DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an
application filed in Japan on 03/09/2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the PCT/JP2021/009097 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A with claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 11/07/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the record does not support the assertions, as set forth in the Office Action, that examination of additional "species" would involve a serious search and/or examination burden and/or different fields of search and that each of the alleged specifies is associated with mutually exclusive features that are patentably distinct. This is not found persuasive because examination of Species A required a search in CPC H10W 44/20 along with a unique text search. Species B would require a search in CPC H01P 5/107 along with a unique text search. Species C would require a search in CPC H01P 3/12 along with a unique text search. Species D would require a search in CPC H01P 3/123 along with a unique text search. Species E would require a search in CPC H10W 44/216 along with a unique text search. Species F would require a search in CPC H01P 5/12 along with a unique text search. The Species B, C, D, E, and F would require separate searches in additional CPC classes and subclasses along with unique text searches and would cause a serious search and examination burden. Hence, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and newly added claim 27 have been fully considered. Based on the cited prior arts Tarui, Shen, Dohata, Walsh, Degrenne, Ito, and Okabe and new grounds of rejection from Saito (WO2020054001A1) the claims 1 – 8 and 27 are rejected.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 4 – 6 has been fully considered and resolve the indefiniteness. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections to claims 1 - 8 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s newly added claim 27 have been considered and examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarui et al. (US20180351595A1; hereinafter Tarui) in view of Shen (US20170287872A1; hereinafter Shen), further in view of Saito et al. (WO2020054001A1; hereinafter Saito).
Regarding Claim 1 (Currently Amended), Tarui discloses a semiconductor module comprising:
a semiconductor element (RF device 122) having, on a front face thereof (fourth end face 202), a signal terminal (122a) and a ground terminal (210), FIG. 4, [0036], [0075], [0076];
a transmission line body (distribution circuit board 50) having a signal transmission portion (51C-1) and a first ground portion (51C-2), FIGS. 9, 17 reproduced below, [0169];
a signal connection terminal (spring contact terminal 55 contacting RF signal pads 51A-1 and 51C-1) having a movable portion at a first end (portion of 55 contacting 51A-1 at face 102) thereof and a fixed portion located at a second end (portion of 55 contacting 51C-1 on the board 50) thereof and electrically connected to the signal transmission portion (51C-1) of the transmission line body (50), FIG. 17, [0169], [0172], [0173].
a plurality of ground connection terminals (plurality of spring contact terminal 55 contacting the ground pads 51A-2 and 51C-2) arranged to surround the signal connection terminal (spring contact terminal 55 contacting RF signal pads 51A-1 and 51C-1), each of the ground connection terminals (spring contact terminal 55 contacting the ground pads 51A-2 and 51C-2) having a movable portion at a first end (portion of 55 contacting 51A-2 at 102) thereof, and a fixed portion located at a second end thereof (portion of 55 contacting 51C-2 on the board 50) and electrically connected to the first ground portion (51C-2) of the transmission line body (50), the plurality of ground connection terminals (plurality of spring contact terminal 55 contacting the ground pads 51A-2 and 51C-2) and the signal connection terminal (spring contact terminal 55 contacting RF signal pads 51A-1 and 51C-1) constituting a pseudo coaxial line, FIG. 17, [0165], [0169];
a heat dissipation plate having a front face (front face of cooling plate 300 with heat dissipation member 175) in close contact with a back face of the semiconductor element (inactive side of 122), FIG. 15, [0189];
a transmission-line-body signal pad (51A-1) in contact with the movable portion of the signal connection terminal (portion of 55 contacting 51A-1 at face 102) and electrically connected to the signal connection terminal (spring contact terminal 55 contacting RF signal pads 51A-1 and 51C-1), and a second ground portion (51A-2) in contact with the movable portions of the plurality of ground connection terminals (portion of 55 contacting 51A-2 at 102) and electrically connected to the plurality of ground connection terminals (plurality of spring contact terminal 55 contacting the ground pads 51A-2 and 51C-2), FIG. 17, [0169], [0173].
Tarui: FIG. 9
Tarui: FIG. 17
Tarui discloses semiconductor element 122 mounted on the multilayer substrate 100 and a cooling plate 300 arranged on a side of the second end face 102 of the multilayer resin substrate 100, but does not disclose “an interposer substrate having a front face disposed to face the front face of the heat dissipation plate, the interposer substrate having, on the front face, a semiconductor-element signal pad electrically connected to the signal terminal of the semiconductor element by a conductive adhesive; the semiconductor element being between the second ground portion and the heat dissipation plate.”
