DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 – 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The indicated allowability of claims 7, 8 and 9 are withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Baek (US 2009/0133906 A1). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 14 – 16, 19, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 2018/0324964 A1) in view of Baek (US 2009/0133906 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoo (US 2018/0324964 A1) discloses an electronic device (Fig 5-7,25-29) comprising: a hinge structure (330); a flexible display (320; [0108,0119,0212-0250]) configured to be folded ([0104,0212-0250]) or unfolded ([0104,0212-0250]) by the hinge structure (330); a first part (310a,1110a; [0241]) and a second part (310b,1110b) coupled to the hinge structure (330), the first part (310a,1110a) and the second part (310b,1110b) configured to approach each other to face each other when being folded ([0126-0128,0212-0250]; see Fig 25) by the hinge structure (330) and configured to be spaced apart from each other when being unfolded ([0104,0108,0119,0126-0128,0212-0250]) by the hinge structure (330); a first printed circuit board (350a,1051; [0243]) disposed on the first part (310a,1110a; [0243]); a second printed circuit board (350b,1052; [0243]) disposed on the second part (310b,1110b; [0243]); and a flexible printed circuit board (390,1030) configured to electrically connect ([0128,0243]) the first printed circuit board (350a,1051) and the second printed circuit board (350b,1052) to each other, wherein the flexible printed circuit board (1030) includes: a first area configured to be bent (see Fig 29; [0054,0249]; portion or region or area upward or lower than 1033 is shown in a bent position; note that the claim has not structurally defined the limits or periphery of this claimed area) in response to a folding or an unfolding of the electronic device; and a second area (area or region about 1034,1035; note that the claim has not structurally defined the limits or periphery of this claimed area) positioned around the first area, the second area not bent (see Fig 29 showing that the portion at 1034 and 1035 are not bent) in response to the folding or the unfolding of the electronic device, wherein the first area and the second area are formed with different thicknesses (see Fig 29 showing 1034,1035 are thicker than a portion of 1030 near 1033).
Yoo does not disclose wherein the first area comprises a single signal wiring layer and the second area comprises a plurality of signal wiring layers having more signal wiring layers than the first area.
Baek (US 2009/0133906 A1) teaches of a flexible printed circuit board (Fig 5) configured to electrically connect ([0035]) the first printed circuit board ([0035]), wherein the flexible printed circuit board (200) includes: a first area (portion towards the right side of Fig 6; see FLEXIBLE PORTION in Fig 3A; [0016]) configured to be bent ([0005-0008,0032]); and a second area (portion with 222,232; see FIXING PORTION in Fig 3A; [0008,0016] “fixing portion 6, relatively thick and hard, at both ends thereof”) positioned around the first area, the second area not bent ([0008]) in response to the folding or the unfolding of the electronic device, wherein the first area and the second area are formed with different thicknesses (see Fig 6 showing portion with 222,232 is thicker than a portion toward the right side) wherein the first area comprises a single signal wiring layer (212; [0056-0061]; see Fig 6 showing only a single signal layer 212) and the second area comprises a plurality of signal wiring layers (212,222a,232a; [0054] “first conductive layer 222 is connected electrically to the signal layer 212 through a first via-hole 281. The second conductive layer 232 is also connected electrically to the signal layer 212 through a second via-hole 282”) having more signal wiring layers than the first area.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the board as disclosed by Yoo, wherein the first area comprises a single signal wiring layer and the second area comprises a plurality of signal wiring layers having more signal wiring layers than the first area as taught by Baek, in order to form a connection and transmit data between components while allowing flexibility and bending, maintain reliability, and allow for a bending or sliding operation (Baek, [0005-0008]).
Regarding Claim 14, Yoo further discloses the electronic device (Fig 5-7,25-29) of claim 1, wherein the first part (310a,1110a; [0054,0241,0249]; portion or region or area upward or lower than 1033 is shown in a bent position; note that the claim has not structurally defined the limits or periphery of this claimed area) is formed of one or more layers (see Fig 29) having, combined, a first thickness (see portion of 1030 around callout 1033 has a first thickness and a layer), and wherein the second part (310b,1110b; [0054,0241,0249]; portion or region or area around 1034,1035 is formed with a second thickness which is greater than the thickness of 1030 about 1033; note that the claim has not structurally defined the limits or periphery of this claimed area) is formed with a second thickness that is thicker than the first thickness.
