CTNF 18/231,804 CTNF 101684 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/09/2023 & 12/04/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 1-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 07-34-03 AIA The term “ below predetermined conductivity value ” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “ below predetermined conductivity value ” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The conductivity of the dielectric fluid below a predetermined conductivity value is not listed in the specification. The claim will be examined as any conductivity value reading on this . The claims depending from the above rejected claims are also rejected . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-3, and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (US6860349B2) in view of Abd Elhamid et al. (US20040110050A1) . Regarding claim 1 Ogawa teaches, An integrated cooling system ( shown in fig. 1, cooling system for a fuel cell powered vehicle ) for a fuel cell-powered vehicle comprising: a first coolant circuit ( shown in fig. 1, secondary circulation passage 14 secondary coolant ) to process a first coolant, the first coolant being an ethylene glycol mixture; a second coolant circuit ( shown in fig. 1, primary circulation passage 12 primary coolant ) to process a second coolant, a liquid-liquid heat exchanger ( shown in fig. 1, primary heat exchanger 15 column 5 line 19-23 states “ Further, a primary heat exchanger 15 is located to achieve heat exchange between the primary coolant flowing through the primary circulation passage 12 and the secondary coolant flowing through the secondary circulation passage 14 ” thus, the heat exchanger and circulation passages are operatively connected when the heat exchange is achieved between the primary coolant and secondary coolant between the passages ) operatively coupled to the first coolant circuit and the second coolant circuit; electrical circuitry ( column 1 line 44-49 states “ PEM type fuel cell is arranged to produce the most stable power output in a temperature circumference of, for example, about 75 to 85. degree. C., with a specific electric circuitry being configured to propel the electric vehicle motor through a power drive unit and a power output current control unit .”) to provide electrical power for the fuel cell-powered vehicle; and a proton exchange membrane (PEM) fuel cell ( shown in fig. 1, the fuel cell 1 column 1 line 40-49 states “ a PEM type fuel cell, the presence of a humid condition of the MEA allows hydrogen ion to pass through the proton exchange membrane to the cathode side to cause each unit cell to generate an electromotive force of about 1 V. Further, the PEM type fuel cell is arranged to produce the most stable power output in a temperature circumference of, for example, about 75 to 85.degree. C., with a specific electric circuitry being configured to propel the electric vehicle motor through a power drive unit and a power output current control unit. ”), wherein the first coolant circuit and the second coolant circuit are fluidly isolated ( column 13 line 23-27 states “ drive motor allows the primary and secondary circulation pumps to rotate at the same speed to cause the primary and secondary coolants to be circulated in the primary and secondary circulation passages, respectively. ” thus, the primary coolant and secondary coolant do not mix ) from each other, wherein the first coolant circuit includes a first fluid pump ( shown in fig. 1, a secondary circulation pump 13 ) to circulate the first coolant through the first coolant circuit, wherein the proton exchange membrane (PEM) fuel cell includes a second fluid pump ( shown in fig. 1, a primary circulation pump 11 ) to circulate the second coolant through the second coolant circuit, and wherein the first coolant circuit is without any three-way valves ( shown in fig. 1 ). Ogawa does not teach, the second coolant being a dielectric fluid having a conductivity below a predetermined conductivity value; Abd Elhamid teaches the second coolant being a dielectric fluid ( page 5 para. 0045 states “ the recirculation assembly 16 is represented as a loop to ensure adequate cooling of the fuel cell stack 1 during system operation. The assembly 16 is autonomous relative to the fuel side 11 and the oxygen side 13 such that the dielectric coolant (a vegetable oil-based dielectric fluid) in the assembly 16 does not mix with the fluid generated by the reaction between the hydrogen H.sub.2 and oxygen O.sub.2 within the reaction cell. The assembly 16 further includes a closed recirculation flow path with a pump 18 and a radiator 20 . ” The dielectric fluid is a working fluid between the reaction cells of the fuel cell and the radiator of the car) having a conductivity below a predetermined conductivity value ( see 112b above ); It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify second coolant design of Ogawa to utilize the dielectric coolant for fuel stack design of Abd Elhamid, the motivation the design