In a similar art, Shen discloses an integrated circuit package 100, FIG. 1, [0018].
Shen discloses: a heat dissipation plate (heat spreader 124) having a front face (surface facing the IC dies 102, 104) in close contact with a back face (inactive side) of the semiconductor element (102, 104), FIG. 1, [0022]; and
an interposer substrate (108) having a front face (facing the IC dies 102, 104) disposed to face the front face of the heat dissipation plate (124), the interposer substrate (108) having, on the front face (facing the IC dies 102, 104), a semiconductor-element signal pad (106) electrically connected to the signal terminal (105) of the semiconductor element (102, 104) by a conductive adhesive (bumpless attachment), FIG. 1, [0019], [0020]. Shen [0020] discloses a bumpless electrical connection by direct coupling of conductive pads 105 and 106 through a direct cold welding process or a covalence bond assist diffusion bonding process, but is not limited thereto, which indicates the electrical connection between conductive pads 105 and 106 can be formed using conductive adhesives.
Shen discloses that a package as taught improves heat dissipation and protects the semiconductor dies from external contaminants [0044]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tarui’s semiconductor module in order improve heat dissipation and protect the semiconductor dies as disclosed by Shen [0044].
In a similar art, Saito discloses a microwave device 100 comprises a multilayer resin substrate 1, which is a multilayer resin substrate for the device; an integrated circuit (IC) 4, which is a high-heat generating RF (Radio Frequency) device; and a conductive heat spreader 5 that is thermally connected to the IC 4, FIG. 1, [0012].
Saito discloses: the semiconductor element (IC 4) being between the second ground portion (ground pattern 19, [0017]) and the heat dissipation plate (heat spreader 5), FIG. 1, [0020].
Saito discloses that a device as taught facilitates dissipation of the heat generated by the IC [0020]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tarui and Shen’s semiconductor module in order to facilitate heat dissipation as disclosed by Saito [0020].
Regarding Claim 2, The combination of Tarui, Shen, and Saito discloses the semiconductor module according to claim 1.
Tarui discloses: wherein the semiconductor element (122) is a power amplifier (High Power Amplifier) mounted with a plurality of active elements (RF device 121 is a driver amplifier, the RF device 122 is an HPA, and the RF device 124 is a low noise amplifier) such as a high-frequency amplifier (122) and a transistor (a transistor chip 5), [0036], [0053], or a semiconductor integrated circuit device mounted with a plurality of passive components.
Regarding Claim 27, (New) The combination of Tarui, Shen, and Saito discloses the semiconductor module according to claim 1.
The combination of Tarui and Shen does not disclose “wherein the transmission line body is disposed on and extends along the front face of the heat dissipation plate, with the first ground portion in direct contact with the heat dissipation plate.”
Saito discloses: wherein the transmission line body (coaxial signal terminals 115 and 121, an inner layer signal line RF transmission line 116, and an inner layer signal line RF transmission line 117) is disposed on and extends along the front face of the heat dissipation plate (heat dissipation structure including sheet 150 and heat sink 140, [0046]), with the first ground portion (conductive film 2 is electrically connected to the ground pattern 14, [0027]) in direct contact with the heat dissipation plate (heat dissipation structure including sheet 150 and heat sink 140), FIG. 2, [0046], [0047].
Saito discloses that a device as taught facilities heat dissipation of the transmission line body [0046]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tarui and Shen’s semiconductor module in order to facilitate heat dissipation as disclosed by Saito [0046].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarui in view of Shen, further in view of Saito, still further in view of Ito et al. (JP6274358B1; hereinafter Ito).
Regarding Claim 3, The combination of Tarui, Shen, and Saito discloses the semiconductor module according to claim 1.
The combination of Tarui, Shen, and Saito does not disclose “wherein the heat dissipation plate has a protrusion that is a portion where the back face of the semiconductor element is in close contact.”
In a similar art, Ito discloses a semiconductor device constituting a package functioning as a power amplifier [0006].
Ito discloses: wherein the heat dissipation plate (10) has a protrusion (10a) that is a portion where the back face (inactive face) of the semiconductor element (7) is in close contact, FIGS. 3, 4, [0031].
Ito discloses that a semiconductor device as taught is capable of reducing cost and enhancing performance [0007]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in order to reduce cost and enhance performance as disclosed by Ito [0007].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarui in view of Shen, further in view of Saito, still further in view of Okabe et al. (JPH10125830A; hereinafter Okabe).
