DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of invention I in the reply filed on 7/29/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 7-9, 28-29, and 31 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 14, 18, 21,and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 214147812 [Suzhou], the translation of which is attached and referenced herein, in view of US 2014/0299793 A1 [Deng].
Regarding Claim 1:
Suzhou teaches a UVC light projection unit for providing UVC illumination, said UVC light projection unit comprising:
a housing having a front and back, top and bottom and sides (Fig. 1 (1));
a plurality of light sources supported by said housing, said plurality of light sources comprising a first group of light sources comprising a plurality of UVC light emitting diodes (LED) (Fig. 2 (23)) configured to project UVC light and visible light forward;
a handle closer to the top of said housing than the bottom or sides, said handle for holding said housing such that said plurality of light sources project light in a forward direction (Fig. 1 (8)); and
a fan disposed to provide cooling for said plurality of light sources (Fig. 1 (4)).
However, Suzhou fails to teach a second group of light sources supported by said housing comprising a plurality of visible light emitting diodes configured to project visible light forward.
Deng teaches a UV light projection unit that includes a housing (Fig. 1 (2)), and
a plurality of light sources supported by said housing, said plurality of light sources comprising a first group of light sources comprising a plurality of UVC light emitting diodes (LED) and a second group of light sources comprising a plurality of visible light emitting diodes configured to project UVC light and visible light (Fig. 4, para 20) forward (paras 1, 5-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to modify Suzhou in light of the teachings of Deng such that the plurality of light sources included UVC LEDs and visible light LEDs. One would have been motivated to do so since this would allow one to selectively illuminate for inspection and disinfect a given target. Deng paras 5-6.
Regarding Claim 3:
The above modified invention teaches the UVC light projection unit of claim 1, wherein both said housing and said handle are elongated along a longitudinal direction. See Suzhou Fig. 1.
Regarding Claim 14:
The above modified invention teaches the UVC light projection unit of claim 1, wherein said housing has a shape of a contoured rectangular prism. Suzhou Fig. 1 (1) is described as a “rectangular box structure,” which is understood to be the same as a contoured rectangular prism.
Regarding Claim 18:
The above modified invention teaches the UVC light projection unit of claim 1, wherein said fan is in the back of said housing. Suzhou fan (4) is “arranged on one side of the metal radiator 3, which is far away from the ultraviolet light-emitting unit.”
Regarding Claim 21:
The above modified invention teaches the UVC light projection unit of claim 1, wherein said front and back have rectangular or square profiles. As shown in Suzhou Fig. 2, also note Suzhou Fig. 1 (1) is described as a “rectangular box structure.”
Regarding Claim 25:
The above modified invention teaches the UVC light projection unit of claim 1, wherein said sides have rectangular profiles. As shown in Suzhou Fig. 2, also note Suzhou Fig. 1 (1) is described as a “rectangular box structure.”
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 214147812 [Suzhou], the translation of which is attached and referenced herein, in view of US 2014/0299793 A1 [Deng] as applied above, and further in view of US 2014/0183377 A1 [Bettles].
Regarding Claim 17:
The above modified invention teaches the UVC light projection unit of claim 1, but fails to teach the unit further comprising bladed surfaces or fins on said housing.
Bettles teaches a UV light disinfection system (abstract) which adds fins to its housing to better extract heat from its UV LEDs and other electronic components. Para 34. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the fins of Bettles to the housing of Suzhou. One would have been motivated to do so since this would improve heat extraction from its UV LEDs and other electronic components.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 214147812 [Suzhou], the translation of which is attached and referenced herein, in view of US 2014/0299793 A1 [Deng] as applied above, and further in view of US 2012/0026725 A1[Johnson].
Regarding Claim 19:
The above modified invention teaches the UVC light projection unit of claim 1, but fails to teach that said handles comprise plastic.
Johnson teaches a handle for a light projection unit (Fig. 1 (16) comprising plastic and rubber. Para 64. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the plastic and rubber handle construction of Johnson in the handle of Suzhou. One would have been motivated to do so since this would provide a light weight and durable handle. Johnson Para 64.
Regarding Claim 20:
The above modified invention teaches the UVC light projection unit of claim 1, but fails to teach that handles includes rubber texturing that enhances grip.
Johnson teaches a handle for a light projection unit (Fig. 1 (16) comprising rubber. Para 64. It is noted that any handle made of rubber would have the texturing of rubber. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the rubber handle construction of Johnson in the handle of Suzhou. One would have been motivated to do so since this would provide a light weight and durable handle. Johnson Para 64.
Claims 22 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 214147812 [Suzhou], the translation of which is attached and referenced herein, in view of US 2014/0299793 A1 [Deng] as applied above, and further in view of US 2015/0328348 A1 [Colayco].
Regarding Claim 22 and 26:
The above modified invention teaches the UVC light projection unit of claim 1, but fails to teach said front and back have rounded or beveled corners, and said sides have rounded or beveled corners.
Colayco teaches a UV disinfection device (abstract) wherein all the corners are beveled (Fig. 1 (140), para 27. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the beveled corners of Colayco in the housing of Suzhou. One would have been motivated to do so since this would “enable simplified lifting and carrying of the device” and “provide less of a chance of bumping against traditional corners as in a traditional “cube” or “box” configuration.” Colayco para 27.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 10,166,309 B2 teaches the use of UV and visible light LEDs together.
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881