DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo et. al., U.S. Pat. Pub. 2004/0075383, hereafter Endo, in view of Matsui et. al., U.S. Pat. Pub. 2012/0038866, hereafter Matsui.
Regarding claim 1, Endo discloses (Fig. 14) a method for manufacturing a display panel with no color unevenness using an inkjet, the method comprising:
forming a black matrix [352] on a substrate [S];
ejecting (par. [0212], [0210]) an RGB ink to eject the same amount (par. [212, Fig. 14 ©) of the RGB ink [354] to the subpixels from a plurality of inkjet print head nozzles (par. [0149]);
and drying the RGB ink sprayed on the subpixels with a dryer or curing with an ultraviolet curing device (par. [0213], the heat treatment is performed by a dryer)
Endo fails to explicitly disclose:
forming the black matrix to form a plurality of black matrices on the substrate so that areas of the subpixels are randomly different.
However, Matsui discloses (par. [0036], [0044], Fig. 3)
forming the black matrix to form a plurality of black matrices on the substrate so that areas of the subpixels are randomly different.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Endo with the teachings of formation of random area black matrices of Matsui, because Matsui teaches (par. [0014]) that it is possible to realize a liquid crystal display device that prevents, even if formed colored patterns are varied in joining portions during exposure, the variation of colored patterns from becoming conspicuous.
Regarding claim 2, Endo in view of Matsui discloses everything as applied above. Matsui further discloses (Fig. 3) wherein in forming the black matrix [3], the subpixels are formed using photoresist (par. [0048]), wherein the plurality of black matrices are formed on the substrate so that the areas of the subpixels are randomly different (Fig. 3, par. [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the instant application to form the black matrix using photoresist, because Matsui teaches (par. [0009] that this prevents misalignment.
wherein in forming the black matrix, the subpixels are formed using any one of photoresist, screen printing, sandblasting, or lift-off processes, and wherein the plurality of black matrices are formed on the substrate so that the areas of the subpixels are randomly different.
Regarding claim 3, Endo in view of Matsui discloses everything as applied above. Matsui further discloses (par. [0044]) wherein the black matrix comprises subpixels with different random areas.
Regarding claim 4, Endo in view of Matsui discloses everything as applied above. Claim 4 is obvious over the combination of references, because Endo further discloses (Fig. 14) wherein the black matrix [352] comprises reference subpixels, while Matsui further discloses (par. [0044]) wherein one or more types of subpixels having different sizes from the reference subpixels are randomly arranged.
Regarding claim 5, Endo in view of Matsui discloses everything as applied above. Endo further
discloses (par. [0065]), wherein the RGB ink comprises an RGB ink for a color filter.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo et. al., U.S. Pat. Pub. 2004/0075383, hereafter Endo, in view of Matsui et. al., U.S. Pat. Pub. 2012/0038866, hereafter Matsui, and further in view of Shin, “Study on the Right Size of Inkjet Droplets for the Fabrication of Large Area Display Panels, KSME Fall Meeting 2019 powerpoint presentation (of record), hereafter Shin.
Regarding claim 6, Endo in view of Matsui discloses everything as applied above. Endo in view of Matsui fails to explicitly disclose wherein the RGB ink comprises an RGB ink for an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display panel.
However, Shin discloses (pp.10-12) wherein the RGB ink comprises an RGB ink for an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display panel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the instant application to manufacture a QD-OLED by the inkjet printing method taught by Shin, because Shin teaches (p.7) that this method achieves cost reduction without degrading picture quality.
Regarding claim 7, Endo in view of Liao discloses everything as applied above. Endo in view of Liao fails to explicitly disclose wherein the RGB ink comprises an RGB ink for a quantum dot (QD)-based display panel.
However, Shin discloses (pp.10-12) wherein the RGB ink comprises an RGB ink for a quantum dot (QD)-based display panel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the instant application to manufacture a QD-OLED by the inkjet printing method taught by Shin, because Shin teaches (p.7) that this method achieves cost reduction without degrading picture quality.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo et. al., U.S. Pat. Pub. 2004/0075383, hereafter Endo, in view of Matsui et. al., U.S. Pat. Pub. 2012/0038866, hereafter Matsui, and further in view of Woo et. al., U.S. Pat. Pub. 2019/0123292, hereafter Woo.
Regarding claim 8, Endo in view of Matsui discloses everything as applied above. Endo in view of Matsui fails to explicitly disclose wherein the RGB ink comprises a nanorod ink for a light emitting diode (LED) display panel.
However, Woo discloses (Fig. 5, par. [0077],[0091], [0092], [0101]) wherein the RGB ink comprises a nanorod ink for a light emitting diode (LED) display panel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the instant application to manufacture a nanorod based LED display by the inkjet printing method taught by Woo, because Woo teaches (par. [0100]) that the velocity and efficiency of electron injection into the EML layer is enhanced by the nanorods, and the luminescence properties of the light emitting diode may be improved.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liao et. al., “Development of a 120 Hz 110” ultra-high-definition a-Si liquid crystal display panel”, Journal of Information Display, Vol. 15, pp.77-80, hereafter Liao.
Liao teaches (p. 80, Section 5, lines 5-8 a random pattern design for the black matrix, although Liao does not teach randomly different subpixel areas.
/VICTOR V BARZYKIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893