DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 08/07/2023 has been considered and
placed in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. 10,263,759).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Wang et al. (hereinafter, Ref~759) discloses (please see Figs. 2-7 and related text for details) a method, comprising:
determining (during a calibration phase as described e.g., in the abstract) a first offset calibration of a first differential pair (770e/770f of Fig. 7 can be read as the claimed pair OR at least it is functionally equivalent to it) of a circuit (e.g., see circuit from Fig. 4), the first differential pair comprises a first transistor (e.g., 770e of Fig. 7) and a second transistor (770f of Fig. 7);
determining (during said calibration phase as described, for instance, in paragraph [0003]) a second offset calibration of a second differential pair (770c/770d of Fig. 7 can be read as the claimed pair OR at least it is functionally equivalent to it) of the circuit, the second differential pair comprises a third transistor (770c of Fig. 7) and a fourth transistor (770d of Fig. 7); and
based on the first offset calibration and the second offset calibration, determining a third offset calibration of a common mode, wherein the common mode comprises a combination of the first differential pair and the second differential pair (Ref~759 teaches that the peak detector may provide a common mode voltage associated with the first and second differential outputs as broadly described in paragraph [0012]. In addition, Ref~759 further teaches that the offset of the peak detector output voltage and the offset of the comparator input voltage offset are reduced as described in paragraph [0034], thus obviating the claimed feature. In other words, each pair may obviously need to be calibrated depending on custom specifications), meeting claims 1 and 12.
Regarding claim 5, Ref~759 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a bias current (706b of Fig. 7 can be read as the claimed bias current) is shared by the first differential pair and the second differential pair, meeting claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, Ref~759 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first differential pair is configured to receive a reference level voltage (disposed at gate of 770e/7470f), and wherein the second differential pair is configured to receive a signal (in/ip or on/op of Fig. 7), meeting claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Ref~759 discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the reference level voltage is a DC voltage, and wherein the signal is an alternating voltage as seen from Fig. 7, meeting claim 7.
Regarding claim 11, Ref~759 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the determining the first offset calibration, the determining the second offset calibration, and the determining the third offset calibration is performed by a comparator (424 of Fig. 4), meeting claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 8-9 and 13-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HIEU P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843