DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on 1-22-2026 has been entered.
2. Claims 1 - 20 are pending. Claims 1, 13 have been amended. Claims 1, 12, 19 are independent. This application was filed on 8-3-2023.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 1-22-2026, with respect to the rejection(s) under Smith in view of Long have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Smith in view Long and further in view of Qiu.
A. Applicant argues on page 7 of Remarks: ... Smith would not have disclosed or suggested a blockchain with the first and second PIPKIN objects, ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant is reminded that “the prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed….” In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004)
B. Applicant argues on page 8 of Remarks: ... "the first PIPKIN object is added by a first computing system of the first PKI to a first block of the blockchain, the first PIPKIN object stores a name of the first PKI, the plurality of first certificates, wherein at least one of the plurality of first certificates comprises blockchain access information of the blockchain" ... .
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Smith discloses access information associated with a blockchain. (see Smith col 2, line 59 - col 3, line 3: A blockchain may be used as a repository for any public information that requires integrity; using a blockchain as a repository for CA certificates/public-keys; (selected: information identifying the blockchain stored within a repository of the first PKI))
And, Qiu discloses a first blockchain instance (first computing system) and a second blockchain instance (second computing system). Qiu discloses a name of associated with the blockchain and an identifier associated with a chain of certificates. (see Qiu paragraph [0005]: implementations, actions include identifying, by a relay that is communicatively linked with a first blockchain instance and a second blockchain instance in a unified blockchain network, a blockchain domain name of a first blockchain instance, wherein the blockchain domain name of the second blockchain instance is a unique identifier of the second blockchain instance and uniquely corresponds to a chain identifier of the second blockchain instance in the unified blockchain network; identifying a blockchain domain name of the second blockchain instance, wherein the blockchain domain name of the first blockchain instance is a unique identifier of the first blockchain instance and uniquely corresponds to a chain identifier of the first blockchain instance in the unified blockchain network; (first blockchain instance analogous to first computing system, second blockchain instance analogous to second computing system; unique identifier of chain identifier of blockchain instance))
C. Applicant argues on page 8 of Remarks: ... Independent claims 12 and 19 recite similar features, and are patentably distinguished from the references of record (alone or in combination) for at least the reasons for which claim 1 is patentably distinguished, ... .
Responses to arguments against independent claim 1 also answer arguments against independent claims 12 and 19, which have similar limitations as independent claim 1.
D. Applicant argues on page 8 of Remarks: ... Each rejected dependent claim depends (directly or indirectly) from claim 1, 12, or 19, and is patentably distinguished from the references of record (alone or in combination) for at least the reasons for which claims 1, 12, and 19 are patentably distinguished, ... .
Responses to arguments against the independent claims also answer arguments against the associated dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 2, 5 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US Patent No. 10,411,905) in view of Long et al. (US PGPUB No. 20250030561) and further in view of Qiu (US PGPUB No. 20190253263).
Regarding Claim 1, 12, 19, Smith discloses a system and a method and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer-readable instructions, comprising:
at least one memory; and b) at least one processor (see Smith col 12, lines 4-22: The term “machine-readable medium” may include any medium that is capable of storing, encoding, or carrying instructions for execution by the machine 700 and that cause the machine 700 to perform any one or more of the techniques of the present disclosure, or that is capable of storing, encoding or carrying data structures used by or associated with such instructions.) configured to:
c) add a first Public Itemization of Public Key Infrastructure Nodes (PIPKIN) object to a blockchain, wherein the first PIPKIN object comprises first hierarchy information of at least one first certificate chain of a first Public Key Infrastructure (PKI). (see Smith col 2, line 59 - col 3, line 3: A blockchain may be used as a repository for any public information that requires integrity; using a blockchain as a repository for CA certificates/public-keys may address the PKI problems described above (add PKI objects to blockchain). Transactions posted (or “published”) to a blockchain are public and immutable. Furthermore, the sequence of transactions posted to the blockchain is also immutable; thus, the transaction path between any two transactions on the blockchain is verifiable.; col 3, lines 4-18: PKI introduced a trust hierarchy for scalability; using PKI, three to five CAs are sufficient to reach and verify certificates globally. ... Thus, a blockchain enables chains of trust (e.g., a first key signing a second key, the second key signing a third key, etc.) which is similar to digital certificate path validation in PKI.; col 5, lines 11-19: the chains of trust in the PKL form a tree, with one “root” principal; this root principal is trusted by all PKL participants. Any blockchain implementation will have a first (or “root”) key.; (chains of trust; first, second chains)), and
d) add a second PIPKIN object to the blockchain, wherein the second PIPKIN object comprises second hierarchy information of at least one second certificate chain of a second PKI. (see Smith col 3, lines 4-18: PKI introduced a trust hierarchy for scalability; using PKI, three to five CAs are sufficient to reach and verify certificates globally. ... Thus, a blockchain enables chains of trust (e.g., a first key signing a second key, the second key signing a third key, etc.) which is similar to digital certificate path validation in PKI.; col 5, lines 11-19: the chains of trust in the PKL form a tree, with one “root” principal; this root principal is trusted by all PKL participants. Any blockchain implementation will have a first (or “root”) key.; (first or second PKI object))
Smith does not specifically disclose for c) first certificate chain comprising a plurality of first certificates, and for d) second certificate chain comprising a plurality of second certificates.
