DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment and remarks received on 01 July 2026 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (US 2016/0197313).
Regarding independent claim 1, Park teaches a display device comprising a substrate (Fig. 1, Element 100; ¶ [0036]); a pixel circuit driving portion (Fig. 1, Element TFT; ¶ [0038]) on the substrate; an organic layer (Fig. 1, Element 170; ¶ [0051]) that covers the pixel circuit driving portion; a light emitting element (Fig. 1, Element 250RGB; ¶ [0052]) on the organic layer and including an anode (Fig. 1, Element 210RGB; ¶ [0036]); and a separator (Fig. 1, Element 180; ¶ [0054]) including a reverse tapered side on the organic layer, wherein a width of a bottom surface of the separator is equal to a distance between adjacent anodes (Fig. 1), and upper surfaces of the adjacent anodes are not covered by the separator (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches the organic layer comprising a contact hole connecting the pixel circuit driving portion and the anode (¶ [0053]), and the light emitting element overlaps the contact hole in a plan view (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Park teaches the anode having a step at a periphery of the contact hole (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches an anode connection line that is covered by the organic layer, and connects the anode and the pixel circuit driving portion (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches an inorganic insulation layer (¶ [0051]; insulator 170 may include a stack of an inorganic and organic insulating layers) that is only on the reverse tapered side of the separator.
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches the light emitting element comprising a middle layer (Fig. 1, Element 220RGB; ¶ [0052]) on the anode and includes an emission layer (¶ [0055]), and a cathode (Fig. 1, Element 230; ¶ [0052]), wherein the middle layer is not on the reverse tapered side of the separator and is separated based on the separator, and the cathode is also on the reverse tapered side of the separator and is connected to each other on both sides of the separator (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches a portion of the middle layer is on an upper surface of the separator (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches a capping layer (Fig. 1, Element 300; ¶ [0077]) on the cathode, wherein the capping layer is not on the reverse tapered side of the separator and is separated based on the separator (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Park teaches the anode between the reverse tapered side of the separator and the inorganic insulation layer (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Park teaches the light emitting element comprising a middle layer (Fig. 1, Element 220RGB; ¶ [0052]) on the anode and includes an emission layer (¶ [0055]), and a cathode (Fig. 1, Element 230; ¶ [0052]), wherein the middle layer is not on the reverse tapered side of the separator and is separated based on the separator, and the cathode is also on the reverse tapered side of the separator and is connected to each other on both sides of the separator (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Park teaches a portion of the middle layer is on an upper surface of the separator (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Park teaches a top protective layer that is between the anode on the reverse tapered side of the separator and the inorganic insulation layer (¶ [0053]; anode may be multi-layered).
Regarding claim 14, Park teaches an upper protective layer (Fig. 1, Element 150; ¶ [0047]) having a lower height than the anode and the inorganic insulation layer on the reverse tapered side of the separator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2016/0197313) in view of Lee (US 2022/0208904).
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches the limitations of claim 2 discussed earlier but fails to exemplify the separator and the contact hole not overlapping in the plan view.
Lee teaches a display device comprising a separator (Fig. 3, Element 140; ¶ [0036]) and a contact hole (Fig. 3; ¶ [0048]) not overlapping in the plan view, the separator being provided for improving impact resistance (¶ [0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display device of Park with the structure taught by Lee for improving impact resistance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-18 are allowed.
Claims 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding independent claim 15, applicant has perfected the claim for foreign priority and presented a statement of common ownership, thereby eliminating Kang (US 2024/0298499) as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2). Thus, the prior art of record neither shows or suggests a display device comprising, in addition to other limitations of the claim, a pixel definition layer covering a part of an anode; and a separator on the pixel definition layer, and including a reverse tapered side, wherein an organic layer comprises a contact hole connecting a pixel circuit driving portion and the anode, and the pixel definition layer and the separator do not overlap the contact hole in a plan view.
Due to their dependencies upon independent claim 15, claims 16-18 are also allowed.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art of record neither shows or suggests a display device comprising, in addition to other limitations of the claim, a first passivation layer and a second passivation layer respectively between the organic layer and the first anode and between the organic layer and the second anode, wherein a tip is formed at an end of the second passivation layer, and the end of the second passivation layer overlaps the contact hole in the plan view.
Due to its dependency upon claim 19, claim 20 is also allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Park does not teach upper surfaces of adjacent anodes not covered by the separator, the Examiner notes that Fig. 1 of Park appears to show the separator (180) covering edge portions of adjacent anodes (e.g., 210G and 210B). However, the central portions of the adjacent anodes are not covered by the separator. Thus, Park teaches upper surfaces of the adjacent anodes not covered by the separator, as discussed earlier in this Office Action. The Examiner also notes that applicant’s Fig. 5 shows upper portions of the separator covering part of the upper surface of the anodes.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Kevin Quarterman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 5 September 2026