DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 16-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 2022/0122907) (“Tang”) in view of Yasukawa et al. (US 2025/0096087) (“Yasukawa”).
With regard to claim 1, figs. 1 and 3 of Tang discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising: a printed circuit board (“package substrate 302 is a PCB”, par [0045]); a chip packing structure (312, 314); and a ball grid array 350 connected between the printed circuit board 302 and the chip packing structure (312, 314), the ball grid array (“semiconductor package 100 may be a BGA semiconductor package”, par [0020]) comprising: first solder balls 105 each having a first lateral size (diameter of 105), and second solder balls each 110 having a second lateral size (length of 110) greater than the first lateral size (diameter of 105), wherein the second solder balls 110 are located at corners 102b of the ball grid array 320, respectively.
Tang does not disclose the second lateral size is equal to or less than a summation of two times of the first lateral size and a distance between adjacent two first solder balls.
However, fig. 25b of Yasukawa discloses the second lateral size (“oval shaped bump”, par [0167]) less than (oval coin-shaped bump are only slightly larger than the circular bump) a summation of two times of the first lateral size and a distance between adjacent two first solder balls (“circular bump”, par [0167]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the corner portions of Tang with the oval coin-shaped bump as taught in Yasukawa in order to reduce the stress acting on the bumps at the corners. See par [0158] of Yasukawa.
With regard to claim 2, figs. 1 and 3 of Tang discloses that each second solder ball 110 occupies at least a corner position 102b of the ball grid array (“BGA”, par [0044]),
Tang does not disclose that each second solder laterally extends along a diagonal direction of the ball grid array.
However, fig. 25b of Yasukawa discloses that each second solder (“bump in the corner”, par [0167]) laterally extends along a diagonal direction (“bump in the corner region of the chip or the package most affected by the stress has the oval shape”, par [0167]) of the ball grid array.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the solder pattern at the corner of Tang with the oval shape as taught in Yasukawa in order to relax the stress of the chip. See par [0188] of Yasukawa.
With regard to claim 3, figs. 1 and 3 of Tang discloses that each second solder ball 110 occupies at least a corner position 102b of the ball grid array (“BGA”, par [0020]), and comprises: a first portion laterally extending along a first direction (110 extending left to right in fig. 1) along a row of the ball grid array (“BGA”, par [0020]); and a second portion (110 extending top to bottom in fig. 1) laterally extending along a second direction along a column of the ball grid array (“BGA”, par [0020]).
With regard to claim 4, figs. 1 and 3 of Tang discloses that each second solder ball 110 partially surrounds a corner first solder ball 105 of the ball grid array (“BGA”, par [0020]), and comprises: a first portion (110 extending left to right in fig. 1) laterally extending along a first direction (left to right in fig. 1) along a row of the ball grid array 100; and a second portion (110 extending top to bottom in fig. 1) laterally extending along a second direction (top to bottom in fig. 1) along a column of the ball grid array 100.
With regard to claim 5, figs. 1 and 3 of Tang discloses that the first solder balls 105 are electrically connected between the printed circuit board 302 and the chip packing structure 312; and the second solder balls 110 are electrically disconnected (“non-critical to function (NCTF) balls”, par [0013]; “NCTF solder balls”, par [0025]) with the printed circuit board 302 or the chip packing structure 312.
With regard to claim 6, figs. 1 and 3 of Tang discloses that the chip packing structure (314, 312) comprises: a substrate 312; at least one chip 314 attached on a first surface of the substrate 312; a conductive wiring structure (“ interposer 312 may also include electronic structures “, par [0047]) embedded in the substrate 312 and electrically connected 318 with the at least one chip 314, wherein the ball grid array 316 is attached to a second surface (bottom of 312) of the substrate 312 opposite to a first side (top of 312), the first solder balls 105 are electrically connected to the conductive wiring structure (“electronic structures”, par [0047]), and the second solder balls 110 are electrically disconnected (“NCTF solder balls”, par [0025]) with the conductive wiring structure (“electronic structures”, par [0047]).
