Detailed Action
Claims 1-21 are pending for examination. Claims 1, 16, and 21 are independent.
Response to Amendment
The office action is responsive to the amendments filed on 06/24/2026. As
directed by the amendments claims 1, 8, 12, 15-17, and 21 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Applicant arguments regarding 35 U.S.C. § 101:
1. Under Ex parte Desiardins, the Examiner must consider whether ML/ AI
claims reflect technological improvements rather than dismissing them at a high
level of generality.
Examiner response: Examiner respectfully disagrees, Applicant’s amendments describe a process (i.e. batch queue optimizer process) executed by a processing device (i.e. generic computer component). Under broadest reasonable interpretation the process to generate a first batch queue is practically performable in the human mind and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process. Executing by a processing device is understood as generic computer component or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Para 0019 of applicant specification also states, “batch optimization may be performed purely algorithmically”, which under broadest reasonable interpretation describes the process could be performed mentally/mathematically and is reciting an abstract idea. The claims broadly describe generating a batch queue based on execution metrics, which is reciting an abstract idea without significantly more.
In contrast Desjardins identified improvements as to how the machine learning model itself operates, including details as to how the model itself is modified and trained in a particular way. This is not evident in applicants’ claim, which broadly describe generating a queue comprising machine learning models. Desjardins also describes a completely different application and improvement from applicants’ application when describing training a machine learning model to learn new tasks while protecting knowledge about previous tasks to overcome the problem of "catastrophic forgetting". To be patent-eligible, claims must demonstrate an inventive improvement to the machine learning technology, software functionality, or computer system itself.
Applicant further argues:
2. Claim I as amended does not recite a mental process because a human
mind cannot execute a batch queue optimizer process on a processing device.
Examiner response: Examiner respectfully disagrees, applicants claim describes generating a queue, with no details of how exactly the queue is generated. The claim merely describes the queue being generating and further describes what the queue comprises, a resource bound, and the queue being based on execution metrics.
Applicant’s amendments describe a process (i.e. batch queue optimizer process) executed by a processing device (i.e. generic computer component). Under broadest reasonable interpretation the process to generate a first batch queue is practically performable in the human mind and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process. Executing by a processing device is understood as generic computer component or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Para 0019 of applicant specification also states, “batch optimization may be performed purely algorithmically”, which under broadest reasonable interpretation describes the process could be performed mentally/mathematically and is reciting an abstract idea.
The claims further broadly recite “computed by the batch queue optimizer process based at least on the execution metrics." with no further details of how the computation is exactly performed. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, generating a queue by a “batch queue optimizer process” and “based at least on the execution metrics” is practically performable in the human mind and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process. Claim 1 does not incorporate the features described in paragraph 45 of the specification. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims.
Applicant further argues:
3. Even if the claims recited an abstract idea, they integrate it into a practical application by preventing computational resource overutilization during parallel MLM execution.
Examiner response: Examiner respectfully disagrees, it is unclear how the claims improve the functioning of computer systems by enabling efficient execution of multiple MLMs. The claims broadly recite generating a queue. Claim 1 does not incorporate the features described in paragraph 16 of the specification. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. MPEP 2106.05(a) also indicates not only does the specification have to disclose the improvement for a claim not to be an abstract idea, the claim elements themselves have to provide limitations that reflect the improvement. MPEP (§2106.05(a)(II)) also warns, “it is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology.” Here, the alleged improvement in the form of generating a batch queue which is an improvement to the abstract idea of managing how computing tasks are assigned.
Applicant further argues:
4. "Initiating parallel execution" is not mere "apply it" because it is the
concrete technological result of the batch queue optimization.
Examiner response: Examiner respectfully disagrees, the limitation describes executing the selected machine learning models on a computer (i.e. parallel execution) which is adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception as described in MPEP 2106.05(f).
Applicant arguments regarding 35 U.S.C. § 103:
1. Neither Choi nor Narayanan teaches or suggests the amended generating
limitation of claim 1.
