DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed on April 29, 2026 has been fully considered and entered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claim 23 in the reply filed on April 29, 2026 is acknowledged. As such, claim 24 is hereby withdrawn as being directed to non-elected invention(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Guenter et al. (US 2019/0361185 A1 from Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement) in view of Gaillard et al. (EP 1191375 A2 from Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement).
Regarding claim 1, Guenter discloses a bundled drop assembly (150 in Fig. 11), comprising: a central member (152); a first layer of subunits (132) wound around the central member in a bundled configuration, the first layer of subunits comprising at least one subunit containing at least one first optical fiber (58) and the first layer of subunits comprising a first maximum cross-sectional dimension in the bundled configuration.
Still regarding claim 1, Guenter teaches the claimed invention except for in an unrestrained configuration, the first layer of subunits comprises a second maximum cross-sectional dimension that is less than twice the first maximum cross-sectional dimension. Gaillard discloses a fiber optic cable comprising a plurality of subunits in a bundled configured, wherein in an unrestrained configuration, the subunits comprise a second maximum cross-sectional dimension that is less than twice the first maximum cross-sectional dimension of the bundled configuration in paragraphs 0043, 0050 and 0063. Since both of the inventions relate to optical devices, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to form the subunits so as to have a second maximum cross-sectional dimension of the unrestrained configuration that is less than twice the first maximum cross-sectional dimension of the bundled configuration as disclosed by Gaillard in the device of Guenter for the purpose of preventing unraveling of flexible buffer tube cables.
Regarding claims 2 and 22, Guenter discloses at least one further layer of subunits (134) wound around the first layer of subunits, the at least one further layer of subunits comprising at least one subunit containing at least one second optical fiber; wherein the at least one further layer of subunits comprises an outer layer of subunits that is an outermost layer of the bundled drop assembly.
Regarding claim 3, Guenter discloses the first layer of subunits and each of the at least one further layer of subunits is wound in a same rotational direction in paragraph 0044.
Regarding claim 4, the proposed combination of Guenter and Gaillard teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating a laylength being more than fifteen times a diameter of the pitch circle. However, as Guenter discloses the general conditions of a pitch circle diameter and a laylength in paragraphs 0039-0043, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed laylength in order to achieve a desired balance between flexibility and production speed, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 5, the proposed combination of Guenter and Gaillard teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the second maximum cross-sectional dimension. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed second maximum cross-sectional dimension being less than 1.5x the first maximum cross-sectional dimension in order to minimize unraveling, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6, the proposed combination of Guenter and Gaillard teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating a residual unwinding force of less than 1000 g. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed residual unwinding force in order to minimize unraveling, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 7, Guenter discloses the central member (152) comprises at least one of a central strength member, an electrical cable, or an optical fiber cable in paragraph 0090.
Regarding claim 8, Guenter discloses the bundled drop assembly does not comprise a cable jacket or a binding wrap surrounding the first layer of subunits in Fig. 5, 13 and paragraph 0094.
Regarding claim 23, Guenter discloses a first layer of subunits (134) being an outermost layer of the bundled drop assembly. It is noted the outermost layer (134) of subunits being a “first” layer does not preclude any additional layers as inner layers, since base claim 1 merely requires “a first layer of subunits wound around the central member”, and as seen in Fig. 11, layer 134 is wound around central member 152.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Guenter et al. (US 2019/0361185 A1 from Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement) in view of Gaillard et al. (EP 1191375 A2 from Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement), further in view of Viens et al. (WO 2018/006160 A1 from Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement).
Regarding claim 21, the proposed combination of Guenter and Gaillard teaches the claimed invention except for the subunits annealed to relieve viscoelastic stress. Viens discloses a fiber optic cable comprising a plurality of subunits in a bundled configuration, the subunits annealed (page 31, line 28 to page 32, line 6) to obtain the bundled shape. Annealing the subunits would naturally relieve viscoelastic stress. Since all of the inventions relate to optical devices, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to anneal the subunits so as to relieve viscoelastic stress as disclosed by Viens in the device of the proposed combination of Guenter and Gaillard for the purpose of ensuring the retention of the shape of the bundle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed April 29, 2026, with respect to claims have been considered but are not persuasive.
On pages 5-6, Applicant argues that Gaillard does not teach subunits “in an unrestrained configuration” because the buffer tubes are heated to promote adhesion without melting. Applicant equates the adhesion of the buffer tubes to each other as restraining. However, this interpretation of “unrestrained” is not supported by Applicant’s disclosure. Specifically, paragraph 0029 of Applicant’s specification states “subunits 12 substantially retain their bundled [unrestrained] configuration without the use of binders, glues, or other retaining means.” Thus, Applicant has defined “unrestrained” as “without the use of binders, glues, or other retaining means.”
Gaillard’s subunits (buffer tubes) also retain their configuration without the use of binders, glues or other retaining means, since the buffer tubes themselves adhere to each other. In other words, because the buffer tubes by themselves retain their configuration, there is no need for any supplemental component, such as binders, glue or additional retaining means. In fact, Gaillard at paragraphs 0008-0009 explicitly states “the use of binders is undesirable” since “stress exerted by a binder on the buffer tubes is easily transmitted to the optical fibers.” Thus, the buffer tubes of Gaillard read on “unrestrained” as defined by Applicant’s disclosure and the prima facie rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 July 29, 2026