However, Long discloses wherein for c) the at least one first certificate chain comprising a plurality of first certificates; and for d) the at least one second certificate chain comprising a plurality of second certificates. (see Long paragraph [0023]: system generates and distributes certificate bundles to network entities associated with a virtual cloud network. The certificate bundles may include a set of CA certificates that may be utilized by the network entities to authenticate other network entities associated with the virtual cloud network.; paragraph [0179]: operations 900 may include applying a validation process to a first entity certificate having been issued to the network entity prior to the network entity receiving the first certificate bundle. The first entity certificate may be received and installed prior to receiving the first certificate bundle. The validation process may include validating, by the network entity, a first certificate chain that includes the first entity certificate, and a first CA certificate included in the first updated set of CA certificates.; paragraph [0184]: operations 900 may include applying a validation process to the second entity certificate based on the second certificate bundle. The validation process may include validating, by the network entity, a second certificate chain that includes the second entity certificate, and a second CA certificate of the second updated set of CA certificates. The second CA certificate may be a new CA certificate ... (second certificate different from any first certificate of first certificate chain))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Smith for c) first certificate chain comprising a plurality of first certificates, and for d) second certificate chain comprising a plurality of second certificates as taught by Long. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Long for the flexibility of a system that enables the utilization of a large number of diverse certificates spread across multiple certificate chains within a network-connected environment. (see Long paragraph [0023]; paragraph [0179]; paragraph [0184])
Furthermore, Smith discloses wherein comprises blockchain access information of the first blockchain and comprises the blockchain access information of the second blockchain. (see Smith col 2, line 59 - col 3, line 3: A blockchain may be used as a repository for any public information that requires integrity; using a blockchain as a repository for CA certificates/public-keys; (selected: information identifying the blockchain stored within a repository of the first PKI))
Smith does not specifically disclose comprising blockchain access information of first blockchain and comprising blockchain access information of second blockchain.
However, Qiu discloses for c) certificates, wherein the first PIPKIN object is added by a first computing system of the first PKI to a first block of the blockchain, the first PIPKIN object stores a name of the first PKI, the plurality of first certificates, wherein at least one of the plurality of first certificates; and wherein the second PIPKIN object is added by a second computing system of the second PKI to a second block of the blockchain, the second PIPKIN object stores a name of the second PKI and the plurality of second certificates, wherein at least one of the plurality of second certificates. (see Qiu paragraph [0005]: implementations, actions include identifying, by a relay that is communicatively linked with a first blockchain instance and a second blockchain instance in a unified blockchain network, a blockchain domain name of a first blockchain instance, wherein the blockchain domain name of the second blockchain instance is a unique identifier of the second blockchain instance and uniquely corresponds to a chain identifier of the second blockchain instance in the unified blockchain network; identifying a blockchain domain name of the second blockchain instance, wherein the blockchain domain name of the first blockchain instance is a unique identifier of the first blockchain instance and uniquely corresponds to a chain identifier of the first blockchain instance in the unified blockchain network; (first blockchain instance analogous to first computing system, second blockchain instance analogous to second computing system; unique identifier of chain identifier of blockchain instance))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Qiu for comprising blockchain access information of first blockchain and comprising blockchain access information of second blockchain as taught by Qiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Qiu for the flexibility of a system that enables the combined management of blockchain technology and PI technology. (see Qiu paragraph [0083])
Furthermore, for Claim 19, Smith discloses wherein at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer-readable instructions, that, when executed, causes at least one processor to perform operations. (see Smith col 12, lines 4-22: The term “machine-readable medium” may include any medium that is capable of storing, encoding, or carrying instructions for execution by the machine 700 and that cause the machine 700 to perform any one or more of the techniques of the present disclosure, or that is capable of storing, encoding or carrying data structures used by or associated with such instructions.)