2. Choi's profiled metrics are latency-based (L(b,p) and SLO), not resource utilization- based as recited in the claims.
3. The Examiner has failed to properly construe "utilization" under BRI,
implicitly equating it with Choi's latency-based SLO without explanation.
Examiner response: Examiners respectfully disagree, claim 1 broadly describes expected utilization of computational resources. Choi states in section 4.1 third paragraph that “scheduling decision is made by utilizing profiled information of each model (e.g., SLO and inference latency for a pair of batch size and partition size) and incoming request rates. Examiner interprets the batch size, partition size, and gpulet size as all being resource utilization based.
Chio describes finding a maximum batch size while also evaluating partitions and remaining gpulet size, which under broadest reasonable interpretation discloses a combined expected utilization.
Applicant further argues:
4. Narayanan does not cure Choi's deficiency because it teaches kernel-level
parallelism for similar models, not utilization-constrained batch queues.
5. The motivation to combine is conclusory because the references solve
different problems in different contexts.
6. The dependent claims are patentable for at least the same reasons, and
Abrol does not cure the deficiencies of the independent claims.
Examiner response: Examiner respectfully disagrees,
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, as described in the rejection Choi describes batch execution but does not explicitly recite MLM batches. Narayanan is relied on to explicitly disclose MLM batches. Narayanan further discloses similar limitations and has overlapping limitations that are taught by Choi. The motivation to combine is tied to the batch process explicitly reciting a machine learning model batch, as described explicitly in Narayanan.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
According to the first part of the analysis, in the instant case, each of the claims falls within one of the four statutory categories (i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter).
Regarding Claim 1:
2A Prong 1:
A method comprising:
generate a first batch queue comprising one or more MLM batches, wherein at least one MLM batch comprises one or more MLMs of the plurality of MLMs, at least one MLM batch having a combined expected utilization of the set of computational resources, computed by the batch queue optimizer process based at least on the execution metrics, not exceeding a threshold utilization; (This step for generating a batch queue is practically performable in the human mind and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process (i.e., evaluation).)
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
receiving an identification of a plurality of machine learning models (MLMs) for execution on a set of computational resources; (This step is directed to receiving information, which is understood to be insignificant extra-solution activity and data gathering. See MPEP 2106.05(g).)
obtaining execution metrics characterizing expected utilization of the set of computational resources during execution of individual MLMs of the plurality of MLMs; (This step is directed to receiving information, which is understood to be insignificant extra-solution activity and data gathering. See MPEP 2106.05(g).)
executing, by a processing device, a batch queue optimizer process to […] (This step is adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (i.e. a batch queue optimizer process) - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
initiating parallel execution of a first MLM batch of the one or more MLM batches of the first batch queue. (This step is adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
The additional elements as disclosed above alone or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into practical application as they are insignificant extra solution activity in combination of generic computer functions that are implemented to perform the disclosed abstract idea above.
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
receiving an identification of a plurality of machine learning models (MLMs) for execution on a set of computational resources; (This step is directed to transmitting or receiving information, which is understood to be insignificant extra-solution activity and is well understood, routine and conventional activity of transmitting and receiving data as identified by the court (MPEP2106.05(d)(ll)(i))))
obtaining execution metrics characterizing expected utilization of the set of computational resources during execution of individual MLMs of the plurality of MLMs; (This step is directed to transmitting or receiving information, which is understood to be insignificant extra-solution activity and is well understood, routine and conventional activity of transmitting and receiving data as identified by the court (MPEP2106.05(d)(ll)(i))))
executing, by a processing device, a batch queue optimizer process to […] (This step is adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (i.e. a batch queue optimizer process) - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
initiating parallel execution of a first MLM batch of the one or more MLM batches of the first batch queue. (This step is adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
The additional elements as disclosed above in combination of the abstract idea
are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as they are
well, understood, routine and conventional activity as disclosed in combination
of generic computer functions that are implemented to perform the disclosed abstract idea above.
