DETAILED ACTION
This is the Office action based on the 18232123 application filed August 09, 2023, and in response to applicant’s argument/remark filed on February 3, 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of the invention of Group I, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on February 3, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 16-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “cutting off the RF power after the first is reached” appears to contain a typographical error. For the purpose of examining it will be assumed that this term is “cutting off the RF power after the first time is reached”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretations
Claim 1 recites:“A plasma control method comprising: (i) applying gas to a chamber, wherein a wafer has been loaded into the chamber; (ii) generating a plasma by applying both radio frequency (RF) power of a first voltage at a first frequency and a second voltage at a second frequency that is lower than the first frequency to the chamber until a first time is reached; (iii) cutting off the RF power after the first is reached; (iv) continuously applying the second voltage of the second frequency to the chamber until a second time is reached; (v) cutting off the second voltage after the second time is reached; (vi) maintaining an off state of the RF power and of the second voltage after the second time is reached; and (vii) commencing, when a third time is reached, an etching process on the wafer by using the plasma formed by the RF power and the second voltage, wherein the RF power is a sine wave, and the second voltage is a square wave of a periodic pulse form.” (step numbers added). Fig. 1 in the specification shows that a RF power source 100 is separate from a voltage source 400, that further discloses that “although it is illustrated that the RF power source 100 includes one source, i.e., the first source 110, the RF power source 100 may include two or more sources” ([0024]). Thus, for the purpose of examining, based on broadest reasonable interpretation:
--the limitation (ii) is interpreted as applying to the chamber (i) RF power of a first voltage at a first frequency and (ii) a second voltage at a second frequency that is lower than the first frequency during a period ending at the first time to generate a plasma.--the limitation (iii) is interpreted as cutting off the RF power at a certain time ta after the first time.--the limitation (iv) is interpreted as continuously applying the second voltage until a second time, wherein the second time may be less than, equal to, or greater than the first time or ta.--the limitation (v) is interpreted as cutting off second voltage at a certain time tb after the second time, wherein tb may be equal to or greater than ta.--the limitation (vi) is interpreted as maintaining an off state of the RF power and of the second voltage for an indefinite duration after the second time.--the limitation (vii) is interpreted as, start an etching process by using the plasma at time tc, wherein tc may be less than, equal to, or greater than the first time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 3 recites “9t)he plasma control method of claim 1, wherein the second frequency of the second voltage applied for the second time is different from the second frequency of the second voltage applied for the first time”. However, claim 1 recites “generating a plasma by applying both radio frequency (RF) power of a first voltage at a first frequency and a second voltage at a second frequency that is lower than the first frequency to the chamber until a first time is reached” and “continuously applying the second voltage of the second frequency to the chamber until a second time is reached” (emphases added). Thus while the first time and the second time refer to a point in time in claim 1, they refer to an event or a duration in claim 3. Therefore, it appears that the phrase “for the first time” and “for the second time” recited in claim 3 lack antecedent basis. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be clear how to apply the second voltage as recited in claim 3.
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 5 recites “(t)he plasma control method of claim 1, wherein the second frequency of the second voltage applied for the second time is the same as the second frequency of the second voltage applied for the first time” However, claim 1 recites “generating a plasma by applying both radio frequency (RF) power of a first voltage at a first frequency and a second voltage at a second frequency that is lower than the first frequency to the chamber until a first time is reached” and “continuously applying the second voltage of the second frequency to the chamber until a second time is reached” (emphases added). Thus while the first time and the second time refer to a point in time in claim 1, they refer to an event or a duration in claim 5. Therefore, it appears that the phrase “for the first time” and “for the second time” recited in claim 5 lack antecedent basis. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be clear how to apply the second voltage as recited in claim 5. It is noted that the phrases “for the first time” and “for the second time” in the second limitation “the second voltage is continuously supplied for the first time and the second time” appear to refer to a duration, and conflict with the first limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The term “the continuously maintaining the off state” lacks antecedent basis. While claim 1 recites “continuously applying the second voltage of the second frequency” it does not recited the continuously maintaining the off state.
Claim rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because it is dependent on claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yokoi et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20230035021), hereinafter “Yokoi”:--Claim 1, 8, 9, 10, 1213, 14, 15: Yokoi teaches a method of etching, comprising- loading a substrate W onto a support 14 in a process chamber 10 (Fig. 1, [0042-0046]), wherein a first power comprising RF power source 62 having a frequency 27-100 MHz, and a second power comprising a bias voltage 64 having a frequency 400 kHz-13.56 MHz are applied to the support 14 to generate a plasma ([0020, 0036, 0057-0058]), wherein the bias voltage may be pulsed ([0061]), wherein the first power pulse and second power pulse may or may not be synchronized ([0068-0069]); then applying both the first power and the second power to the support during a first period from t0-t1, reduce both the first power and the second power to a low state when a time t1 is reached, and continuously keep both the first power and the second power in the low state until a time t2 is reached, wherein the low state of each of the power may be greater or equal to zero (Fig. 2, [0062-0070]). It is noted that this reads on all limitations recited in claim 1 according to claim interpretation (see Claim Interpretations above). It is noted that the frequency ranges above overlapped the claimed frequency range in claim 1 and 8, and that the RF power is in a sine wave form, whereas Yokoi teaches that the pulse is in a square wave form ([0061]). Alternately, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use supply the power as described above according to the instructions by Yokoi above, in the absence of an unexpected result.
--Claim 2: Yokoi further teaches that the power supply are connected to the support via a match unit 66 and 68 ([0057-0059], Fig. 1).--Claim 6: Yokoi further teaches that the power supply 64 generates an electrical bias for attracting ions to the support ([0059]), wherein the chamber and the wafer are kept at ground (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, to use a bipolar voltage for the power supply 64.--Claim 11: Although Yokoi is silent about while the RF power and the second voltage are cut off, a plasma potential formed inside the chamber is higher at a lower part of the chamber than at a central part of the chamber, such effect would have been inherent since the operation taught by Yokoi is the same as Applicant’s
Conclusion
/THOMAS T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713