Regarding Claim 15, Yoo further discloses the electronic device (Fig 5-7,25-29) of claim 14, wherein the first part overlaps the hinge structure (see left side of Fig 29) at least partly.
Regarding Claim 16, Yoo discloses a flexible printed circuit board (Fig 5-7,25-29) of a foldable electronic device (1100) comprising: a first part (310a,1110a; [0054,0241,0249]; portion or region or area upward or lower than 1033 is shown in a bent position; note that the claim has not structurally defined the limits or periphery of this claimed area) configured to be bent (see Fig 29; [0054,0249]; portion or region or area upward or lower than 1033 is shown in a bent position; note that the claim has not structurally defined the limits or periphery of this claimed area) in response to a folding or an unfolding ([0126-0128,0212-0250]; see Fig 25) of the electronic device; and a second part (310b,1110b; [0054,0241,0249]; portion or region or area around 1034,1035 is formed with a second thickness which is greater than the thickness of 1030 about 1033; note that the claim has not structurally defined the limits or periphery of this claimed area) positioned around the first part, the second part not bent (see Fig 29 showing that the portion at 1034 and 1035 are not bent) in response to the folding or the unfolding of the electronic device, wherein the first part and the second part are formed with different thicknesses (see Fig 29 showing 1034,1035 are thicker than a portion of 1030 near 1033).
Yoo does not disclose wherein the first area comprises a single signal wiring layer and the second area comprises a plurality of signal wiring layers having more signal wiring layers than the first area.
Baek (US 2009/0133906 A1) teaches of a flexible printed circuit board (Fig 5) configured to electrically connect ([0035]) the first printed circuit board ([0035]), wherein the flexible printed circuit board (200) includes: a first area (portion towards the right side of Fig 6; see FLEXIBLE PORTION in Fig 3A; [0016]) configured to be bent ([0005-0008,0032]); and a second area (portion with 222,232; see FIXING PORTION in Fig 3A; [0008,0016] “fixing portion 6, relatively thick and hard, at both ends thereof”) positioned around the first area, the second area not bent ([0008]) in response to the folding or the unfolding of the electronic device, wherein the first area and the second area are formed with different thicknesses (see Fig 6 showing portion with 222,232 is thicker than a portion toward the right side) wherein the first area comprises a single signal wiring layer (212; [0056-0061]; see Fig 6 showing only a single signal layer 212) and the second area comprises a plurality of signal wiring layers (212,222a,232a; [0054] “first conductive layer 222 is connected electrically to the signal layer 212 through a first via-hole 281. The second conductive layer 232 is also connected electrically to the signal layer 212 through a second via-hole 282”) having more signal wiring layers than the first area.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the board as disclosed by Yoo, wherein the first area comprises a single signal wiring layer and the second area comprises a plurality of signal wiring layers having more signal wiring layers than the first area as taught by Baek, in order to form a connection and transmit data between components while allowing flexibility and bending, maintain reliability, and allow for a bending or sliding operation (Baek, [0005-0008]).
Regarding Claim 19, Yoo further discloses the flexible printed circuit board (Fig 5-7,25-29) of claim 16, wherein the first part (310a,1110a; [0054,0241,0249]; portion or region or area upward or lower than 1033 is shown in a bent position; note that the claim has not structurally defined the limits or periphery of this claimed area) is formed of one or more layers (see Fig 29) having, combined, a first thickness (see portion of 1030 around callout 1033 has a first thickness and a layer), and wherein the second part (310b,1110b; [0054,0241,0249]; portion or region or area around 1034,1035 is formed with a second thickness which is greater than the thickness of 1030 about 1033; note that the claim has not structurally defined the limits or periphery of this claimed area) is formed with a second thickness that is thicker than the first thickness.
Regarding Claim 20, Yoo further discloses the flexible printed circuit board (Fig 5-7,25-29) of claim 16, wherein the first part overlaps a fold position (see left side of Fig 29) of the foldable electronic device at least partly at least partly.
Regarding Claim 21, Yoo in view of Baek teaches the limitations of the preceding claim, including the hinge structure and the single signal wiring layer.
Yoo further discloses the hinge structure (Fig 29), such that the hinge structure would comprise a folding axis (though not shown, an imaginary line at a bending axis would still comprise a single signal wiring layer; an imaginary line going into the page at Fig 29) defined by the hinge structure.
Baek further teaches the electronic device (Fig 5) of claim 1, wherein, in a cross-section (any cross section would show a single signal layer 212) viewed in a first direction corresponding to a folding axis (not shown, an imaginary line at a bending axis would still comprise a single signal wiring layer) defined by the hinge structure (as taught by Yoo), the first area (FLEXIBLE PORTION of Baek) includes the single signal wiring layer (212).
