DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 15-16, 20-24, and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bok (US 2022/0209187).
Regarding independent claim 1, Bok teaches a display device (Fig. 16, Element 10; ¶ [0067]) comprising a base layer (Fig. 16, Element 100; ¶ [0082]); a circuit layer (Fig. 6, Element 200; ¶ [0136]) on the base layer, and comprising a pixel circuit (Fig. 6, Element PC; ¶ [0084]); an element layer (Fig. 6, Element OLED; ¶ [0107]) on the circuit layer, and comprising a light emitting element electrically connected with the pixel circuit; and an encapsulation layer (Fig. 6, Element 300; ¶ [0133]) covering the element layer, wherein at least one of the base layer or the circuit layer has a groove (Fig. 16, Element G2; ¶ [0102]) defined therein, wherein the encapsulation layer covers the groove, and wherein a plurality of spaces (Fig. 16; “spaces” occupied by functional layers 222a/222c and electrode 223 shown beneath the encapsulation layer 310 in groove G2) are defined in the groove, each of the plurality of spaces being completely surrounded by the encapsulation layer.
Regarding claim 2, Bok teaches the groove comprising a sidewall portion comprising a first sidewall (Fig. 20; e.g., side of sub-layer 612); a first tip (Fig. 16; e.g., tip of sub-layer 621) protruding from the first sidewall; a second sidewall (Fig. 20; e.g., side of sub-layer 622) on the first tip; and a second tip (Fig. 16; e.g., tip of sub-layer 623) protruding from the second sidewall.
Regarding claim 3, Bok teaches a first width (Fig. 20; width formed by the lower portion of sub-layer 612) of the groove at the first sidewall smaller than a second width (Fig. 20; width formed by the upper portion of sub-layer 622) of the groove at the second sidewall.
Regarding claim 4, Bok teaches the circuit layer comprising a plurality of inorganic insulating layers (Fig. 16, e.g., Elements 203, 205, 207; ¶s [0110], [0114], [0116])); a first intermediate conductive layer (Fig. 20, Element 610; ¶ [0199]); a first organic layer (Fig. 16, Element 211; ¶ [0124]) on the plurality of inorganic insulating layers, and covering the first intermediate conductive layer; and a second intermediate conductive layer (Fig. 20, Element 620; ¶ [0200]) on the first organic layer, wherein the first intermediate conductive layer comprises a first conductive layer (Fig. 20, Element 611; ¶ [0199]), a second conductive layer (Fig. 20, Element 612; ¶ [0199]), and a third conductive layer (Fig. 20, Element 613; ¶ [0199]) sequentially stacked one above another, wherein the second intermediate conductive layer comprises a fourth conductive layer (Fig. 20, Element 621; ¶ [0200]), a fifth conductive layer (Fig. 20, Element 622; ¶ [0200]), and a sixth conductive layer (Fig. 20, Element 623; ¶ [0200]) sequentially stacked one above another, and wherein the first sidewall is defined in at least a portion of the second conductive layer; the first tip is defined by the third conductive layer and the fourth conductive layer; the second sidewall is defined in the fifth conductive layer; and the second tip is defined by the sixth conductive layer (Figs. 16 and 20).
Regarding claim 5, Bok teaches the first conductive layer, the third conductive layer, the fourth conductive layer, and the sixth conductive layer comprise titanium, and wherein the second conductive layer and the fifth conductive layer comprise aluminum (¶s [0199]-[0200]).
Regarding claim 6, Bok teaches the plurality of spaces comprising a first space facing the first sidewall; and a second space facing the second sidewall (Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 7, Bok teaches, in a cross-sectional view, a maximum width of the first space being greater than a maximum width of the second space (Fig. 16; the space occupied by functional layer 222a has a maximum width greater than a maximum width of the space occupied by electrode 223).
Regarding claim 8, Bok teaches a slope of a direction of the maximum width of the first space being greater than a slope of a direction of the maximum width of the second space (Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 9, Bok teaches the groove comprising a third sidewall (Fig. 20; e.g., side of sub-layer 632) on the second tip, and a third tip (Fig. 20; e.g., tip of sub-layer 633) protruding from the third sidewall.
