DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 08/20/2025, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 20120307236 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the image from the top face of the semiconductor device" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1, upon which claim 5 depends, only recites “collecting illumination exiting the semiconductor device with a camera” and “generating, with an optical system, an image of illumination exiting from a side face of the semiconductor device”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-14, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okura (JP 2008045965 A) in view of Ortner (US 20120307236 A1).
With regards to claims 1, 8-10, 17, and 18 Okura discloses an inspection device and method for inspecting a singulated semiconductor device [0019] comprising:
generating illumination of a wavelength range comprising infrared light [0022];
directing a portion of the illumination through a back face of the semiconductor device at an oblique angle relative to the back face of the semiconductor device [0027] (Fig. 5), wherein the illumination propagates through the semiconductor device toward a side face 2b of the semiconductor device to inspect the side face for one or more defects S (crack) [0029]; and
collecting illumination exiting the semiconductor device with a camera 25 [0029].
Okura does not specifically teach directing a portion of the illumination through a top face of the semiconductor device. Nevertheless, such a modification would have been known and considered obvious, only requiring the configuration shown in Fig. 5 of Okura to be flipped such that the illumination is directed down to the back face of the semiconductor device. Absent some degree of criticality, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Okura with the claimed configuration as a matter of routine design choice.
Okura also does not specifically teach generating, with an optical system, an image of illumination exiting from a side face of the semiconductor device. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Ortner teaches it was known to illuminate a first face of a semiconductor device and generate, with an optical system, an image of illumination exiting from an adjacent face of the semiconductor device (Fig. 2) [0060], wherein such a configuration distinguishes from known crack detection systems by a very high signal-to-noise ratio and allows for a very quick inspection of semiconductor substrates [0032], Therefore, in view of the recited benefits, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Okura with the claimed configuration.
With regards to claims 2 and 14, Okura discloses wherein the camera comprises a lens and a detector [0024].
With regards to claims 3 and 11, Okura discloses wherein the detector comprises one or more sensors 25, wherein the camera images the illumination exiting from the top face of the semiconductor device onto the one or more sensors via the lens [0024, 0028-0029].
With regards to claim 5, Okura does not teach wherein the optical system is configured such that the image captured from the side face of the semiconductor device and the image from the top face of the semiconductor device are simultaneously in focus. However, Okura does teach it was known to provide multiple optical systems to simultaneously image multiple areas of a semiconductor device (Fig. 9) [0039-0042]. Therefore, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Okura with the claimed invention in order to image desired surfaces simultaneously.
With regards to claim 6, Okura does not teach coupling illumination from at least one light source separately to a side face of the semiconductor device and a top face of the semiconductor device. However, Okura does teach it was known to provide multiple light sources 23 to simultaneously image multiple areas of a semiconductor device (Fig. 9) [0039-0042]. Therefore, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Okura with the claimed invention in order to illuminate desired surfaces simultaneously.
With regards to claims 7 and 13, Okura discloses a light guide 21 is positioned between a light source and at least one of a top face or a side face of the semiconductor device.
With regards to claim 12, Okura discloses wherein the at least one light source is arranged such that the illumination exiting from the top face of the semiconductor device is coaxial to the illumination directed to the top face of the semiconductor device (Fig. 3).
With regards to claim 16, Okura does not teach the claimed mirrors. However, those skilled in the art recognize that mirrors were generally well known in the art and would have been considered an obvious matter of design choice. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Okura with the claimed mirrors in order to direct light along a desired path.
Conclusion
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884