Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group (II) and Species (B), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12 December 2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group (II) and Species (B) in the reply filed on 12 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 11, Applicant states at least one thermal conductive structure has a thermal conductive coefficient greater than 1. It is unclear to one of ordinary skill in the art what unit of measure or calculation is used to find a thermal conductive coefficient. Applicant fails to state in claim 11, what unit of measure represents a thermal conductive coefficient of 1, rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 12 is rejected for its dependency on claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marc Huesgen et al. (US 2022/0285286 A1; hereinafter “Huesgen”).
Regarding Claim 1, Huesgen teaches a chip packaging structure, comprising:
a substrate (202, Fig. 3, para [0027] describes a substrate 202), comprising:
a signal transmitting wiring structure embedded in the substrate (ST, annotated Fig. 3, para [0028] describes a plurality of interconnects 221 in the substrate 202 wherein para [0101] describes wherein an interconnect may be configured to provide an electrical path for a signal as depicted by signal transmitting wiring structure ST of annotated Fig. 3 connected to integrated circuits), and
a thermal transmitting wiring structure embedded in the substrate (TT, annotated Fig. 3, para [0028] describes a plurality of interconnects 221 in the substrate 202 wherein para [0036] describes wherein an interconnect may be configured to dissipate heat as depicted by thermal transmitting wiring structure TT of annotated Fig. 3 connected to a through via);
a first chip on the substrate and electrically connected with the signal transmitting wiring structure (204, Fig. 3, para [0027] describes an integrated device 204 on the substrate 202 wherein first chip 204 is electrically connected to signal transmitting wiring structure ST of annotated Fig. 3); and
at least one thermal conductive structure on the substrate (211, Fig. 3, para [0031] describes a plurality of through mold vias 211 configured to help dissipate heat wherein the plurality of through mold vias comprise a thermal conductive structure), in thermal contact with the thermal transmitting wiring structure (211 and TT, annotated Fig. 3, para [0030] describes wherein the thermal conductive structure 211 is coupled to interconnects 211 specifically a thermal transmitting wiring structure TT of the interconnects 211 as shown in annotated Fig. 3), and laterally surrounding the first chip (Fig. 3 and Fig. 11 depict wherein thermal conductive structures 211 laterally surround the first chip 204).
Regarding Claim 2, Huesgen teaches the chip packaging structure of claim 1, further comprising:
a mold compound layer on the substrate and covering the first chip (209, Fig. 3, para [0032] describes an encapsulating layer 209 comprised of a mold material at least partially covering the first chip 204 on the substrate 202), wherein the at least one thermal conductive structure is embedded in the mold compound layer (211, Fig. 3, para [0032] describes wherein mold compound layer 209 may encapsulate at least one thermal conductive structure 211); and
a thermal conductive cover on the mold compound layer and in thermal contact with the at least one thermal conductive structure (211, Fig. 3, para [0033] describes a metal layer 210 covering a top surface of the mold compound layer 209 and coupled to thermal conductive structures 211).
Regarding Claim 3, Huesgen teaches the chip packaging structure of claim 1, further comprising:
a ball grid array on a side of substrate opposite to the first chip and the at least one thermal conductive structure (230, Fig. 3, para [0028] describes a plurality of solder interconnects 230 which may form a ball grid array on a bottom portion of the substrate 202), the ball grid array comprising:
a plurality of signal solder balls in contact with the signal transmitting wiring structure (SSB, annotated Fig. 3 II and Fig. 14C, para [0028] describes wherein a plurality of the solder interconnects of the ball grid array 230 may be coupled to the plurality of interconnects 221 wherein solder balls SSB coupled to signal transmitting wiring structure ST of annotated Fig. 3 comprise a plurality of signal solder balls further wherein Fig. 14C depicts the layered contact structure of interconnects 221), and
at least one thermal solder ball in contact with the thermal transmitting wiring structure (TSB, annotated Fig. 3 II depicts wherein at least one thermal solder ball TSB is in contact with the thermal wiring structure TT).
Regarding Claim 4, Huesgen teaches the chip packaging structure of claim 2, wherein the at least one thermal conductive structure comprises:
a plurality of thermal conductive blocks each vertically penetrating through the mold compound layer and comprising a top surface in contact with the thermal conductive cover and a bottom surface in contact with a thermal pad connected with the thermal transmitting wiring structure (211, Fig. 3, para [0031] describes a plurality of through mold vias 211 of a thermal conductive structure wherein each through mold via comprises a thermal conductive block vertically penetrating through the mold compound layer 209 and comprising a top surface in contact with thermal conductive cover 210 and a bottom surface in contact with a thermal pad TP from annotated Fig. 3 II connected to the thermal transmitting wiring structure TT from annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 6, Huesgen teaches the chip packaging structure of claim 1, further comprising:
a second chip on the substrate and outside the at least one thermal conductive structure (206, Fig. 3, para [0027] describes a second integrated circuit device 206 which can be seen located outside of the thermal conductive structure comprised of through vias 211 in Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 8, Huesgen teaches the chip packaging structure of claim 6, wherein:
the first chip comprises at least one of a micro processing chip, a logic control chip, a power management chip, a driver chip, and an analog chip (204, Fig. 3, para [0037] and para [0038] describes wherein a first chip 204 may comprise a processor, power amplifier, a system on a chip, or an integrated circuit die which may be configured to perform logic operations such as in a logic control chip); and
the second chip comprises at least one of a memory chip and a sensing chip (206, Fig. 3, para [0037] states wherein integrated device 206 may be a memory integrated device or a sensing chip such as a MEMS or NEMS device).
