DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 16, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. KR10-2022-0061798 (KR reference provided in the IDS; for purpose of translation and citation the office is using US Pub 2023/0007796) in view of Park US Pub 2019/0334114 in view of Wang US Pub 2023/0164931.
Regarding claim 1, Ahn teaches
A display device (figures 4-5, 6b)comprising:
a display module (element 120); and
a support plate (element 410) disposed under the display module, the support plate including:
a flat portion (figure 5a, element 411 corresponding to element 121 and 510, which is flat relative; see annotated figure below);
a flexible portion (figure 5a, element 411 that is corresponding to 122, 123 and elements 520, 530, extending from the flat portion) which extends from the flat portion and folded (as seen in figure 5a), a portion of the flexible portion being disposed under the flat portion (as seen in figure 5a, portion of the flexible portion under the flat portion); and
a plurality of protruding bars (element 411, figs 5-6, similar to at least present application fig 10, PRB) which protrude downward from the flexible portion,
wherein a plurality of slits (slits between the said bars, fig 6b) is defined in an upper surface of the flexible portion.
Ahn does not teach a plurality of grooves is defined in an upper surface of the flexible portion and overlaps the plurality of protruding bars and the plurality of protruding bars are unitary with the flexible portion; and wherein in an extending direction of each of the plurality of protrusion bars, a length of each of the plurality of protrusion bars is less than a width of the flexible portion.
Park in similar application teaches a support plate (element 1440) including plurality of grooves (figure 15 and 17) is defined in an upper surface of the flexible portion (the flexible portion in figure 15 being the corresponding region of FR of element 1440) and overlaps the plurality of protruding bars (as seen in annotated figure 15, the protruding bars are similar to present application figure 12), wherein the plurality of protruding bars are unitary with the flexible portion of the support plate (as seen in annotated drawing of Park, the bars as indicated as same as the flexible portion of the support plate).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the plurality of groove defined in the upper surface of the flexible portion, protruding bars made of unitary with the flexible portion, and making the protruding bars overlap with the flexible portion and overlaps the plurality of the protruding bars as taught by Park with the support plate including the plurality of the protruding bars in the flexible portion of Ahn, such modification will provide the desired level of flexibility and control of the curvature based on the usage of additional grooves and/or slits and provide easy assembly due to one unitary component compare to multiple parts. Furthermore, as seen between at least figures 14-15 of Park, using either slit or a groove/protruding bar is an interchangeable feature in a foldable display device.
Wang in similar field of flexible display device teaches a support plate (element 20, figure 1-2) including plurality of protruding bars (as seen in figure 2 and 4, the pattern area of region element 201 and 203) such that Wang teaches in an extending direction of each of the plurality of protrusion bars, a length of each of the plurality of protrusion bars is less than a width of the flexible portion (as seen in figure 2, the region of element 203 such that the pattern area which includes the protrusion bars is less than the flexible portion (region of element 201)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the plurality of protruding bars as taught by Ahn as modified by Park such that in an extending direction of each of the plurality of protrusion bars, a length of each of the plurality of protrusion bars is less than a width of the flexible portion as taught by Wang, in other words, adjusting the length of the plurality of protrusion bars as taught by Wang’s region of 203, figure 2, such modification will provide better bending rigidity is achieved and thus avoiding fracture failure due to excessive local force and better support property is improved (paragraph 117 Wang).
Regarding claim 2, Ahn as modified by Park teaches,
The flexible portion is more flexible than the flat portion (as seen in figure 5a, the flexible portion is combination of 122 and 123 region which is more flexible than the flat portion, since portion of the flat portion does not rotate around the element 420).
Regarding claim 3, Ahn as modified by Park teaches,
wherein the plurality of protruding bars (element 411, figures 4a, first direction being horizontal axis from element 412 to 411 is indicated) is arranged in a first direction and extend in a second direction (figure 4a, second axis being the length of the rotating element 420, in other words along the rotating axis and in and out of the page) crossing the first direction, and the flexible portion is folded about a rotational axis (figures 4-6) extending in the second direction.
Regarding claim 4, Ahn as modified by Park teaches,
wherein the plurality of protruding bars is spaced apart from opposite sides of the flexible portion opposite to each other in the second direction (as seen in at least figure 4a-4b 411 spaced apart, similar to PRB of present application figure 10).
Regarding claim 6, Ahn as modified by Park teaches,
wherein each of the plurality of protruding bars has a greater thickness (as seen in at least figure 5a, the thickness of the bars 411 is greater than at least region of 412) than a thickness of the flexible portion in a third direction perpendicular to a plane defined by the first and second directions.
