DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims, in the submission dated 02/06/2026, are acknowledged and accepted. Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 12-14, and 17 are amended. Claim 20 is added without the addition of new matter. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells et al. US PGPub 2021/0157135 A1 (of record, see Office action dated 11/10/2025, hereinafter, “Wells”) in view of Balardeta et al. US Patent 7,942,762 B2 (of record, see IDS dated 02/01/2024, hereinafter, “Balardeta”) and Vanslette et al. US Patent 10,726,510 B2 (hereinafter, “Vanslette”).
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Wells discloses a golf cart (Fig. 2B depicts an interior of vehicle 201, par. [0039], where a golf cart is a vehicle and therefore vehicle 201 could be labeled as, and function as, a golf cart), comprising:
a golf cart body (Fig. 2B, vehicle 201 has a body including at least a dashboard assembly 209, par. [0039], and in general vehicle 201 must have a body to function as intended);
a windshield supported by the golf cart body (Fig. 2B, vehicle 201 includes windshield 116, par. [0035]), the windshield being constructed and arranged to provide a driver of the golf cart with a windshield view of an environment in front of the golf cart (Fig. 2B, windshield 116 is by definition a transparent screen that provides visibility of an environment in front of the vehicle, therefore Wells discloses the windshield 116 being constructed and arranged to provide the driver of vehicle 201 with a windshield view of an environment in front of the vehicle 201); and
a windshield-level display device coupled with the golf cart body (Fig. 1, HUD system 101 includes a reflective display which is preferably windshield 116 providing a reflective surface 118, par. [0035]), the windshield-level display device being constructed and arranged to provide the driver of the golf cart with an electronic view of provided information (Wells teaches a HUD is a display that presents data in a partially transparent manner and at a position allowing a user to see it without having to look away from his/her usual viewpoint, e.g., substantially forward, par. [0002], and Wells further teaches a HUD may be used to project virtual images or vehicle parameter data in front of the vehicle windshield or surface so that the image is in or immediately adjacent to the operator's line of sight, par. [0003], therefore HUD system 101 disclosed by Wells functions to provide a driver, or other occupant, of vehicle 201 with an electronic view of provided information), the windshield view of the environment in front of the golf cart and the electronic view of the provided information being provided at a same height to the driver of the golf cart (Fig. 1, HUD system 101 includes controller 102 that controls operation of the mirror actuator 108 via control line 143 to rotate or tilt a mirror 117 and adjust where on windshield 116 the HUD virtual image is projected, par. [0035], and Fig. 2C shows eyebox 260 which includes a plane intersecting center 275 that may be representative of a desired location of a driver’s eyes within the vehicle interior, par. [0042], therefore the HUD system 101 disclosed by Wells can function to provide the driver, or other occupant, of vehicle 201 the windshield view of the environment in front of vehicle 201 and the electronic view of the provided information being provided at a same height to the driver of vehicle 201 by adjusting the position of the HUD virtual image), and the electronic view being provided at a predefined distance above a bottom of the windshield view (Fig. 1, controller 102 controls operation of the mirror actuator 108 via control line 143 to rotate or tilt a mirror 117 and adjust where on windshield 116 the HUD virtual image is projected, par. [0035]); and
a mobile client device (Fig. 2A, controller 215 may be a smart device such as a tablet, laptop computer, or the like, par. [0046], equivalent to a mobile client device) and a controller (Wells discloses a plurality of controllers, including controller 102 for HUD system 101, par. [0035]).
Wells does not disclose global positioning system (GPS) circuitry, therefore Wells does not disclose wherein the GPS circuitry is constructed and arranged to identify a current geolocation of the golf cart; and wherein the controller is constructed and arranged to (i) provide a warning graphic within the electronic view provided by the windshield-level display in response to the current geolocation identified by the GPS circuitry indicating that the golf cart is in the vicinity of a restricted offroad area and (ii) restrict movement of the golf cart in response to the current geolocation identified by the GPS circuitry indicating that the golf cart has entered the restricted offroad area.
In a related field of invention, Balardeta discloses golf GPS device 10, shown in at least Fig. 1 thereof, with microprocessor 12 operably coupled to GPS chipset 14 (col. 9, lines 39-47 thereof), where GPS chipset 14 includes a receiver and microcontroller (col. 9, lines 62-64 thereof), equivalent to GPS circuitry and a controller. Balardeta further discloses golf GPS device 10 is configured to determine, track, and display useful golf-related information before, during, and after a round of golf (col. 12, lines 13-16 thereof), such as the coordinates of golf course features of interest (col. 12, lines 23-26 thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Balardeta to the disclosure of Wells and included a GPS chipset such as that taught by Balardeta into the HUD system 101 disclosed by Wells, to provide a system with a high-resolution color display capable of displaying photographic images of a golf course on HUD patch 111 of HUD system 101, with flexible calibration to improve accuracy of information displayed on HUD patch 111, and the functionality and ease of use to take full advantage of such features (Balardeta, col. 3, lines 60-67).
The prior art combination of Wells in view of Balardeta does not disclose the controller is constructed and arranged to (i) provide a warning graphic within the electronic view provided by the windshield-level display in response to the current geolocation identified by the GPS circuitry indicating that the golf cart is in the vicinity of a restricted offroad area and (ii) restrict movement of the golf cart in response to the current geolocation identified by the GPS circuitry indicating that the golf cart has entered the restricted offroad area.
