DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on (8/16/2023), is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims (1-45) are pending and being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 recites “energy sufficient to break” “shock wave of sufficient energy”. These terms make this claim indefinite since the term sufficient is a relative term. This term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 2 recites “hydrocarbon radicals transit through said mass flow conduit by non-diffusive propagation under the influence of a magnetic field to which unpaired valence electrons of said paramagnetic C1 hydrocarbon radicals are aligned and coupled.” This limitation is unclear as to which process or apparatus disclosed in the specification it is associated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-11, 19-20, 30-37, 39, 41 and 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louis K Bigelow (US 5310512) in view of Vranich et al (US 20180130639).
Louis K Bigelow discloses that a method and apparatus was known for fabricating diamond by generating plasma of hydrocarbon which would generate radicals. The plasma could be generated using microwave (a microwave radiolysis power source). The plasma could be accelerated towards the substrate using accelerating magnets (Col 1 lines 23-35). Louis K Bigelow disclose modification of the prior art to fabricate diamond on a predetermined shape on a surface where it could be released properly. In Fig 3 is disclosed a plasma jet accelerated by cylindrical magnets (217). The magnets are cooled by liquid nitrogen (output heat exchanger) (234).
Regarding interface component, it is not different from a magnetic field creator with heat exchanger for cooling and is therefore duplicate of such components in Bigelow.
Louis K Bigelow discloses permanent magnet. However, electromagnets are known to provide an alternative means of creating magnetic field. Vranich et al discloses electromagnets (Fig 1) in a heat exchanger fluid.
Having an electromagnet in place of a permanent magnet would have been obvious for the controllability provided by an electromagnet.
Therefore, replacing permanent magnet of Louis K Bigelow by electromagnet would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of this application.
Regarding claim 2 radicals produced by microwave pass through under the influence of magnetic field.
Regarding claim 3 “output heat exchanger” as disclosed is an electromagnet in cooling fluid as in Vranich.
Regarding claim 4-7 permanent magnet to influence non-diffusive propagation is disclosed as above.
Regarding claim 10 since methane is disclosed by Louis K Bigelow, methyl radicals are disclosed as the product of dissociation.
Regarding claim 11, microwave radiolysis source is disclosed as discussed above.
Regarding claim 19 and 41, Vranich et al do not disclose superconducting magnets.
Regarding claim 20 cooling fluid is disclosed as nitrogen as discussed above.
Claim 30-36 discloses transit of hydrocarbon radicals to the site of diamond fabrication as disclosed in Louis K Bigelow.
Regarding claim 37 directed to an apparatus, radical generation and fabrication is disclosed by Louis K Bigelow.
Regarding claim 39 microwave source is disclosed as above.
Claim 45 is rejected along with claim 1 as above.
Claims 8-9, 14, 29 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louis K Bigelow (US 5310512) in view of Vranich et al (US 20180130639) and John C Angus (US 3630679).
Regarding claims 8-9 and 29, Louis K Bigelow do not disclose hydrocarbon for generating radicals for depositing diamond being diluted in an inert gas.
John C Angus disclose diamond growth process where methane is diluted with hydrogen or helium as an alternative carrier gas (Col 3 lines 1-17).
Regarding claims 14 and 38, John C Angus discloses diamond seed for diamond growth (Abstract) on a heated support (Col 2 lines 1-16).
Therefore, dilution of hydrocarbon with inert gas as discussed above would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of this application.
Claims 12 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louis K Bigelow (US 5310512) in view of Vranich et al (US 20180130639) and Asmussen et al (US 9890457).
K Bigelow in view of Vranich et al disclose microwave power for diamond deposition but do not disclose typical frequency used.
Asmussen et al disclose an apparatus for synthesizing diamond (Fig 1A) using Microwave energy at 2.45 GHz at 1-10 KW (Col 25 line 55- Col 26 line 11).
Therefore, having this frequency at rated power would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of this application.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louis K Bigelow (US 5310512) in view of Vranich et al (US 20180130639) and Crewson et al (US 8232747).
K Bigelow in view of Vranich et al disclose electromagnet but not a plurality of them.
Crewson et al disclose particle accelerator having plural magnetic core sections (Fig 2, 130).
Therefore, electromagnet for magnetic accelerator in several parts for finer control would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of this application.
Claims 15-16 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louis K Bigelow (US 5310512) in view of Vranich et al (US 20180130639), John C Angus (US 3630679) and Malhotra et al (US 5336828).
Regarding claim 15 and 16 term “remediated” is understood to clean or remove impurities; in this case from seed.
John C Angus discloses diamond growth process using diamond seed and hydrocarbon like methane diluted with helium and cleaning of seed (Col 4 lines 52- Col 4 lines 2). John C Angus However does not disclose cleaning by hydrogenolysis.
Using hydrogenolysis for cleaving hydrocarbon to remove impurities was well known as disclosed in Malhotra et al (Col 4 line 45-Col 6 line24).
Regarding claim 23 additionally remediating or removing impurity using hydrogen is disclosed by Angus (Col 1 line58-75).
Therefore, post deposition remediation using the teaching as above would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of this application.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louis K Bigelow (US 5310512) in view of Vranich et al (US 20180130639) and H J Hibshman (US 3371996).
Regarding claims 17 and 18 Louis K Bigelow does not disclose diamond seed as being diamond powder impressed into malleable metal.
H J Hibshman discloses a diamond growth process using a seed where the seed is a diamond powder impressed into malleable metal like platinum (Col 5 lines 58- 65).
Therefore, using seed for start of diamond growth would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of this application.
Claims 21-22 and 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louis K Bigelow (US 5310512) in view of Vranich et al (US 20180130639) and Larry Keith Knight (US 20050111159).
Louis K Bigelow does not disclose magnet being a super conducting magnet. super conducting magnet are known to provide large magnetic fields and magnetic attraction efficiently with low loss.
Larry Keith Knight discloses superconducting magnet system using helium as cooling fluid (Para 31).
Therefore, having super conducting magnet system for its efficiency in getting higher magnetic field would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of this application.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louis K Bigelow (US 5310512) in view of in view of Vranich et al (US 20180130639), John C Angus (US 3630679), Malhotra et al (US 5336828) and Bhandari (US 20100242834).
Louis K Bigelow in view of in view of John C Angus and Malhotra et al as discussed above do not disclose remediation by alcohol wash.
Alcohol wash was however well known in view of alcohol being an industrial solvent.
Bhandari et al teach that CVD grown diamonds are cleaned in ultrasonic device and with isopropyl alcohol (Para 71).
Therefore, post deposition remediation using alcohol would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of this application.
Claim 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Louis K Bigelow (US 5310512) in view of Vranich et al (US 20180130639), John C Angus (US 3630679), Bhandari (US 20100242834) and Newman et al (US 20150259790).
Regarding these claims directed to post diamond growth cleaning, Newman discloses diamond growing apparatus and method (Abstract) using metal as substrate and disclose removal of metal to obtain free standing diamond mass (Para 91). The removal could mechanical, chemical or electromechanical.
Therefore, using abrasion or heating or application of acid and rinsing with water would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of this application.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 37-45 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No.11802053. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims recite an apparatus for growing diamond using high energy activation of hydrocarbon radicals under magnetic field and the patented apparatus claims are directed to the same subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Aizawa et al (US 2014/0377472) teach a plasma deposition apparatus comprising a magnetic accelerator 15 (magnetic field lenses – Figs. 1, 2 and 0067) to accelerate ions of plasma passing through a conduit (ring magnet), and teach that the ring magnet can use electromagnets also.
RAM N. KACKAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1716
/RAM N KACKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716