With regard to claim 7, figs. 1 and 3 of Tang discloses that the and the chip packing structure (314, 312) further comprises: an array of ball pads 316 on the second surface (bottom of 312) of the substrate 312, comprising: first ball pads 105 each having a first area (area of 105) and electrically connected to the conductive wiring structure (“electronic structures”, par [0047]), and second ball pads 110 each having a second area (area of 110) and electrically disconnected (“NCTF solder balls”, par [0025]) to the conductive wiring structure, wherein the first area (area of 105) is less (area of 105 less than area of 110) than the second area (area of 110).
With regard to claim 16, figs. 1 and 3 of Tang discloses a chip packing structure (314, 312), comprising: a substrate 312; at least one chip 314 attached on a first surface of the substrate 312; a conductive wiring structure embedded in the substrate 312 and electrically connected with the at least one chip 314; and an array of ball pads on a second surface (bottom of 312) of the substrate 312 opposite to the first surface (top of 312), the array of ball pads (105, 110) comprising: first ball pads 105 each having a first area 105, and second ball pads 110 each having a second area 110 greater than the first area 105, wherein the second ball pads 110 are located at corners of the array of ball pads (105, 110), respectively.
Tang does not disclose the second lateral size of each second ball pad is equal to or less than a summation of two times of the first lateral size of each first ball pad and a distance between adjacent two first ball pads.
However, fig. 25 of Yasukawa discloses the second lateral size of each second ball pad (“oval shaped bump”, par [0167]) is equal to or less than a summation of two times of the first lateral size of each first ball pad (“circular bump”, par [0167]) and a distance between adjacent two first ball pads (“circular bump”, par [0167]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the corner portions of Tang with the oval coin-shaped bump as taught in Yasukawa in order to reduce the stress acting on the bumps at the corners. See par [0158] of Yasukawa.
With regard to claim 17, figs. 1 and 3 of Tang discloses that each second ball pad 110 occupies at least a corner position 102b of the ball grid array (“BGA”, par [0044]),
Tang does not disclose that each second ball pad laterally extends along a diagonal direction of the ball grid array.
However, fig. 25b of Yasukawa discloses that each second ball pad (“bump in the corner”, par [0167]) laterally extends along a diagonal direction (“bump in the corner region of the chip or the package most affected by the stress has the oval shape”, par [0167]) of the ball grid array.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the solder pattern at the corner of Tang with the oval shape as taught in Yasukawa in order to relax the stress of the chip. See par [0188] of Yasukawa.
With regard to claim 18, figs. 1 and 3 of Tang discloses that each second ball pad110 occupies at least a corner position 102b of the array of ball pads (“BGA”, par [0020]), and comprises: a first portion laterally extending along a first direction (110 extending left to right in fig. 1) along a row of the array of ball pads (“BGA”, par [0020]); and a second portion (110 extending top to bottom in fig. 1) laterally extending along a second direction along a column of the array of ball pads (“BGA”, par [0020]).
With regard to claim 19, figs. 1 and 3 of Tang discloses that each second ball pad 110 partially surrounds a corner first solder ball 105 of the array of ball pads (“BGA”, par [0020]), and comprises: a first portion (110 extending left to right in fig. 1) laterally extending along a first direction (left to right in fig. 1) along a row of the array of ball pads 100; and a second portion (110 extending top to bottom in fig. 1) laterally extending along a second direction (top to bottom in fig. 1) along a column of the array of ball pads 100.
With regard to claim 20, figs. 1 and 3 of Tang discloses that the first balls pads 105 are electrically connected between the printed circuit board 302 and the chip packing structure 312; and the second balls pads 110 are electrically disconnected (“non-critical to function (NCTF) balls”, par [0013]; “NCTF solder balls”, par [0025]) with the at least one chip 314 and the conductive wiring structure (“electronic structures”, par [0047]).