In a different field of endeavor, Vanslette discloses a computing system 100, shown in at least Fig. 1 thereof, for use in conjunction with an activity venue, such as a golf course as shown in Figs. 4A and 4B thereof, to obtain data related to patrons and staff within the activity venue (col. 10, lines 51-55 thereof). Computing system 100 includes mobile sensors such as sensor devices 10, operator devices 18, and patron devices 20 such as mobile devices or other computing devices (col. 10 line 66 to col. 11 line 2 thereof). Vanslette teaches sensor devices 10 can include a microcontroller 202, transceiver 204, and global positioning system locator 206 (col. 11, lines 8-12 thereof). Vanslette also teaches virtual cages 402 that are defined by geolocation boundaries (see at least Figs. 4A and 4B and refer to col. 5, lines 27-31 thereof) that can be set up to include portions of the cart path adjacent to target areas in order to provide tracking for the golf carts and alert players of restricted areas on the golf course (col. 29 line 65 to col. 30 line 2 thereof), and Vanslette teaches the system 100 can manage golf cart utilization to better balance fleet usage, such as providing the re-routing or shut off of carts based on location data gathered from devise associated with the carts (col. 25, lines 44-48 thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Vanslette to the disclosure of Wells and included mobile devices, such as sensor devices with microcontroller 202, transceiver 204, and global positioning system locator 206 as taught by Vanslette, in the vehicle 201 with HUD system 101 disclosed by Wells, to provide notifications of the current position of the vehicle in HUD system 101 reflective display windshield 116 as disclosed by Wells, and thereby alert users of restricted areas, and to restrict movement of the vehicle in response to the current geolocation identified by the GPS circuitry indicating that the vehicle has entered the restricted area, so as to provide live traffic control of the patrons (Vanslette, abstract) and flexible usage experience (Vanslette, col. 10, lines 17-21).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Wells in view of Balardeta and Vanslette (hereinafter, “modified Wells”) discloses the golf cart of claim 1 and Wells further discloses wherein the golf cart body includes (i) a canopy that serves as a roof to the golf cart and (ii) a dashboard (Wells teaches features within the vehicle providing reference for an eyebox location may include, for example, one or more of A-pillars, B-pillars, door opening frame, roof or other static, structural features, par. [0047], where a roof is equivalent to a canopy that serves as a roof for vehicle 201, and vehicle 201 includes dashboard assembly 209, see Figs. 2A-2C, par. [0039]); and wherein the windshield view of the environment in front of the golf cart and the electronic view of the provided information reside at a height which is above the dashboard (Wells in Fig. 2B shows HUD system 101 has HUD patch 111 positioned on windshield 116 above dash assembly 209) and below the canopy (though Fig. 2B does not show a roof, vehicle 201 has a roof per par. [0047], and therefore HUD patch 111 of HUD system 101 is displayed below the roof, or canopy, of vehicle 201).
Wells does not specifically disclose the electronic view of the provided information resides at least eight inches below the canopy or roof of vehicle 201. However, Wells does disclose HUD system 101 includes controller 102 that controls operation of the mirror actuator 108 via control 143 to rotate or tilt mirror 117 and adjust where on the windshield 116 the HUD virtual image is projected (par. [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have adjusted the position of HUD patch 111 on windshield 116 of vehicle 201 to be at least eight inches below the canopy or roof of vehicle 201, to minimize distortion effects imparted by reflective surface 118 of windshield 116 in the HUD virtual image (Wells, par. [0041]). Furthermore, the instant application does not disclose any criticality to the claimed range of displaying the electronic view of the provided information at least eight inches below the canopy. The prior art discloses a HUD virtual image covering the height of the windshield 116 as shown in Fig. 2B of Wells. The entire range, i.e., the entirety of the surface of windshield 116, would perform the same function of displaying an electronic view of provided information. Because there is no allegation of criticality and no evidence of demonstrating a difference across the range, the prior art discloses the range with sufficient specificity. See MPEP section 2131.03.II Clearview Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have positioned the HUD virtual image produced by HUD system 101 to be at least eight inches below the canopy of vehicle 201 so as to make the image comfortably viewable for a driver or other occupant of vehicle 201.
Regarding amended dependent claim 3, modified Wells discloses the golf cart of claim 2, and Wells further discloses wherein the mobile client device which couples with the windshield-level display device (Wells Fig. 2A, controller 215 may be a smart device such as a tablet, laptop computer, or the like, par. [0046] and Fig. 1 shows HUD system 101 includes reflective display, preferably windshield 116 providing a reflective surface 118, par. [0035]), the mobile client device being constructed and arranged to provide an electronic display signal to the windshield-level display device to render the provided information on a windshield-level display (Wells Fig. 2A, image sensor assembly 206 may include controller 215 including an associated display as part of the virtual image sensor assembly and virtual image generator 105 projects a test image toward windshield 116, par. [0046]).
Regarding dependent claim 4, modified Wells discloses the golf cart of claim 3, and Wells further discloses wherein the windshield-level display device includes a projection apparatus that is constructed and arranged to project the provided information on to the windshield in response to the electronic display signal (Wells Fig. 2A, image sensor assembly 206 may include controller 215 including an associated display as part of the virtual image sensor assembly and virtual image generator 105 projects a test image toward windshield 116, par. [0046]).