Regarding Claims 2, 13, 20, Smith-Long-Qiu discloses the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 12 and the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19,
a) adding the first PIPKIN object to the blockchain comprises publishing the first PIPKIN object to a first block of the blockchain; (see Smith col 2, line 59 - col 3, line 3: A blockchain may be used as a repository for any public information that requires integrity; using a blockchain as a repository for CA certificates/public-keys may address the PKI problems described above. Transactions posted (or “published”) to a blockchain are public and immutable. Furthermore, the sequence of transactions posted to the blockchain is also immutable; thus, the transaction path between any two transactions on the blockchain is verifiable.; (publish or add objects to blockchain)) and
b) adding the second PIPKIN object comprises publishing the second PIPKIN object to a second block of the blockchain. (see Smith col 2, line 59 - col 3, line 3: A blockchain may be used as a repository for any public information that requires integrity; using a blockchain as a repository for CA certificates/public-keys may address the PKI problems described above. Transactions posted (or “published”) to a blockchain are public and immutable. Furthermore, the sequence of transactions posted to the blockchain is also immutable; thus, the transaction path between any two transactions on the blockchain is verifiable.; (publish or add objects to blockchain))
Regarding Claim 5, Smith-Long-Qiu discloses the system of claim 1.
a) adding the first PIPKIN object to the blockchain comprises publishing the first PIPKIN object to a block of the blockchain; (see Smith col 2, line 59 - col 3, line 3: A blockchain may be used as a repository for any public information that requires integrity; using a blockchain as a repository for CA certificates/public-keys may address the PKI problems described above. Transactions posted (or “published”) to a blockchain are public and immutable. Furthermore, the sequence of transactions posted to the blockchain is also immutable; thus, the transaction path between any two transactions on the blockchain is verifiable.) and
b) adding the second PIPKIN object comprises publishing the second PIPKIN object to the same block of the blockchain. (see Smith col 2, line 59 - col 3, line 3: A blockchain may be used as a repository for any public information that requires integrity; using a blockchain as a repository for CA certificates/public-keys may address the PKI problems described above. Transactions posted (or “published”) to a blockchain are public and immutable. Furthermore, the sequence of transactions posted to the blockchain is also immutable; thus, the transaction path between any two transactions on the blockchain is verifiable.; (information added to same block of ledger))
Regarding Claim 6, Smith-Long-Qiu discloses the system of claim 1.
Smith does not specifically disclose the first PKI and the second PKI are different PKIs.
However, Qiu discloses wherein the first PKI and the second PKI are different PKIs. (see Qiu paragraph [0083]: the computing system verifies whether the domain certificate of the UBCDN is issued by a trusted certificate authority (CA) (certificate identifier) using a public key of the CA; paragraph [0069]: a client node of a first blockchain instance obtains a blockchain domain name of a second, different blockchain instance. In some implementations, the first blockchain instance and the second blockchain instance are deployed based on different blockchain platforms. In some implementations, the first blockchain instance and the second blockchain instance belong to different owners or operators.; (different identification information utilized to access different blockchains))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Smith for the first PKI and the second PKI are different PKIs as taught by Qiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Qiu for the flexibility of a system that enables the combined management of blockchain technology and PI technology. (see Qiu paragraph [0083])
Regarding Claim 7, Smith-Long-Qiu discloses the system of claim 1.
Smith does not specifically disclose the first PKI and the second PKI are identical.
However, Qiu wherein the first PKI and the second PKI are identical. (see Qiu paragraph [0083]: the computing system verifies whether the domain certificate of the UBCDN is issued by a trusted certificate authority (CA) (certificate identifier) using a public key of the CA; paragraph [0045]: the chain identifier of the blockchain instance can be changed while the blockchain domain name can remain the same. The UBCDN owner can change the mapping of the blockchain domain name to the updated chain identifier and allow others (e.g., other blockchain instances or client nodes) to use the same blockchain domain name to address and access the blockchain instance.; (same identification information utilized to access different blockchains))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Smith for the first PKI and the second PKI are identical as taught by Qiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Qiu for the flexibility of a system that enables the combined management of blockchain technology and PI technology. (see Qiu paragraph [0083])
Regarding Claim 8, 15, Smith-Long-Qiu discloses the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 12.