Claim(s) 2, 17 and 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 2018/0324964 A1) in view of Baek (US 2009/0133906 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Blair (US 2007/0040626 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Yoo in view of Baek teaches the limitations of the preceding claim, including first and second areas.
Yoo does not disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the signal wiring layer comprises main radio frequency (RF) signal wirings and main ground wirings, and wherein the main RF signal wirings and the main ground wirings are disposed on the same layer.
Blair (US 2007/0040626 A1) teaches of an electronic device (Fig 1-6), wherein a first area (area of 100 about “r”) includes a single signal wiring layer (402) and the second area (area about 102,106; [0046]) includes a plurality of signal wiring layers (402,404,414,410), wherein the signal wiring layer comprises main radio frequency (RF) signal wirings ([0031,0042,0083]) and main ground wirings (400,408,416,412), and wherein the main RF signal wirings and the main ground wirings are disposed on the same layer (see Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Yoo in view of Baek, wherein the signal wiring layer comprises main radio frequency (RF) signal wirings and main ground wirings, and wherein the main RF signal wirings and the main ground wirings are disposed on the same layer as taught by Blair, in order to provide a high speed interconnection, provide high speed transmission, provide a high density of transmission lines and reduce noise and/or loss (Blair, Abstract, [0007,0008,0031,0032,0039,0042-0049,0075,0083]).
Regarding Claim 17, Yoo in view of Baek teaches the limitations of the preceding claim, including first and second areas.
Yoo does not disclose the flexible printed circuit board of claim 16, wherein the signal wiring layer comprises main radio frequency (RF) signal wirings and main ground wirings, and wherein the main RF signal wirings and the main ground wirings are disposed on the same layer.
Blair (US 2007/0040626 A1) teaches of a flexible printed circuit board (Fig 1-6) of claim 16, wherein the first part (area of 100 about “r”) includes a single signal wiring layer (402) and the second part (area about 102,106; [0046]) includes a plurality of signal wiring layers (402,404,414,410), wherein the signal wiring layer comprises main radio frequency (RF) signal wirings ([0031,0042,0083]) and main ground wirings (400,408,416,412), and wherein the main RF signal wirings and the main ground wirings are disposed on the same layer (see Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Yoo in view of Baek, wherein the first part includes a single signal wiring layer and the second part includes a plurality of signal wiring layers, wherein the signal wiring layer comprises main radio frequency (RF) signal wirings and main ground wirings, and wherein the main RF signal wirings and the main ground wirings are disposed on the same layer as taught by Blair, in order to provide a high speed interconnection, provide high speed transmission, provide a high density of transmission lines and reduce noise and/or loss (Blair, Abstract, [0007,0008,0031,0032,0039,0042-0049,0075,0083]).
Regarding Claim 22, Yoo in view of Baek teaches the limitations of the preceding claim, including the hinge structure and the single signal wiring layer.
Yoo further teaches the electronic device (Fig 6) of claim 1, wherein, in a cross-section defined by a second direction orthogonal to a folding axis (not shown; a cross-section looking at the cross-section of 300 from a viewpoint at the left side of Fig 6) defined by the hinge structure (as taught by Yoo) the single signal wiring layer includes a plurality of signal wirings and at least one ground wiring.
Yoo does not explicitly disclose the single signal wiring layer includes a plurality of signal wirings and at least one ground wiring.
Blair (US 2007/0040626 A1) teaches of an electronic device (Fig 1-6), wherein a single signal wiring layer (layer as seen in Fig 6B) includes a plurality of signal wirings (410,414) and at least one ground wiring (408).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Yoo in view of Baek, wherein the single signal wiring layer includes a plurality of signal wirings and at least one ground wiring as taught by Blair, in order to provide a high speed interconnection, provide high speed transmission, provide a high density of transmission lines and reduce noise and/or loss (Blair, Abstract, [0007,0008,0031,0032,0039,0042-0049,0075,0083]).
Claim(s) 3 – 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (US 2018/0324964 A1) in view of Baek (US 2009/0133906 A1) and Blair (US 2007/0040626 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Baba (US 2019/0088388 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Yoo in view of Baek and Blair teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Yoo does not disclose the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the plurality of signal wiring layers comprises: a first signal wiring layer including a first flexible copper clad laminate (FCCL) conductive layer on which a plurality of first RF signal wirings and a plurality of first ground wirings are formed; a second signal wiring layer including a second FCCL conductive layer on which a plurality of second RF signal wirings and a plurality of second ground wirings are formed; and a third signal wiring layer including a third FCCL conductive layer on which a plurality of third RF signal wirings and a plurality of third ground wirings are formed.
