DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In view of the amendment filed 03/18/2026:
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1, 2, and 4-12 are maintained.
Claim 3 is cancelled.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated
by Ming (CN112996268A- Machine translation provided herein).
Regarding claim 1, Ming teaches a bending apparatus (Figure 7) comprising:
a first height control part (telescopic component 8; Figure 7) which ascends in a first
direction and descend in a direction opposite to the first direction ([0028] The telescopic range
of the electric telescopic rods can be precisely controlled, thereby effectively adjusting the
height of the first placement plate 6 and the second placement plate 7; see first direction in
annotated Figure 7 in the rejection of claim 1 in the Office Action mailed 12/19/2025);
a second height control part spaced apart from the first height control part in a second
direction crossing the first direction ([0028] These electric telescopic rods are detachably
connected to the first slider 4 and the second slider 5. The telescopic ends of the two electric
telescopic rods are respectively connected to the bottom of the first placement plate 6 and the
bottom of the second placement plate 7; see annotated Figure 7 the rejection of claim 1 in the Office Action mailed 12/19/2025), wherein the second height control part ascends in the first direction and descends in the direction opposite to the first direction ([0028] The telescopic range of the electric telescopic rods can be precisely controlled, thereby effectively adjusting the height of the first placement plate 6 and the second placement plate 7; see first direction in annotated Figure 7 in the rejection of claim 1 in the Office Action mailed 12/19/2025);
a first rotation part (rotating component 10; Figure 7) attached to the first height
control part ([0028] The clamping mechanism includes a rotating component 10 and a clamping
component 11. The two rotating components 10 are respectively installed on the first
placement plate 6 and the second placement plate 7), wherein the first rotation part rotates
with respect to a rotation axis ([0034] The clamping assembly 11 can be rotated by rotating
assembly 10, so that the side of the circuit board body 32 faces upward);
a second rotation part attached to the second height control part, wherein the second
rotation part rotates with respect to the rotation axis ([0027] The clamping mechanism includes a rotating component 10 and a clamping component 11. The two rotating components 10 are
respectively installed on the first placement plate 6 and the second placement plate 7); and
a supporting part (circuit board body 32 and clamping component 11; Figure 7) disposed
between the first rotation part and the second rotation part (see annotated Figure 7 in the rejection of claim 1 in the Office Action mailed 12/19/2025),
wherein a first end of the supporting part is attached to the first rotation part (via clamping
component 26 shown in Figure 5), and a second end of the supporting part, which is opposite
to the first end thereof, is attached to the second rotation part (via clamping component 26
shown in Figure 5);
wherein when the first height control part relatively moves in the first direction or the direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the second height control part, the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a plane defined by the second direction and a third direction crossing the first direction and the second direction ([0034] When it is necessary to repair the side of the components on the circuit board body 32, the clamping mechanism can be moved up or down via the telescopic component 8 to keep the circuit board body 32 in an inclined state. The clamping plates 27 automatically adjust their relative rotation angle with the frame 19 to maintain the clamping of the circuit board body 32. When it is necessary to repair the side of the circuit board... The clamping assembly 11 can be rotated by rotating assembly 10, so that the side of the circuit board body 32 faces upward; see Figure 8 and “Response to Arguments” below).
Regarding claim 2, Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first
height control part and the second height control part are moveable independently of each
other ([0028] The two electric telescopic rods are independent of each other and do not affect
each other).
Regarding claim 6, Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 1, wherein the
supporting part extends along an extending direction of the rotation axis, and rotates with
respect to the rotation axis by the first rotation part and the second rotation part ([0034] When it is necessary to repair the side of the circuit board... The clamping assembly 11 can be rotated by rotating assembly 10, so that the side of the circuit board body 32 faces upward; The circuit board main body 32 is rotated along its length to have the circuit board body 32 face upwards such that the supporting part extends along an extending direction of the rotation axis, see “Response to Arguments” below).
