DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 01 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01 December 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka (JP 2008-135325, cited by applicant).
Regarding independent claim 1, Tanaka teaches a display device comprising a first pixel electrode (Fig. 4, Element 2) disposed in a first emission area on a substrate (Fig. 4, Element 1); an insulating layer (Fig. 4, Element 3) covering edges of the first pixel electrode; a first light-emitting layer (Fig. 4, Element 4) disposed on the first pixel electrode and the insulating layer; a first common electrode (Fig. 4, Element 5) disposed on the first light-emitting layer; banks (Fig. 4, Element 6) disposed on the insulating layer and surrounding the first emission area; and an organic pattern (Fig. 4, Element 4) surrounding the first emission area, disposed on the banks, and including a same material as the first light-emitting layer, wherein side surfaces of each of the banks are spaced apart from side surfaces of the insulating layer (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka teaches the banks comprising a first bank (Fig. 4, Element 9) disposed on the insulating layer and including a metal material; a second bank (Fig. 4, Element 10) disposed on the first bank; and a third bank (Fig. 4, Element 8) disposed between the first bank and the insulating layer.
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka teaches the side surfaces of the first bank inwardly recessed from the side surfaces of the second bank and the side surfaces of the third bank (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Tanaka teaches the second bank including tips protruding from the side surfaces of the first bank toward the first emission area (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Tanaka teaches the first common electrode extending to the side surfaces of each of the banks and is in contact with the side surfaces of the first bank and a top surface of the third bank (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Tanaka teaches a second pixel electrode (Fig. 4, Element 2) disposed in a second emission area on the substrate; a second light-emitting layer (Fig. 4, Element 4) disposed on the second pixel electrode; and a second common electrode (Fig. 4, Element 5) disposed on the second light-emitting layer.
Regarding claim 7, Tanaka teaches the first and second common electrodes electrically connected through the first bank and third bank (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Tanaka teaches the banks comprising a first bank disposed on the insulating layer and including a metal material; and a second bank disposed on the first bank (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Tanaka teaches the side surfaces of the first bank inwardly recessed from the side surfaces of the second bank (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Tanaka teaches a second pixel electrode (Fig. 4, Element 2) disposed in a second emission area on the substrate; a second light-emitting layer (Fig. 4, Element 4) disposed on the second pixel electrode; and a second common electrode (Fig. 4, Element 5) disposed on the second light-emitting layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liu (US 12,349,578) teaches an organic light emitting display panel with an anti-reflection layer. Lin (US 11,610,954) teaches an OLED panel with advanced sub-pixel overhangs. Chen (US 11,527,732) teaches an anode structure for an organic light emitting display device including transparent conductive oxides. Kim (US 11,189,814) teaches an organic light emitting display apparatus with an active area and a pad area.
Contact Information
/Kevin Quarterman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 14 March 2026