Regarding amended dependent claim 6, modified Wells discloses the golf cart of claim 3, and Balardeta further discloses wherein the controller is constructed and arranged to identify a current golf course hole of a golf course and include hole information within the provided information that is provided to the windshield-level display device based on the current geolocation of the golf cart (Balardeta discloses golf GPS device 10, shown in at least Fig. 1 thereof, with microprocessor 12 operably coupled to GPS chipset 14, col. 9, lines 39-47 thereof, where GPS chipset 14 includes a receiver and microcontroller, col. 9, lines 62-64 thereof, equivalent to GPS circuitry and a controller, and Balardeta further discloses golf GPS device 10 is configured to determine, track, and display useful golf-related information before, during, and after a round of golf, col. 12, lines 13-16 thereof, such as the coordinates of golf course features of interest, col. 12, lines 23-26 thereof, and the prior art combination of Wells in view of Balardeta teaches and renders obvious the information would be displayed by Wells HUD system 101 on reflective display windshield 116, par. [0035]).
Regarding dependent claim 7, modified Wells discloses the golf cart of claim 6, and Balardeta further discloses wherein the hole information that is included within the provided information includes an identification of the current golf course hole, an overall distance for the current golf course hole, and a current distance between the golf cart and a pin location of the current golf course hole based on the current geolocation (Balardeta teaches the mapping process produces golf course data which can be used by GPS device 10 to determine the coordinates of golf course features of interest, such as the greens, bunkers, hazards, tees, pin position, other landmarks, and the like, col. 12, lines 23-26 thereof, and coordinates for a plurality of points on the perimeter of the feature, or a vector-map of the perimeter, or other data, which can be used to calculate the distance to such feature from the location of the GPS device 10, col. 12, lines 33-38 thereof).
Regarding amended dependent claim 8, modified Wells discloses the golf cart of claim 3, and Balardeta further discloses wherein the controller is constructed and arranged to identify a current golf course and include course information within the provided information that is provided to the windshield-level display device based on the current geolocation of the golf cart (Balardeta discloses golf GPS device 10, shown in at least Fig. 1 thereof, with microprocessor 12 operably coupled to GPS chipset 14, col. 9, lines 39-47, where GPS chipset 14 includes a receiver and microcontroller, col. 9, lines 62-64 thereof, equivalent to GPS circuitry and a controller and Balardeta further discloses golf GPS device 10 is configured to determine, track, and display useful golf-related information before, during, and after a round of golf, col. 12, lines 13-16 thereof, such as the coordinates of golf course features of interest, col. 12, lines 23-26 thereof, and the prior art combination of Wells in view of Balardeta teaches and renders obvious the information would be displayed by Wells HUD system 101 on reflective display windshield 116, par. [0035]).
Regarding dependent claim 9, modified Wells discloses the golf cart of claim 8, and Balardeta further discloses wherein the course information that is included within the provided information includes an identification of the current golf course and a set of geofenced areas surrounding the golf cart based on the current geolocation (Balardeta teaches the mapping process produces golf course data which can be used by GPS device 10 to determine the coordinates of golf course features of interest, such as the greens, bunkers, hazards, tees, pin position, other landmarks, and the like, col. 12, lines 23-26, and coordinates for a plurality of points on the perimeter of the feature, or a vector-map of the perimeter, or other data, which can be used to calculate the distance to such feature from the location of the GPS device 10, col. 12, lines 33-38).
Regarding dependent claim 10, modified Wells discloses the golf cart of claim 3, and Wells further discloses wherein the mobile client device includes a controller which is constructed and arranged to include a set of displayable messages within the provided information that is provided to the windshield-level display device (Wells Fig. 2A, controller 215 may access data, for example predefined positional relationship data relating the fiducials and the preferred location and alignment of the predetermined test image projected by image generator 105, par. [0050], where the projected image produced by image generator 105 is equivalent to a displayable message provided to HUD patch 111 of HUD system 101).
Regarding amended dependent claim 12, modified Wells discloses the golf cart of claim 3, and Balardeta further discloses wherein the controller is constructed and arranged to (i) identify a current golf course hole and include hole information within the provided information that is provided to the windshield-level display device based on the current geolocation of the golf cart (Balardeta discloses golf GPS device 10 is configured to determine, track, and display useful golf-related information before, during, and after a round of golf, col. 12, lines 13-16 thereof, such as the coordinates of golf course features of interest, col. 12, lines 23-26 thereof and the prior art combination of Wells in view of Balardeta teaches and renders obvious the information would be displayed by Wells HUD system 101 on reflective display windshield 116, par. [0035]), (ii) identify a current golf course and include course information within the provided information that is provided to the windshield-level display device based on the current geolocation of the golf cart (Balardeta discloses golf GPS device 10 is configured to determine, track, and display useful golf-related information before, during, and after a round of golf, col. 12, lines 13-16 thereof, such as the coordinates of golf course features of interest, col. 12, lines 23-26 thereof, which implies that the GPS device 10 is capable of correctly identifying the current golf course because the GPS device is capable of identifying the current golf course hole, and to correctly identify the current golf course hole the system must correctly identify the current golf course, and the prior art combination of Wells in view of Balardeta teaches and renders obvious the information would be displayed by Wells HUD system 101 on reflective display windshield 116, par. [0035]), and Wells further discloses (iii) include a set of displayable messages within the provided information that is provided to the windshield-level display device (Wells Fig. 2A, controller 215 may access data, for example predefined positional relationship data relating the fiducials and the preferred location and alignment of the predetermined test image projected by image generator 105, par. [0050], where the projected image produced by image generator 105 is equivalent to a displayable message provided to HUD patch 111 of HUD system 101).