Blair (US 2007/0040626 A1) teaches of an electronic device (Fig 1-6), wherein a plurality of signal wiring layers comprises: a first signal wiring layer (402,404,414,410) including a first flexible ([0036]) copper ([0036]) clad laminate (FCCL) conductive layer on which a plurality of first RF ([0031,0042,0083]) signal wirings (402,404,414,410) and a plurality of first ground wirings (408,400) are formed.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Yoo in view of Baek and Blair, wherein the plurality of signal wiring layers comprises: a first signal wiring layer including a first flexible copper clad laminate (FCCL) conductive layer on which a plurality of first RF signal wirings and a plurality of first ground wirings are formed as taught by Blair, in order to provide a conductive material, provide a suitable material, provide a high speed interconnection, provide high speed transmission, provide a high density of transmission lines and reduce noise and/or loss (Blair, Abstract, [0007,0008,0031,0032,0036,0039,0042-0049,0075,0083]).
Baba (US 2019/0088388 A1) teaches of an electronic device (Fig 16), wherein a plurality of signal wiring layers comprises: a first signal wiring layer (40J,40K,394,397) including a first flexible ([0036]) laminate conductive layer on which a plurality of first signal wirings (40J,40K) and a plurality of first ground wirings (394,397) are formed; a second signal wiring layer (40D,40G,393,392) including a second conductive layer (40D,40G) on which a plurality of second signal wirings and a plurality of second ground wirings (393,392,3962) are formed; and a third signal wiring layer including a third conductive layer on which a plurality of third RF signal wirings (40A,40E) and a plurality of third ground wirings (3961,32,38) are formed.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Yoo in view of Baek and Blair, wherein the plurality of signal wiring layers comprises: a first signal wiring layer including a first flexible copper clad laminate (FCCL) conductive layer on which a plurality of first RF signal wirings and a plurality of first ground wirings are formed; a second signal wiring layer including a second FCCL conductive layer on which a plurality of second RF signal wirings and a plurality of second ground wirings are formed; and a third signal wiring layer including a third FCCL conductive layer on which a plurality of third RF signal wirings and a plurality of third ground wirings are formed as taught by Baba, in order to improve electromagnetic balance, provide effective shielding, increase isolation, reduce irregularities, and prevent irregularities (Baba, [0026-0030,0240,0256,0258]).
Regarding Claim 4, Yoo in view of Baek, Blair and Baba teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Baba further teaches the electronic device (Fig 16) of claim 3, wherein the plurality of first RF signal wirings (40J,40K) and the plurality of first ground wirings (394,397) are disposed on the same layer, wherein the plurality of second RF signal wirings (40D,40G) and the plurality of second ground wirings (393,392) are disposed on the same layer; wherein the plurality of third RF signal wirings (40A,40E) and the plurality of third ground wirings (3961,32,38) are disposed on the same layer; and wherein the plurality of first RF signal wirings, the plurality of second RF signal wirings, and the plurality of third RF signal wirings are disposed on different layers (see Fig 16).
Regarding Claim 5, Yoo in view of Baek, Blair and Baba teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Baba further teaches the electronic device (Fig 16) of claim 4, comprising at least one via (v11; [0227]) electrically connecting the plurality of first ground wirings (394,397), the plurality of second ground wirings (392,393), and the plurality of third ground wirings (398) to the main ground wirings (34).
Regarding Claim 6, Yoo in view of Baek, Blair and Baba teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Baba further teaches the electronic device (Fig 16) of claim 4, wherein the signal wiring layer (40D) and the second signal wiring layer (40G) are disposed on a same plane.
Regarding Claim 7, Yoo in view of Baek, Blair and Baba teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Yoo does not disclose the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the first part comprises: a dielectric layer disposed on the main signal wiring layer; a first FCCL protection layer disposed on the dielectric layer; and a first air gap formed between the dielectric layer and the first FCCL protection layer.