of fuel cell stacks requires that coolant be substantially non-conducting (dielectric) ( summary of the invention ). Regarding claim 2 Ogawa teaches, wherein the second coolant circuit ( shown in fig. 1, primary circulation passage 12 column 5 line 37-46 “ The thermostat-controlled valve 17 is designed to open at the temperature of for example 85.degree. C. such that when the temperature of the primary coolant is at least below 75.degree. C., the thermostat-controlled valve 17 closes fluid communication between the primary circulation pump 11 and the primary heat exchanger 15 whereas when the temperature of the primary coolant exceeds 85.degree. C., the thermostat-controlled valve 17 establishes the above fluid communication. ” thus, the valve 17 does not operate as a three way valve because it blocks flow from the pump or allows it. ) is without any three-way valves. Regarding claim 3 Ogawa teaches, wherein the second coolant circuit ( shown in fig. 1, primary circulation passage 12 column 5 line 48-51 “ The primary circulation passage 12 is mainly constructed with a circulation flow passage in which the primary coolant is circulated through the primary circulation pump 11 , the coolant flow passage C12 of the fuel cell 1 and the primary heat exchanger 15 . A thermostat-controlled valve 17 is located between the primary heat exchanger 15 and the primary circulation pump 11 , and a first bypass flow passage 12A branched off from the thermostat-controlled valve 17 is connected in parallel to the primary heat exchanger 15 . ” thus this provides a bypass path to the input and output of the fuel cell 1 ) includes a bypass path at an output of the proton exchange membrane (PEM) fuel cell and an input of proton exchange membrane (PEM) fuel cell to selectively bypass the second coolant from flowing through the liquid- liquid heat exchanger ( shown in fig. 1, primary heat exchanger 15 ). Regarding claim 10 Ogawa teaches, A method comprising: providing a first coolant circuit ( shown in fig. 1, secondary circulation passage 14 ) to process a first coolant; providing a second coolant circuit ( shown in fig. 1, primary circulation passage 12 column 5 line 37-46 “ The thermostat-controlled valve 17 is designed to open at the temperature of for example 85.degree. C. such that when the temperature of the primary coolant is at least below 75.degree. C., the thermostat-controlled valve 17 closes fluid communication between the primary circulation pump 11 and the primary heat exchanger 15 whereas when the temperature of the primary coolant exceeds 85.degree. C., the thermostat-controlled valve 17 establishes the above fluid communication. ” thus, the valve 17 does not operate as a three way valve because it blocks flow from the pump or allows it. ) to process a second coolant, the second coolant circuit including proton exchange membrane (PEM) fuel cell ( shown in fig. 1, the fuel cell 1 ); and providing a liquid-liquid heat exchanger ( shown in fig. 1, primary heat exchanger 15 ) operatively coupled to the first coolant circuit and the second coolant circuit, wherein the first coolant circuit and the second coolant circuit are fluidly isolated ( column 13 line 23-27 states “ drive motor allows the primary and secondary circulation pumps to rotate at the same speed to cause the primary and secondary coolants to be circulated in the primary and secondary circulation passages, respectively. ” thus, the primary coolant and secondary coolant do not mix ) from each other, and wherein the first coolant circuit is without any three-way valves ( shown in fig. 1 ). Ogawa does not teach the second coolant being a dielectric fluid Abd Elhamid teaches the second coolant being a dielectric fluid (page 5 para. 0045 states “ the recirculation assembly 16 is represented as a loop to ensure adequate cooling of the fuel cell stack 1 during system operation. The assembly 16 is autonomous relative to the fuel side 11 and the oxygen side 13 such that the dielectric coolant (a vegetable oil-based dielectric fluid) in the assembly 16 does not mix with the fluid generated by the reaction between the hydrogen H.sub.2 and oxygen O.sub.2 within the reaction cell. The assembly 16 further includes a closed recirculation flow path with a pump 18 and a radiator 20 . ” The dielectric fluid is a working fluid between the reaction cells of the fuel cell and the radiator of the car) . It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify second coolant design of Ogawa to utilize the dielectric coolant for fuel stack design of Abd Elhamid, the motivation the design of fuel cell stacks requires that coolant be substantially non-conducting (dielectric) ( summary of the invention ). Regarding claim 11 Ogawa teaches, further comprising: passing the first coolant through the first coolant circuit ( shown in fig. 1, secondary circulation passage 14 ) without the first coolant going through the second coolant circuit ( shown in fig. 1, primary circulation passage 12 ); and passing the second coolant