DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-8 and 20 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/20/25.
Claims 1-8 and 20 are now cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 22 recites a radially extending surface with a threaded peripheral surface located upon a first axial side of the radially extending surface and each detent surface located upon a second axial side of the radially extending surface. As seen in the figures the threaded peripheral surface extends from the radially extending surface but is not located upon an axial side of the radially extending surface. Therefore, the recitation of the threaded peripheral surface including threads located upon a first axial side of the radially extending surface is a recitation of new matter as the specification as originally filed does not provide support for the claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-14 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taylor US 4,915,831.
Claim 9, Taylor teaches a filter component comprising: a filter connector piece (48) defining a center axis extending between a first axial connector end and a second axial connector end, the first axial connector end including a threaded peripheral surface including threads (50, 52) thereon, a radially extending surface, an axially extending surface, and a plurality of detent clips (86, 88) attached to the axially extending surface and the plurality of detent clips including a detent surface extending linearly in an axial direction, and contoured radially so as to form a radially projecting engagement bump, spaced in a radial direction from the threaded peripheral surface and a retention pocket circumferentially adjacent to the radially projecting engagement bump (fig. 1).
Claims 10-14, 16-18, Taylor further teaches the first axial connector end has formed therein a central opening (63) centered on the center axis and at least one radially outward opening (72, 74) (fig. 1a); a filter medium (47) is positioned in a filter housing (46) and fluidly between the central opening and the radially outward openings, the filter component being part of a filter cartridge (14) (fig. 1a); the threaded peripheral surface includes an outer peripheral surface, and each detent surface is contoured so as to from the radially projecting engagement bump projecting in a radially outward direction (fig. 1); the threads include multi-start external threads (fig. 1); a number of the plurality of detent clips is an integer multiple of two and the plurality of detent clips are equiangularly spaced around the center axis (fig. 1); the plurality of detent clips are attached to both the radially extending surface and the axially extending surface, and are offset in the axial direction form the threads (fig. 1); each respective pocket is formed at least in part by a concave section of the detent surface (fig. 1); and each of the detent surfaces is contoured radially so as to form a second radially projecting engagement bump positioned in opposition to the first radially projecting engagement bump, and the first radially projecting engagement bump and the second radially projecting engagement bump defining an opening to the pocket therebetween (fig. 1).
Claim 22, Taylor teaches a filter component comprising: a filter connector piece (48) defining a center axis extending between a first axial connector end and a second axial connector end, the first axial connector end including a radially extending surface, a threaded peripheral surface including threads (50, 52) located upon a first axial side, the upper axial side of the radially extending surface, of the radially extending surface, and axially extending surface, and a plurality of detent clips attached to the radially extending surface and the plurality of detent clips each including a detent surface located upon a second axial side of the radially extending surface (the second axial side being the bottom surface of the detent clip), each detent surface extending linearly in an axial direction, and contoured radially so as to form a radially projecting engagement bump and a retention pocket circumferentially adjacent to the radially projecting engagement bump (fig. 1, above and below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor US 4,915,831.
Claim 15, Taylor further teaches the threads define a total of two thread start locations but does not teach four detent clips. The recitation of four clips is a recitation of providing more clips than the two taught by Taylor. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (1960). The recitation of providing two of the detent clips offset in a circumferential direction approximately 45 degrees from each of the two thread start locations is a recitation of a rearrangement of the parts taught by Taylor. Shifting the position of an element is unpatentable if shifting the position of the element would not modify the operation of the device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (1950).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Taylor does not teach a radially projecting engagement bump. The bumps in Taylor are the straight edges that form the detent clip (88) that extend radially either from the outer peripheral surface or from the curved inner portion of the detent clip. Merriam-Webster defines a bump as “a relatively abrupt convexity or protuberance on a surface”. The straight edges are considered a “bump” as they represent an abrupt convexity or protuberance that extends from the bottom surface of the detent clip.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art to Taylor teaches the filter component of claim 18 wherein each of the detent clips defines a C-shape but does not teach the C-shape opens in a circumferential direction nor would it have been obvious to modify the prior art to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 21 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Claim 21 recites the limitations of previous claim 19 and all intervening claims and is allowable for the same reasons as claim 19 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779