DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 4/1/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sheem et al. (US 6,395,427).
Regarding claim 1, Sheem et al. discloses in Figs 1-5, a negative-electrode active material (C3/L7-8) comprising: a carbon matrix (C3/L8-9, Figs 1-4); boron (C3/L61-63); and iron (C3/L21) distributed in an interior (C7/L45-52, Figs 3-4) of the carbon matrix (C3/L8-9, Figs 1-4).
Regarding claim 2, Sheem et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the boron is distributed in a surface layer (C8/L13-14) of the carbon matrix (C3/L8-9, Figs 1-4).
Regarding claim 3, Sheem et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the iron (C3/L21) is in a zero-valence atomic state (C3/L39).
Regarding claim 4, Sheem et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses a weight of the iron is 0.1 %-5% of a weight of the carbon matrix (C5/L9-11); a weight of the boron is 0.01%-3% of the weight of the carbon matrix (C8/L3-6, 20g to 500g = 0.04)
Regarding claim 5, Sheem et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses a weight amount of the iron is greater than (C3/L49-50, 0.01 – 20 wt%) or equal to a weight amount of the boron (C3/L61-62, 0.005 – 10 wt%).
Regarding claim 8, Sheem et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the carbon matrix includes artificial graphite (C5/L61-62).
Regarding claim 19, Sheem et al. discloses in Figs 1-5, a secondary battery (C3/L7-8) comprising a negative-electrode plate (C8/L12-14), wherein the negative-electrode plate (C8/L12-14) includes a negative-electrode active material (C3/L7-8) comprising: a carbon matrix (C3/L8-9, Figs 1-4); boron (C3/L61-63); and iron (C3/L21) distributed in an interior (C7/L45-52, Figs 3-4) of the carbon matrix (C3/L8-9, Figs 1-4).
Regarding claim 20, Sheem et al. discloses in Figs 1-5, an apparatus (Abstract, C1/L16-20, implicit in utilizing the battery of the invention) comprising the secondary battery (C3/L7-8) as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheem et al. (US 6,395,427) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Sheem et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose wherein an X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS) analysis of the negative-electrode active material shows a characteristic peak only in a binding energy range of 183.0eV-188.0eV – which is a structural indicator of the material mix of the negative active material. However, the material mix of the negative active material is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. Sheem et al. (see C3/L49 – C4/L15) teaches that it was known in the art at the time of the invention that varying Fe and B content relative to carbon in the negative active material will vary the capacity and cycle characteristics of a battery utilizing the aforementioned negative active material. Therefore the the capacity and cycle characteristics are variables that can be modified, among others, by varying the Fe and B content of said negative active material. For that reason, the Fe and B content, would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed. As such, without showing unexpected results, the Fe and B content cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the Fe and B content in the negative active material of Sheem et al. to obtain the desired the capacity and cycle characteristics of a battery utilizing the aforementioned negative active material (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 7, Sheem et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose at a discharge rate of 0.33C, a delithiation platform voltage of the negative-electrode active material is 0.18V-0.22V – which is a structural indicator of the material mix of the negative active material. However, the material mix of the negative active material is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. Sheem et al. (see C3/L49 – C4/L15) teaches that it was known in the art at the time of the invention that varying Fe and B content relative to carbon in the negative active material will vary the capacity and cycle characteristics of a battery utilizing the aforementioned negative active material. Therefore the the capacity and cycle characteristics are variables that can be modified, among others, by varying the Fe and B content of said negative active material. For that reason, the Fe and B content, would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed. As such, without showing unexpected results, the Fe and B content cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the Fe and B content in the negative active material of Sheem et al. to obtain the desired the capacity and cycle characteristics of a battery utilizing the aforementioned negative active material (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Takeuchi et al. (US 6,030,726) discloses in Figs 1-5, a lithium secondary battery (Abstract) including a negative electrode (ref 17) material comprising a carbon matrix with a boron material and an iron material therein (C7/L29-67).
Swoyer et al. (US 2006/0014078) discloses a secondary battery ([0115]) including a negative active material including iron and boron within a carbon matrix ([0119]).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725