Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bond (US-Pub 20220220924) in view of Bulin (8499822) and Ribarov (10612860).
Regarding claim 1, Bond discloses a thermal management system for an aircraft, the thermal management system comprising a first gas turbine engine (104, fig 14), a first thermal bus (flow circuit 44, 45, fig 14), and a first heat exchanger (103, fig 14); wherein the first thermal bus comprises a first heat transfer fluid (heat transfer medium separate from fuel, par. 0034), the first heat exchanger being controlled (par. 0179) to direct a flow of the first heat transfer fluid to the first heat dissipation portion such that a quantity QFiRST_IN of heat energy is transferred from a first dissipation medium to the first heat transfer fluid, and subsequently to the second heat dissipation portion such that a quantity QSECOND_OUT of heat energy is transferred from the first heat transfer fluid to a second dissipation medium (par. 101, the heat exchange medium flows from the air, where it takes heat, to the fuel where it dumps the heat), in dependence on a temperature of the first heat transfer fluid entering the first heat exchanger, a temperature of the first heat dissipation medium, and a temperature of the second heat dissipation medium.
Bond does not disclose one or more first electric machines rotatably coupled to the first gas turbine engine, the or each first electric machine being in fluid communication with the thermal bus, or a third flow path, wherein the third flow path is arranged as a parallel flow path that is a bypass duct that permits bypass of the first flow path and the second flow path, between the first gas turbine engine and the first heat exchanger, such that waste heat energy generated by at least one of the first gas turbine engine, is transferred to the first heat transfer fluid, and wherein the first heat exchanger module is controlled by a controller and comprises a first flow path and a second flow path, wherein the first flow path and the second flow path are arranged as parallel flow paths for the first heat transfer fluid of the first thermal bus, wherein a first heat dissipation portion is disposed on the first flow path, and a second heat dissipation portion is disposed on the second flow path, such that the first heat dissipation portion and the second heat dissipation portion are arranged in parallel in the first heat exchanger.
Bulin teaches a thermal bus (24, fig 4) for a gas turbine engine, wherein the gas turbine engine (23, fig 4) has one or more first electric machines (10, fig 4) rotatably coupled to the first gas turbine engine, the or each first electric machine being in fluid communication with the thermal bus (col 4, lines 12-24, the heat exchangers for the turbine engine and electric machine transfer heat via the lubrication system, meaning that the flow system is in fluid communication with the electric machine and turbine engines via their lubrication system) in a closed loop flow sequence such that waste heat energy generated by at least one of the first gas turbine engine and the electric machine is transferred to the first heat transfer fluid (both transfer heat into a system such as the one in Bond with both an air and fuel heat exchanger).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gas turbine engine disclosed by Bond by having an electric machine and the gas turbine waste heat coupled to the thermal bus based on the teachings of Bulin. Doing so would allow for cooling capacity to be combined among multiple heat producers, allowing them to share cooling needs along different operating phases (col 3, lines 20-25).
Ribarov teaches a heat exchanger (130, fig 1) for a gas turbine engine controlled by a controller (col 3, lines 14-25), wherein there is a first flow path (108, fig 1) with a first heat dissipation portion (132, fig 1), a second flow path (110, fig 1) with a second heat dissipation portion (134, fig 1), and a third flow path (112, fig 1) which serves as a bypass duct that permits bypass of the first flow path and the second flow path (408, fig 4), where the flowpath are all in parallel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the heat exchanger disclosed by Bond by having a single heat exchanger with a first flow path with a first heat dissipation portion, a second flowpath with a second heat dissipation portion, and a third flow path which serves as a bypass duct based on the teachings of Ribarov. Doing so would prevent the coolant from exceeding operational temperature limits while minimizing thermal stresses within the cooler (col 1, lines 7-15), as suggested by Ribarov.
Regarding claim 2, Bond discloses wherein the first heat sink dissipation portion comprises a first sink heat exchanger (103, fig 14), wherein the first sink heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat energy between the first dissipation medium and the first heat transfer fluid (par. 0109).
