DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Status Claims 1-20 are pending: Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08/04/2023, 12/13/2023 is/are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kou (US 11,889,609) embodiment of Fig1-3,7-8 . Claim 14 Kou embodiment Fig1-3,7-8 discloses: “A method (embodiment of Fig1/2/3/7/8; C12L8-62) of annealing (Abstract, C1L20-23) a substrate (Fig3, to-be-annealed object 100) , comprising: applying continuous (C7L6-7, microwave system 30 in continuous) electromagnetic energy (Fig7/8, microwaves 33) from a first electromagnetic energy source (Fig7/8, microwave generator 32) to a substrate (C11L43-48; Fig7/8, flow of microwave 33 to object 100, region 110) , wherein the substrate has a major surface (Fig7/8, major surface of object 100) ; and exposing the substrate (object 100) to pulses (C7L44-52, pulsed laser 54) of laser energy (laser 54) from a second electromagnetic energy source (Fig1-3,7-8, laser system 50, laser 54) while applying (C11L8-16, microwaves and laser are applied at the same time; instant statement is in the context of the embodiment of Fig5, however the simultaneous application of microwave and laser applies to the embodiment of Fig7/8: C12L14-15,C11L31-33 each only change orientation – not operation method) the continuous electromagnetic energy (microwaves 33) , wherein exposing the substrate (object 100) to the pulses of laser energy occurs in phase with the continuous electromagnetic energy (Fig2, step S30; C7L53-C8L8; measurement and control system 80 controls the output of the microwave system 30 and the laser system 50 within the disclosed ranges [C7L31-52] of outputs microwave/laser frequencies, based on arrangement operation) .” Claim 15 Kou embodiment Fig1-3,7-8 discloses: “The method of claim 14, wherein the continuous electromagnetic energy (Fig7/8, microwaves 33) heats (C12L67-C13L1, laser system 50 and microwave system 30 are heat sources) the substrate (C12L14-23, object 100 is heated via microwaves 33 in region 110 evenly) and the pulses of laser energy (C7L44-52, pulsed laser 54) heat (C12L67-C13L1, laser system 50 and microwave system 30 are heat sources) a defined region of the major surface of the substrate (C11L31-41/Fig7/8, laser is directed along D2 perpendicular to object 100) .” Claim 16 Kou embodiment Fig1-3,7-8 discloses: “The method of claim 15, wherein the first electromagnetic energy source (Fig7/8, microwave generator 32) is a microwave source (Fig7/8, microwave generator 32) .” Claim 17 Kou embodiment Fig1-3,7-8 discloses: “The method of claim 14, wherein the second electromagnetic energy source (Fig1-3,7-8, laser system 50, laser 54) is a pulsed laser source (C7L44-52, pulsed laser 54) selected from a femtosecond pulsed laser source (C7L44-52, laser pulse width ranges between 100 fs to 100 ns) , a picosecond laser source (C7L44-52, laser pulse width ranges between 100 fs to 100 ns; picosecond time scale is between femtosecond and nanosecond) , or a nanosecond laser source (C7L44-52, laser pulse width ranges between 100 fs to 100 ns) .” Claim 18 Kou embodiment Fig1-3,7-8 discloses: “The method of claim 17, wherein each pulse of the pulses of laser energy (laser 54) has a duration in a range from about 1 nanosecond to about 100 nanoseconds (C7L44-52, laser pulse width ranges between 100 fs to 100 ns) .” Claim 19 Kou embodiment Fig1-3,7-8 discloses: “The method of claim 18, wherein the pulsed laser source (laser 54) has a pulse repetition frequency in the range of 80 kHz to 1 MHz (C7L44-52, laser pulse frequency ranges between 1 Hz to 1MHz) .” Claim 20 Kou embodiment Fig1-3,7-8 discloses: “The method of claim 19, wherein the pulsed laser source (laser 54) is positioned to deliver the pulses of laser energy (laser energy to region 120) perpendicular to the major surface of the substrate (C11L31-41/Fig7/8, laser is directed along D2 perpendicular to object 100) and the first electromagnetic energy source (microwave generator 32) is positioned to deliver microwave energy (microwave 33 to region 110) parallel to the major surface of the substrate (C11L31-41/Fig7/8, microwave 33 is directed along D1 parallel to object 100) .” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 10 3 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kou (US 11,889,609) embodiment Fig1-3,7-8 in view of Kou embodiment Fig1-3,4. Claim 1 Kou embodiment Fig1-3,7-8 discloses: “A system (embodiment of Fig1/2/3/7/8 ; C12L8-62 ) for annealing (Abstract, C1L20-23) a substrate (Fig3, to-be-annealed object 100) , suitable for use in semiconductor processing (C6L22-34, object 100 is a material for a semiconductor manufacturing process) , comprising: a chamber body (best seen Fig7/8, body of microwave system) defining a processing volume (best seen Fig7/8, cavity 34, opening 35) ; a substrate support pedestal ( Fig 7/8 , carrier 150) / carrier base 160 ) positioned in the processing volume (Fig7/8, carrier 150 is located within cavity 34 / opening 35) and movable (C6L56-57, carrier of Fig1-3 is movable) … , w herein the substrate support