Regarding claim 7, Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 1, wherein the
supporting part comprises:
a fixing part (clamping component 26; Figure 5), wherein a first end of the fixing part is
attached to the first rotation part ([0011] It includes a rotating component and a clamping
component, and the clamping component is connected to one end of the rotating component
that is close to each other), and a second end of the fixing part, which is opposite to the first end thereof, is attached to the second rotation part (second clamping component 26 attaching
other side of circuit board body 32 to second rotating part 10 shown in Figure 7); and
a moving part which moves in a direction away from the fixing part and in a direction
approaching the fixing part ([0031] A rotating disk 23 is located at one end of each threaded rod
22. The ends of the clamping members that are far apart from each other are connected to one
end of a spring 25. The other end of the spring 25 is connected to one end of a movable plate
24. The other end of the movable plate 24 abuts against one end of the rotating disk 23. The
two ends of the movable plate 24 abut against the inner walls of both sides of the frame 19, so
that the movable plate 24 can only move up and down within the frame 19. The device moves
vertically to facilitate the compression of the clamping components with the spring. Rotating
the second threaded rod 22 causes the rotating disk 23 to move vertically closer to the
clamping components. As the rotating disk 23 moves, it compresses and drives the movable
plate 24 to move vertically closer to the clamping components. The movable plate 24 further
compresses the spring 25, causing the two clamping components to move closer together, thus
clamping the circuit board body 32).
Regarding claim 10, Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first
height control part comprises a first lower frame and a first upper frame disposed on the first
lower frame, wherein the first upper frame ascends in the first direction and descends in the
direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the first lower frame, and
wherein the second height control part comprises a second lower frame and a second
upper frame disposed on the second lower frame, wherein the second upper frame ascends in the first direction and descends in the direction opposite to the first direction with respect to
the second lower frame (see annotated Figure 7 in the rejection of claim 10 in the Office Action mailed 12/19/2025)
Regarding claim 11, Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first
rotation part is attached to the first upper frame, and the second rotation part is attached to
the second upper frame ([0034] The clamping assembly 11 can be rotated by rotating assembly
10; see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 12, Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first
upper frame and the second upper frame are moveable independently of each other ([0028]
The two electric telescopic rods are independent of each other and do not affect each other;
see Figure 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Lee et al. (KR20150114407A- Machine translation provided herein), and further in view of Ming
(CN112996268A- Machine translation provided herein).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a bending apparatus (Figure 7a- 7h) comprising:
a first height control part (contact auxiliary means 634; Figure 7a) which ascends in a
first direction and descend in a direction opposite to the first direction (see Figure 7h);
a second height control part spaced apart from the first height control part in a second
direction crossing the first direction (contact auxiliary means 634; Figure 7a), wherein the
second height control part ascends in the first direction and descends in the direction opposite
to the first direction (see Figure 7h);
and a support part (contact member 632; Figure 7a) disposed between the first height
control part and the second height control part (see contact member 632 between contact
auxiliary means 634 in Figure 7a).
However, Lee fails to teach the bending apparatus comprises a first rotation part
attached to the first height control part, wherein the first rotation part rotates with respect to a
rotation axis; a second rotation part attached to the second height control part, wherein the
second rotation part rotates with respect to the rotation axis; and the supporting part being
disposed between the first rotation part and the second rotation part, wherein a first end of the supporting part is attached to the first rotation part, and a second end of the supporting part,
which is opposite to the first end thereof, is attached to the second rotation part, wherein when the first height control part relatively moves in the first direction or the direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the second height control part, the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a plane defined by the second direction and a third direction crossing the first direction and the second direction.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to the processing of flexible circuit boards,
Ming teaches a first rotation part (rotating component 10; Figure 7) attached to a first height
control part ([0028] The clamping mechanism includes a rotating component 10 and a clamping
component 11. The two rotating components 10 are respectively installed on the first
placement plate 6 and the second placement plate 7),
wherein the first rotation part rotates with respect to a rotation axis ([0034] The clamping assembly 11 can be rotated by rotating assembly 10, so that the side of the circuit board body 32 faces upward);
a second rotation part attached to a second height control part, wherein the second
rotation part rotates with respect to the rotation axis ([0027] The clamping mechanism includes
