DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (IDS: CN114872702A) hereinafter Xu and Kim (IDS: KR102605968B1) hereinafter Kim.
Claim 1:
Xu discloses an apparatus for driving assistance, the apparatus comprising: a camera mounted on a vehicle to have a field of view around the vehicle and configured to obtain image data; and a controller configured to: determine a control torque for performing a lane following assist function based on processing the image data and behavior data obtained from a behavior sensor provided in the vehicle, identify a speed bump in a driving lane of the vehicle based on the processing of the image data [¶¶1-3, 80-85, 129-130].
Xu doesn’t explicitly disclose maintain the control torque determined before passing the speed bump while the vehicle passes the speed bump.
However, Kim discloses maintain the control torque determined before passing the speed bump while the vehicle passes the speed bump. [¶¶268-272, 373-381, 416-419; Figs. 8-10]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the camera based vehicle control system of Xu with the torque control of Kim to maintain steering and lane keep in bumpy driving conditions.
Claim 2:
Xu and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Xu also discloses wherein the behavior data includes data on at least one of a steering angle, a steering speed, a yaw rate, or a wheel speed. [¶¶1-3, 80-85, 129-130]
Claim 3:
Xu and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Xu also discloses wherein the controller is configured to identify a distance to the speed bump based on the processing of the image data and the behavior data. [¶¶113-115]
Claim 4:
Xu and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Xu also discloses wherein the controller is configured to identify a time required to pass the speed bump based on the processing of the image data and the behavior data. [¶¶113-115]
Claim 5:
Xu and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Xu doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to: identify a width of the speed bump based on the processing of the image data; identify a speed of the vehicle based on the processing of the behavior data; and determine a time required to pass the speed bump based on the identified width of the speed bump and the identified speed of the vehicle.
Kim discloses wherein the controller is configured to: identify a width of the speed bump based on the processing of the image data; identify a speed of the vehicle based on the processing of the behavior data; and determine a time required to pass the speed bump based on the identified width of the speed bump and the identified speed of the vehicle. [¶¶268-272, 373-381, 416-419; Figs. 8-10]
Claim 6:
Xu and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 4.
Xu doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to maintain the control torque determined before passing the speed bump for the determined time.
Kim discloses wherein the controller is configured to maintain the control torque determined before passing the speed bump for the determined time. [¶¶268-272, 373-381; claims 1-2; Figs. 8-10]
Claim 7:
Xu and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Xu doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to transmit the control torque determined before passing the speed bump to a steering apparatus of the vehicle so that steering control according to the control torque determined before passing the speed bump is performed while the vehicle passes the speed bump.
Kim discloses wherein the controller is configured to transmit the control torque determined before passing the speed bump to a steering apparatus of the vehicle so that steering control according to the control torque determined before passing the speed bump is performed while the vehicle passes the speed bump. [¶¶268-272, 373-381; claims 1-2; Figs. 8-10]
Claim 8:
Xu discloses a method for driving assistance, the method comprising: obtaining image data by a camera having a field of view around a vehicle; determining a control torque for performing a lane following assist function based on processing the image data and behavior data obtained from a behavior sensor provided in the vehicle; identifying a speed bump in a driving lane of the vehicle based on the processing of the image data [¶¶1-3, 80-85, 129-130].
Xu doesn’t explicitly disclose maintaining the control torque determined before passing the speed bump while the vehicle passes the speed bump.
However, Kim discloses maintaining the control torque determined before passing the speed bump while the vehicle passes the speed bump. [¶¶268-272, 373-381, 416-419; Figs. 8-10]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the camera based vehicle control system of Xu with the torque control of Kim to maintain steering and lane keep in bumpy driving conditions.
Claim 9:
Xu and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 8.
Xu also discloses wherein the behavior data includes data on at least one of a steering angle, a steering speed, a yaw rate, or a wheel speed. [¶¶1-3, 80-85, 129-130]
Claim 10:
Xu and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 8.
Xu also discloses further comprising identifying a distance to the speed bump based on the processing of the image data and the behavior data. [¶¶113-115]
Claim 11:
Xu and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 8.
Xu also discloses wherein the maintaining of the control torque determined before passing the speed bump while the vehicle passes the speed bump comprises determining a time required to pass the speed bump based on the processing of the image data and the behavior data. [¶¶113-115]
Claim 12:
Xu and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 8.