Smith does not specifically disclose for a) the first hierarchy information comprises a certificate, a link to the certificate, or an identifier of the certificate, and for b) the second hierarchy information of the at least one second certificate chain comprises a certificate, a link to the certificate, or an identifier of the certificate.
However, Qiu discloses:
a) the first hierarchy information of the at least one first certificate chain comprises a certificate, a link to the certificate, or an identifier of the certificate for each of at least one first Certificate Authority (CA); and b) the second hierarchy information of the at least one second certificate chain comprises a certificate, a link to the certificate, or an identifier of the certificate for each of at least one second CA. (see Qiu paragraph [0083]: the computing system verifies whether the domain certificate of the UBCDN is issued by a trusted certificate authority (CA) (certificate identifier) using a public key of the CA. In some implementations, the digital signature of the CA is obtained by the CA signing on the blockchain domain name of the blockchain instance and the public key of the UBCDN owner using a private key of the CA corresponding to the public key of the CA. In some implementations, verifying whether the domain certificate of the UBCDN is issued by a trusted CA using a public key of the CA includes verifying that the domain certificate of the UBCDN is issued by the CA using the domain certificate,)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Smith for a) the first hierarchy information comprises a certificate, a link to the certificate, or an identifier of the certificate, and for b) the second hierarchy information of the at least one second certificate chain comprises a certificate, a link to the certificate, or an identifier of the certificate as taught by Qiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Qiu for the flexibility of a system that enables the combined management of blockchain technology and PI technology. (see Qiu paragraph [0083])
Regarding Claims 9, 16, Smith-Long-Qiu discloses the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 12, wherein
a) the at least one first CA comprises one or more of a first Root CA (RCA), a first Subordinary CA (SCA), or a first Issuing CA (ICA); and b) the at least one second CA comprises one or more of a second RCA, a second SCA, or a second ICA. (see Smith col 8, lines 53-63: Principal P2 determines, for an introducer I of P1, whether the introducer I is known and trusted (operation 408). An introducer I is known and trusted by principal P2 if introducer I and principal P2 have a common introducer in their chains of trust. Because every principal has the blockchain's root principal at the root of its chain of trust (root CA), this will always be true unless an introducer along the chain of trust has been revoked; (root CA, issuing CA; first, second CA))
Regarding Claims 10, 17, Smith-Long-Qiu discloses the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured to add a last block to the blockchain, wherein the last block comprises most recent hierarchy information of at least one certificate chain of at least one PKI. (see Smith col 4, lines 3-7: PKL reliably maintains a history of past behavior that may be consulted prior to ascribing trust to the principal's key.)
Regarding Claim 11, 18, Smith-Long-Qiu discloses the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 12, wherein a certificate in the at least one first certificate chain comprises a blockchain access information identifying the blockchain in an extension of the certificate; or the first PKI stores the blockchain access information identifying the blockchain in a repository of the first PKI. (see Smith col 2, line 59 - col 3, line 3: A blockchain may be used as a repository for any public information that requires integrity; using a blockchain as a repository for CA certificates/public-keys; (selected: information identifying the blockchain stored within a repository of the first PKI))
Regarding Claim 14, Smith-Long-Qiu discloses the method of claim 13, wherein
a) the second block is added to the blockchain after the first block is added to the blockchain. (see Smith col 2, line 59 - col 3, line 3: A blockchain may be used as a repository for any public information that requires integrity; using a blockchain as a repository for CA certificates/public-keys may address the PKI problems described above. Transactions posted (or “published”) to a blockchain are public and immutable. Furthermore, the sequence of transactions posted to the blockchain is also immutable; thus, the transaction path between any two transactions on the blockchain is verifiable.; (publish or add objects to blockchain))
Smith does not specifically disclose for b) second hierarchy information is different from first hierarchy information and includes an update, and for c) at least one first certificate chain is different from the at least one second certificate chain.
