DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 14, and 16-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2006/0112979) in view of Ewase et al (US 2006/0272676).
Kim teaches an apparatus.
As to claims 1, 14, 21:
The apparatus comprises:
A wafer holder (spin chuck, at least [0042] and [0048])
Two nozzles 10 and 20 (at least Figures 2, 4 and the related description);
A controller (at least [0056]).
The apparatus is disclosed for removal edge bead material of the wafer.
Thus, Kim teaches an apparatus as claimed except for the specific recitation of the camera disposed as claimed and the controller that determined tap width of the layer at the edge region of the wafer.
However, such was known from Ewase et al.
See at least Figures 1, 7-10 and the related description.
Ewase et al teach that it was known to provide camera 50 disposed as claimed and control processing of the wafers by a controller 60 based on the images of the camera 50.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to provide a camera and measuring abilities of the device of Ewase et al in the apparatus of Kim to automate functioning of the apparatus and better control the referenced functioning.
As to claims 2, 3, 16, 17, 22, 23:
Kim teaches nozzles positioned as claimed (at least Figures 2, 4, and the related description).
As to claims 4-6, 8, 19-20, 24-25:
Kim does not specifically tech third and fourth nozzles.
However, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)
The applicants have not demonstrated any unexpected results achieved by the recited third and fourth nozzles.
As to claim 5:
Kim teaches a mechanism to adjust angles of the disclosed nozzles (at least [0056]).
As to claim 6, 18-20, 25:
Kim teaches the angles of the nozzles as a result effective variable depending from the wafers to be processed (at least [0056]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was made to find an optimum angles for the nozzles by routine experimentation depending from the specific wafers to be processed.
Claim(s) 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2006/0112979) in view of Ewase et al (US 2006/0272676), as applied to claims 1 and 14 and further in view of Nam et al (US 6,983,755).
Modified Kim, as applied above, teaches an apparatus as claimed except for the specific recitation of the flow regulators.
However, Nam et al teach that it was known that the flow is a result effective variable in processing waver edges and teach flow regulators to control the flow from the nozzles (at least Figures 2, 4, 6 and the related description).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to provide flow regulators as suggested by Nam et al in the device of Kim in order to more precisely control processing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicants amended the claims and allege that the claims are allowable.
This is not persuasive for the reasons provided in the rejections above.
The amended claims have been examined and are subject of the rejections provided above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The documents listed on the attached PTO 892 are cited to show the state of the art with respect to wafer processing apparatuses.
/ALEXANDER MARKOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711