Xu doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the maintaining of the control torque determined before passing the speed bump while the vehicle passes the speed bump comprises: identifying a width of the speed bump based on the processing of the image data; identifying a speed of the vehicle based on the processing of the behavior data; and determining a time required to pass the speed bump based on the identified width of the speed bump and the identified speed of the vehicle.
Kim discloses wherein the maintaining of the control torque determined before passing the speed bump while the vehicle passes the speed bump comprises: identifying a width of the speed bump based on the processing of the image data; identifying a speed of the vehicle based on the processing of the behavior data; and determining a time required to pass the speed bump based on the identified width of the speed bump and the identified speed of the vehicle. [¶¶268-272, 373-381, 416-419; Figs. 8-10]
Claim 13:
Xu and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 11.
Xu doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the maintaining of the control torque determined before passing the speed bump while the vehicle passes the speed bump comprises maintaining the control torque determined before passing the speed bump for the determined time.
Kim discloses wherein the maintaining of the control torque determined before passing the speed bump while the vehicle passes the speed bump comprises maintaining the control torque determined before passing the speed bump for the determined time. [¶¶268-272, 373-381; claims 1-2; Figs. 8-10]
Claim 14:
Xu and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 8.
Xu doesn’t explicitly disclose further comprising transmitting the control torque determined before passing the speed bump to a steering apparatus of the vehicle so that steering control according to the control torque determined before passing the speed bump is performed while the vehicle passes the speed bump.
Kim discloses further comprising transmitting the control torque determined before passing the speed bump to a steering apparatus of the vehicle so that steering control according to the control torque determined before passing the speed bump is performed while the vehicle passes the speed bump.
Claim 15:
Xu doesn’t explicitly disclose a vehicle comprising: a camera having a field of view around the vehicle and configured to obtain image data; a behavior sensor configured to obtain behavior data of the vehicle; and a controller configured to: determine a control torque for performing a lane following assist function based on processing the image data and the behavior data, identify a speed bump in a driving lane of the vehicle based on the processing of the image data [¶¶1-3, 80-85, 129-130].
Xu doesn’t explicitly disclose maintain the control torque determined before passing the speed bump while the vehicle passes the speed bump.
However, Kim does disclose maintain the control torque determined before passing the speed bump while the vehicle passes the speed bump. [¶¶268-272, 373-381, 416-419; Figs. 8-10]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the camera based vehicle control system of Xu with the torque control of Kim to maintain steering and lane keep in bumpy driving conditions.
Claim 16:
Xu and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 15.
Xu also discloses wherein the controller is configured to determine a distance to the speed bump based on the processing of the image data and the behavior data. [¶¶113-115]
Claim 17:
Xu and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 15.
Xu also discloses wherein the controller is configured to determine a time required to pass the speed bump based on the processing of the image data and the behavior data. [¶¶113-115]
Claim 18:
Xu and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 15.
Xu doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to: identify a width of the speed bump based on the processing of the image data; identify a speed of the vehicle based on the processing of the behavior data; and determine a time required to pass the speed bump based on the identified width of the speed bump and the identified speed of the vehicle.
Kim discloses wherein the controller is configured to: identify a width of the speed bump based on the processing of the image data; identify a speed of the vehicle based on the processing of the behavior data; and determine a time required to pass the speed bump based on the identified width of the speed bump and the identified speed of the vehicle. [¶¶268-272, 373-381, 416-419; Figs. 8-10]
Claim 19:
Xu and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 17.
Xu doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to maintain the control torque determined before passing the speed bump for the determined time.
Kim discloses wherein the controller is configured to maintain the control torque determined before passing the speed bump for the determined time. [¶¶268-272, 373-381; claims 1-2; Figs. 8-10]
Claim 20:
Xu and Kim, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 15.
Xu doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the controller is configured to control a steering apparatus of the vehicle so that steering control according to the control torque determined before passing the speed bump is performed while the vehicle passes the speed bump.
Kim discloses wherein the controller is configured to control a steering apparatus of the vehicle so that steering control according to the control torque determined before passing the speed bump is performed while the vehicle passes the speed bump. [¶¶268-272, 373-381; claims 1-2; Figs. 8-10]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jeon (US 2022/0306164 A1) discloses a driver assistance system which utilizes cameras to detect surroundings and control autonomous driving.
KURT P. LIETHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/KURT PHILIP LIETHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747