DETAILED ACTION
The amendment to the claims overcame the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112, made in the previous Office Action.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 – 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 5, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. “Electric Field Evaluation and Optimization of Shielding Electrodes for High Voltage Apparatus in ±1100 kV Indoor DC Yard” from “IEEE Transactions on Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Vol. 25, No. 1; February 2018” (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches: a method for designing and manufacturing high voltage electrodes, comprising:
- receiving electric specifications for the component to be manufactured (Page 322, left column - - “the design requirements of the indoor DC yards were described” ),
- receiving geometric boundaries for the high voltage electrode to be manufactured (Page 323-324, Fig. 9, Fig. 10 - - “For the preliminarily designed shielding electrodes, the shape, size and install location were modelled in detail.” The Page 328, left column - - “the sphere-like shielding electrode should provide enough interior space for the installation and heat dissipation of hardware fittings, and applicable gap factor for air clearance calculation”),
- producing an initial 3D design of the high voltage electrode to be manufactured (Page 323, Fig. 3-7 - - preliminary design),
- optimizing the initial 3D design in accordance with the electric specifications and the geometric boundaries (Page 327-328 - - optimization),
- providing a 3D geometry of the optimized 3D design representing the high voltage electrode to be manufactured (Page 327, right column - - “Therefore, Rbottom was finally set to 150 mm and the optimized design of the top shielding cover of DCF-C was proposed.”; Page 328, right column - - “the recommended value of the Rp was 600 mm for the shielding electrodes of ±1100 kV post insulators”), and
- manufacturing the high voltage electrode (Page 328, right column - - “Some electrodes based on the design proposed in this paper have been trial-manufactured”).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Wang further teaches: the initial design is based on traditional design of the high voltage electrode (Page 323, right column - - “The preliminary designs of the indoor shielding electrodes for the key ±1100 kV apparatus in the DC yard were proposed. Their models are partly shown in Figure 3-7 for example, compared with the typical design in the running ±800 kV outdoor DC yard.”).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Wang further teaches: the initial design is based on previously designed high voltage electrodes (Page 323, right column - - “The preliminary designs of the indoor shielding electrodes for the key ±1100 kV apparatus in the DC yard were proposed. Their models are partly shown in Figure 3-7 for example, compared with the typical design in the running ±800 kV outdoor DC yard.” “typical design” are previously designed high voltage electrodes).
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Wang further teaches: the geometric boundaries may comprise a 3D image of a room where the component is to be installed (Page 323-324, Fig. 9, Fig. 10 are 3D image of room).
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Wang further teaches: the electric specifications comprise thresholds for local field strength, and where optimizing of the initial 3D design comprises simulating local field strength over the surface of the 3D design and changing radii of the surface of the 3D design until the simulated local field strength is below the thresholds over the full surface of the 3D design (Page 328, right column - - “After optimization, the maximum E-field strength on the shielding electrode of ±1100 kV DC filter capacitor decreased from 1507 V/mm to 1335 V/mm, lower than the corresponding critical value for evaluation.” Page 328, left column - - “In the view of corona free design, the optimization was carried out by decreasing the fillet radius Rp of the side surface, where the Emax occurred. The whole electrode was scaled down at the same time.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Wang et al. “Electric Field Evaluation and Optimization of Shielding Electrodes for High Voltage Apparatus in ±1100 kV Indoor DC Yard” from “IEEE Transactions on Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Vol. 25, No. 1; February 2018” (hereinafter Wang) in view of Javora et al. EP 3671777 (hereinafter Javora).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Wang does not explicitly teach: manufacturing of the high voltage electrode is done by means of additive manufacturing.
However, Javora teaches manufacturing of the high voltage component is done by means of additive manufacturing ([0040] - - 3D printing of a part of a transformer [0002] - - the method is appliable to high voltage transformers).
Wang and Javora are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to design and manufacture a 3D model of a high voltage component.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Wang, and incorporating 3D printing, as taught by Javora.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve the production of parts in a substation, as suggested by Javora ([0002]-[0004]).
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Wang does not explicitly teach: the 3D geometry is partitioned into smaller segments and each segment is manufactured separately, and the component segments are assembled after manufacturing.
However, Javora teaches: a 3D geometry is partitioned into smaller segments and each segment is manufactured separately, and the component segments are assembled after manufacturing ([0022] - - parts are produced independently and then assembled together).
Wang and Javora are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to design and manufacture a 3D model of a component.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Wang, and incorporating partitioning a 3D geometry, as taught by Javora.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to improve the production of parts in a substation, as suggested by Javora ([0002]-[0004]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Wang et al. “Electric Field Evaluation and Optimization of Shielding Electrodes for High Voltage Apparatus in ±1100 kV Indoor DC Yard” from “IEEE Transactions on Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Vol. 25, No. 1; February 2018” (hereinafter Wang) in view of Cuttone et al. “Surface Treatment of HV Electrodes for Superconducting Cyclotron Beam Extraction” from “IEEE Transactions on Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation Vol. 4 No. 2, April 1997” (hereinafter Cuttone).
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Wang does not explicitly teach: performing a surface treatment of the surface of the high voltage electrode components after manufacturing.
However, Cuttone teaches: performing a surface treatment of the surface of the high voltage electrode components after manufacturing (Page 218, 1. INTRODUCTION - - surface treatment to remove all traces of debris, e.g. polishing by mechanical, chemical or electrochemical processes).
Wang and Cuttone are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to design and manufacture a 3D model of a high voltage component.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Wang, and incorporating surface treatment, as taught by Cuttone.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to avoid damage of the electrode surface, as suggested by Cuttone (Page 218, 1. INTRODUCTION).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YUHUI R PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116