DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chung et al. (US 20220037497).
Regarding claim 1, Chung discloses that a three-dimensional field-effect transistor (3DSFET) device comprising:
a 1st source/drain region 228DS (Fig. 14A-C); and
a 2ⁿᵈ source/drain region 248SD (Fig. 14AC)stacked on the 1st source/drain region, wherein the 1st source/drain region 228SDhas a protrusion at a 2ⁿᵈ upper corner portion among a 1st upper corner portion and the 2ⁿᵈ upper corner portion opposite to each other in a channel- width direction view (Fig. 14B-C, see modified Fig. 14C below).
Reclaim 2, Chung discloses that the protrusion is formed on around a center of a top surface of the 1st source/drain region, in a channel-length direction view (Fig. 14A-14C).
Reclaim 3, Chung discloses that the 2ⁿᵈ upper corner portion is in a shape in which the 2ⁿᵈ upper corner portion is protruded in at least a vertical direction, in both the channel-width direction view and a channel-length direction view (Fig. 14A-14C).
Reclaim 4, Chung discloses that the 2ⁿᵈ upper corner portion is protruded in a horizontal direction, in the channel-width direction view (Fig. 14A-14C).
Reclaim 5, Chung discloses that the 2ⁿᵈ upper corner portion is protruded in a diagonal direction, in the channel-width direction view (Fig. 14A-14C).
Reclaim 6, Chung discloses that the 2ⁿᵈ upper corner portion is in a shape in which the 2ⁿᵈ upper corner portion is protruded in at least a horizontal direction, in the channel-width direction view (Fig. 14A-14C).
Reclaim 7, Chung discloses that the protrusion comprises p-type impurities or n-type impurities(Fig. 14A-14C).
Reclaim 8, Chung discloses that a contact structure 234/236 connected to the protrusion (Fig. 14A-C).
Reclaim 9, Chung discloses that a width of the 2ⁿᵈ source/drain region 248SD is smaller than a width of the 1st source/drain region 228SD, in a channel-width direction view, and wherein the protrusion is not vertically overlapped by the 2ⁿᵈ source/drain region (Fig. 14A-C).
Regarding claim 10, Chung discloses that a three-dimensional field-effect transistor (3DSFET) device comprising:
a 1st source/drain region 128SD (Fig. 14A-14C); and
a 2ⁿᵈ source/drain region 248SD stacked above the 1st source/drain region 228SD, wherein the 1st source/drain region 228SED has a deformed shape at a 2ⁿᵈ upper corner portion among a 1st upper corner portion and the 2nd upper corner portion opposite to each other, in a channel-width direction view (Fig. 14B-C, note: a deformed shape is not clearly defined yet, therefore, Chung’s element 228SD is considered as a deformed shape).
Reclaim 11, Chung discloses that the 1st source/drain region has a greater height at the 2ⁿᵈ upper corner portion than at the 1st upper corner portion, in the channel- width direction view.
Reclaim 12, Chung discloses that the 1st source/drain region has a greater width at a top surface portion than at a bottom surface portion, in the channel-width direction view.
Reclaim 13, Chung discloses that the 1st source/drain region has a greater width at a top surface portion than at a bottom surface portion, in the channel-width direction view.
Reclaim 14, Chung discloses that the 1st source/drain region has a protrusion on around a center of a top surface of the 1st source/drain region, in a channel-length direction view.
Reclaim 15, Chung discloses that the 2ⁿᵈ upper corner portion comprises p-type impurities or n-type impurities.
Regarding claim 16, Chung discloses that a method of manufacturing three-dimensional field-effect transistor (3DSFET) device, the method comprising:
forming, on a substrate 202, a 1st source/drain region 228SD and a 2ⁿᵈ source/drain region 248SD above the 1st source/drain region 228SD (Fig. 14A-C); and
structuring the 1st source/drain region 228SD such that the 1st source/drain region has a protrusion at a 2ⁿᵈ upper corner portion among a 1st upper corner portion and the 2ⁿᵈ upper corner portion opposite to each other in a channel-width direction view (see modified Fig. 14C above).
Reclaim 17, Chung discloses that a width of the 2ⁿᵈ source/drain region is smaller than a width of the 1st source/drain region, in the channel-width direction view, and wherein the protrusion is not vertically overlapped by the 2ⁿᵈ source/drain region.
Reclaim 20, Chung discloses that the protrusion of the structured 1st source/drain region is in an extended shape in a vertical direction, a horizontal direction and a diagonal direction, in the channel-width direction view (Fig. 14A-C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SU C KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899