DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 -2 and 4-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (US 2016/0197313 ) . Regarding independent claim 1 , Park teaches a display device comprising a substrate (Fig. 1 , E lement 100; ¶ [ 0036]) ; a pixel circuit driving portion (Fig. 1, Element TFT; ¶ [0038]) on the substrate; an organic layer (Fig. 1, Element 170; ¶ [0051]) that covers the pixel circuit driving portion; a light emitting element (Fig. 1, Element 250 RGB ; ¶ [0052]) on the organic layer and including an anode (Fig. 1, Element 210RGB; ¶ [0036]) ; and a separator (Fig. 1, Element 180; ¶ [0054]) including a reverse tapered side on the organic layer, wherein a width of a bottom surface of the separator is equal to a distance between adjacent anodes (Fig. 1) . Regarding claim 2 , Park teaches the organic layer compris ing a contact hole connecting the pixel circuit driving portion and the anode ( ¶ [0053]) , and the light emitting element overlaps the contact hole in a plan view (Fig. 1) . Regarding claim 4 , Park teaches the anode having a step at a periphery of the contact hole (Fig. 1). Regarding claim 5 , Park teaches an anode connection line that is covered by the organic layer, and connects the anode and the pixel circuit driving portion (Fig. 1) . Regarding claim 6 , Park teaches an inorganic insulation layer ( ¶ [0051]; insulator 170 may include a stack of an inorganic and organic insulating layers ) that is only on the reverse tapered side of the separator . Regarding claim 7 , Park teaches the light emitting element compris ing a middle layer (Fig. 1, Element 220RGB; ¶ [0052]) on the anode and includes an emission layer ( ¶ [0055]) , and a cathode (Fig. 1, Element 230; ¶ [0052]) , wherein the middle layer is not on the reverse tapered side of the separator and is separated based on the separator, and the cathode is also on the reverse tapered side of the separator and is connected to each other on both sides of the separator (Fig. 1). Regarding claim 8 , Park teaches a portion of the middle layer is on an upper surface of the separator (Fig. 1) . Regarding claim 9 , Park teaches a capping layer (Fig. 1, Element 300; ¶ [0077]) on the cathode, wherein the capping layer is not on the reverse tapered side of the separator and is separated based on the separator (Fig. 1) . Regarding claim 10 , Park teaches the anode between the reverse tapered side of the separator and the inorganic insulation layer (Fig. 1). Regarding claim 11 , Park teaches the light emitting element compris ing a middle layer (Fig. 1, Element 220RGB; ¶ [0052]) on the anode and includes an emission layer ( ¶ [0055]) , and a cathode (Fig. 1, Element 230; ¶ [0052]) , wherein the middle layer is not on the reverse tapered side of the separator and is separated based on the separator, and the cathode is also on the reverse tapered side of the separator and is connected to each other on both sides of the separator (Fig. 1). Regarding claim 12 , Park teaches a portion of the middle layer is on an upper surface of the separator (Fig. 1) . Regarding claim 13 , Park teaches a top protective layer that is between the anode on the reverse tapered side of the separator and the inorganic insulation layer ( ¶ [0053]; anode may be multi-layered ) . Regarding claim 14 , Park teaches an upper protective layer (Fig. 1, Element 150; ¶ [0047]) having a lower height than the anode and the inorganic insulation layer on the reverse tapered side of the separator . Claims 15- 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kang (US 2024/0298499) . The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. Regarding independent claim 15 , Kang teaches a display device comprising a substrate (Fig. 4, Element 110; ¶ [0078]) ; a pixel circuit driving portion (Fig. 4, Element T1-3; ¶ [0080]) on the substrate; an organic layer (Fig. 4, Element 130; ¶ [0083]) covering the pixel circuit driving portion; an anode (Fig. 4, Element AE1-3; ¶ [0084]) on the organic layer; a pixel definition layer (Fig. 4, Element 150; ¶ [0087]) on the organic layer and covering a part of the anode; and a separator (Fig. 4, Element 310; ¶ [0090]) on the pixel definition layer, and including a reverse tapered side (Fig. 4) , wherein the organic layer comprises a contact hole connecting the pixel circuit driving portion and the anode (Fig. 4; ¶ [0085]) , and the pixel definition layer and the separator do not overlap the contact hole in a plan view (Fig. 4). Regarding claim 16 , Kang teaches a middle layer (Fig. 4, Element OL; ¶ [0091]) on the anode and including an emission layer, and a cathode (Fig. 4, Element CE; ¶ [0093]) , wherein the middle layer is on the pixel definition layer, but is not on the reverse tapered side of the separator and thus is separated based on the separator, and the cathode is above the pixel definition layer and also on the reverse tapered side of the separator, and thus connected to each other on both sides of the separator (Fig. 4) . Regarding claim 17 , Kang teaches a portion of the middle layer on an upper surface of the separator (Fig. 4). Regarding independent claim 18 , Kang teaches a display device comprising a substrate (Fig. 4, Element 110; ¶ [0078]) ; a first pixel circuit driving portion (Fig. 4, Element T1-3; ¶ [0080]) on the substrate; an organic layer (Fig. 4, Element AE1-3; ¶ [0084]) covering the first pixel circuit driving portion; and a first anode and a second anode (Fig. 4, Element AE1-3; ¶ [0086]; anode has two-layer stacked structure ) on the organic layer, the first anode (lower layer) connected with the first pixel circuit driving portion and the second anode (upper layer) adjacent to the first anode, wherein the organic layer comprises a contact hole connecting the first pixel circuit driving portion and the first anode (Fig. 4; ¶ [0085]) , and the first anode and the second anode overlap each other on the contact hole in a plan view (Fig. 4; anode stacked structure ). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2016/0197313) in view of Lee (US 2022/0208904) . Regarding claim 3 , Park teaches the limitations of claim 2 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify the separator and the contact hole not overlap ping in the plan view. Lee teaches a display device comprising a separator (Fig. 3, Element 140; ¶ [0036]) and a contact hole (Fig. 3; ¶ [0048]) not overlap ping in the plan view , the separator being provided for improving impact resistance ( ¶ [0010]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display device of Park with the structure taught by Lee for improving impact resistance. Allowable Subject Matter Claims 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim , but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 19 , the prior art of record neither shows or suggests a display device comprising, in addition to other limitations of the claim, a first passivation layer and a second passivation layer respectively between the organic layer and the first anode and between the organic layer and the second anode, wherein a tip is formed at an end of the second passivation layer, and the end of the second passivation layer overlaps the contact hole in the plan view. Due to its dependency upon claim 19, claim 20 is also allowable. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang (US 2024/0180017) teaches a display device with protrusion including reverse-tapered surface. Hou (US 2021/0359042) teaches a display panel with a bank including a notch. Xie (US 2021/0343981) teaches a display substrate with an encapsulation layer including a first portion forming an obtuse angle with a second portion. Wang (US 2021/0225984) teaches a stretchable display apparatus with a plurality of encapsulation islands. Choi (US 2015/0340414) teaches an organic light-emitting display apparatus with decreased damages when forming an emission layer . Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Kevin Quarterman whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-2461 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday, 10am-6pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT James Greece can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-3711 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Kevin Quarterman/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 27 March 2026