pedestal is operable to support a substrate (carrier 150 / carrier base 160 support object 100) having a major surface (Fig7/8, major surface of object 100 ) ; a continuous source (Fig7/8, microwave generator 32) of microwave energy (Fig7/8, microwaves 33) coupled with the chamber body (cavity 34, opening 35) via a waveguide (Fig7/8, isolator 36; C11L 43-48 ) , the continuous source of microwave energy (generator 32) is positioned to deliver microwave energy (microwave 33) to the substrate (C11L43-48; Fig7/8, flow of microwave 33 to object 100) ; and a pulsed (C7L44-52, pulsed laser 54) laser source (Fig1-3,7-8, laser system 50, laser 54) positioned (Fig7/8, laser 54 directed towards object 100) to deliver pulses of laser energy to the substrate (Fig7/8, laser 54 directed towards object 100) .” Kou embodim ent Fig1-3,7-8 does not explicitly state that the carrier 150 moves in the x-y plane. Kou discloses (C6L56-57) that the carrier of the embodiment of Fig1-3 is movable. Kou embodiment Fig1-3,4 teaches (C9L62-C10L7; Fig4/5) that the carrier 150 of embodiment Fig 4 moves object 100 horizontally and vertically as indicated by C1/C2 . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of Kou Fig1-3,7-8 to have the carrier move both horizontally and vertically, as Kou discloses that the carrier of Kou Fig1-3,7-8 moves, and the embodiment of Kou Fig1-3,4 teaches that the movement of the carrier is horizontal and vertical, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the embodiment of Kou Fig1-3,7-8 with the working and known movement directions of horizontal and vertical as taught by Kou Fig1-3,4. Claim 2 The modified arrangement of Kou Fig1-3,7-8 by Kou Fig1-3,4 discloses: “The system of claim 1, wherein the pulsed laser source (laser 54) is selected from a femtosecond laser source (C7L44-52, laser pulse width ranges between 100 fs to 100 ns) , a picosecond laser source (C7L44-52, laser pulse width ranges between 100 fs to 100 ns; picosecond time scale is between femtosecond and nanosecond) , or a nanosecond laser source (C7L44-52, laser pulse width ranges between 100 fs to 100 ns) .” Claim 5 The modified arrangement of Kou Fig1-3,7-8 by Kou Fig1-3,4 discloses: “The system of claim 2, wherein the pulsed laser source (laser 54) is positioned to deliver the pulses of laser energy (laser energy to region 120) perpendicular to the major surface of the substrate (C11L31-41/Fig7/8, laser is directed along D2 perpendicular to object 100) .” Claim 6 The modified arrangement of Kou Fig1-3,7-8 by Kou Fig1-3,4 discloses: “The system of claim 5, wherein the continuous source of microwave energy (microwave generator 32) is positioned to deliver microwave energy (microwave 33 to region 110) parallel to the major surface of the substrate (C11L31-41/Fig7/8, microwave 33 is directed along D1 parallel to object 100) .” Claim 7 The modified arrangement of Kou Fig1-3,7-8 by Kou Fig1-3,4 discloses: “The system of claim 5, further comprising a system controller (best seen Fig3, measurement and control system 80) connected with the continuous source of microwave energy and the pulsed laser source (best seen Fig2/3, measurement and control system 80 connected to microwave system 30 and laser system 50, and controls [step S30]) , wherein the system controller coordinates a phase of the continuous source of microwave energy with the pulses of laser energy provided by the pulsed laser source (Fig2, step S30; C7L53-C8L8 ; measurement and control system 80 controls the output of the microwave system 30 and the laser system 50 within the disclosed ranges [C7L31-52] of outputs microwave/laser frequencies ) .” Claim 3 The modified arrangement of Kou Fig1-3,7-8 by Kou Fig1-3,4 discloses: “The system of claim 1, wherein each pulse from the pulsed laser source has a duration in a range from about 1 nanosecond to about 100 nanoseconds (C7L44-52, laser pulse width ranges between 100 fs to 100 ns) .” Claim 4 The modified arrangement of Kou Fig1-3,7-8 by Kou Fig1-3,4 discloses: “The system of claim 3, wherein the pulsed laser source has a pulse repetition frequency in the range of 80 kHz to 1 MHz (C7L44-52, laser pulse frequency ranges between 1 Hz to 1MHz) .” Claim 8 Kou embodiment Fig1-3,7-8 discloses: “A system (embodiment of Fig1/2/3/7/8; C12L8-62) for annealing (Abstract, C1L20-23) a substrate (Fig3, to-be-annealed object 100) , comprising: a chamber body (best seen Fig7/8, body of microwave system) defining a processing volume (best seen Fig7/8, cavity 34, opening 35) , the chamber body, comprising: a top wall (best seen Fig7, vertically top wall of cavity 34) ; a bottom wall opposing the top wall (best seen Fig7, vertically bottom wall of cavity 34) ; and a sidewall coupling the top wall and the bottom wall (best seen Fig7, either sidewall of cavity 34 where reference character 33 points) ; a substrate support pedestal ( Fig7/8, carrier 150) / carrier base 160 ) positioned in the processing volume (Fig7/8, carrier 150 is located within cavity 34 / opening 35) and movable (C6L56-57, carrier of Fig1-3 is movable) … , wherein the substrate