Regarding amended independent claim 13, Wells discloses a windshield-level display kit (Wells teaches HUD system 101 includes virtual image generator 105, shown in at least Fig. 2A, may be assembled to a dash assembly already installed within a vehicle, par. [0040], therefore Wells teaches the equivalent of a kit for a windshield-level display) for a golf cart having a golf cart body and a windshield supported by the golf cart body (Fig. 2B, vehicle 201, which may be labeled as a golf cart and function as a golf cart, has windshield 116 and a body including at least a dashboard assembly 209, par. [0039], and in general vehicle 201 must have a body to function as intended), the windshield being constructed and arranged to provide a driver of the golf cart with a windshield view of an environment in front of the golf cart (Fig. 2B, windshield 116 is by definition a transparent screen that provides visibility of an environment in front of the vehicle, therefore Wells discloses the windshield 116 being constructed and arranged to provide the driver of vehicle 201 with a windshield view of an environment in front of the vehicle 201), the windshield-level display kit comprising:
a windshield-level display device constructed and arranged to couple with the golf cart body (Fig. 1, HUD system 101 includes a reflective display which is preferably windshield 116 providing a reflective surface 118, par. [0035], and windshield 116 is coupled to the body of vehicle 201 as necessary and required for the windshield 116 to function as part of vehicle 201), and to provide the driver of the golf cart with an electronic view of provided information (Wells teaches a HUD is a display that presents data in a partially transparent manner and at a position allowing a user to see it without having to look away from his/her usual viewpoint, e.g., substantially forward, par. [0002], and Wells further teaches a HUD may be used to project virtual images or vehicle parameter data in front of the vehicle windshield or surface so that the image is in or immediately adjacent to the operator's line of sight, par. [0003], therefore HUD system 101 disclosed by Wells functions to provide a driver, or other occupant, of vehicle 201 with an electronic view of provided information), the windshield view of the environment in front of the golf cart and the electronic view of the provided information being provided at a same height to the driver of the golf cart (Fig. 1, HUD system 101 includes controller 102 that controls operation of the mirror actuator 108 via control line 143 to rotate or tilt a mirror 117 and adjust where on windshield the HUD virtual image is projected, par. [0035], and Fig. 2C shows eyebox 260 which includes a plane intersecting center 275 that may be representative of a desired location of a driver’s eyes within the vehicle interior, par. [0042], therefore the HUD system 101 disclosed by Wells can function to provide the driver, or other occupant, of vehicle 201 the windshield view of the environment in front of vehicle 201 and the electronic view of the provided information being provided at a same height to the driver of vehicle 201 by adjusting the position of the HUD virtual image), and the electronic view being provided at a predefined distance above a bottom of the windshield view (Fig. 1, controller 102 controls operation of the mirror actuator 108 via control line 143 to rotate or tilt a mirror 117 and adjust where on windshield the HUD virtual image is projected, par. [0035])); and
a mobile client device which couples with the windshield-level display device (Fig. 2A, controller 215 includes user control interface as part of or separate from virtual image sensor assembly 206 or a separate smart device such as a tablet, laptop computer, or the like, par. [0046], equivalent to a mobile client device), the mobile client device being constructed and arranged to provide an electronic display signal to the windshield-level display device to render the provided information on a windshield-level display (Figs. 1 and 2A, communications among the controller 102, virtual image sensor assembly 206, controller 215 and associated controllers, may be carried out by any appropriate wired or wireless means including, for example, the vehicle controller area network 175, par. [0046]).
Wells does not disclose the mobile client device includes global positioning system (GPS) circuitry, therefore Wells does not disclose wherein the GPS circuitry is constructed and arranged to identify a current geolocation of the golf cart; and wherein the controller is constructed and arranged to (i) provide a warning graphic within the electronic view provided by the windshield-level display in response to the current geolocation identified by the GPS circuitry indicating that the golf cart is in the vicinity of a restricted offroad area and (ii) restrict movement of the golf cart in response to the current geolocation identified by the GPS circuitry indicating that the golf cart has entered the restricted offroad area.
In a related field of invention, Balardeta discloses golf GPS device 10, shown in at least Fig. 1 thereof, with microprocessor 12 operably coupled to GPS chipset 14 (col. 9, lines 39-47 thereof), where GPS chipset 14 includes a receiver and microcontroller (col. 9, lines 62-64 thereof), equivalent to GPS circuitry and a controller. Balardeta further discloses golf GPS device 10 is configured to determine, track, and display useful golf-related information before, during, and after a round of golf (col. 12, lines 13-16 thereof), such as the coordinates of golf course features of interest (col. 12, lines 23-26 thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Balardeta to the disclosure of Wells and included a GPS chipset such as that taught by Balardeta into the HUD system 101 disclosed by Wells, to provide a system with a high-resolution color display capable of displaying photographic images of a golf course on HUD patch 111 of HUD system 101, with flexible calibration to improve accuracy of information displayed on HUD patch 111, and the functionality and ease of use to take full advantage of such features (Balardeta, col. 3, lines 60-67).