With regard to claim 21, Tang does not disclose a first dimension of each second solder ball along a first direction along a row of the ball grid array is approximately equal to a second dimension of each second solder ball along a second direction along a column of the ball grid array.
However, fig. 25b of Yasukawa discloses a first dimension (dimension of oval shaped bump along left to right direction) of each second solder ball (oval shaped bump) along a first direction (left to right in fig. 25b) along a row of the ball grid array is approximately equal to a second dimension (dimension of oval shaped bump along top to bottom) of each second solder ball (oval shaped bump) along a second direction (top to bottom in fig. 25b) along a column of the ball grid array.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the corner portions of Tang with the oval coin-shaped bump as taught in Yasukawa in order to reduce the stress acting on the bumps at the corners. See par [0158] of Yasukawa.
With regard to claim 22, Tang does not disclose that the first dimension of each second solder ball is equal to or less than a summation of two times of a first dimension of each first solder ball along the first direction and a first distance between adjacent two first solder balls along the first direction, and the second dimension of each second solder ball is equal to or less than a summation of two times of a second dimension of each first solder ball along the second direction and a second distance between adjacent two second solder balls along the second direction.
However, fig. 25 of Yasukawa discloses that the first dimension (dimension of oval shaped bump along left to right direction) of each second solder ball (oval shaped bump) is less than a summation of two times of a first dimension of each first solder ball (circular bump) along the first direction (left to right) and a first distance between adjacent two first solder balls (circular bump) along the first direction (left to right), and the second dimension (dimension of aval shaped bump along top to bottom in fig. 25b) of each second solder ball (oval shaped bump) is less than a summation of two times of a second dimension of each first solder ball (circular bump) along the second direction (top to bottom) and a second distance between adjacent two second solder balls (oval shaped bump) along the second direction (top to bottom).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the corner portions of Tang with the oval coin-shaped bump as taught in Yasukawa in order to reduce the stress acting on the bumps at the corners. See par [0158] of Yasukawa.
With regard to claim 23, Tang does not disclose a first dimension of each second ball pad along a first direction along a row of the array of ball pads is approximately equal to a second dimension of each second ball pads along a second direction along a column of the array of ball pad.
However, fig. 25b of Yasukawa discloses a first dimension (dimension of oval shaped bump along left to right direction) of each second ball pad (oval shaped bump) along a first direction (left to right in fig. 25b) along a row of the array of ball pads is approximately equal to a second dimension (dimension of oval shaped bump along top to bottom) of each second solder ball (oval shaped bump) of each second ball pads (oval shaped bump) along a second direction (top to bottom in fig. 25b) along a column of the array of ball pad.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the corner portions of Tang with the oval coin-shaped bump as taught in Yasukawa in order to reduce the stress acting on the bumps at the corners. See par [0158] of Yasukawa.
With regard to claim 24, Tang does not disclose that the first dimension of each second ball pad is equal to or less than a summation of two times of a first dimension of each first ball pad along the first direction and a first distance between adjacent two first ball pads along the first direction, and the second dimension of each second ball pads is equal to or less than a summation of two times of a second dimension of each first ball pads along the second direction and a second distance between adjacent two second ball pads along the second direction.
However, fig. 25 of Yasukawa discloses that the first dimension (dimension of oval shaped bump along left to right direction) of each second ball pads (oval shaped bump) is less than a summation of two times of a first dimension of each first ball pads (circular bump) along the first direction (left to right) and a first distance between adjacent two first ball pads (circular bump) along the first direction (left to right), and the second dimension (dimension of aval shaped bump along top to bottom in fig. 25b) of each second ball pads (oval shaped bump) is less than a summation of two times of a second dimension of each first ball pads (circular bump) along the second direction (top to bottom) and a second distance between adjacent two second ball pads (oval shaped bump) along the second direction (top to bottom).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the corner portions of Tang with the oval coin-shaped bump as taught in Yasukawa in order to reduce the stress acting on the bumps at the corners. See par [0158] of Yasukawa.