Regarding Claim 4 (Currently Amended), The combination of Tarui, Shen, and Saito discloses the semiconductor module according to claim 1.
The combination of Tarui, Shen, and Saito does not disclose “the transmission line body is a microstrip line having a dielectric substrate, the signal transmission portion of the transmission line body is a signal pad formed on a front face of the dielectric substrate and connected to a signal transmission line formed on the front face of the dielectric substrate, and the first ground portion of the transmission line body is a ground conductor formed on the front face of the dielectric substrate and electrically separated from the signal transmission line and the signal pad.”
In a similar art, Okabe discloses a high frequency module with a microstrip [0003].
Okabe discloses: wherein the transmission line body is a microstrip line having a dielectric substrate (wiring 202 having a micro strip line on a dielectric substrate 101), FIG. 3, [0003].
the signal transmission portion of the transmission line body is a signal pad (input and output terminal portion 203) formed on a front face of the dielectric substrate (main surface of 101) and connected to a signal transmission line (202) formed on the front face of the dielectric substrate (main surface of 101), FIG. 3, [0003], and
the first ground portion of the transmission line body (ground portion 204) is a ground conductor (gold-plated ground conductor 204) formed on the front face of the dielectric substrate (main surface of 101) and electrically separated from the signal transmission line and the signal pad (ground 204 is electrically separated from the wiring 202 and the terminal portion 203 by the insulating region between them), FIG. 3, [0003].
Okabe discloses that a package as taught improves heat dissipation and electromagnetic shielding [0003]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor module in order to improve heat dissipation and electromagnetic shielding as disclosed by Okabe [0003].
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarui in view of Shen, further in view of Saito, still further in view of Dohata (US20050206467A1; hereinafter Dohata).
Regarding Claim 5 (Currently Amended), The combination of Tarui, Shen, and Saito discloses the semiconductor module according to claim 1.
Tarui discloses a distribution circuit board 50 (transmission line body) with RF signal pads 51C-1 and ground pads 51C-2, FIG. 17, [0169]. The combination of Tarui Shen, and Saito does not disclose “wherein the transmission line body is a microstrip line having a dielectric substrate, the signal transmission portion of the transmission line body is a signal pad formed on a back face of the dielectric substrate and connected to a signal transmission line formed on the back face of the dielectric substrate, and the first ground portion of the transmission line body is a ground conductor formed on the front face of the dielectric substrate.”
In a similar art, Dohata discloses a microstrip line, FIG. 1, [0034].
Dohata discloses a microstrip line with a dielectric substrate 1, where a signal line 2c is on the other main surface of the dielectric substrate and ground patterns 3a, 3b, and 3c on the main surface of the dielectric substrate, FIG.1, [0034], [0035].
The combination of Tarui, Shen, Saito, and Dohata disclose: wherein the transmission line body is a microstrip line having a dielectric substrate (Dohata: microstrip line including a dielectric substrate 1), the signal transmission portion of the transmission line body is a signal pad (Tarui: RF signal pads 51C-1) formed on a back face of the dielectric substrate (Dohata: dielectric substrate 1) and connected to a signal transmission line formed on the back face of the dielectric substrate (Dohata: signal line 2c provided on the back face of 1), and the first ground portion of the transmission line body is a ground conductor formed on the front face of the dielectric substrate (Dohata: ground patterns 3a, 3b, 3c on the front face of 1), FIG. 1, [0034], [0035].
Dohata discloses that a module as taught suppresses electro-magnetic interference without increasing the dielectric substrate area [0010]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor module in order to suppress electro-magnetic interference without increasing the dielectric substrate area as disclosed by Dohata [0010].
Regarding Claim 6 (Currently Amended), The combination of Tarui, Shen, and Saito discloses the semiconductor module according to claim 1.
Tarui discloses a distribution circuit board 50 (transmission line body) with RF signal pads 51C-1 and ground pads 51C-2, FIG. 17, [0169]. The combination of Tarui, Shen, and Saito does not disclose “wherein the transmission line body is a microstrip line having a dielectric substrate, the signal transmission portion of the transmission line body is a signal pad formed on the back face of the dielectric substrate and connected to a signal transmission line formed on the back face of the dielectric substrate, and the first ground portion of the transmission line body is a ground conductor formed on the back face of the dielectric substrate.”
Dohata discloses a microstrip line with a dielectric substrate 1, where a signal line 2c and ground patterns 3d, 3e are on the other main surface of the dielectric substrate 1, FIG.1, [0035].