The prior art combination of Wells in view of Balardeta does not disclose the controller is constructed and arranged to (i) provide a warning graphic within the electronic view provided by the windshield-level display in response to the current geolocation identified by the GPS circuitry indicating that the golf cart is in the vicinity of a restricted offroad area and (ii) restrict movement of the golf cart in response to the current geolocation identified by the GPS circuitry indicating that the golf cart has entered the restricted offroad area.
In a different field of endeavor, Vanslette discloses a computing system 100, shown in at least Fig. 1 thereof, for use in conjunction with an activity venue, such as a golf course as shown in Figs. 4A and 4B thereof, to obtain data related to patrons and staff within the activity venue (col. 10, lines 51-55 thereof). Computing system 100 includes mobile sensors such as sensor devices 10, operator devices 18, and patron devices 20 such as mobile devices or other computing devices (col. 10 line 66 to col. 11 line 2 thereof). Vanslette teaches sensor devices 10 can include a microcontroller 202, transceiver 204, and global positioning system locator 206 (col. 11, lines 8-12 thereof). Vanslette also teaches virtual cages 402 that are defined by geolocation boundaries (see at least Figs. 4A and 4B and refer to col. 5, lines 27-31 thereof) that can be set up to include portions of the cart path adjacent to target areas in order to provide tracking for the golf carts and alert players of restricted areas on the golf course (col. 29 line 65 to col. 30 line 2 thereof), and Vanslette teaches the system 100 can manage golf cart utilization to better balance fleet usage, such as providing the re-routing or shut off of carts based on location data gathered from devise associated with the carts (col. 25, lines 44-48 thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Vanslette to the disclosure of Wells and included mobile devices, such as sensor devices with microcontroller 202, transceiver 204, and global positioning system locator 206 as taught by Vanslette, in the vehicle 201 with HUD system 101 disclosed by Wells, to provide notifications of the current position of the vehicle in HUD system 101 reflective display windshield 116 as disclosed by Wells, and thereby alert users of restricted areas, and to restrict movement of the vehicle in response to the current geolocation identified by the GPS circuitry indicating that the vehicle has entered the restricted area, so as to provide live traffic control of the patrons (Vanslette, abstract) and flexible usage experience (Vanslette, col. 10, lines 17-21).
Regarding amended dependent claim 14, modified Wells discloses the windshield-level display kit of claim 13, and Balardeta further discloses wherein the controller is constructed and arranged to (i) identify a current golf course hole and include hole information within the provided information that is provided to the windshield-level display device based on the current geolocation of the golf cart (Balardeta discloses golf GPS device 10 is configured to determine, track, and display useful golf-related information before, during, and after a round of golf, col. 12, lines 13-16 thereof, such as the coordinates of golf course features of interest, col. 12, lines 23-26 thereof and the prior art combination of Wells in view of Balardeta teaches and renders obvious the information would be displayed by Wells HUD system 101 on reflective display windshield 116, par. [0035]), (ii) identify a current golf course and include course information within the provided information that is provided to the windshield-level display device based on the current geolocation of the golf cart (Balardeta discloses golf GPS device 10 is configured to determine, track, and display useful golf-related information before, during, and after a round of golf, col. 12, lines 13-16 thereof, such as the coordinates of golf course features of interest, col. 12, lines 23-26 thereof, which implies that the GPS device 10 is capable of correctly identifying the current golf course because the GPS device is capable of identifying the current golf course hole, and to correctly identify the current golf course hole the system must correctly identify the current golf course, and the prior art combination of Wells in view of Balardeta teaches and renders obvious the information would be displayed by Wells HUD system 101 on reflective display windshield 116, par. [0035]), and Wells further discloses (iii) include a set of displayable messages within the provided information that is provided to the windshield-level display device (Wells Fig. 2A, controller 215 may access data, for example predefined positional relationship data relating the fiducials and the preferred location and alignment of the predetermined test image projected by image generator 105, par. [0050], where the projected image produced by image generator 105 is equivalent to a displayable message provided to HUD patch 111 of HUD system 101).
Regarding dependent claim 15, modified Wells discloses the windshield-level display kit of claim 14, and Wells further discloses wherein the windshield-level display device includes a projection apparatus that is constructed and arranged to project the provided information on to the windshield in response to the electronic display signal (Wells Fig. 2A, image sensor assembly 206 may include controller 215 including an associated display as part of the virtual image sensor assembly and virtual image generator 105 projects a test image toward windshield 116, par. [0046]).