However, Qiu discloses:
b) the second hierarchy information is different from the first hierarchy information and includes an update to the first hierarchy information; and c) one or more of the at least one first certificate chain is different from one or more of the at least one second certificate chain. (see Qiu paragraph [0069]: a client node of a first blockchain instance obtains a blockchain domain name of a second, different blockchain instance. In some implementations, the first blockchain instance and the second blockchain instance are deployed based on different blockchain platforms. In some implementations, the first blockchain instance and the second blockchain instance belong to different owners or operators.; paragraph [0091]: the UBCDN owner identifies an updated chain identifier of the blockchain instance indicating an updated blockchain network configuration of the blockchain instance. For example, a change or update of the blockchain network configuration of the blockchain instance can occur (e.g., due to system update or move of the physical location of one or more computing device such as the genesis block). The chain identifier can be updated to reflect the update of the blockchain network configuration of the blockchain instance (e.g., by updating the hash value of the genesis block of the blockchain instance).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Smith for b) second hierarchy information is different from first hierarchy information and includes an update, and for c) at least one first certificate chain is different from the at least one second certificate chain as taught by Qiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Qiu for the flexibility of a system that enables the combined management of blockchain technology and PI technology. (see Qiu paragraph [0083])
6. Claims 3, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Long and further in view of Qiu and Yagawa (US Patent No. 7,340,610).
Regarding Claim 3, Smith-Long-Qiu discloses the system of claim 2, wherein:
a) the first block comprises a first timestamp; b) the second block comprises a second timestamp. (see Smith col 2, lines 36-45: A blockchain (or “distributed digital ledger”) is a distributed database that maintains a growing list of data records that are hardened against tampering and revision. A blockchain includes “blocks,” which hold data or both data and programs. Each block holds batches of individual “transactions” between blockchain participants. Each block includes a timestamp and linking information (usually a hash value) linking the current block to the previous block; the linking information allows traversal of the blockchain (in either direction).)
Smith does not specifically disclose for c) a Time Stamp Token (TST).
However, Yagawa discloses:
c) each of the first timestamp and the second timestamp comprises a Time Stamp Token (TST). (see Yagawa col 1, lines 51-62: data stored in a storage system is hashed to generate a hash value. The hash value and a request for a time stamp are then sent to a time stamping authority. A time stamp token and/or a time stamp certificate is received from the time stamping authority. The time stamp token includes a time stamp and the hash value, and may be encrypted using a private key of the time stamping authority. The time stamp token and/or time stamp certificate is then stored with, for example, a reference to the data being stored in the data storage system. The time stamp token and/or time stamp certificate may then be used to validate the data being stored and the time stamp.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Smith for a Time Stamp Token (TST) as taught by Yagawa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Yagawa for the flexibility of a system that utilizes multiple parameters for data processing such as timestamps and tokens. (see Yagawa col 1, lines 51-62)
Regarding Claim 4, Smith-Long-Qiu-Yagawa discloses the system of claim 3, wherein
a) the second block is added to the blockchain after the first block is added to the blockchain. (see Smith col 2, line 59 - col 3, line 3: A blockchain may be used as a repository for any public information that requires integrity; using a blockchain as a repository for CA certificates/public-keys may address the PKI problems described above. Transactions posted (or “published”) to a blockchain are public and immutable. Furthermore, the sequence of transactions posted to the blockchain is also immutable; thus, the transaction path between any two transactions on the blockchain is verifiable.; (publish or add objects to blockchain))
Smith does not specifically disclose for b) second hierarchy information is different from first hierarchy information and includes an update, and for c) at least one first certificate chain is different from the at least one second certificate chain.
However, Qiu discloses:
b) the second hierarchy information is different from the first hierarchy information and includes an update to the first hierarchy information; and c) one or more of the at least one first certificate chain is different from one or more of the at least one second certificate chain. (see Qiu paragraph [0069]: a client node of a first blockchain instance obtains a blockchain domain name of a second, different blockchain instance. In some implementations, the first blockchain instance and the second blockchain instance are deployed based on different blockchain platforms. In some implementations, the first blockchain instance and the second blockchain instance belong to different owners or operators.; paragraph [0091]: the UBCDN owner identifies an updated chain identifier of the blockchain instance indicating an updated blockchain network configuration of the blockchain instance. For example, a change or update of the blockchain network configuration of the blockchain instance can occur (e.g., due to system update or move of the physical location of one or more computing device such as the genesis block). The chain identifier can be updated to reflect the update of the blockchain network configuration of the blockchain instance (e.g., by updating the hash value of the genesis block of the blockchain instance).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Smith for b) second hierarchy information is different from first hierarchy information and includes an update, and for c) at least one first certificate chain is different from the at least one second certificate chain as taught by Qiu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the teachings of Qiu for the flexibility of a system that enables the combined management of blockchain technology and PI technology. (see Qiu paragraph [0083])
Conclusion
/CJ/
February 9, 2026
/SHEWAYE GELAGAY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2436