Regarding Claim 16: see the rejection of claim 1 above. Same rationale applies.
2A Prong 2 & 2B: The claim recites another additional element “A system comprising: a memory device; and a processor, communicatively coupled to the memory device, to:” (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
Regarding Claim 21: see the rejection of claim 1 above. Same rationale applies.
2A Prong 2 & 2B: The claim recites another additional element “A processor comprising processing circuitry to perform operations comprising:” (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
Regarding Claim 2
2A Prong 1: The claim does not recite any Abstract idea.
2A Prong 2 & 2B:
wherein the execution metrics characterizing expected utilization of the set of computational resources include at least one of: a size of input data into an MLM of the plurality of MLMs, a total memory used during execution of the MLM, a peak memory use during execution of the MLM, or a peak processing clock speed during execution of the MLM. (The specification of data to be stored is understood to be a field of use limitation. The limitation further specifies the execution metrics - See MPEP 2106.05(h).)
Regarding Claim 3
2A Prong 1: The claim does not recite any Abstract idea.
2A Prong 2 & 2B:
wherein the execution metrics further include expected utilization of one or more virtual processing units supported by the set of computational resources. (The specification of data to be stored is understood to be a field of use limitation. The limitation further specifies the execution metrics - See MPEP 2106.05(h).)
Regarding Claim 4
2A Prong 1: The claim does not recite any Abstract idea.
2A Prong 2:
wherein obtaining the execution metrics for an MLM of the plurality of MLMs comprises: collecting the execution metrics during individual execution of the MLM. (This step is directed to transmitting or receiving information, which is understood to be insignificant extra-solution activity and data gathering. See MPEP 2106.05(g).)
2B:
wherein obtaining the execution metrics for an MLM of the plurality of MLMs comprises: collecting the execution metrics during individual execution of the MLM. (This step is directed to transmitting or receiving information, which is understood to be insignificant extra-solution activity and is well understood, routine and conventional activity of transmitting and receiving data as identified by the court (MPEP2106.05(d)(ll)(i))))
Regarding Claim 5
2A Prong 1: The claim does not recite any Abstract idea.
2A Prong 2:
further comprising: storing the collected execution metrics in a memory device. (This step directed to storing information, is understood to be insignificant extra- solution activity and data gathering. See MPEP 2106.05(g).)
2B:
further comprising: storing the collected execution metrics in a memory device. (This step is directed to storing information, which is understood to be insignificant extra-solution activity and is well understood, routine and conventional activity as identified by the court (MPEP 2106.05(d)(ll)(IV)))))
Regarding Claim 6
2A Prong 1:
wherein obtaining the execution metrics for an MLM of the plurality of MLMs comprises estimating the execution metrics for the MLM using one or more of: an architecture of the MLM, a size of an input into the MLM, a number of computational operations associated with the MLM, or one or more number formats used by the computational operations associated with the MLM. (This step is practically performable in the human mind and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process (i.e., evaluation/judgment).)
2A Prong 2 & 2B: The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Regarding Claim 7
2A Prong 1: The claim does not recite any Abstract idea.
2A Prong 2 & 2B:
wherein the combined expected utilization of the set of computational resources by the first MLM batch characterizes expected utilization of memory resources during parallel execution of one or more MLMs of the first MLM batch. (The specification of data to be stored is understood to be a field of use limitation. The limitation further specifies the combined expected utilization - See MPEP 2106.05(h).)
Regarding Claim 8
2A Prong 1: The claim does not recite any Abstract idea.
2A Prong 2 & 2B:
wherein the combined expected utilization of the set of computational resources by the first MLM batch characterizes expected utilization of one or more processing units during parallel execution of the one or more MLMs of the first MLM batch. (The specification of data to be stored is understood to be a field of use limitation. The limitation further specifies the combined expected utilization - See MPEP 2106.05(h).)
Regarding Claim 9
2A Prong 1: The claim does not recite any Abstract idea.