Regarding claim 8, Ahn as modified by Park teaches,
a gear (figures 4-6, element 420 similar to present application and as claimed) adjacent to a bending portion defined as a folded portion of the flexible portion and engaged with protruding bars (figures 6a gear 420 and bars engaged) which protrude from the bending portion among the plurality of protruding bars, and the gear rotates about the rotational axis (figures 4-6).
Regarding claim 16, Ahn as modified by Park teaches,
wherein the plurality of grooves extends into the plurality of protruding bars (modified structure of Ahn as modified by Park, such that Park figure 15 shows the groove extending into the bars similar to present application fig 12).
Regarding claim 18, Ahn as modified by Park teaches,
Wherein the plurality of groove and the plurality of protruding bars extend to opposite sides of the flexible portion (modified structure of Ahn as modified by Park, such that Park figure 15 shows the groove and the bars extending opposite sides of the flexible portion similar to present application fig 12).
Regarding claim 20, Ahn teaches
A display device (figures 4-5, 6b)comprising:
a display module (element 120); and
a support plate (element 410) disposed under the display module; and
a plurality of protruding bars (element 411, figs 5-6, similar to at least present application fig 10, PRB) which protrude downward the flexible portion of the support plate,
Ahn does not teach a plurality of grooves defined in an upper surface of the portion of the support plate; wherein the plurality of grooves extends into the plurality of protruding bars and the plurality of protruding bars are unitary with the flexible portion; and wherein in an extending direction of each of the plurality of protrusion bars, a length of each of the plurality of protrusion bars is less than a width of the flexible portion.
Park in similar application teaches a support plate (element 1440) including plurality of grooves (figure 15 and 17) is defined in an upper surface of the flexible portion (the flexible portion in figure 15 being the corresponding region of FR of element 1440) and overlaps the plurality of protruding bars (as seen in annotated figure 15, the protruding bars are similar to present application figure 12), and wherein the plurality of grooves extends into the plurality of protruding bars (Park figure 15 shows the groove extending into the bars similar to present application fig 12), wherein the plurality of protruding bars are unitary with a flexible portion of the support plate (as seen in annotated drawing of Park, the bars as indicated as same as the flexible portion of the support plate and the top being the flexible portion similar to present application’s figure 12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the plurality of groove defined in the upper surface of the flexible portion and overlaps the plurality of the protruding bars, protruding bars made of unitary with the flexible portion and the grooves extends into the plurality of protruding bars as taught by Park with the support plate including the plurality of the protruding bars in the flexible portion of Ahn, such modification will render Ahn's device such that the a plurality of protruding bars which protrude downward a portion of the support plate, and overlap the plurality of grooves defined in the upper surface of the portion of the support plate and the grooves extends into the protruding bars, such modification will provide the desired level of flexibility and control of the curvature based on the usage of additional grooves and/or slits and provide easy assembly due to one unitary component compare to multiple parts. Furthermore, as seen between at least figures 14-15 of Park, using either slit or a groove/protruding bar is an interchangeable feature in a foldable display device.
Wang in similar field of flexible display device teaches a support plate (element 20, figure 1-2) including plurality of protruding bars (as seen in figure 2 and 4, the pattern area of region element 201 and 203) such that Wang teaches in an extending direction of each of the plurality of protrusion bars, a length of each of the plurality of protrusion bars is less than a width of the flexible portion (as seen in figure 2, the region of element 203 such that the pattern area which includes the protrusion bars is less than the flexible portion (region of element 201)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the plurality of protruding bars as taught by Ahn as modified by Park such that in an extending direction of each of the plurality of protrusion bars, a length of each of the plurality of protrusion bars is less than a width of the flexible portion as taught by Wang, in other words, adjusting the length of the plurality of protrusion bars as taught by Wang’s region of 203, figure 2, such modification will provide better bending rigidity is achieved and thus avoiding fracture failure due to excessive local force and better support property is improved (paragraph 117 Wang).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. KR10-2022-0061798 (KR reference provided in the IDS; for purpose of translation and citation the office is using US Pub 2023/0007796) in view of Park US Pub 2019/0334114 in view of Wang US Pub 2023/0164931 further in view of Seo US Pub 20180103552.
Regarding claim 9,
Ahn as modified teaches the support plate including the plurality of protruding bars sliding along the housing in open and closed configuration.
Ahn as modified does not teach the use of plurality of link bars disposed on opposite sides of the plurality of protruding bars opposite to each other in the second direction.