Regarding Claim 9, Huesgen teaches the chip packaging structure of claim 1, further comprising:
a third chip on the substrate and beside the first chip, and being laterally surrounded by the at least one thermal conductive structure (208, Fig. 3, para [0027] describes a third integrated device 208 comprising a third chip on the substrate 202 beside the first chip 204 and laterally surrounded on at least one side by thermal conductive structure comprised of through vias 211).
Regarding Claim 10, Huesgen teaches the chip packaging structure of claim 9, wherein:
a portion of the at least one thermal conductive structure is located between the third chip and the first chip (211, Fig. 3 depicts wherein at least a portion of the at least one thermal conductive structure is located between the third chip 208 and first chip 204 as depicted by through via 211 between first chip 204 and third chip 208).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marc Huesgen et al. (US 2022/0285286 A1; hereinafter “Huesgen”) in view of the following arguments:
Regarding Claim 5, Huesgen discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
Huesgen fails to explicitly disclose the chip packaging structure of claim 4, wherein: a ratio between a first lateral area of each thermal conductive block and a second lateral area of the first chip is in a range between about 1/20 and about 1/10.
However, Huesgen teaches a chip packaging structure, wherein a thermal conductive block may have a size, shape, spacing, and number of blocks that varies with different implementations of the chip packaging structure (211, Fig. 11, para [0055]). The disclosure of Huesgen further displays in Fig. 11 wherein a width of a first chip (204, Fig. 11) is approximately three to five thermal conductive blocks wide in both a first direction and a perpendicular second direction (211, Fig. 11) wherein a resulting lateral area of a first chip may be approximately 9 to 25 times greater than a lateral area of a thermal conductive block.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try different widths and sizes of thermal conductive blocks resulting in a ratio between a first lateral area of each thermal conductive block and a second lateral area of a first chip in a range between about 1 to 20 and about 1 to 10 in order to provide the advantage of reducing the number of thermal conductive blocks needed to a minimum amount in order to provide adequate thermal dissipation while also providing effective EMI shielding (Huesgen, para [0055]) see MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A) and MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A)(B).
Regarding Claim 7, Huesgen discloses all the limitations of claim 6.
Huesgen fails to explicitly disclose the chip packaging structure of claim 6, wherein: a first operating power of the first chip is greater than a second operating power of the second chip.
However, Huesgen teaches a chip packaging structure, wherein a first chip may comprise a processor, power amplifier, a system on a chip, or an integrated circuit die which may be configured to perform logic operations (204, Fig. 3, para [0037] and para [0038]) and a second chip may comprise a memory chip or a sensing device such as a MEMS or NEMS device (206, Fig. 3, para [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention try different devices for a first chip and a second chip resulting in a first chip which has a greater operating power than a second chip in order to provide the advantage of enabling multiple different device configurations in one chip packaging structure which may provide a first chip to be used in combination with a second chip in a chip packaging structure (Huesgen, para [0037] and para [0038]), further providing the well-known advantage of simplifying the manufacturing process and diversifying the applications to which a chip packaging structure may be used.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marc Huesgen et al. (US 2022/0285286 A1; hereinafter “Huesgen”) in view of Ki Jun Sung et al. (US 2018/0175011 A1; hereinafter “Sung”)
Regarding Claim 11, Huesgen discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Huesgen discloses wherein the at least one thermal conductive structure is configured to help dissipate heat (211, Fig. 3, para [0031]).
Huesgen fails to explicitly disclose the chip packaging structure of claim 1, wherein: a material of the at least one thermal conductive structure has a thermal conductive coefficient greater than 1.
However, Sung teaches a similar chip packaging structure, wherein:
a material of the at least one thermal conductive structure has a thermal conductive coefficient greater than 1 (403, Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, para [0030] describes through vias 403 comprised of a metal material having a thermal conductivity of about 385 W/mK resulting in a thermal conductive coefficient greater than 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huesgen with Sung to further disclose a chip packaging structure wherein a material of a thermal conductive structure has a conductive coefficient greater than 1 in order to provide the well-known advantage of providing a thermal conductive structure comprised of a metal which may dissipate heat from an integrated circuit chip efficiently and effectively preventing overheating and undesirable effects in the chip.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Huesgen and Sung teach the chip packaging structure of claim 11, wherein:
the material is one of a metal, a ceramic material, or a silicon material (403, Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, para [0030] describes through vias 403 may be comprised of a metal material such as copper).