2A Prong 2 & 2B:
initiating, concurrently with the parallel execution of the first MLM batch, parallel execution of a second MLM batch of the one or more MLM batches of the first batch queue, the first MLM batch and the second MLM batch being executed on: two or more separate graphics processing units (GPUs), or two or more separate virtual GPUs supported by a same GPU. (This step is adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
Regarding Claim 10
2A Prong 1: The claim does not recite any Abstract idea.
2A Prong 2 & 2B:
responsive to completing execution of the first MLM batch, initiating parallel execution of a second MLM batch of the one or more MLM batches of the first batch queue. (This step is adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
Regarding Claim 11
2A Prong 1:
subsequent to initiating execution of the first MLM batch, generating at least a second batch queue, wherein the second batch queue comprises at least one MLM batch that is different from at least one other MLM batch of the first batch queue. (This step is practically performable in the human mind and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process (i.e., evaluation/judgment).)
2A Prong 2 & 2B: The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Regarding Claim 12
2A Prong 1:
determining first performance metrics associated with execution of the first batch queue; computing second performance metrics associated with prospective execution of the second batch queue; and responsive to a comparison of the first performance metrics and the second performance metrics, switching from the execution of the first batch queue to an execution of the second batch queue. (These steps are practically performable in the human mind and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process (i.e., evaluation/judgment).)
2A Prong 2 & 2B: The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Regarding Claim 13
2A Prong 1:
responsive to receiving, from the user, a selection of the second batch queue, switching from execution of the first batch queue to execution of the second batch queue. (This step is practically performable in the human mind and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process (i.e., evaluation/judgment).)
2A Prong 2:
displaying a first efficiency report to a user, wherein the first efficiency report comprises runtime performance metrics associated with execution of the first batch queue; displaying a second efficiency report to the user, wherein the second efficiency report comprises estimated performance metrics associated with prospective execution of the second batch queue; (The steps are directed to presenting information, is understood to be insignificant extra- solution activity as presenting offer and gathering statistics. See MPEP 2106.05(g).)
2B:
displaying a first efficiency report to a user, wherein the first efficiency report comprises runtime performance metrics associated with execution of the first batch queue; displaying a second efficiency report to the user, wherein the second efficiency report comprises estimated performance metrics associated with prospective execution of the second batch queue; (This step is directed to presenting information, which is understood to be insignificant extra-solution activity and is well understood, routine and conventional activity of presenting offers as identified by the court (MPEP 2106.05(d)(ll)(iv)))))
Regarding Claim 14
2A Prong 1: The claim does not recite any Abstract idea.
2A Prong 2:
storing at least one of the first batch queue or the second batch queue in a memory device. (The step directed to storing information, is understood to be insignificant extra- solution activity and data gathering. See MPEP 2106.05(g).)
2B:
storing at least one of the first batch queue or the second batch queue in a memory device. (This step is directed to storing information, which is understood to be insignificant extra-solution activity and is well understood, routine and conventional activity as identified by the court (MPEP 2106.05(d)(ll)(IV)))))
Regarding Claim 15
2A Prong 1:
forming, using a priority metric, a priority queue for the plurality of MLMs; and performing a plurality of MLM placement operations, wherein individual MLM placement operations comprise: selecting a next MLM in the priority queue; placing the selected MLM, using the threshold utilization and the execution metrics for the selected MLM, into at least one of: an existing MLM batch of the first batch queue, or a new MLM batch of the first batch queue. (These steps are practically performable in the human mind and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process (i.e., evaluation/judgment).)
2A Prong 2 & 2B: The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Regarding Claim 17
2A Prong 1:
estimate the execution metrics for the MLM using one or more of: an architecture of the MLM, a size of an input into the MLM, a number of computational operations associated with the MLM, or one or more number formats used by the computational operations associated with the MLM. (This step is practically performable in the human mind and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process (i.e., evaluation/judgment).)