Regarding claim 10, Bok teaches the plurality of spaces comprises a first space (Fig. 16; “space” occupied by functional layer 222a) facing the first sidewall; a second space (Fig. 16; “space” occupied by functional layer 222c) facing the second sidewall; and a third space (Fig. 16; “space” occupied by electrode 223) facing the third sidewall, and wherein, in a cross-sectional view, a first maximum width of the first space is greater than a second maximum width of the second space, and the second maximum width of the second space is greater than a third maximum width of the third space (Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 11, Bok teaches a direction of the first maximum width of the first space, a direction of the second maximum width of the second space, and a direction of the third maximum width of the third space being different from one another (Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 15, Bok teaches the circuit layer comprising a plurality of inorganic insulating layers (Fig. 16, e.g., Elements 203, 205, 207; ¶s [0110], [0114], [0116])); a first intermediate conductive layer (Fig. 20, Element 610; ¶ [0199]); a first organic layer (Fig. 16, Element 211; ¶ [0124]) on the plurality of inorganic insulating layers, and covering the first intermediate conductive layer; and a second intermediate conductive layer (Fig. 20, Element 620; ¶ [0200]) on the first organic layer, and wherein the plurality of inorganic insulating layers have a tip portion protruding more than a sidewall of the base layer defining the groove (Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 16, Bok teaches the circuit layer comprising a plurality of inorganic insulating layers (Fig. 16, e.g., Elements 203, 205, 207; ¶s [0110], [0114], [0116])); a first intermediate conductive layer (Fig. 20, Element 610; ¶ [0199]); a first organic layer (Fig. 16, Element 211; ¶ [0124]) on the plurality of inorganic insulating layers, and covering the first intermediate conductive layer; and a second intermediate conductive layer (Fig. 20, Element 620; ¶ [0200]) on the first organic layer, and wherein the groove is defined in the first organic layer, and the second intermediate conductive layer defines a tip portion protruding more than a sidewall of the first organic layer defining the groove (Fig. 20).
Regarding claim 20, Bok teaches the encapsulation layer comprising a first inorganic encapsulation layer (Fig. 16, Element 310; ¶ [0133]) on the element layer; an organic encapsulation layer (Fig. 16, Element 320; ¶ [0133]) on the first inorganic encapsulation layer; and a second inorganic encapsulation layer (Fig. 16, Element 330; ¶ [0133]) on the organic encapsulation layer, and wherein each of the plurality of spaces is surrounded by the first inorganic encapsulation layer (Fig. 16).
Regarding independent claim 21, Bok teaches a display device comprising a base layer (Fig. 16, Element 100; ¶ [0082]) having a hole (Fig. 16, Element G2; ¶ [0102]) defined therein; a pixel on the base layer and comprising a first electrode (Fig. 6, Element 221; ¶ [0127]), an intermediate layer (Fig. 6, Element 222; ¶ [0129]), and a second electrode (Fig. 6, Element 223; ¶ [0130]); a protrusion (Fig. 16, Element PW; ¶ [0144]) on the base layer between the pixel and the hole, and comprising a first sidewall (Fig. 16; e.g., side of insulating layer 213); a first tip (Fig. 16; e.g., tip of insulating layer 211) protruding from the first sidewall; a second sidewall (Fig. 16; e.g., side of insulating layer 205) on the first tip; and a second tip (Fig. 16; e.g., tip of insulating layer 203) protruding from the second sidewall; an encapsulation layer (Fig. 16, Element 310; ¶ [0133]) covering the pixel and the protrusion; and a space (Fig. 16; the “space” occupied by functional layers 222a/222c and electrode 223 shown beneath the encapsulation layer 310 in groove G2) completely surrounded by the encapsulation layer, wherein the space faces at least one of the first sidewall or the second sidewall of the protrusion (Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 22, Bok teaches the plurality of spaces comprising a first space facing the first sidewall; and a second space facing the second sidewall (Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 23, Bok teaches, in a cross-sectional view, a maximum width of the first space being greater than a maximum width of the second space (Fig. 16; the space occupied by functional layer 222a has a maximum width greater than a maximum width of the space occupied by electrode 223).