The combination of Tarui, Shen, Saito, and Dohata disclose: wherein the transmission line body is a microstrip line having a dielectric substrate (Dohata: microstrip line including a dielectric substrate 1), the signal transmission portion of the transmission line body is a signal pad (Tarui: RF signal pads 51C-1) formed on a back face of the dielectric substrate (Dohata: dielectric substrate 1) and connected to a signal transmission line formed on the back face of the dielectric substrate (Dohata: signal line 2c provided on the back face of 1), and the first ground portion of the transmission line body is a ground conductor formed on the back face of the dielectric substrate (Dohata: ground patterns 3d, 3e on the back face of 1), FIG. 1, [0035].
Dohata discloses that a module as taught suppresses electro-magnetic interference [0010]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor module in order to suppress electro-magnetic interference as disclosed by Dohata [0010].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarui in view of Shen, further in view of Saito, still further in view of Dohata, yet still further in view of Walsh et al. (US20090085808A1; hereinafter Walsh).
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Tarui, Shen, Saito, and Dohata disclose the semiconductor module according to claim 5.
The combination of Tarui, Shen, Saito, and Dohata does not disclose “wherein the heat dissipation plate includes a recessed portion physically separated from the signal transmission portion and the signal transmission line of the transmission line body on the front face to which the signal transmission portion and the signal transmission line of the transmission line body face.”
In a similar art, Walsh discloses a microstrip line 54, FIG. 1, [0013].
Walsh discloses: wherein the heat dissipation plate (baseplate 12 for heat removal, [0004]) includes a recessed portion (cavity 16) physically separated from the signal transmission portion (probe 56) and the signal transmission line (microstrip line 54) of the transmission line body on the front face (first side 14) to which the signal transmission portion (probe 56) and the signal transmission line (54) of the transmission line body face, FIG. 1, [0010], [0013].
Walsh discloses that a package as taught improves heat dissipation [0004]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device in order to improve heat dissipation as disclosed by Walsh [0004].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarui in view of Shen, further in view of Saito, still further in view of Dohata, yet still further in view of Degrenne (US20190043781A1; hereinafter Degrenne).
Regarding Claim 8, The combination of Tarui, Shen, Saito, and Dohata disclose the semiconductor module according to claim 5.
Tarui discloses a distribution circuit board 50 (transmission line body) with RF signal pads 51C-1 and ground pads 51C-2, FIG. 17, [0169]. Dohata discloses a microstrip line with a dielectric substrate 1, where a signal line 2c is on the other main surface of the dielectric substrate and ground patterns 3a, 3b, and 3c on the main surface of the dielectric substrate, FIG.1, [0034], [0035].
The combination of Tarui, Shen, Saito, and Dohata does not disclose “further comprising: a spacer between the back face of the transmission line body and the front face of the heat dissipation plate, the spacer surrounding the signal transmission portion and the signal transmission line of the transmission line body and physically separating the signal transmission portion and the signal transmission line of the transmission line body from the front face of the heat dissipation plate.”
In a similar art, Degrenne discloses a power module [0039].
Degrenne discloses a spacer (third material 115) disposed between the back of the substrate 110 and the top surface of the heat sink 125, and a cavity 32 is formed within the spacer, FIGS. 1, 3, [0049], [0051], [0056].
The combination of Tarui, Shen, Saito, Dohata and Degrenne disclose: further comprising: a spacer (Degrenne: 115 with cavity 32) between the back face of the transmission line body (Dohata: back face of dielectric substrate 1) and the front face of the heat dissipation plate (Degrenne: top of 125), the spacer (Degrenne: 115 with cavity 32) surrounding the signal transmission portion (Tarui: RF signal pads 51C-1) and the signal transmission line of the transmission line body (Dohata: signal line 2c on the dielectric substrate 1) and physically separating the signal transmission portion (Tarui: RF signal pads 51C-1) and the signal transmission line of the transmission line body (Dohata: signal line 2c on the dielectric substrate 1) from the front face of the heat dissipation plate (Degrenne: top of 125).
Degrenne discloses that a semiconductor device as taught improves cooling efficiency and electrical isolation thereby reducing cost [0003]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device in order to reduce cost by improving cooling efficiency and electrical isolation as disclosed by Degrenne [0003].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to Krishna J Palaniswamy whose telephone number
is (571)272-6239. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:30AM -
5PM EST.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Brent Fairbanks can be reached on 408-918-7532. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-483-7639.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-
center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For
additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Krishna J Palaniswamy/
Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899