2A Prong 2:
wherein to obtain the execution metrics for an MLM of the plurality of MLMs, the processing device is to perform at least one of: collect the execution metrics during individual execution of the MLM; (This step is directed to transmitting or receiving information, which is understood to be insignificant extra-solution activity and data gathering. See MPEP 2106.05(g).)
2B:
wherein to obtain the execution metrics for an MLM of the plurality of MLMs, the processing device is to perform at least one of: collect the execution metrics during individual execution of the MLM; (This step is directed to transmitting or receiving information, which is understood to be insignificant extra-solution activity and is well understood, routine and conventional activity of transmitting and receiving data as identified by the court (MPEP2106.05(d)(ll)(i))))
Regarding Claim 18
2A Prong 1: The claim does not recite any Abstract idea.
2A Prong 2 & 2B:
wherein the combined expected utilization of the set of computational resources by the first MLM batch characterizes at least one of: an expected utilization of memory resources during parallel execution of one or more MLMs of the first MLM batch, or an expected utilization of one or more processing units during parallel execution of the one or more MLMs of the first MLM batch. (The specification of data to be stored is understood to be a field of use limitation. The limitation further specifies the combined expected utilization - See MPEP 2106.05(h).)
Regarding Claim 19
2A Prong 1:
wherein the processing device is further to: subsequent to initiating execution of the first MLM batch, generate at least a second batch queue, wherein the second batch queue comprises at least one MLM batch that is different from each MLM batch of the first batch queue; determine first performance metrics associated with execution of the first batch queue; compute second performance metrics associated with prospective execution of the second batch queue; and responsive to a comparison of the first performance metrics and the second performance metrics, switching from the execution of the first batch queue to an execution of the second batch queue. (These steps are practically performable in the human mind and is understood to be a recitation of a mental process (i.e., evaluation/judgment).)
2A Prong 2 & 2B: The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Regarding Claim 20
2A Prong 1: The claim does not recite any Abstract idea.
2A Prong 2 & 2B:
wherein the system is comprised in at least one of: a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a system implemented using one or more application programming interfaces; a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing digital twin operations; a system for performing light transport simulation; a system for performing collaborative content creation for 3D assets; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system implemented using an edge device; a system for generating or presenting at least one of augmented reality content, virtual reality content, or mixed reality content; a system implemented using a robot; a system for performing conversational AI operations; a system for generating synthetic data; a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs); a system implemented at least partially in a data center; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources. (The specification of data to be stored is understood to be a field of use limitation. The limitation further specifies the combined expected utilization - See MPEP 2106.05(h).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 15-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al ("Serving Heterogeneous Machine Learning Models on Multi-GPU Servers with Spatio-Temporal Sharing", hereinafter "Choi") in view of Narayanan et al. ("Accelerating Model Search with Model Batching", hereinafter "Narayanan").
Regarding Claim 1
Choi discloses: A method comprising:
receiving an identification of a plurality of machine learning models (MLMs) for execution on a set of computational resources; ([Section 4.1, Section 4.3, Algorithm 1, and Fig 8] describes multi-model ML inference serving, which aims to assign incoming inference requests to the minimal number of GPUs.)
obtaining execution metrics characterizing expected utilization of the set of computational resources during execution of individual MLMs of the plurality of MLMs; ([Page 200 left column last para, Section 4.1, Section 4.3, and Algorithm 1] describes collecting profile information (i.e. execution metrics) for each model.)
executing, by a processing device ([Fig 8]), a batch queue optimizer process to generate a first batch queue comprising one or more MLM batches, wherein at least one MLM batch comprises one or more MLMs of the plurality of MLMs, at least one MLM batch having a combined expected utilization of the set of computational resources, computed by the batch queue optimizer process based at least on the execution metrics, not exceeding a threshold utilization ([Section 4.3, Section 5.2, and Algorithm 1] describes being within SLO constraints. [Section 4.4-4.5 and Algorithm 2] describes inference aware scheduling to prevent GPUs exceeding its given limits. [Section 4.3, Section 5.2, and Algorithm 1] also describes computing maximum batch size based on profile information and Max/min partitions.); and
initiating parallel execution of a first MLM batch of the one or more MLM batches of the first batch queue. ([Page 200 right column third bullet, Section 4.4 second para, Section 5.1 under “ML Models:”] describes gpulets for concurrent ML inference execution (i.e. parallel execution) on partitions of GPUs.)
