DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 16-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 10,571,806 B2 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,733,610 B2, both issued to Tel et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of application 18/233263 are directed to the same invention of the patented claims of US 10,571,806 B2 and US 11,733,610 B2, both issued to Tel et al. As such, the claims of application 18/233263 are met by the patented claims of US 10,571,806 B2 and US 11,733,610 B2. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by David [US 2016/0148850 A1].
Regarding claims 16 and 29, David discloses a method (paragraph 0002]) / a non-transitory computer program product comprising machine-readable instructions therein (paragraph [0026], see also Figs. 2-12), comprising:
estimating, by a hardware computer system, a characteristic that will be imparted to a substrate to be processed by one or more process apparatuses by combining one or more values of one or more contributions to the characteristic by the one or more process apparatuses with one or more values of the characteristic (paragraphs [0034], [0039], [0043]-[0045] and [0047]) at least one of the one or more contributions to the characteristic being a first contribution of a chamber of an etch tool configured to etch one or more etchable layers and being a contribution separate from a second contribution to the characteristic by one or more other process apparatuses, and the first contribution representing an effect of the chamber of the etch tool on the characteristic after processing of a substrate by the chamber of the etch tool: distinct from an effect of another chamber of the etch tool or of a chamber of another etch tool on the characteristic after processing of a substrate (paragraph [0112] teaches using a different tool); and physically configuring the physical device fabrication process based on the estimated characteristic and/or providing a physical signal representing, or based on, the estimated characteristic to a system for use in physical configuration of the physical device fabrication process. (paragraphs [0071]-[0085], [0103]-[0104] and [0119], see also Figs. 2-12).
Regarding claims 17-28 and 30-35, David discloses wherein the characteristic is a property of a pattern on an etched substrate (as shown in Figs, 3-5), wherein the property is a geometric asymmetry of the pattern (paragraph [0108]), wherein the property is a critical dimension of the pattern or a sidewall angle of the pattern (paragraphs [0079] and [0104]), wherein the characteristic is a fingerprint of the property across the etched substrate, wherein the first contribution is obtained from a model having a property of the one or more etchable layers as an input, further comprising adjusting one or more variables of the etch tool to reduce the first contribution, wherein the one or more variables are an operating temperature and/or etching rate (paragraphs [0043], [0075], [0104]-[0106] and [0119]), wherein the adjusting compensates at least partially the second contribution, wherein the second contribution is associated with a lithographic apparatus and/or a deposition tool, further comprising adjusting one or more variables of the chamber of the etch tool to match the second contribution, wherein the second contribution is a contribution from another chamber of the etch tool or a chamber of another etch tool, wherein the adjusting targets to reduce a deviation of the characteristic from a target value of the characteristic (paragraphs [0071]-[0085], see also Figs. 2-12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the applied reference does not teach “the first contribution representing an effect of the chamber of the etch tool on the characteristic after processing of a substrate by the chamber of the etch tool distinct from an effect of another chamber of the etch tool or of a chamber of another etch tool on the characteristic after processing of a substrate”, see pages 9-10 of the remarks.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As applied above, David discloses wherein different tools are used after processing of a substrate such that the first contribution representing an effect of the chamber of the etch tool on the characteristic after processing of a substrate by the chamber of the etch tool: distinct from an effect of another chamber of the etch tool or of a chamber of another etch tool on the characteristic after processing of a substrate (paragraph [0112]).
As such Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection under 35 USC § 102 is maintained.
Conclusion
/DEORAM PERSAUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882