With regard to claim 25, Tang does not disclose a first dimension of each second ball pad along a first direction along a row of the array of ball pads is approximately equal to a second dimension of each second ball pads along a second direction along a column of the array of ball pad.
However, fig. 25b of Yasukawa discloses a first dimension (dimension of oval shaped bump along left to right direction) of each second ball pad (oval shaped bump) along a first direction (left to right in fig. 25b) along a row of the array of ball pads is approximately equal to a second dimension (dimension of oval shaped bump along top to bottom) of each second solder ball (oval shaped bump) of each second ball pads (oval shaped bump) along a second direction (top to bottom in fig. 25b) along a column of the array of ball pad.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the corner portions of Tang with the oval coin-shaped bump as taught in Yasukawa in order to reduce the stress acting on the bumps at the corners. See par [0158] of Yasukawa.
With regard to claim 26, Tang does not disclose that the first dimension of each second ball pad is equal to or less than a summation of two times of a first dimension of each first ball pad along the first direction and a first distance between adjacent two first ball pads along the first direction, and the second dimension of each second ball pads is equal to or less than a summation of two times of a second dimension of each first ball pads along the second direction and a second distance between adjacent two second ball pads along the second direction.
However, fig. 25 of Yasukawa discloses that the first dimension (dimension of oval shaped bump along left to right direction) of each second ball pads (oval shaped bump) is less than a summation of two times of a first dimension of each first ball pads (circular bump) along the first direction (left to right) and a first distance between adjacent two first ball pads (circular bump) along the first direction (left to right), and the second dimension (dimension of aval shaped bump along top to bottom in fig. 25b) of each second ball pads (oval shaped bump) is less than a summation of two times of a second dimension of each first ball pads (circular bump) along the second direction (top to bottom) and a second distance between adjacent two second ball pads (oval shaped bump) along the second direction (top to bottom).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the corner portions of Tang with the oval coin-shaped bump as taught in Yasukawa in order to reduce the stress acting on the bumps at the corners. See par [0158] of Yasukawa.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 2022/0122907) (“Tang”), Yasukawa et al. (US 2025/0096087) (“Yasukawa”), and Hsu (US 2010/0052148) (“Hsu”).
With regard to claim 8, Tang and Yasukawa do not disclose that a first material of the first solder balls is different from a second material of the second solder balls.
However, fig. 2G’ of Hsu discloses that a first material (“Sn/Ag”, par [0037]) of the first solder balls 25 is different from a second material (“Sn/Pb”, par [0037]) of the second solder balls 25’.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the soler patterns and solder ball of Tang with the different materials as taught in Hsu in order to that the stresses on the solder bumps are balanced, thereby improving the reliability of the package structure. See par [0037] of Hsu.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 2022/0122907) (“Tang”), Yasukawa et al. (US 2025/0096087) (“Yasukawa”), Hsu (US 2010/0052148) (“Hsu”), and Patel et al. (US 2015/0195910) (“Patel”).
With regard to claim 9, figs 1 and 3 of Tang discloses that the first material 105 has a first mechanical strength and a first thermal expansion coefficient; and the second material 110 has a second mechanical strength
Tang, Yasukawa, and Hsu do not disclose that the second material has a second mechanical strength greater than the first mechanical strength and a second thermal expansion coefficient less than the first thermal expansion coefficient.
However, fig. 8 of Patel discloses that the second material 808 has a second mechanical strength greater than the first mechanical strength (“spacer members provide mechanical strength to the component/board assembly”, par [0038]) and a second thermal expansion coefficient less (“spacer members provide mechanical strength to the component/board assembly”, par [0038]) than the first thermal expansion coefficient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the solder pattern at the corners of Tang with the spacer members of Patel in order to provide mechanical strength to the board assembly. See par [0038] of Patel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN TZU-HUNG LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893