Choi does not explicitly disclose: MLM batches;
However, Narayanan discloses in the same field of endeavor: receiving an identification of a plurality of machine learning models (MLMs) for execution on a set of computational resources ([Abstract, Section 2, and Figure 1] describes simultaneously running multiple models (called a model batch) on a GPU.); generating a first batch queue comprising one or more MLM batches, wherein at least one MLM batch comprises one or more MLMs of the plurality of MLMs ([Abstract, Section 2, and Figure 1] explicitly discloses Model Batch’s.); initiating parallel execution of a first MLM batch of the one or more MLM batches of the first batch queue. ([Abstract, Section 2, and Figure 1] describe parallel executions of a model batch.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the invention to implement the function of Model batching disclosed by Narayanan into the method of Machine Learning Models on Multi-GPU Servers disclosed by Choi to explicitly disclose model batches. The modification would have been obvious because one of the ordinary skills of the art would be motivated to utilize the feature of Model batching disclosed by Narayanan as all the references are in the field of machine learning. A person of ordinary skill of the art would have been motivated to perform the combination for being able to share processing steps among different models and obtain performance gains.
Regarding Claim 16
Choi in view of Narayanan discloses: A system comprising: a memory device; and a processor, communicatively coupled to the memory device, ([Sections 4-5 and Fig 8], Choi discloses a system.) to: (Claim 16 is a system claim that corresponds to claim 1 and the rest of the limitations are rejected on the same ground)
Regarding Claim 21
Choi in view of Narayanan discloses: A processor comprising processing circuitry to perform operations ([Sections 4-5 and Fig 8], Choi discloses processing circuitry.) comprising: (Claim 21 is a claim that corresponds to claim 1 and the rest of the limitations are rejected on the same ground)
Regarding Claim 2
Choi in view of Narayanan discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the execution metrics characterizing expected utilization of the set of computational resources include at least one of: a size of input data into an MLM of the plurality of MLMs, a total memory used during execution of the MLM, a peak memory use during execution of the MLM, or a peak processing clock speed during execution of the MLM. ([Page 200 left column last para, Section 4.1, Section 4.3, and Algorithm 1], Choi describes collecting profile information (i.e. execution metrics) for each model including SLO and batch size.)
Regarding Claim 3
Choi in view of Narayanan discloses: The method claim 1, wherein the execution metrics further include expected utilization of one or more virtual processing units supported by the set of computational resources. ([Abstract, Section 4.1, Section 4.3, Algorithm 1, and Fig 8], Choi describes SLO and batch size for virtual GPUs.)
Regarding Claim 4
Choi in view of Narayanan discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the execution metrics for an MLM of the plurality of MLMs comprises: collecting the execution metrics during individual execution of the MLM. ([Section 4.3, and Algorithm 1], Choi discloses executing each model in algorithm 1.)
Regarding Claim 5
Choi in view of Narayanan discloses: The method of claim 4, further comprising: storing the collected execution metrics in a memory device. ([Sections 4-5, Table 1, Algorithm 1, and Fig 8] Choi describes collecting profile information and metrics stored in variables.)
Regarding Claim 6
Choi in view of Narayanan discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein obtaining the execution metrics for an MLM of the plurality of MLMs comprises estimating the execution metrics for the MLM using one or more of:
an architecture of the MLM, a size of an input into the MLM, a number of computational operations associated with the MLM, or one or more number formats used by the computational operations associated with the MLM. ([Page 200 left column last para, Section 4.1, Section 4.3, and Algorithm 1], Choi describes collecting profile information (i.e. execution metrics) for each model including SLO and batch size.)