Regarding claim 3, Bond discloses wherein the second heat sink dissipation portion comprises a second sink heat exchanger (inside 40, fig 14), wherein the first sink heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat energy between the second dissipation medium and the first heat transfer fluid (par. 0109).
Regarding claim 4, Bond discloses wherein, the first heat exchanger is configured to direct a flow of the first heat transfer fluid to a second heat dissipation portion in which a quantity QSECOND_INof heat energy is transferred from a second dissipation medium to the first heat transfer fluid, and subsequently (since the fluid system is a closed loop system, the fluid will cycle continuously, meaning that the fluid will flow around the entire loop and go to every heat exchanger subsequently after the others) to a first heat dissipation portion in which a quantity QFIRST_OUT of heat energy is transferred from the first heat transfer fluid to a first dissipation medium (par. 0109), in dependence on a temperature of the first heat transfer fluid entering the first heat exchanger module, a temperature of the first heat dissipation medium, and a temperature of the second heat dissipation medium.
Regarding claim 5, Bond discloses wherein a temperature difference between a temperature of the first dissipation medium and a temperature of the first heat transfer fluid is at least 5C (this claim represents intended use of the system as this is just based on an input temperature and is not claimed as being actively controlled by the controller, thus there must simply be some flight regimes where it would meet the claimed conditions, which it would be, in conditions such as startup on a hot day where the ambient air is very hot but the heat transfer fluid has not had a chance to warm up yet).
Regarding claim 6, Bond discloses wherein a temperature difference between a temperature of the first heat transfer fluid and a temperature of the second dissipation medium is at least 5C (this claim represents intended use of the system as this is just based on an input temperature and is not claimed as being actively controlled by the controller, thus there must simply be some flight regimes where it would meet the claimed conditions, which it would be, as one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that fuel from the fuel tanks would be at a temperature similar to the engine frame, which is far lower than heat exchange fluid that has been used to cool the engine oil).
Regarding claim 7, Bond discloses wherein, if a temperature of one of the first dissipation medium and the second dissipation medium is greater than a first predetermined limit value, the first flow path is configured to direct a flow of the first heat transfer fluid to the one of the first dissipation medium and the second dissipation medium with a temperature less than the first predetermined limit value (par. 0109).
Regarding claim 8, Bond as modified by Ribarov discloses wherein if either one of the outlet temperatures TOUT1 and TOUT2is less than a second predetermined limit value, then the thermal management system is configured to direct the first heat transfer fluid around both of the first heat dissipation portion and the second heat dissipation portion (col 3, lines 4-7, Ribarov).
Regarding claim 9, Bond discloses wherein the quantity QFIRST_INof heat energy that is transferred from a first dissipation medium to the first heat transfer fluid is limited to a third predetermined value (par. 0109, the fuel is cooled once it becomes too hot, this means that there would be a predetermined value where it is too hot and the heat exchanger switches to cooling).
Regarding claim 10, Bond discloses wherein, during a start-up phase of operation of the gas turbine engine (the general conditions below happen during any flight mode, thus it would also happen during startup), if the temperature of the first heat transfer fluid is less than a fourth predetermined value, and the temperature of either of the first heat dissipation portion and the second heat dissipation portion, then the first flow path is configured to direct the flow of the first heat transfer fluid to a first heat dissipation portion (103, fig 14) in which a quantity of heat energy is transferred from a first dissipation medium (main airflow) to the first heat transfer fluid, and Qfirst-in subsequently (along 44, fig 14) to a second heat dissipation portion (heat exchanging inside 40, fig 14) in which a quantity QSECOND_OUT of heat energy is transferred from the first heat transfer fluid to a second dissipation medium (par. 0109).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 9/12/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10 under Bond, Bolin, and Ribarov have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bond, Bolin, and Ribarov.
Conclusion
/SEAN V MEILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3741 /DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741