DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/02/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/05/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final rejection on 12/29/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-16 , filed 02/25/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-10 under 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Choi et al. (KR 20210053582 A) and Baek et al. (US 20210074955 A1).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first part” and “second part” in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (KR 20210053582 A) in view of Baek et al. (US 20210074955 A1).
Regrading claim 1, Choi discloses a display device, comprising:
a first subpixel (annotated below); (Fig. 6)
a folding axis (FX) about which the display device (140) is configured to fold; (Fig. 1)
a first light emitting portion (EA annotated below) in the first subpixel, the first light emitting portion containing a first part and a second part, wherein the first part (annotated below) of the first light emitting portion (EA annotated below) is closer to the folding axis (FX) than the second part (annotated below) of the first light emitting portion in a plan view of the display device; (Fig. 6) and
a second light emitting portion (annotated below) in the first subpixel; (Fig. 6)
and wherein the second light emitting portion (annotated below) does not surround any portion of a perimeter of the second part of the first light emitting portion(annotated below) in the plan view of the display device. (Fig. 6)
Choi does not disclose
wherein the second light emitting portion surrounds an entirety of a perimeter of the first part of the first light emitting portion in the plan view of the display device,
However, Baek discloses:
wherein the second light emitting portion (EA2) surrounds an entirety of a perimeter of the first part of the first light emitting portion (EA1) in the plan view of the display device, (Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Choi and Baek for the second light emitting portion surrounds an entirety of a perimeter of the first part of the first light emitting portion in the plan view of the display device in order to have “a high brightness in a structure in which a plurality of panels are connected.” (Baek, [0007])
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the second light emitting portion (annotated above) is between the first light emitting portion (annotated above) and the folding axis (FX). (Fig. 6)
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the first light emitting portion emits light of a first wavelength and the second light emitting portion emits light of a second wavelength that is different from the first wavelength. (“In addition, the plurality of emission areas EA may include a red emission area, a green emission area, and a blue emission area, but is not limited thereto.”)
Claim 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (KR 20210053582 A) in view of Baek et al. (US 20210074955 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Song (US 20210050388 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Choi in view of Baek disclose the display device of claim 1. Choi in view of Baek do not disclose wherein the first light emitting portion is in an opening of the first subpixel, and the second light emitting portion is outside of the opening of the first subpixel.
However, Song discloses:
wherein the first light emitting portion (TA1) is in an opening of the first subpixel (PXS_1), and the second light emitting portion (TA2) is outside of the opening of the first subpixel (PXS_1). (Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Choi, Baek, and Song for the first light emitting portion is in an opening of the first subpixel, and the second light emitting portion is outside of the opening of the first subpixel in order to have “the self-light-emitting display device has low power consumption, is thin and lightweight, and has high quality characteristics such as a wide viewing angle, high luminance and contrast, and a fast response speed.” (Song, [0005])
Regarding claim 8, Choi in view of Baek disclose the display device of claim 1. Choi in view of Baek do not disclose further comprising: a reverse spacer that surrounds a portion of a perimeter of the second light emitting portion.
However, Song discloses:
a reverse spacer (SPC) that surrounds a portion of a perimeter of the second light emitting portion (EMA2). (Fig. 9)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Choi, Baek and Song to have a reverse spacer that surrounds a portion of a perimeter of the second light emitting portion in order to “support the structure stacked thereon and may mitigate deformation of the display device caused by stress when the display device is pressed.” (Song, [0080])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 7, 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEY NICOLE BLACKWELL/
Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897