DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-8 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species B drawn to a nonaqueous electrolytic solution, comprising an alkali metal salt, a nonaqueous solvent, a compound represented by General Formula (AA) and a compound represented by General Formula (aa), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/20/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A drawn to a nonaqueous electrolytic solution, comprising an alkali metal salt, a nonaqueous solvent, a compound represented by General Formula (A), and at least one selected from the group consisting of a compound represented by General Formula (α) and a compound represented by General Formula (B), claims 1-4 and 9 in the reply filed on 5/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (KR 2015024478 A. Machine Translation) in view of Jeon (KR 20080110404 A, Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Yoon discloses a nonaqueous electrolytic solution, comprising an alkali metal salt (lithium salt, see page 4, para. 5), a nonaqueous solvent (see pg. 4, para. 1-4), a compound represented by General Formula (A) (see depiction below wherein L=C1 group),
and at least one selected from the group consisting of a compound represented by a nitrogen containing group with a General Formula (α) wherein α is a dimethylacetamide or the ethylen acetamide (ethyl methyl acetamide).
However, Yoon does not disclose wherein the compound represented by General Formula (α) is at least one compound selected from the group consisting of compounds represented by formulas (α1) to (α15).
Yoon discloses that the nitrogen containing compound is used to improve stability at higher temperatures which improves battery life span (see pg. 4, Advantageous Effects section) and serves to suppress the hydrofluoric acid production (See pg. 6, second para.).
Jeon discloses that at high battery temperatures more HX (wherein X is halogen including fluorine) gases are generated and this results in deterioration of the battery (See pg. 1).
Jeon discloses a nitrogen containing urea compound can also suppress HX gases from being generated which improves stability at higher temperatures (see pg. 1) and it can be N,N'-Bis(trimethylsilyl)urea as shown below (α13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to replace the nitrogen additive of Yoon with the above compound of Jeon because Jeon discloses this additive serves to prevent the degradation of both electrodes by suppressing HF acid generation which results in shortening of the battery's lifespan, thereby improving the battery's lifespan performance and high-temperature performance.
In addition, Yoon discloses a positive electrode and a negative electrode which are capable of absorbing and releasing metal ions (See pg. 7 para. 5-10).
Regarding claims 2-4, modified Yoon discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
wherein a content of the compound represented by General Formula (A) is 1.0 x 10⁻³ % by mass or more and 10% by mass or less relative to a total amount of the nonaqueous electrolytic solution (claim 2)
wherein a content of the compound represented by General Formula (a) is 0.01 mass ppm or more and 0.5% by mass or less relative to a total amount of the nonaqueous electrolytic solution (claim 3)
wherein a mass ratio of a content of the compound represented by General Formula (A) to a content of the compound represented by General Formula (a) in the
nonaqueous electrolytic solution is 1.0 or more and 1.0 x 10⁴ or less (claim 4)
Yoon discloses the sulfonate compound additive is included to about the electrolyte total weight to 0.1 through 10 weight% and the nitrogen additive is included to about the electrolyte total weight to 0.1 through 10 weight% and that the amount of both additives should be added should be optimize battery performance (see pg. 6 para. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the amounts of both additives in the electrolyte of Yoon to achieve the claimed amounts because Yoon discloses doings so will result in optimization of battery performance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726