Regarding amended independent claim 17, Wells discloses a method of providing a driver of a golf cart with an electronic view of provided information (Wells teaches a HUD is a display that presents data in a partially transparent manner and at a position allowing a user to see it without having to look away from his/her usual viewpoint, e.g., substantially forward, par. [0002], and Wells further teaches a HUD may be used to project virtual images or vehicle parameter data in front of the vehicle windshield or surface so that the image is in or immediately adjacent to the operator's line of sight, par. [0003], therefore HUD system 101 disclosed by Wells functions to provide a driver, or other occupant, of vehicle 201 with an electronic view of provided information), the golf cart having a golf cart body and a windshield supported by the golf cart body (Fig. 2B, vehicle 201 has windshield 116 and a body including at least a dashboard assembly 209, par. [0039], and in general vehicle 201 must have a body to function as intended), the windshield being constructed and arranged to provide the driver of the golf cart with a windshield view of an environment in front of the golf cart (Fig. 2B, windshield 116 is by definition a transparent screen that provides visibility of an environment in front of the vehicle, therefore Wells discloses the windshield 116 being constructed and arranged to provide the driver of vehicle 201 with a windshield view of an environment in front of the vehicle 201), the method comprising:
coupling a windshield-level display device with the golf cart body (Fig. 1, HUD system 101 includes a reflective display which is preferably windshield 116 providing a reflective surface 118, par. [0035]), the windshield-level display device being constructed and arranged to provide the driver of the golf cart with the electronic view of the provided information (Wells teaches a HUD is a display that presents data in a partially transparent manner and at a position allowing a user to see it without having to look away from his/her usual viewpoint, e.g., substantially forward, par. [0002], and Wells further teaches a HUD may be used to project virtual images or vehicle parameter data in front of the vehicle windshield or surface so that the image is in or immediately adjacent to the operator's line of sight, par. [0003], therefore HUD system 101 disclosed by Wells functions to provide a driver, or other occupant, of vehicle 201 with an electronic view of provided information), the windshield view of the environment in front of the golf cart and the electronic view of the provided information being provided at a same height to the driver of the golf cart (Fig. 1, HUD system 101 includes controller 102 that controls operation of the mirror actuator 108 via control line 143 to rotate or tilt a mirror 117 and adjust where on windshield 116 the HUD virtual image is projected, par. [0035], and Fig. 2C shows eyebox 260 which includes a plane intersecting center 275 that may be representative of a desired location of a driver’s eyes within the vehicle interior, par. [0042], therefore the HUD system 101 disclosed by Wells can function to provide the driver, or other occupant, of vehicle 201 the windshield view of the environment in front of vehicle 201 and the electronic view of the provided information being provided at a same height to the driver of vehicle 201 by adjusting the position of the HUD virtual image), and the electronic view being provided at a predefined distance above a bottom of the windshield view (Fig. 1, controller 102 controls operation of the mirror actuator 108 via control line 143 to rotate or tilt a mirror 117 and adjust where on windshield 116 the HUD virtual image is projected, par. [0035]);
coupling a mobile client device with the golf cart body (Fig. 2A, controller 215 includes user control interface as part of or separate from virtual image sensor assembly 206 or a separate smart device such as a tablet, laptop computer, or the like, par. [0046]), the mobile client device being constructed and arranged to provide an electronic display signal to the windshield-level display device to render the provided information on a windshield-level display (Figs. 1 and 2A, communications among the controller 102, virtual image sensor assembly 206, controller 215 and associated controllers, may be carried out by any appropriate wired or wireless means including, for example, the vehicle controller area network 175, par. [0046]); and
electronically connecting the windshield-level display device with the mobile client device (Figs. 1 and 2A, communications among the controller 102, virtual image sensor assembly 206, controller 215 and associated controllers, may be carried out by any appropriate wired or wireless means including, for example, the vehicle controller area network 175, par. [0046]).
Wells does not disclose wherein the mobile client device includes global positioning system (GPS) circuitry and a controller and therefore Wells does not disclose wherein the GPS circuitry is constructed and arranged to identify a current geolocation of the golf cart, and wherein the controller is constructed and arranged to (i) provide a warning graphic within the electronic view provided by the windshield-level display in response to the current geolocation identified by the GPS circuitry indicating that the golf cart is in the vicinity of a restricted offroad area and (ii) restrict movement of the golf cart in response to the current geolocation identified by the GPS circuitry indicating that the golf cart has entered the restricted offroad area.
In a related field of invention, Balardeta discloses golf GPS device 10, shown in at least Fig. 1 thereof, with microprocessor 12 operably coupled to GPS chipset 14 (col. 9, lines 39-47 thereof), where GPS chipset 14 includes a receiver and microcontroller (col. 9, lines 62-64 thereof), equivalent to GPS circuitry and a controller. Balardeta further discloses golf GPS device 10 is configured to determine, track, and display useful golf-related information before, during, and after a round of golf (col. 12, lines 13-16 thereof), such as the coordinates of golf course features of interest (col. 12, lines 23-26 thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Balardeta to the disclosure of Wells and included a GPS chipset such as that taught by Balardeta into the HUD system 101 disclosed by Wells, to provide a system with a high-resolution color display capable of displaying photographic images of a golf course on HUD patch 111 of HUD system 101, with flexible calibration to improve accuracy of information displayed on HUD patch 111, and the functionality and ease of use to take full advantage of such features (Balardeta, col. 3, lines 60-67).
The prior art combination of Wells in view of Balardeta does not disclose the controller is constructed and arranged to (i) provide a warning graphic within the electronic view provided by the windshield-level display in response to the current geolocation identified by the GPS circuitry indicating that the golf cart is in the vicinity of a restricted offroad area and (ii) restrict movement of the golf cart in response to the current geolocation identified by the GPS circuitry indicating that the golf cart has entered the restricted offroad area.