a rotating component 10 and a clamping component 11. The two rotating components 10 are
respectively installed on the first placement plate 6 and the second placement plate 7); and
a supporting part (circuit board body 32; Figure 7) disposed between the first rotation
part and the second rotation part (see annotated Figure 7 in the rejection of claim 1 in the Office Action mailed 12/19/2025),
wherein a first end of the supporting part is attached to the first rotation part (via clamping component 26 shown in Figure 5), and a second end of the supporting part, which is opposite to the first end thereof, is attached to the second rotation part (via clamping component 26 shown in Figure 5),
wherein when the first height control part relatively moves in the first direction or the direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the second height control part, the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a plane defined by the second direction and a third direction crossing the first direction and the second direction ([0034] When it is necessary to repair the side of the components on the circuit board body 32, the clamping mechanism can be moved up or down via the telescopic component 8 to keep the circuit board body 32 in an inclined state. The clamping plates 27 automatically adjust their relative rotation angle with the frame 19 to maintain the clamping of the circuit board body 32. When it is necessary to repair the side of the circuit board... The clamping assembly 11 can be rotated by rotating assembly 10, so that the side of the circuit board body 32 faces upward; see Figure 8 and “Response to Arguments” below).
Rotating and tilting the supporting part allows for panel portions to be processed on a
vertical plane such that the sides of the panel ([0034] When it is necessary to repair the side of the circuit board... The clamping assembly 11 can be rotated by rotating assembly 10, so that the side of the circuit board body 32 faces upward) and the corners ([0034] When repairing the corner of the circuit board body 32, the circuit board body 32 can be placed on a vertical plane by manually supporting the circuit board body 32 or by setting up a fixed platform between the two clamping mechanisms, and keeping the circuit board body 32 tilted so that the corner to be
processed faces upward) can be processed.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a
person having ordinary skill in the art to have the bending apparatus of Lee comprise a first
rotation part attached to the first height control part and a second rotation part attached to the
second height control part, and the supporting part to be disposed between the first rotation
part and the second rotation part such that the support part can be tilted and rotated along the tilted axis, as taught by Ming, for the benefit of processing panel portions on a vertical plane at the sides of the panel or at the corners of the support.
Regarding claim 4, Lee modified with Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 1.
Further, Lee teaches the first height control part relatively moves in a third direction crossing
the first direction and the second direction and in a direction opposite to the third direction
with respect to the second height control part (see contact auxiliary means 634 move along rail
650 in Figure 7d).
Regarding claim 5, Lee modified with Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 4.
While Lee teaches wherein the first height control part relatively moves in the third direction or
the direction opposite to the third direction (see contact auxiliary means 634 move along rail
650 in Figure 7d), Lee fails to teach the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a plane defined
by the first direction and the second direction.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to the processing of flexible circuit boards,
Ming teaches the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a plane defined by the first direction
and the second direction ([0034] When it is necessary to repair the side of the components on the circuit board body 32, the clamping mechanism can be moved up or down via the telescopic
component 8 to keep the circuit board body 32 in an inclined state. The clamping plates 27
automatically adjust their relative rotation angle with the frame 19 to maintain the clamping
of the circuit board body 32. When it is necessary to repair the side of the circuit board... The clamping assembly 11 can be rotated by rotating assembly 10, so that the side of the circuit
board body 32 faces upward; see “Response to Arguments” below).
Regarding claim 8, Lee modified with Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 1.
Lee teaches the bending apparatus further comprising: a stage (second gripper 424; Figure 7a)
which relatively moves in a third direction crossing the first direction and the second direction
and in a direction opposite to the third direction with respect to the supporting part ([0168] The
gantry (420) is configured to be movable in the first axis direction, for example, in the X-axis
direction, along the first rail (450); see Figure 7d).
Regarding claim 9, Lee modified with Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 8.
Further, Lee teaches wherein the stage ascends in the first direction and descends in the
direction opposite to the first direction (see Figure 7f).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ming does not disclose the limitation “wherein when the first height control part relatively moves in the first direction or the direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the second height control part, the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a plane defined by the second direction and a third direction crossing the first direction and the second direction" and that Ming rather discloses a plurality of support units (rods or pins) that move vertically to define a curved shape for a lamination mold.