Regarding claim 24, Bok teaches a slope of a direction of the maximum width of the first space being greater than a slope of a direction of the maximum width of the second space (Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 31, Bok teaches the protrusion comprising a third sidewall (Fig. 16; e.g., side of buffer layer 201) on the second tip, and a third tip (Fig. 16, Element PT2; ¶ [0162]) protruding from the third sidewall.
Regarding claim 32, Bok teaches the plurality of spaces comprises a first space (Fig. 16; “space” occupied by functional layer 222a) facing the first sidewall; a second space (Fig. 16; “space” occupied by functional layer 222c) facing the second sidewall; and a third space (Fig. 16; “space” occupied by electrode 223) facing the third sidewall, and wherein, in a cross-sectional view, a first maximum width of the first space is greater than a second maximum width of the second space, and the second maximum width of the second space is greater than a third maximum width of the third space (Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 33, Bok teaches a direction of the first maximum width of the first space, a direction of the second maximum width of the second space, and a direction of the third maximum width of the third space being different from one another (Fig. 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14, 30, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bok (US 2022/0209187).
Regarding claim 12, Bok teaches the limitations of claim 2 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify a thickness of the first tip being greater than a thickness of the second tip.
It would have been an obvious choice of design to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display device of Bok with a thickness of the first tip is greater than a thickness of the second tip, since where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, since it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)).
Regarding claim 13, Bok teaches the limitations of claim 2 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify each of a portion defining the first sidewall and a portion defining the second sidewall has a thickness of 1 micrometer or less.
It would have been an obvious choice of design to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display device of Bok with each of a portion defining the first sidewall and a portion defining the second sidewall having a thickness of 1 micrometer or less, since it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)).
Regarding claim 14, Bok teaches the limitations of independent claim 1 discussed earlier. Bok also teaches the groove defined in the base layer (Fig. 16) but fails to exemplify the groove having a depth of 1 micrometer or less.
It would have been an obvious choice of design to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display device of Bok with the groove having a depth of 1 micrometer or less, since it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)).
Regarding claim 30, Bok teaches the limitations of independent claim 21 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify a thickness of the first tip being greater than a thickness of the second tip.
It would have been an obvious choice of design to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display device of Bok with a thickness of the first tip is greater than a thickness of the second tip, since where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, since it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)).
Regarding claim 34, Bok teaches the limitations of independent claim 21 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify each of a portion defining the first sidewall and a portion defining the second sidewall has a thickness of 1 micrometer or less.
It would have been an obvious choice of design to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display device of Bok with each of a portion defining the first sidewall and a portion defining the second sidewall having a thickness of 1 micrometer or less, since it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-19 and 25-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record neither shows or suggests a display device comprising, in addition to other limitations of the claim, a crack dam spaced from comprising a first layer comprising the same material as that of the first organic layer; and a second layer comprising the same material as that of the second intermediate conductive layer, wherein the second layer protrudes more than the first layer, wherein the encapsulation layer covers the crack dam, and wherein a space completely surrounded by the encapsulation layer is further defined in a portion facing the first layer.
Due to their dependencies upon claim 17, claims 18-19 are also allowable.
Regarding claim 25, the prior art of record neither shows or suggests a display device comprising, in addition to other limitations of the claim, a protrusion comprising a first conductive portion comprising a first conductive layer, a second conductive layer, and a third conductive layer sequentially stacked one above another; and a second conductive portion comprising a fourth conductive layer, a fifth conductive layer, and a sixth conductive layer sequentially stacked one above another, and wherein the first sidewall is defined in at least a portion of the second conductive layer; the first tip is defined by the third conductive layer and the fourth conductive layer; the second sidewall is defined in the fifth conductive layer; and the second tip is defined by the sixth conductive layer.
Due to their dependencies upon claim 25, claims 26-29 are also allowable
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee (US 2022/0199946) teaches a display panel with encapsulation layer including an organic layer and an inorganic layer. Seon (US 2020/0403050) teaches a display panel with a groove defined in a multi-layer. Lee (US 2020/0303677) teaches a display panel with a multi-layered film including an organic layer and an inorganic layer. Choi (US 2020/0287164) teaches a display panel with planarization layer disposed over a groove.
Contact Information
/Kevin Quarterman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 25 March 2026