with (US 2022/0122984) as the translation, (hereinafter, TONG).
RE Claim 1, TONG discloses in FIG. 10, as annotated above, a memory device “DRAM” [0020], comprising:
a plurality of first-word-lines 330, wherein each first-word-line has a first portion 330 “vertical portion”, a second portion 331a, and a third portion 333 “vertical protrusion”;
a plurality of second-word-lines 330, wherein each first-word-line has a first portion 330 “vertical portion”, a second portion 331a “horizontal section”, and a third portion 333 “vertical protrusion”; and
a memory array 300 having a first side, a second side laterally opposite the first side, and a third side, referring to FIG. 10;
wherein the first portion 330 “vertical portion” of each first-word-line 330 is spaced apart from its third portion third portion 333 “vertical protrusion”, and the first portion 330 “vertical portion” of each second-word-line 330 is spaced apart from its third portion 333 “vertical protrusion”,
wherein the second portion 331a “horizontal section” of each first-word-line 330 is non-parallel and non-co-linear with its first portion 330 “vertical portion” and its third portion 333 “vertical protrusion”, and the second portion 331a “horizontal section” of each second-word-line 330 is non- parallel and non-co-linear with its first portion 330 “vertical section” and its third portion 333 “vertical protrusion”,
wherein each first-word-line 330 is disposed such that its second portion 331a “horizontal section” is adjacent to the first side, and each second-word-line 330 is disposed such that its second portion 331a “horizontal section” is adjacent to the second side, referring to FIG. 10,
wherein the first portion 330 “vertical section” of each first-word-line 330 has a first length, the second portion 331a “horizontal section” of each first-word-line 330 has a second length, and the third portion 333 “vertical protrusion” of each first-word-line 330 has a third length,
wherein the first portion 330 “vertical section” of each second-word-line 330 has a fourth length, the second portion 331a “horizontal section” of each second-word-line 330 has a fifth length, and the third portion 333 “vertical protrusion” of each second-word-line 330 has a sixth length,
wherein the first length, of 330 “vertical section”, is greater than the third length, of 333 “vertical protrusion”, and the fourth length, of 330 “vertical section”, is greater than the sixth length, 333 “vertical protrusion”, referring to FIG. 10.
RE Claim 2, TONG discloses a memory device, wherein
the second portion 331a “horizontal section” of each first-word-line 330 is disposed within a first predetermined distance of the first side and a second predetermined distance of the second side, the first predetermined distance being less than the second predetermined distance, referring to FIG. 10;
the second portion 331a “horizontal section” of each second-word-line 330 is disposed within a third predetermined distance of the second side and a fourth predetermined distance of the first side, the third predetermined distance being less than the fourth predetermined distance, referring to FIG. 10,
the third portion 333 “vertical protrusion” of a first first-word-line 330 is a first distance from the third side, and the first portion 330 “vertical section” of a first second-word-line 330 is the first distance from the third side,
the third portion 333 “vertical protrusion” of a second first-word-line 330 is a second distance from the third side, and the first portion 330 “vertical section” of a second second-word-line 330 is the second distance from the third side,
the first portion 330 “vertical section” of each first-word-line 330 extends vertically to form one or more vertically-oriented gate electrodes 370, the first portion 330 “vertical section” of each second-word-line 330 extends vertically to form one or more vertically-oriented gate electrodes 370 “plugs”. It is the examiner position that the vertically extended plugs “by virtue of being a plug” represents the gate, since the gate of the access transistor represent the word-line in a DRAM cell, hence meeting the claimed limitation
RE Claim 3, TONG discloses a memory device, further comprising:
a plurality of first-side-word-line-pickup-structures 331; and
a plurality of second-side-word-line-pickup-structures 331;
wherein each first-side-word-line-pickup-structure 331 comprises at least the second portion 331a “horizontal section” of a corresponding first-word-line 330, a section of the first portion 330 “vertical section” of the corresponding first word-line 330, and a section of the third portion 333 “vertical protrusion” of the corresponding first word-line 330,
wherein each second-side-word-line-pickup-structure 331 comprises at least the second portion 331a of a corresponding second-word-line 330, a section of the first portion 330 “vertical section” of the corresponding second word-line 330, and a section of the third portion 333 “vertical protrusion” of the corresponding second word-line 330.
RE Claim 4, TONG discloses a memory device, further comprising:
a first plurality of contact structures 370; and
a second plurality of contact structures 370,
wherein each contact structure 370 of the first plurality of contact structures is disposed at a corresponding first-side-word-line-pickup-structure 331a, and each contact structure 370 of the second plurality of contact structures 370 is disposed at a corresponding second-side-word-line-pickup- structure 331a, referring to FIG. 10.
RE Claim 5, TONG discloses a memory device, wherein the first portion 330 “vertical section” of the first first-word-line 330 is parallel to a first portion 330 “vertical section” of the first second-word-line 330, referring to FIG. 10.
RE Claim 6, TONG discloses a memory device, wherein the first portion 330 “vertical section” of each first-word-line 330 extends laterally away from the first side of the memory array and towards the second side of the memory array 300, referring to FIG. 10.
RE Claim 7, TONG discloses a memory device, further comprising:
a first plurality of rows of memory cells, each row of the first plurality of rows of memory cells having a plurality of memory cells, referring to FIG. 10;
wherein the first portion 330 “vertical section” of each first word line 330 is coupled to the plurality of memory cells of a corresponding row of the first plurality of rows of memory cells 300. It is the examiner position that the coupling occurs via the active regions 113.
RE Claim 8, TONG discloses a memory device, wherein the first portion 330 “vertical section” of each second-word-line 330 extends laterally away from the second side of the memory array and towards the first side of the memory array 300, referring to FIG. 10.
RE Claim 9, TONG discloses a memory device, further comprising:
a second plurality of rows of memory cells 300, each row of the second plurality of rows of memory cells having a plurality of memory cells 300;
wherein the first portion 330 “vertical section” of each second-word-line 330 is coupled to the plurality of memory cells 300 of a corresponding row of the second plurality of rows of memory cells, referring to FIG. 10.
RE Claim 10, TONG discloses a memory device, wherein the third portion 333 “vertical protrusion” of each first-word-line 330 extends away from the first side of the memory array 300 and towards the second side of the memory array, and the third portion 333 “vertical protrusion” of each second-word-line extends 330 away from the second side of the memory array and towards the first side of the memory array 300, referring to FIG. 10.
Conclusion
/YASSER A ABDELAZIEZ, PhD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898