Seo in similar field of foldable display device teaches a plurality of link bars (element 210/122 fig 11) disposed on opposite sides of the supporting plate including the bars (bar being what is illustrated in figure 10 the opening, such that the link bars are on opposite sides) to each other in the second direction.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the plurality of link bars as taught by Seo such that they are position on opposite sides of the plurality of protruding bars opposite to each other in the second direction of Ahn as modified, such modification will ensure the supporting plate including the protruding bars smoothly slide along the predetermined path and thereby avoiding an accidently disengage as the display device is operated between the extended/open or retracted/closed position.
Regarding claim 10, Ahn as modified by Park and Seo teaches,
wherein the plurality of link bars protrudes outward (Ahn as modified, specifically Seo as seen in figure 11 of Seo, element 210 outwardly into the grooves 122) from the flexible portion.
Regarding claim 11, Ahn as modified by Park and Seo teaches,
further comprising: a first case (figure 11 of Seo, side of 510 accommodates display and the support; figure 1a-b of Ahn two housing operating with respect to one another and extending the support plate and the display module) which accommodates the display module and the support plate;
guide rails (element 122 of Seo) disposed on inner surfaces of the first case, the inner surfaces facing each other in the second direction; and
a second case (figure 11 of Seo the opposite side of the housing extending; figure 1a-b of Ahn two housing operating with respect to one another and extending the support plate and the display module) connected to the display module and the support plate and coupled to the first case, wherein the first case moves toward or away from the second case in the first direction (as seen in figure 11 and 1a-b operation of Seo), and the plurality of link bars is coupled to the guide rails and moves along the guide rails (the modified structure of Ahn such that the link bars are coupled to the guide rails to move the support plate).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. KR10-2022-0061798 (KR reference provided in the IDS; for purpose of translation and citation the office is using US Pub 2023/0007796) in view of Park US Pub 2019/0334114 in view of Wang US Pub 2023/0164931 further in view of Seo US Pub 20180103552 and Lee et al. US pub 2020/0313112.
Regarding claim 13,
Ahn as modified by Park and Seo teaches the guide rail as described in claim 11.
Ahn as modified by Park and Seo does not explicitly teach the detail of the guide rails includes: a first rail which extends in the first direction; a second rail which extends in the first direction and disposed under the first rail; and a curved rail which extends from one side of the first rail to one side of the second rail. However, providing a guide rail that is substantially C shape to route along the entire length of the display module and/or support plate is not new.
Lee in similar field of foldable display device teaches each of the guide rails (figures 9 and 13, element GG) includes: a first rail (element EX1, fig 9) which extends in the first direction; a second rail (element EX2) which extends in the first direction and disposed under the first rail; and a curved rail (CVP, figure 9) which extends from one side of the first rail to one side of the second rail.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the guide rail shape as describe by Lee as the guide rail of Ahn as modified such that the each of the guide rails include a first rail which extends in the first direction; a second rail which extends in the first direction and disposed under the first rail; and a curved rail which extends from one side of the first rail to one side of the second rail, such modification will ensure that the display module and/or support plate stays within the rotation movement as the device is being operated(Paragraph 139 Lee) thus preventing unwanted damage.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. KR10-2022-0061798 (KR reference provided in the IDS; for purpose of translation and citation the office is using US Pub 2023/0007796) in view of Park US Pub 2019/0334114 further in view of Zhang et al. US Pub 2024/0206281.
Regarding claim 14,
Ahn as modified by Park teaches plurality of adhesive layers (figure 3, elements 310, 330, 350, 370, 390; paragraph 81) provided between different layers.
Ahn does not teach a first adhesive layer disposed between the display module and the flat portion; and a second adhesive layer disposed between the display module and the flexible portion, the second adhesive layer having a modulus different from a modulus of the first adhesive layer.
Zhang in similar field of foldable display device teaches a first adhesive layer (figure 1-2, element 22 is the adhesive layer such that the first adhesive layer is element 222 provided between flat portion and the display module) disposed between the display module and the flat portion; and a second adhesive layer (figure 1-2, second adhesive layer being element 211 disposed in between display module and the flexible portion) disposed between the display module and the flexible portion, the second adhesive layer having a modulus different from a modulus of the first adhesive layer (as described in paragraphs 44 the elasticity modulus are different).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the first adhesive layer and second adhesive layer and the configuration as claimed and taught by Zhang such that the first adhesive layer disposed between the display module and the flat portion; and a second adhesive layer disposed between the display module and the flexible portion, the second adhesive layer having a modulus different from a modulus of the first adhesive layer is provided in Ahn such modification will provide the desired level of adhering in the flat and flexible portion without damaging/abnormal the display module (paragraph 44).