through the second coolant circuit without the second coolant going through the first coolant circuit, wherein said passing the first coolant includes passing the first coolant through the liquid-liquid heat exchanger ( shown in fig. 1, primary heat exchanger 15 ). Regarding claim 12 Ogawa teaches, wherein said passing the second coolant includes passing the second coolant through the liquid-liquid heat exchanger ( shown in fig. 1, primary heat exchanger 15 ). Regarding claim 13 Ogawa teaches, wherein said passing the second coolant includes selectively passing the second coolant through a bypass path ( column 5 line 48-51 “ In the primary circulation passage 12 , further, a second bypass flow passage 12B , which is branched off at a point between the primary circulation pump 11 and the fuel cell 1 , is connected in parallel to the first bypass flow passage 12A . ” thus this provides a bypass path at the input and output of the fuel cell 1 ) without the second coolant going through the liquid-liquid heat exchanger ( shown in fig. 1, primary heat exchanger 15 ) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4, 5, 6, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (US6860349B2) in view of Abd Elhamid et al. (US20040110050A1) in further view of Won et al. (US20220376277A1) . For claim 4, Ogawa in view of Abd Elhamid does not teach additional claim limitations of claim 4. Regarding claim 4 Won teaches, wherein the bypass path includes a valve ( page 4, para. 0045 states “ In this way, during a cold start, in which the supply of the first coolant flowing to the fuel cell stack 10 is interrupted (the second port 22 of the first valve 20 is blocked), the first coolant circulates (a temperature rising loop) via the heater 50 of the first connection line 130 ” The cold start uses the three way valve to pass the PEM at a cold temp to heat the fluid up before starting a drive ) to selectively pass the second coolant based on a temperature of the second coolant being below a predetermined temperature value. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second circuit valve design of Ogawa to utilize the bypass valve design of Won, the motivation to maintain the fuel cell stack temperature ( Description of related art para. 2 ). For claim 5, Ogawa in view of Abd Elhamid does not teach additional claim limitations of claim 5. Regarding claim 5 Won teaches, wherein a temperature of the second coolant downstream of an output of the liquid-liquid heat exchanger ( shown in fig. 1, heat exchanger 300 para. 0004 states “ The thermal management system is a kind of a cooling device that circulates an anti-freezing liquid that functions as coolant in a fuel cell stack and maintain the fuel cell stack at a proper temperature (for example, 60 to 70° C .)” thus, the coolant is circulating in in the prior arts fuel stack in the range of 60 to 70 degrees Celsius ) is from 60 degrees Celsius to 70 degrees Celsius, inclusive. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cooling system design of Ogawa to utilize the thermal management system design of Won, the motivation to maintain the fuel cell stack temperature ( Description of related art para. 2 ). For claim 6, Ogawa in view of Abd Elhamid does not teach additional claim limitations of claim 6. Regarding claim 6 Won teaches, wherein a temperature of the first coolant at input to the electrical circuitry ( page 1 para. 0006 states “ a second cooling line configured to circulate a second coolant that passes via the plurality of power electronic parts ” range. para. 0012 states “ The apparatus may include a heat exchanger disposed on the first cooling line and the second cooling line, and being configured to exchange heat between the first coolant and the second coolant. ” The temperature of the first circuit in the range 60 to 70 degrees Celsius is exchanged with a lower temperature coolant in the second circuit. Thus the prior arts second cooling line temperature can be assumed to be in the applications temperature range ) is from 50 degrees Celsius to 80 degrees Celsius, inclusive. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify cooling system design of Ogawa to utilize the thermal management system design of Won, the motivation to maintain the fuel cell stack temperature ( Description of related art para. 2 ). For claim 14, Ogawa in view of Abd Elhamid does not teach additional claim limitations of claim 14. Regarding claim 14 Ogawa teaches, further comprising: receiving one or more temperature feedback signals ( shown in fig. 3, information measured through the temperature measurer 312, para. 0064 states “ The controller 320 may set the RPM of the second pump 205 of a specific level or more to a maximum RPM because the performance of the second pump 205 is finite ” thus, the temperature measure 312 in the second coolant circuit can send a signal to the controller 320 that sets the rpm of the second pump 205 to its maximum rpm ) from respective one or more different portions of the first fluid circuit ( shown in fig. 1, the second cooling line 120 ); and controlling flow of the first coolant through the first coolant circuit responsive to said receiving one or more temperature feedback signals from the respective one or more different portions of the first fluid circuit. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify cooling system design of Ogawa to utilize the thermal management system design of Won, the motivation to maintain the fuel cell stack temperature ( Description of related art para. 2 ) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7, 8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (US6860349B2) in view of Abd Elhamid et al. (US20040110050A1) in further view of FARHAT et al. (US20240204219A1) . For claim 7, Ogawa in view of Abd Elhamid does not teach additional claim limitations of claim 7. Regarding claim 7 FARHAT teaches, further comprising control circuitry ( shown in fig. 2, controller 91 ) to receive temperature feedback signals ( para. 0009 states “ The controller is further programmed to, for each operating fuel cell of the plurality of fuel cells: control an associated heat exchanger bypass valve to selectively route at least a portion of coolant around an associated heat exchanger and control speed of an associated fan to maintain a target inlet temperature of an associated fuel cel and control speed of an associated pump in response to a difference between an inlet temperature and an outlet temperature of the associated fuel cell ” para. 0031 states “ The temperature sensor 46 may be located just upstream of the fuel-cell stack 20 to measure the temperature of the coolant at the inlet 50. The temperature sensor 48 may be located just downstream of the fuel cell 20 to measure temperature of the coolant at the outlet 52. ” thus, the vehicle controller receives signals from the temperature sensor in the inlet and outlet of the fuel cell within the first circuit ) from different portions of the first fluid circuit ( shown in fig. 2, the first circuit 32 ) to control speed of a radiator fan ( para. 0031 states “ The fan 40 may be a variable speed fan with the fan speed electronically controlled by a vehicle controller. ” thus, the speed of the fan is controlled based on the reading of the temperature sensor ) and to control speed of the first fluid pump ( para. 0031 states “ When the system is active, the pump 36 circulates coolant into an inlet 50 of the stack 20 ” thus, according to para. 009 the speed of the pump is controlled based on the reading of the temperature sensor ) responsive to the temperature feedback signals. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify cooling system design of Ogawa to utilize the vehicle controller design of FARHAT, the motivation to maintain the fuel cell stack temperature ( Abstract ). For claim 8, Ogawa in view of Abd Elhamid does not teach additional claim limitations of claim 8. Regarding claim 8 FARHAT teaches, wherein the control circuity ( shown in fig. 2, controller 91 ) is configured to increase the speed of the radiator fan ( para. 0031 states “ The fan 40 may be a variable speed fan with the fan speed electronically controlled by a vehicle controller. ” thus, the speed of the fan is controlled based on the reading of the temperature sensor ) to a maximum value responsive to any of the temperature feedback signals ( para. 0048 states “ One or more thresholds may be retrieved from memory accessible by controller 91 , including thresholds for fuel-cell stack inlet/outlet delta temperature, temperature threshold for maximum fan speed ” thus the maximum fan speed is responsive to the temperature threshold programed into the controller ) exceeding a predetermined temperature threshold. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify cooling system design of Ogawa to utilize the vehicle controller design of FARHAT, the motivation to maintain the fuel cell stack temperature ( Abstract ). For claim 15, Ogawa in view of Abd Elhamid does not teach additional claim limitations of claim 15. Regarding claim 15 FARHAT teaches, further comprising: receiving one or more temperature feedback signals ( para. 0009 states “ The controller is further programmed to, for each operating fuel cell of the plurality of fuel cells: control an associated heat exchanger bypass valve to selectively route at least a portion of coolant around an associated heat exchanger and control speed of an associated fan to maintain a target inlet temperature of an associated fuel cel and control speed of an associated pump in response to a difference between an inlet temperature and an outlet temperature of the associated fuel cell ” para. 0031 states “ The temperature sensor 46 may be located just upstream of the fuel-cell stack 20 to measure the temperature of the coolant at the inlet 50. The temperature sensor 48 may be located just downstream of the fuel cell 20 to measure temperature of the coolant at the outlet 52. ” thus, the vehicle controller receives signals from the temperature sensor in the inlet and outlet of the fuel cell within the first circuit ) from respective one or more portions of the first fluid circuit ( shown in fig. 2, the first circuit 32 ); and controlling a speed of a radiator fan motor ( para. 0031 states “ The fan 40 may be a variable speed fan with the fan speed electronically controlled by a vehicle controller. ” thus, the speed of the fan is controlled based on the reading of the temperature sensor ) responsive to said receiving one or more temperature feedback signals from the respective one or more different portions of the first fluid circuit. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify cooling system design of Ogawa to utilize the vehicle controller design of FARHAT, the motivation to maintain the fuel cell stack temperature ( Abstract ) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (US6860349B2) in view of Abd Elhamid et al. (US20040110050A1) and FARHAT et al. (US20240204219A1) in further view of Won et al. (US20220376277A1) . For claim 9, Ogawa in view of Abd Elhamid and FARHAT does not teach additional claim limitations of claim 9. Regarding claim 9 Won teaches, wherein the control circuity ( shown in fig. 3, controller 320 ) is configured to increase the speed of the first fluid pump ( Shown in fig. 1, the second pump 205 ) to a maximum value responsive to any of the temperature feedback signals ( shown in fig. 3, information measured through the temperature measurer 312, para. 0064 states “ The controller 320 may set the RPM of the second pump 205 of a specific level or more to a maximum RPM because the performance of the second pump 205 is finite ” thus, the temperature measure 312 in the second coolant circuit can send a signal to the controller 320 that sets the rpm of the second pump 205 to its maximum rpm ) exceeding a predetermined temperature threshold. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify cooling system design of Ogawa to utilize the thermal management system design of Won, the motivation to maintain the fuel cell stack temperature ( Description of related art para. 2 ) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (US6860349B2) in view of Kesani (US20210114503A1) in further view of Abd Elhamid et al. (US20040110050A1) . Regarding claim 16 Ogawa teaches, comprising: a first coolant circuit ( shown in fig. 1, secondary circulation passage 14 secondary coolant ) to process a first coolant; a second coolant circuit ( shown in fig. 1, primary circulation passage 12 primary coolant ) a liquid-liquid heat exchanger ( shown in fig. 1, primary heat exchanger 15 column 5 line 19-23 states “ Further, a primary heat exchanger 15 is located to achieve heat exchange between the primary coolant flowing through the primary circulation passage 12 and the secondary coolant flowing through the secondary circulation passage 14 ” thus, the heat exchanger and circulation passages are operatively connected when the heat exchange is achieved between the primary coolant and secondary coolant between the passages ) operatively coupled to the first coolant circuit and the second coolant circuit; and a proton exchange membrane (PEM) fuel cell ( shown in fig. 1, the fuel cell 1 column 1 line 40-49 states “ a PEM type fuel cell, the presence of a humid condition of the MEA allows hydrogen ion to pass through the proton exchange membrane to the cathode side to cause each unit cell to generate an electromotive force of about 1 V. Further, the PEM type fuel cell is arranged to produce the most stable power output in a temperature circumference of, for example, about 75 to 85.degree. C., with a specific electric circuitry being configured to propel the electric vehicle motor through a power drive unit and a power output current control unit. ” ), wherein the first coolant circuit and the second coolant circuit are fluidly separated ( column 13 line 23-27 states “ drive motor allows the primary and secondary circulation pumps to rotate at the same speed to cause the primary and secondary coolants to be circulated in the primary and secondary circulation passages, respectively. ” thus, the primary coolant and secondary coolant do not mix ) from each other. Ogawa does not teach An off-highway truck Ogawa does not teach to process a second coolant, the second coolant being a dielectric fluid; Kesani teaches, An off-highway truck ( shown in fig. 1, the machine 10 ). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify PEM cooling system design of Ogawa to utilize the machine design of Kesani, the motivation to power mining trucks using alternative fuels ( Summary ). Abd Elhamid teaches, to process a second coolant, the second coolant being a dielectric fluid; ( page 5 para. 0045 states “ the recirculation assembly 16 is represented as a loop to ensure adequate cooling of the fuel cell stack 1 during system operation. The assembly 16 is autonomous relative to the fuel side 11 and the oxygen side 13 such that the dielectric coolant (a vegetable oil-based dielectric fluid) in the assembly 16 does not mix with the fluid generated by the reaction between the hydrogen H.sub.2 and oxygen O.sub.2 within the reaction cell. The assembly 16 further includes a closed recirculation flow path with a pump 18 and a radiator 20 . ” The dielectric fluid is a working fluid between the reaction cells of the fuel cell and the radiator of the car ) It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify second coolant design of Ogawa to utilize the dielectric coolant for fuel stack design of Abd Elhamid, the motivation the design of fuel cell stacks requires that coolant be substantially non-conducting (dielectric) ( summary of the invention ). Regarding claim 17 Ogawa teaches, wherein the first coolant circuit ( shown in fig. 1, secondary circulation passage 14 ) and/or the second coolant circuit ( shown in fig. 1, primary circulation passage 12 column 5 line 37-46 “ The thermostat-controlled valve 17 is designed to open at the temperature of for example 85.degree. C. such that when the temperature of the primary coolant is at least below 75.degree. C., the thermostat-controlled valve 17 closes fluid communication between the primary circulation pump 11 and the primary heat exchanger 15 whereas when the temperature of the primary coolant exceeds 85.degree. C., the thermostat-controlled valve 17 establishes the above fluid communication. ” thus, the valve 17 does not operate as a three way valve because it blocks flow from the pump or allows it. ) are/is without any three-way valves. Regarding claim 18 Ogawa teaches, wherein the second coolant circuit ( shown in fig. 1, primary circulation passage 12 column 5 line 48-51 “ The primary circulation passage 12 is mainly constructed with a circulation flow passage in which the primary coolant is circulated through the primary circulation pump 11 , the coolant flow passage C12 of the fuel cell 1 and the primary heat exchanger 15 . A thermostat-controlled valve 17 is located between the primary heat exchanger 15 and the primary circulation pump 11 , and a first bypass flow passage 12A branched off from the thermostat-controlled valve 17 is connected in parallel to the primary heat exchanger 15 . ” thus this provides a bypass path at the input and output of the fuel cell 1 ) includes a bypass path at an output of the proton exchange membrane (PEM) fuel cell and an input of proton exchange membrane (PEM) fuel cell to selectively bypass the second coolant from flowing through the liquid- liquid heat exchanger ( shown in fig. 1, primary heat exchanger 15 ) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (US6860349B2) in view of Kesani (US20210114503A1) and Abd Elhamid et al. (US20040110050A1) in further view of FARHAT et al. (US20240204219A1) and Won et al. (US20220376277A1) For claim 19, Ogawa in view of Kesani and Abd Elhamid does not teach additional claim limitations of claim 19. Regarding claim 19 FARHAT teaches, further comprising control circuitry ( shown in fig. 2, controller 91 ) to receive temperature feedback signals from different portions of the first fluid circuit ( para. 0009 states “ The controller is further programmed to, for each operating fuel cell of the plurality of fuel cells: control an associated heat exchanger bypass valve to selectively route at least a portion of coolant around an associated heat exchanger and control speed of an associated fan to maintain a target inlet temperature of an associated fuel cel and control speed of an associated pump in response to a difference between an inlet temperature and an outlet temperature of the associated fuel cell ” para. 0031 states “ The temperature sensor 46 may be located just upstream of the fuel-cell stack 20 to measure the temperature of the coolant at the inlet 50. The temperature sensor 48 may be located just downstream of the fuel cell 20 to measure temperature of the coolant at the outlet 52. ” thus, the vehicle controller receives signals from the temperature sensor in the inlet and outlet of the fuel cell within the first circuit ) to control speed of a radiator fan ( shown in fig. 2, the first circuit 32 ) and to control speed of the first fluid pump ( para. 0031 states “ When the system is active, the pump 36 circulates coolant into an inlet 50 of the stack 20 ” thus, according to para. 009 the speed of the pump is controlled based on the reading of the temperature sensor ) responsive to the temperature feedback signals, wherein the control circuity is configured to increase the speed of the radiator fan ( para. 0031 states “ The fan 40 may be a variable speed fan with the fan speed electronically controlled by a vehicle controller. ” thus, the speed of the fan is controlled based on the reading of the temperature sensor ) to a maximum value responsive to any of the temperature feedback signals ( para. 0048 states “ One or more thresholds may be retrieved from memory accessible by controller 91 , including thresholds for fuel-cell stack inlet/outlet delta temperature, temperature threshold for maximum fan speed ” thus the maximum fan speed is responsive to the temperature threshold programed into the controller ) exceeding a predetermined temperature threshold, and. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify cooling system design of Ogawa to utilize the vehicle controller design of FARHAT, the motivation to maintain the fuel cell stack temperature ( Abstract ). Won teaches, wherein the control circuity ( shown in fig. 3, controller 320 ) is configured to increase the speed of the first fluid pump ( Shown in fig. 1, the second pump 205 ) to a maximum value responsive to any of the temperature feedback signals ( shown in fig. 3, information measured through the temperature measurer 312, para. 0064 states “ The controller 320 may set the RPM of the second pump 205 of a specific level or more to a maximum RPM because the performance of the second pump 205 is finite ” thus, the temperature measure 312 in the second coolant circuit can send a signal to the controller 320 that sets the rpm of the second pump 205 to its maximum rpm ) exceeding a predetermined temperature threshold. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify cooling system design of Ogawa to utilize the thermal management system design of Won, the motivation to maintain the fuel cell stack temperature ( Description of related art para. 2 ) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over et al. Ogawa et al. (US6860349B2) in view of Kesani (US20210114503A1) and Abd Elhamid et al. (US20040110050A1) in further view of Won et al. (US20220376277A1) . For claim 20, Ogawa in view of Kesani and Abd Elhamid does not teach additional claim limitations of claim 20. Regarding claim 20 Won teaches, wherein a first temperature of the second coolant downstream of an output of the liquid-liquid heat exchanger ( shown in fig. 1, heat exchanger 300 para. 0004 states “ The thermal management system is a kind of a cooling device that circulates an anti-freezing liquid that functions as coolant in a fuel cell stack and maintain the fuel cell stack at a proper temperature (for example, 60 to 70° C .)” thus, the coolant is circulating in in the prior arts fuel stack in the range of 60 to 70 degrees Celsius ) is from 60 degrees Celsius to 70 degrees Celsius, inclusive, and wherein a second temperature of the first coolant at input to electrical power circuitry ( page 1 para. 0006 states “ a second cooling line configured to circulate a second coolant that passes via the plurality of power electronic parts ” range. para. 0012 states “ The apparatus may include a heat exchanger disposed on the first cooling line and the second cooling line, and being configured to exchange heat between the first coolant and the second coolant. ” The temperature of the first circuit in the range 60 to 70 degrees Celsius is exchanged with a lower temperature coolant in the second circuit. Thus the prior arts second cooling line temperature can be assumed to be in the applications temperature range ) of the off-highway truck is from 50° Celsius to 80° Celsius, inclusive. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PEM cooling system design of Ogawa to utilize the thermal management system design of Won, the motivation to maintain the fuel cell stack temperature ( Description of related art para. 2 ). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HENRY FRANCIS CANOVA whose telephone number is (571)272-5795. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-5 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jianying Atkisson can be reached at 571-270-7740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HENRY FRANCIS CANOVA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 2 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 3 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 4 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 5 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 6 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 7 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 8 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 9 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 10 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 11 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 12 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 13 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 14 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 15 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 16 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 17 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 18 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 19 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 20 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 21 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 22 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 23 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 24 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/231,804 Page 25 Art Unit: 3763