In a different field of endeavor, Vanslette discloses a computing system 100, shown in at least Fig. 1 thereof, for use in conjunction with an activity venue, such as a golf course as shown in Figs. 4A and 4B thereof, to obtain data related to patrons and staff within the activity venue (col. 10, lines 51-55 thereof). Computing system 100 includes mobile sensors such as sensor devices 10, operator devices 18, and patron devices 20 such as mobile devices or other computing devices (col. 10 line 66 to col. 11 line 2 thereof). Vanslette teaches sensor devices 10 can include a microcontroller 202, transceiver 204, and global positioning system locator 206 (col. 11, lines 8-12 thereof). Vanslette also teaches virtual cages 402 that are defined by geolocation boundaries (see at least Figs. 4A and 4B and refer to col. 5, lines 27-31 thereof) that can be set up to include portions of the cart path adjacent to target areas in order to provide tracking for the golf carts and alert players of restricted areas on the golf course (col. 29 line 65 to col. 30 line 2 thereof), and Vanslette teaches the system 100 can manage golf cart utilization to better balance fleet usage, such as providing the re-routing or shut off of carts based on location data gathered from devise associated with the carts (col. 25, lines 44-48 thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Vanslette to the disclosure of Wells and included mobile devices, such as sensor devices with microcontroller 202, transceiver 204, and global positioning system locator 206 as taught by Vanslette, in the vehicle 201 with HUD system 101 disclosed by Wells, to provide notifications of the current position of the vehicle in HUD system 101 reflective display windshield 116 as disclosed by Wells, and thereby alert users of restricted areas, and to restrict movement of the vehicle in response to the current geolocation identified by the GPS circuitry indicating that the vehicle has entered the restricted area, so as to provide live traffic control of the patrons (Vanslette, abstract) and flexible usage experience (Vanslette, col. 10, lines 17-21).
Regarding dependent claim 18, modified Wells discloses the method of claim 17, and Wells discloses the method further comprising: in response to the electronic display signal, displaying the provided information on the windshield-level display to the driver while the golf cart is in motion (Wells teaches HUDs may receive and project information from information systems external to the vehicle, such as a navigational system on a smartphone, and navigational information presented by the HUD may include, for example, the current speed of the vehicle as compared to a speed limit, including an alert if the speed limit is exceeded, par. [0004], therefore Wells teaches the use of the HUD system 101 while vehicle 201 is in motion).
Regarding dependent claim 19, modified Wells discloses the method of claim 17, and Wells discloses the method further comprising: adjusting the predefined distance above the bottom of the windshield view from a first height to a second height that is different from the first height to move the electronic view within the windshield view (Fig. 1, HUD system 101 includes controller 102 that controls operation of the mirror actuator 108 via control line 143 to rotate or tilt a mirror 117 and adjust where on windshield 116 the HUD virtual image is projected, par. [0035]).
Regarding new dependent claim 20, modified Wells discloses the golf cart of claim 1, and Balardeta further discloses wherein the GPS circuitry is constructed and arranged to provide a GPS signal identifying the current geolocation of the golf cart (Balardeta discloses golf GPS device 10, shown in at least Fig. 1 thereof, with microprocessor 12 operably coupled to GPS chipset 14, col. 9, lines 39-47 thereof, where GPS chipset 14 includes a receiver and microcontroller, col. 9, lines 62-64 thereof, equivalent to GPS circuitry and a controller, and Balardeta further discloses golf GPS device 10 is configured to determine, track, and display useful golf-related information before, during, and after a round of golf, col. 12, lines 13-16 thereof, such as the coordinates of golf course features of interest, col. 12, lines 23-26 thereof,); and Vanslette further discloses wherein the controller is constructed and arranged to determine a current position of the golf cart relative to a set of predefined geofenced golf course areas based on the GPS signal from the GPS circuitry (i) when providing the warning graphic within the electronic view (Vanslette teaches virtual cages 402 that are defined by geolocation boundaries, see at least Figs. 4A and 4B and refer to col. 5, lines 27-31 thereof, where the geolocation boundaries are equivalent to geofenced golf course areas, and the virtual cages 402 can be set up to include portions of the cart path adjacent to target areas in order to provide tracking for the golf carts and alert players of restricted areas on the golf course, col. 29 line 65 to col. 30 line 2 thereof, where the alert taught by Vanslette is equivalent to a warning graphic) or (ii) when restricting movement of the golf cart.
Claims 5, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells in view of Balardeta and Vanslette as applied to claims 3, 10, and 13 above, and further in view of Richards US PGPub 2022/0283458 A1 (of record, see Office action dated 11/10/2025, hereinafter, “Richards”).
Regarding dependent claim 5, modified Wells discloses the golf cart of claim 3, but the prior art combination does not disclose wherein the windshield-level display device includes an electronic screen that is constructed and arranged to display the provided information in place of a portion of the windshield view in response to the electronic display signal.
In a related field of invention, Richards discloses display screen 10 incorporated into windshield 14 of vehicle 12 (see Fig. 1, and refer to par. [0014] thereof), and further discloses display screen 10 may be incorporated between outer glass 16 and inner glass 18 (see Fig. 2 and par. [0021] thereof), and further discloses liquid crystal array layer 22 is operatively placed next to the outer glass 16 and includes a plurality of LC pixels (see Fig. 2, and refer to par. [0023] thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Richards to the disclosure of Wells and included a liquid crystal array in windshield 116 of vehicle 201 to create a transparency-dynamic display for interior passenger information, entertainment, personalization, and comfort (Richards, par. [0024]).