Baek further teaches the electronic device (Fig 5) of claim 4, wherein the first part comprises: a dielectric layer (215) disposed on the signal wiring layer (212); a first FCCL protection layer (220) disposed on the dielectric layer; and a first air gap (251; [0016]) formed between the dielectric layer (215) and the first FCCL protection layer (220).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Yoo in view of Baek, Blair and Baba wherein the first part comprises: a dielectric layer disposed on the main signal wiring layer; a first FCCL protection layer disposed on the dielectric layer; and a first air gap formed between the dielectric layer and the first FCCL protection layer as taught by Baek, as such a structure with air gaps would provide better dispersion of stress on the board when bending (Baek, [0038] “forms the spaces 151 and 152 in the flexible portion, so that the stress, generated when the main body and auxiliary body of the portable terminal are bent relative to each other, is properly dispersed to the spaces 151 and 152”).
Regarding Claim 8, Yoo in view of Baek, Blair and Baba teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Baek further teaches the electronic device (Fig 5) of claim 7, wherein the first part comprises: a second FCCL protection layer (211) disposed on a lower part of the signal wiring layer (212); a third FCCL protection layer (230) disposed on a lower part of the second FCCL protection layer; and a second air gap (252) formed between the second FCCL protection layer and the third FCCL protection layer.
Regarding Claim 9, Yoo in view of Baek, Blair and Baba teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Baek further teaches the electronic device (Fig 5) of claim 8, wherein the second part comprises: a first adhesive layer (241) configured to make the first signal wiring layer (212) and the second signal wiring layer (222) adhere to each other; and a second adhesive layer (242) configured to make the second signal wiring layer (222) and the third signal wiring layer (232) adhere to each other.
Regarding Claim 18, Yoo in view of Baek and Blair teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Yoo does not disclose the flexible printed circuit board of claim 16, wherein the plurality of signal wiring layers comprises: a first signal wiring layer including a first flexible copper clad laminate (FCCL) conductive layer on which a plurality of first RF signal wirings and a plurality of first ground wirings are formed; a second signal wiring layer including a second FCCL conductive layer on which a plurality of second RF signal wirings and a plurality of second ground wirings are formed; and a third signal wiring layer including a third FCCL conductive layer on which a plurality of third RF signal wirings and a plurality of third ground wirings are formed.
Blair (US 2007/0040626 A1) teaches of flexible printed circuit board (Fig 1-6) of claim 16, wherein a plurality of signal wiring layers comprises: a first signal wiring layer (402,404,414,410) including a first flexible ([0036]) copper ([0036]) clad laminate (FCCL) conductive layer on which a plurality of first RF ([0031,0042,0083]) signal wirings (402,404,414,410) and a plurality of first ground wirings (408,400) are formed.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Yoo in view of Baek and Blair, wherein the plurality of signal wiring layers comprises: a first signal wiring layer including a first flexible copper clad laminate (FCCL) conductive layer on which a plurality of first RF signal wirings and a plurality of first ground wirings are formed as taught by Blair, in order to provide a conductive material, provide a suitable material, provide a high speed interconnection, provide high speed transmission, provide a high density of transmission lines and reduce noise and/or loss (Blair, Abstract, [0007,0008,0031,0032,0036,0039,0042-0049,0075,0083]).
Baba (US 2019/0088388 A1) teaches of an electronic device (Fig 16), wherein a plurality of signal wiring layers comprises: a first signal wiring layer (40J,40K,394,397) including a first flexible ([0036]) laminate conductive layer on which a plurality of first signal wirings (40J,40K) and a plurality of first ground wirings (394,397) are formed; a second signal wiring layer (40D,40G,393,392) including a second conductive layer (40D,40G) on which a plurality of second signal wirings and a plurality of second ground wirings (393,392,3962) are formed; and a third signal wiring layer including a third conductive layer on which a plurality of third RF signal wirings (40A,40E) and a plurality of third ground wirings (3961,32,38) are formed.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the board as taught by Yoo in view of Baek and Blair, wherein the plurality of signal wiring layers comprises: a first signal wiring layer including a first flexible copper clad laminate (FCCL) conductive layer on which a plurality of first RF signal wirings and a plurality of first ground wirings are formed; a second signal wiring layer including a second FCCL conductive layer on which a plurality of second RF signal wirings and a plurality of second ground wirings are formed; and a third signal wiring layer including a third FCCL conductive layer on which a plurality of third RF signal wirings and a plurality of third ground wirings are formed as taught by Baba, in order to improve electromagnetic balance, provide effective shielding, increase isolation, reduce irregularities, and prevent irregularities (Baba, [0026-0030,0240,0256,0258]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROSHN K VARGHESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896