support pedestal is operable to support a substrate (carrier 150 / carrier base 160 support object 100) having a major surface (Fig7/8, major surface of object 100) ; a continuous source (Fig7/8, microwave generator 32) of electromagnetic energy (Fig7/8, microwaves 33) coupled with the chamber body (cavity 34, opening 35) via a waveguide (Fig7/8, isolator 36; C11L43-48) , the continuous source of electromagnetic energy (generator 32) is positioned to deliver electromagnetic energy (microwave 33) to the substrate (C11L43-48; Fig7/8, flow of microwave 33 to object 100) ; and a pulsed (C7L44-52, pulsed laser 54) source of electromagnetic energy (Fig1-3,7-8, laser system 50, laser 54) positioned (Fig7/8, laser 54 directed towards object 100) to deliver pulses of electromagnetic energy to the substrate (Fig7/8, laser 54 directed towards object 100) .” Kou embodim ent Fig1-3,7-8 does not explicitly state that the carrier 150 moves in the x-y plane. Kou discloses (C6L56-57) that the carrier of the embodiment of Fig1-3 is movable. Kou embodiment Fig1-3,4 teaches (C9L62-C10L7; Fig4/5) that the carrier 150 of embodiment Fig 4 moves object 100 horizontally and vertically as indicated by C1/C2. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of Kou Fig1-3,7-8 to have the carrier move both horizontally and vertically, as Kou discloses that the carrier of Kou Fig1-3,7-8 moves, and the embodiment of Kou Fig1-3,4 teaches that the movement of the carrier is horizontal and vertical, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the embodiment of Kou Fig1-3,7-8 with the working and known movement directions of horizontal and vertical as taught by Kou Fig1-3,4. Claim 9 The modified arrangement of Kou Fig1-3,7-8 by Kou Fig1-3,4 discloses: “The system of claim 8, wherein the continuous source of electromagnetic energy (Fig7/8, microwave generator 32, microwaves 33) is a microwave source (microwave generator 32) and the pulsed source of electromagnetic energy (C7L44-52, pulsed laser 54) is a laser source (Fig1-3,7-8, laser system 50, laser 54) .” Claim 10 The modified arrangement of Kou Fig1-3,7-8 by Kou Fig1-3,4 discloses: “The system of claim 9, wherein the pulsed source of electromagnetic energy (C7L44-52, pulsed laser 54) is positioned to deliver pulses of electromagnetic energy (Fig7/8, laser energy to region 120) perpendicular to the major surface of the substrate (C11L31-41/Fig7/8, laser is directed along D2 perpendicular to object 100) .” Claim 11 The modified arrangement of Kou Fig1-3,7-8 by Kou Fig1-3,4 discloses: “The system of claim 10, wherein the continuous source of electromagnetic energy (microwave generator 32) is positioned to deliver microwave energy (microwave 33 to region 110) parallel to the major surface of the substrate (C11L31-41/Fig7/8, microwave 33 is directed along D1 parallel to object 100) .” Claim 12 The modified arrangement of Kou Fig1-3,7-8 by Kou Fig1-3,4 discloses: “The system of claim 8, further comprising a phase-frequency detector (best seen Fig3, measurement and control system 80) operable to detect a phase and/or a frequency of the electromagnetic energy emitted from the continuous source of electromagnetic energy (Fig2, step S30; C7L53-C8L8; measurement and control system 80 controls the output of the microwave system 30 and the laser system 50 within the disclosed ranges [C7L31-52] of outputs microwave/laser frequencies) .” Claim 13 The modified arrangement of Kou Fig1-3,7-8 by Kou Fig1-3,4 discloses: “The system of claim 12, further comprising a system controller (best seen Fig3, measurement and control system 80) connected with the phase-frequency detector (best seen Fig3, measurement and control system 80) and the continuous source of electromagnetic energy (best seen Fig2/3, measurement and control system 80 connected to microwave system 30) , wherein the system controller adjusts the pulsed source of electromagnetic energy based on input from the phase-frequency detector (Fig2, step S30; C7L53-C8L8; measurement and control system 80 controls the output of the microwave system 30 and the laser system 50 within the disclosed ranges [C7L31-52] of outputs microwave/laser frequencies, based on arrangement operation) .” Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2019/0291214 from Peng: Fig1, overall arrangement, Para28 additional microwave source JP S60-20508 to Amada: Fig1, microwaves 8, laser 12 US 9,816,944 to Hayashi: Fig13, microwaves 3 via waveguides 6a/b, laser 1 via 12 US 5,158,931 to Noda: Fig5, microwave 26, waveguide 27, laser beam 5 via lens 6 at target 2, laser and microwaves are perpendicular to each other, substrate 3 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JOHN HUNTER JR whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-5093 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F, 9-18 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Helena Kosanovic can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571 272 9059 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOHN S HUNTER, JR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761