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marc Huesgen et al. (US 2022/0285286 A1; hereinafter “Huesgen”) in view of Eungkyu Kim et al. (US 2022/0262699 A1; hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding Claim 13, Huesgen discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Huesgen fails to explicitly disclose wherein: a ratio between a first wiring width of the thermal transmitting wiring structure and a second wiring width of the signal transmitting wiring structure is in a range between about 1.5 to about 2.
However, Kim teaches a similar chip packaging structure in the disclosure of their invention, wherein a portion of a thermal transmitting wiring structure (34, Fig. 3) and a portion of a signal transmitting wiring structure (33, Fig. 3) may be characterized by a width that decreases as the wiring vertically descends. The disclosure displays in Fig. 3 wherein said width of a thermal transmitting wiring structure and signal transmitting wiring structure at a top portion appears to be 1.5 to about 2 times the size of a width of the decreasing section vertically descending into the wiring substrate. The disclosure further displays in Fig. 3 thermal transmitting wiring structures and signal transmitting wiring structures of varying widths throughout the wiring structure of the invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Huesgen with Kim to try different widths of thermal transmitting wiring structures and signal transmitting wiring structures while reducing the width of a thermal transmitting wiring structure, resulting in a ratio of a first wiring width of a thermal transmitting wiring structure to a second wiring width of a signal transmitting wiring structure in order to provide the advantage of providing landing pads for via plugs of a wiring layer which enable a electrical and thermal connection reducing the risk of current and thermal leakage into surrounding layers and further reducing the size of a thermal wiring structure to provide the advantage of providing separation between thermal transfer wiring and signal wiring and enabling additional electrical components to be embedded into a wiring layer, such as a semiconductor chip (Kim, para [0014] and para [0015]) see MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A) and MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A)(B).
Regarding Claim 20, Huesgen teaches a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a chip packaging structure (300, Fig. 3, para [0039] describes an integrated circuit package 300), comprising:
a substrate (202, Fig. 3, para [0027] describes a substrate 202), comprising:
a signal transmitting wiring structure embedded in the substrate (ST, annotated Fig. 3, para [0028] describes a plurality of interconnects 221 in the substrate 202 wherein para [0101] describes wherein an interconnect may be configured to provide an electrical path for a signal as depicted by signal transmitting wiring structure ST of annotated Fig. 3 connected to integrated circuits), and
a thermal transmitting wiring structure embedded in the substrate (TT, annotated Fig. 3, para [0028] describes a plurality of interconnects 221 in the substrate 202 wherein para [0036] describes wherein an interconnect may be configured to dissipate heat as depicted by thermal transmitting wiring structure TT of annotated Fig. 3 connected to a through via);
a first chip on the substrate and electrically connected with the signal transmitting wiring structure (204, Fig. 3, para [0027] describes an integrated device 204 on the substrate 202 wherein first chip 204 is electrically connected to signal transmitting wiring structure ST of annotated Fig. 3); and
at least one thermal conductive structure on the substrate (211, Fig. 3, para [0031] describes a plurality of through mold vias 211 configured to help dissipate heat wherein the plurality of through mold vias comprise a thermal conductive structure), in thermal contact with the thermal transmitting wiring structure (211 and TT, annotated Fig. 3, para [0030] describes wherein the thermal conductive structure 211 is coupled to interconnects 211 specifically a thermal transmitting wiring structure TT of the interconnects 211 as shown in annotated Fig. 3), and laterally surrounding the first chip (Fig. 3 and Fig. 11 depict wherein thermal conductive structures 211 laterally surround the first chip 204); and
a ball grid array (230, Fig. 3, para [0028] describes a plurality of solder interconnects 230 which may form a ball grid array on a bottom portion of the substrate 202), comprising:
a plurality of signal solder balls in contact with the signal transmitting wiring structure (SSB, annotated Fig. 3 II and Fig. 14C, para [0028] describes wherein a plurality of the solder interconnects of the ball grid array 230 may be coupled to the plurality of interconnects 221 wherein solder balls SSB coupled to signal transmitting wiring structure ST of annotated Fig. 3 comprise a plurality of signal solder balls further wherein Fig. 14C depicts the layered contact structure of interconnects 221), and
at least one thermal solder ball in contact with the thermal transmitting wiring structure (TSB, annotated Fig. 3 II depicts wherein at least one thermal solder ball TSB is in contact with the thermal wiring structure TT).
Huesgen fails to explicitly disclose wherein the semiconductor structure comprises a printed circuit board.
However, Kim teaches a similar semiconductor structure, comprising a printed circuit board (30, Fig. 3, para [0014] describes wherein wiring structure 30 may include a printed circuit board); and a ball grid array connected between the printed circuit board and the chip packaging structure (41 and 42, Fig. 3, para [0020] describes solder balls 41 and 42 forming a ball grid array between a printed circuit board in the wiring structure 30 and a chip packaging structure 61 and 71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huesgen with Kim to further disclose a semiconductor structure comprising a printed circuit board and a ball grid array comprised between a printed circuit board and a chip packaging structure in order to provide the well-known advantage of enabling a chip packaging structure to be coupled to a printed circuit board providing external connections enabling communication between device components and power to be transmitted to a chip so that it may function as intended.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER MICHAEL MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898