Regarding claim 15, Ahn as modified teaches,
Wherein the second adhesive layer has a lower modulus than a modulus of the first adhesive (as recited in paragraph 44 of Zhang, the second adhesive is more flexible than the first adhesive (221), therefore the second adhesive layer has lower modulus than the first adhesive, similar to present application "second adhesive layer ADH2 may be more flexible than the first adhesive layer ADH1" paragraph 143 of specification).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. KR10-2022-0061798 (KR reference provided in the IDS; for purpose of translation and citation the office is using US Pub 2023/0007796) in view of Seo US Pub 20180103552 in view of Park US Pub 2019/0334114 in view of Wang US Pub 2023/0164931.
Regarding claim 19, Ahn teaches
A display device (figures 4-5, 6b)comprising:
a display module (element 120); and
a support plate (element 410) disposed under the display module, the support plate including:
a flat portion (figure 5a, element 411 corresponding to element 121 and 510, which is flat relative; see annotated figure below);
a flexible portion (figure 5a, element 411 that is corresponding to 122, 123 and elements 520, 530, extending from the flat portion) which extends from the flat portion and folded (as seen in figure 5a) about a rotational axis (rotation axis about the gear 420) extending in a direction, a portion of the flexible portion being disposed under the flat portion (as seen in figure 5a, portion of the flexible portion under the flat portion); and
a plurality of protruding bars (element 411, figs 5-6, similar to at least present application fig 10, PRB) which protrude downward from the flexible portion and extends in the direction (figure 4a-b);
Ahn does not teach the use of a plurality of link bar disposed on opposite sides of the plurality of protruding bars opposite to each other in the direction and the plurality of protruding bars are unitary with the flexible portion; and wherein in an extending direction of each of the plurality of protrusion bars, a length of each of the plurality of protrusion bars is less than a width of the flexible portion.
Seo in similar field of foldable display device teaches a plurality of link bars (element 210/122 fig 11) disposed on opposite sides of the supporting plate including the bars (bar being what is illustrated in figure 10 the opening, such that the link bars are on opposite sides) to each other in the direction.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the plurality of link bars as taught by Seo such that they are position on opposite sides of the plurality of protruding bars opposite to each other in the direction of Ahn, such modification will ensure the supporting plate including the protruding bars smoothly slide along the predetermined path and thereby avoiding an accidently disengage as the display device is operated between the extended/open or retracted/closed position.
Park in similar application teaches a support plate (element 1440) including plurality of protruding bars (as seen in annotated figure 15, the protruding bars are similar to present application figure 12), wherein the plurality of protruding bars are unitary with a flexible portion of the support plate (as seen in annotated drawing of Park, the bars as indicated as same as the flexible portion of the support plate and the top being the flexible portion similar to present application’s figure 12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made make the protruding bars and the flexible portion of the support plate be unitary as taught by Park with the support plate including flexible portion and the protruding bars as taught by Ahn, such modification will provide one unitary component, thereby reducing the assembly step of the display device thus making the assembly process simpler.
Wang in similar field of flexible display device teaches a support plate (element 20, figure 1-2) including plurality of protruding bars (as seen in figure 2 and 4, the pattern area of region element 201 and 203) such that Wang teaches in an extending direction of each of the plurality of protrusion bars, a length of each of the plurality of protrusion bars is less than a width of the flexible portion (as seen in figure 2, the region of element 203 such that the pattern area which includes the protrusion bars is less than the flexible portion (region of element 201)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the plurality of protruding bars as taught by Ahn as modified by Park such that in an extending direction of each of the plurality of protrusion bars, a length of each of the plurality of protrusion bars is less than a width of the flexible portion as taught by Wang, in other words, adjusting the length of the plurality of protrusion bars as taught by Wang’s region of 203, figure 2, such modification will provide better bending rigidity is achieved and thus avoiding fracture failure due to excessive local force and better support property is improved (paragraph 117 Wang).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5, 7, 12, 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In examiners opinion the pertinent prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching or suggesting all of the elements and features of the claimed inventions as arranged, disposed or provided in the manner as claimed by the applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al. US Pub 2023/0085742 – figure 6 teaches how keeping space H1 in a thus boundary’s strength is increased and the support plate being damaged is decreased (paragraph 62).
Hong et al. US Pub 2021/0200273– figures 1-2 and 8.
Park et al. US Patent 10963014 – figs 2 and 6a, gear 401, 420, 410.
Ahn US Pub 2020/0314225 figures 1-2, 7-9.
ABHISHEK M. RATHOD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/ABHISHEK M RATHOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841