Regarding Claim 7
Choi in view of Narayanan discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the combined expected utilization of the set of computational resources by the first MLM batch characterizes expected utilization of memory resources during parallel execution of one or more MLMs of the first MLM batch. ([Section 4.3, Section 5.2, and Algorithm 1], Choi describes being within SLO constraints. [Section 4.4-4.5 and Algorithm 2], Choi describes inference aware scheduling to prevent GPUs exceeding its given limits.)
Regarding Claim 8
Choi in view of Narayanan discloses: The method of claim 7, wherein the combined expected utilization of the set of computational resources by the first MLM batch characterizes expected utilization of one or more processing units during parallel execution of the one or more MLMs of the first MLM batch. ([Section 4.3, Section 5.2, and Algorithm 1], Choi describes being within SLO constraints. [Section 4.4-4.5 and Algorithm 2], Choi describes inference aware scheduling to prevent GPUs exceeding its given limits.)
Regarding Claim 9
Choi in view of Narayanan discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising: initiating, concurrently with the parallel execution of the first MLM batch, parallel execution of a second MLM batch of the one or more MLM batches of the first batch queue, the first MLM batch and the second MLM batch being executed on: two or more separate graphics processing units (GPUs), or two or more separate virtual GPUs supported by a same GPU. ([Section 4.3, Section 1 and Algorithm 1], Choi describes heterogeneous ML models to be mapped to multiple gpulets (i.e. separate virtual GPUs)
Regarding Claim 10
Choi in view of Narayanan discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising: responsive to completing execution of the first MLM batch, initiating parallel execution of a second MLM batch of the one or more MLM batches of the first batch queue. ([Section 4.2-4.3 and Algorithm 1] describes M models placed in multiple partitions and gpulets (i.e. MLM batches).)
Regarding Claim 11
Choi in view of Narayanan discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising: subsequent to initiating execution of the first MLM batch, generating at least a second batch queue, wherein the second batch queue comprises at least one MLM batch that is different from at least one other MLM batch of the first batch queue. ([Section 4.2-4.3 and Algorithm 1] describes M models placed in multiple partitions and gpulets (i.e. MLM batches).)
Regarding Claim 15
Choi in view of Narayanan discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the batch queue optimizer process generates the first batch queue by forming, using a priority metric, a priority queue for the plurality of MLMs ; and performing a plurality of MLM placement operations, wherein individual MLM placement operations comprise: selecting a next MLM in the priority queue; placing the selected MLM, using the threshold utilization and the execution metrics for the selected MLM, into at least one of: an existing MLM batch of the first batch queue, or a new MLM batch of the first batch queue. ([Section 4 Algorithm 1 and Fig 8], Choi describes model priority where each model is sorted in ascending order by rate and SLO, then placing models in partitions and gpulets.)
Regarding Claim 17
Choi in view of Narayanan discloses: The system of claim 16, wherein to obtain the execution metrics for an MLM of the plurality of MLMs, the processing device is to perform at least one of: collect the execution metrics during individual execution of the MLM; or estimate the execution metrics for the MLM using one or more of: an architecture of the MLM, a size of an input into the MLM, a number of computational operations associated with the MLM, or one or more number formats used by the computational operations associated with the MLM. ([Page 200 left column last para, Section 4.1, Section 4.3, and Algorithm 1], Choi describes collecting profile information (i.e. execution metrics) for each model including SLO and batch size.)
Regarding Claim 18
Choi in view of Narayanan discloses: The system of claim 17, wherein the combined expected utilization of the set of computational resources by the first MLM batch characterizes at least one of: an expected utilization of memory resources during parallel execution of one or more MLMs of the first MLM batch, or an expected utilization of one or more processing units during parallel execution of the one or more MLMs of the first MLM batch. ([Section 4.3, Section 5.2, and Algorithm 1], Choi describes being within SLO constraints. [Section 4.4-4.5 and Algorithm 2], Choi describes inference aware scheduling to prevent GPUs exceeding its given limits.)