Regarding dependent claim 11, modified Wells discloses the golf cart of claim 10 wherein the set of displayable messages include real-time weather updates (Vanslette teaches system 100 includes a data management tool 14 that is configured to provide additional analysis for a particular type of activity, e.g., weather conditions, col. 23 lines 52-58 thereof).
The prior art combination of Wells in view of Balardeta and Vanslette does not disclose displayable messages that include golf course sponsors and advertisements.
In a related field of invention, Richards discloses a display screen 10 mounted to vehicle 12 as shown in at least Fig. 1 thereof, where display screen 10 can display images, messages, or video (refer to at least pars. [0013-14] and [0031] thereof), and Richards further discloses display screen 10 can turn much of windshield 14 into a heads-up display 40 (par. [0048], see Fig. 1 thereof) which may display informational message 42 regarding impending weather events (par. [0049], see Fig. 1 thereof) and advertisements (par. [0062], see Fig. 3 thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Richards to the disclosure of Wells and included capability for providing and displaying advertisements (where Examiner understands golf course sponsors to be a type of advertisement) in HUD system 101 disclosed by Wells, to provide an improved experience for occupants of the vehicle (Richards, par. [0070]).
Regarding dependent claim 16, modified Wells discloses the windshield-level display kit of claim 14, but the prior art combination does not disclose wherein the windshield-level display device includes an electronic screen that is constructed and arranged to display the provided information in place of a portion of the windshield view in response to the electronic display signal.
In a related field of invention, Richards discloses display screen 10 incorporated into windshield 14 of vehicle 12 (see Fig. 1, and refer to par. [0014] thereof), and further discloses display screen 10 may be incorporated between outer glass 16 and inner glass 18 (see Fig. 2 and par. [0021] thereof), and further discloses liquid crystal array layer 22 is operatively placed next to the outer glass 16 and includes a plurality of LC pixels (see Fig. 2, and refer to par. [0023] thereof).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have applied the teachings of Richards to the disclosure of Wells and included a liquid crystal array in windshield 116 of vehicle 201 to create a transparency-dynamic display for interior passenger information, entertainment, personalization, and comfort (Richards, par. [0024]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued that the cited prior art does not teach or suggest a golf cart having a windshield-level display and a mobile client devices which includes GPS circuitry and a controller, where the GPS circuitry is constructed to identify a current geolocation of the golf cart, and the controller is constructed and arranged to provide a warning graphic within an electronic view provided by windshield-level display in response to the current geolocation identified by the GPS circuitry indicating that the golf cart is in the vicinity of a restricted area and restrict movement of the golf cart in response to the current geolocation identified by the GPS circuitry indicating the golf cart has entered the restricted area. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, the scope of the claimed subject matter changed with the amendments to claim GPS circuitry capable of restricting the movement of the vehicle to which the circuitry is attached, so the amended limitations have been met by citing Vanslette in addition to the previously cited references of Wells, Balardeta, and Richards in the Office action of 11/10/2025.
The primary reference Wells teaches a vehicle with a head-up display viewed by reflection off the windshield of the vehicle, which is equivalent to a windshield-level display, and Wells teaches the equivalent of a mobile client device by disclosing controller 215 which may be a smart device such as a tablet, laptop computer, or the like, (par. [0046]) and a controller (par. [0035]).
Therefore, Wells discloses the equivalents of a golf cart, a windshield, and a display.
Examiner notes that while all golf carts can be defined as vehicles, not all vehicles are golf carts, but it is unclear as to what features, elements, or functionalities distinguish a golf cart from any other vehicle. While the instant specification lists a golf cart as an example of a utility vehicle, the disclosure by Wells of a generic vehicle implies the disclosure of Wells can be relevant to utility vehicles, of which, per the instant specification, a golf cart is an example.
Therefore a person of ordinary skill would reasonably conclude the disclosure of Wells is applicable and relevant to golf carts.
Balardeta is cited to teach an example of a handheld GPS device for golfing. Because Wells discloses a controller can be a smart device such as a tablet, which is handheld, and Balardeta discloses a handheld GPS device, a person of ordinary skill would reasonably conclude that the functionality of the device taught by Balardeta can be incorporated into the controller disclosed by Wells with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, the combination of Wells and Balardeta teaches a vehicle with a head-up display on a windshield capable of showing golf-pertinent information, such as the current location of the cart and occupants and the locations of golf course holes, thereupon.
Vanslette is cited to teach the incorporation of GPS-functional devices for tracking equipment and people, such golf carts and players, at a venue, such as a golf course, into a computer system. Vanslette teaches the utility, feasibility, and advantages of having smart devices, or the equivalent, attached to golf carts for the scheduling and managing of golf-related equipment.
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would look to Wells for teaching a head-up display for a windshield of a vehicle, where the vehicle could reasonably be labeled as, and function as, a golf cart, or alternatively a person of ordinary skill could reasonably apply the teachings and methods of Wells to install a HUD on a pre-existing golf cart or utility vehicle, while looking to Balardeta to teach the functionality of a GPS-services capable device in a handheld form factor, and to Vanslette for incorporating the functionality of a vehicle with GPS devices incorporated therein to track the current location of the vehicle, alert the user of the vehicle of the current location with respect to any restricted area, and shut off the vehicle remotely by way of the networked systems taught by Vanslette.
No other arguments were presented after page 13 of Remarks. Therefore the prior art cited teaches the invention as currently claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN W. HUSTOFT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872