Examiner agrees that Ming discloses a plurality of telescopic pieces 8 that move vertically, but it is unclear how or where in the teaches of Ming the telescopic pieces define a curved shape for a lamination mold.
Examiner disagrees that Ming fails to teach said limitation above. Ming teaches the first sliding block 4 and the second sliding block 5 are driven towards or away from each other to adjust the horizontal position between the two clamping mechanisms ([0034] the position
between the first placement plate 6 and the second placement plate 7 is adjusted according
to the shape of the circuit board body 32 to be processed and repaired. The drive component
3 is rotated via the operation panel to drive the lead screw 2 to rotate forward or backward,
causing the first slider 4 and the second slider 5 to move closer or further apart, thereby indirectly adjusting the horizontal position between the two clamping mechanisms). Two ends of the circuit board main body 32 are then placed in clamping assembly 11 and clamped by clamping plate 27 ([0034] Then, both ends of the circuit board body 32 are placed between the two clamping plates 27 in the two clamping assemblies 11. The second threaded rod 22 is then rotated to clamp the circuit board body 32 with the clamping plates 27. During clamping, the circuit board body 32 is held by the first flexible pad 30). Then, the telescopic pieces 8 are driven to drive the clamping mechanism up or down to drive the circuit board main body 32 into an inclined state ([0034] When it is necessary to repair the side of the components on the
circuit board body 32, the clamping mechanism can be moved up or down via the telescopic
component 8 to keep the circuit board body 32 in an inclined state). When it desired for the circuit board side edge to be processed, then rotating component 10 will drive the clamping component 11 to rotate such that the side of the circuit board body 32 faces upwards ([0034] When it is necessary to repair the side of the circuit board... The clamping assembly 11 can be rotated by rotating assembly 10, so that the side of the circuit board body 32 faces upward). The circuit board main body 32 is rotated along its length to have the circuit board body 32 face upwards, and where the circuit board main body 32 is inclined along the rotation axis defined by the length of the circuit board body 32, then Ming teaches the limitation “wherein when the first height control part relatively moves in the first direction or the direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the second height control part, the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a plane defined by the second direction and a third direction crossing the first direction and the second direction".
Applicant argues that in Ming, any rotational component, such as a lamination roller or pressing arm, must operate along a fixed, horizontal axis that remains parallel to the base of the apparatus to ensure uniform pressure and prevent lamination defects (e.g., wrinkles or bubbles). However, it is unclear where in Ming it is taught that rotational components, such as a lamination roller or pressing arm, must operate along a fixed, horizontal axis that remains parallel to the base of the apparatus to ensure uniform pressure and prevent lamination defects. Ming teaches rotational component 10, which as discussed above, rotates clamping assembly 11 when circuit board main body 32 is inclined such that the side of the circuit board body 32 faces upwards.
Further, regarding Applicant’s argument that Ming does not provide any teaching or suggestion of a supporting part tethered between two height control parts that can be tilted to create an inclined rotation axis. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ming teaches when the circuit board main body 32 is inclined the clamping plate 27 will automatically adjust the relative rotation angle of itself and the frame to keep the circuit board main body 32 clamped ([0034] The clamping plates 27 automatically adjust their relative rotation angle with the frame 19 to maintain the clamping of the circuit board body 32). The clamping plate is tilted to create the inclined rotation axis through sleeve 28 inserted in movable shaft 29 ([0032] The length of the movable shaft 29 is greater than the distance between the two ends of the right-angled plate. The clamping plate 27 can rotate relative to the frame 19 at a certain angle through the movable shaft 29. When clamping the circuit board body 32, when the vertical position of one of the clamping mechanisms is changed by the adjustment mechanism, the clamping plates 27 in the two clamping mechanisms will rotate relative to their respective corresponding frames 19. While rotating relative to each other, the circuit board body 32 is still well clamped).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743