DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al (US 8,496,493; hereinafter Lin).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses an enclosure (30; see figure 1) for retaining at least one networking component (20), the enclosure (30) comprising: a shell defining an interior volume (see figure 1), the shell including an upper retention member forming a channel (see figure 3); a retention bracket (40) adapted to be at least partially disposed within the interior volume of the shell (see figure 3), the retention bracket (40) including: a base panel (41) having an upper hook member (417) adapted to engage the upper retention member of the shell (see figures 3 and 4) to slidably couple the retention bracket (40) with the shell (see figures 3 and 4), and a retaining panel (43) extending distally from the base panel (41), the retaining panel (43) including a lower platform and a distal platform (see figure 2), wherein the base panel (41), the lower platform of the retaining panel (43), and the distal platform of the retaining panel cooperate to receive and retain the at least one networking component (20, see figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Lin discloses the enclosure (30; see figure 1), wherein the shell further comprises a lower retention member (313) forming a channel, the base panel (41) of the retention bracket (40) further including a lower hook member (417) adapted to engage the lower retention member (313) of the shell to slidably couple the retention bracket with the shell (see figures 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 3, Lin discloses the enclosure (30; see figure 1), wherein the upper hook member (417) of the base panel (41) includes a stop member to limit lateral movement of the retention bracket (40) relative to the upper retention member (see figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 4, Lin discloses the enclosure (30; see figure 1), wherein the lower platform includes a passthrough opening to accommodate at least one transmission cable (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Lin discloses the enclosure (30; see figure 1), further comprising at least one ventilation opening (see figure 2) formed on the base panel (41).
Regarding claim 6, Lin discloses the enclosure (30; see figure 1), further comprising at least one ventilation opening (see figure 2) formed on the retaining panel (43).
Regarding claim 7, Lin discloses the enclosure (30, see figure 1), wherein the base panel (41) of the retention bracket (40) further includes a chamfered surface (see figure 2) to slidably engage a corresponding chamfered surface of the upper retention member (20; see figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses the enclosure (30; see figure 1), wherein the base panel (41) of the retention bracket (40) further includes a grooved region (413,419) adapted to receive a securing fastener (60).
Regarding claim 9, Lin discloses the enclosure (30; see figure 1), wherein the securing fastener (60) comprises a hook and loop member (see figure 2; column 3 lines 27-35) adapted to releasably retain the at least one networking component (20).
Regarding claim 10, Lin discloses the enclosure (30; see figure 1), wherein the retaining panel (43) is adjustable to receive at least one networking component (20) having different dimensions than the at least one networking component (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, Lin discloses a retention bracket (40) adapted to retain an optical network terminal (20), the retention bracket (40) including: a base panel (41) having an upper hook member (417) adapted to engage a portion of a shell of a housing (30) to slidably couple the retention bracket (40) with the shell (see figure 1 and 3), and a retaining panel (43) extending distally from the base panel (41), the retaining panel (43) including a lower platform and a distal platform (see figure 2), wherein the base panel (41), the lower platform of the retaining panel, and the distal platform of the retaining panel cooperate to receive and retain the at least one networking component (20; see figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 12, Lin discloses the retention bracket (40), further including a lower hook member (417) formed on the base panel (41), the lower hook member (417) adapted to engage a portion of the shell of the housing to slidably couple the retention bracket therewith (see figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 13, Lin discloses the retention bracket (40), wherein the upper hook member (417) of the base panel (41) includes a stop member to limit lateral movement (see figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 14, Lin discloses the retention bracket (40), wherein the lower platform of the retaining panel (43) includes a passthrough opening to accommodate at least one transmission cable (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, Lin discloses the retention bracket (40), further comprising at least one ventilation opening (see figure 2) formed on the base panel (41).
Regarding claim 16, Lin discloses the retention bracket (40), further comprising at least one ventilation opening (see figure 2) formed on the retaining panel (43).
Regarding claim 17, Lin discloses the retention bracket (40), wherein the base panel (41) further includes a chamfered surface (see figure 2) for sliding engagement with the shell (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 18, Lin discloses the retention bracket (40), wherein the base panel (41) further includes a grooved region (413) adapted to receive a securing fastener (60).
Regarding claim 19, Lin discloses the retention bracket (40), wherein the securing fastener (60) comprises a hook and loop member (see figure 2; column 3 lines 27-35) adapted to releasably retain the at least one networking component (20).
Regarding claim 20, Lin discloses the retention bracket (40), wherein the retaining panel (43) is adjustable to receive at least one networking component having different dimensions than the at least one networking component (see figure 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kato et al (US 12,356,563), Ukai et al (US 11,654,843), Huang et al (US 8,228,687), Ye et al (US 8,226,050), Chen (US 7,038,907), Chen et al (US 6,798,653) and Liu et al (US 6,343,009) disclose a bracket for retaining a network terminal.
January 23, 2026
/ANGEL R ESTRADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841