Regarding Claim 20
Choi in view of Narayanan discloses: The system of claim 17, wherein the system is comprised in at least one of: a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a system implemented using one or more application programming interfaces; a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing digital twin operations; a system for performing light transport simulation; a system for performing collaborative content creation for 3D assets; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system implemented using an edge device; a system for generating or presenting at least one of augmented reality content, virtual reality content, or mixed reality content; a system implemented using a robot; a system for performing conversational AI operations; a system for generating synthetic data; a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs); a system implemented at least partially in a data center; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources. ([Section 4.3, Section 1 and Algorithm 1], Choi describes heterogeneous ML models to be mapped to multiple gpulets (i.e. virtual GPUs)
Claim(s) 12-14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi in view of Narayanan and Abrol et al. (US 10,884,636 B1, hereinafter "Abrol") .
Regarding Claim 12
Choi in view of Narayanan does not explicitly discloses: The method of claim 11, further comprising: determining first performance metrics associated with execution of the first batch queue; computing second performance metrics associated with prospective execution of the second batch queue; and responsive to a comparison of the first performance metrics and the second performance metrics, switching from the execution of the first batch queue to an execution of the second batch queue.
However, Abrol discloses in the same field of endeavor: The method of claim 12, further comprising: determining first performance metrics associated with execution of the first batch queue; computing second performance metrics associated with prospective execution of the second batch queue; and responsive to a comparison of the first performance metrics and the second performance metrics, switching from the execution of the first batch queue to an execution of the second batch queue. ([Col 29 lines 38 lines 1-35, Col 68 lines 15-53, Fig. 3C, and Fig 4-10] describes workload performance in a storage system and switching computing instances.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the invention to implement the function of workload performance disclosed by Abrol into the method of Choi in view of Narayanan to determine performance metrics and switching executions. The modification would have been obvious because one of the ordinary skills of the art would be motivated to utilize the feature of workload performance disclosed by Abrol as all the references are in the field of machine learning. A person of ordinary skill of the art would have been motivated to perform the combination for being able to evaluate workload performance and perform preventive actions.
Regarding Claim 13
Choi in view of Narayanan and Abrol discloses: The method of claim 12, further comprising: displaying a first efficiency report to a user, wherein the first efficiency report comprises runtime performance metrics associated with execution of the first batch queue; displaying a second efficiency report to the user, wherein the second efficiency report comprises estimated performance metrics associated with prospective execution of the second batch queue; and responsive to receiving, from the user, a selection of the second batch queue, switching from execution of the first batch queue to execution of the second batch queue. ([Col 69-77 and Fig 10], Abrol discloses a user interface for displaying performance metrics and receiving user changes.)
Regarding Claim 14
Choi in view of Narayanan and Abrol discloses: The method of claim 12, further comprising: storing at least one of the first batch queue or the second batch queue in a memory device. ([Section 4, Table 2, Fig 8, and Artifact Appendix], Choi describes utilizing memory for scheduling.)
Regarding Claim 19
Choi in view of Narayanan and Abrol discloses: The system of claim 17, wherein the processing device is further to: subsequent to initiating execution of the first MLM batch, generate at least a second batch queue, wherein the second batch queue comprises at least one MLM batch that is different from each MLM batch of the first batch queue; determine first performance metrics associated with execution of the first batch queue; compute second performance metrics associated with prospective execution of the second batch queue; and responsive to a comparison of the first performance metrics and the second performance metrics, switching from the execution of the first batch queue to an execution of the second batch queue. ([Col 29 lines 38 lines 1-35, Col 68 lines 15-53, Fig. 3C, and Fig 4-10], Abrol describes workload performance in a storage system and switching computing instances.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Malegaonkar et al. (US 20230393896 A1) describes machine learning scheduling platform for running multiple machine learning models simultaneously..
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TEWODROS E MENGISTU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2127