DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 10/20/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ming (CN112996268A- Machine translation provided herein).
Regarding claim 1, Ming teaches a bending apparatus (Figure 7) comprising:
a first height control part (telescopic component 8; Figure 7) which ascends in a first direction and descend in a direction opposite to the first direction ([0028] The telescopic range of the electric telescopic rods can be precisely controlled, thereby effectively adjusting the height of the first placement plate 6 and the second placement plate 7; see first direction in annotated Figure 7 below);
a second height control part spaced apart from the first height control part in a second direction crossing the first direction ([0028] These electric telescopic rods are detachably connected to the first slider 4 and the second slider 5. The telescopic ends of the two electric telescopic rods are respectively connected to the bottom of the first placement plate 6 and the bottom of the second placement plate 7; see annotated Figure 7 below), wherein the second height control part ascends in the first direction and descends in the direction opposite to the first direction ([0028] The telescopic range of the electric telescopic rods can be precisely controlled, thereby effectively adjusting the height of the first placement plate 6 and the second placement plate 7; see first direction in annotated Figure 7 below);
a first rotation part (rotating component 10; Figure 7) attached to the first height control part ([0028] The clamping mechanism includes a rotating component 10 and a clamping component 11. The two rotating components 10 are respectively installed on the first placement plate 6 and the second placement plate 7), wherein the first rotation part rotates with respect to a rotation axis ([0034] The clamping assembly 11 can be rotated by rotating assembly 10, so that the side of the circuit board body 32 faces upward);
a second rotation part attached to the second height control part, wherein the second rotation part rotates with respect to the rotation axis ([0027] The clamping mechanism includes a rotating component 10 and a clamping component 11. The two rotating components 10 are respectively installed on the first placement plate 6 and the second placement plate 7); and
a supporting part (circuit board body 32 and clamping component 11; Figure 7) disposed between the first rotation part and the second rotation part (see annotated Figure 7 below), wherein a first end of the supporting part is attached to the first rotation part (via clamping component 26 shown in Figure 5), and a second end of the supporting part, which is opposite to the first end thereof, is attached to the second rotation part (via clamping component 26 shown in Figure 5).
Regarding claim 2, Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first height control part and the second height control part are moveable independently of each other ([0028] The two electric telescopic rods are independent of each other and do not affect each other).
Regarding claim 3, Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 1, wherein when the first height control part relatively moves in the first direction or the direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the second height control part, the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a plane defined by the second direction and a third direction crossing the first direction and the second direction ([0034] During clamping, the circuit board body 32 is held by the first flexible pad 30. When it is necessary to repair the side of the components on the circuit board body 32, the clamping mechanism can be moved up or down via the telescopic component 8 to keep the circuit board body 32 in an inclined state; see Figure 8).
Regarding claim 6, Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 1, wherein the supporting part extends along an extending direction of the rotation axis, and rotates with respect to the rotation axis by the first rotation part and the second rotation part ([0034] The clamping assembly 11 can be rotated by rotating assembly 10, so that the side of the circuit board body 32 faces upward. When repairing the corner of the circuit board body 32, the circuit board body 32 can be placed on a vertical plane by manually supporting the circuit board body 32 or by setting up a fixed platform between the two clamping mechanisms, and keeping the circuit board body 32 tilted so that the corner to be processed faces upward).
Regarding claim 7, Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 1, wherein the supporting part comprises:
a fixing part (clamping component 26; Figure 5), wherein a first end of the fixing part is attached to the first rotation part ([0011] It includes a rotating component and a clamping component, and the clamping component is connected to one end of the rotating component that is close to each other), and a second end of the fixing part, which is opposite to the first end thereof, is attached to the second rotation part (second clamping component 26 attaching other side of circuit board body 32 to second rotating part 10 shown in Figure 7); and
a moving part which moves in a direction away from the fixing part and in a direction approaching the fixing part ([0031] A rotating disk 23 is located at one end of each threaded rod 22. The ends of the clamping members that are far apart from each other are connected to one end of a spring 25. The other end of the spring 25 is connected to one end of a movable plate 24. The other end of the movable plate 24 abuts against one end of the rotating disk 23. The two ends of the movable plate 24 abut against the inner walls of both sides of the frame 19, so that the movable plate 24 can only move up and down within the frame 19. The device moves vertically to facilitate the compression of the clamping components with the spring. Rotating
the second threaded rod 22 causes the rotating disk 23 to move vertically closer to the
clamping components. As the rotating disk 23 moves, it compresses and drives the movable
plate 24 to move vertically closer to the clamping components. The movable plate 24 further
compresses the spring 25, causing the two clamping components to move closer together, thus clamping the circuit board body 32).
Regarding claim 10, Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first height control part comprises a first lower frame and a first upper frame disposed on the first lower frame, wherein the first upper frame ascends in the first direction and descends in the direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the first lower frame, and
wherein the second height control part comprises a second lower frame and a second upper frame disposed on the second lower frame, wherein the second upper frame ascends in the first direction and descends in the direction opposite to the first direction with respect to the second lower frame (see annotated Figure 7 below).
Regarding claim 11, Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first rotation part is attached to the first upper frame, and the second rotation part is attached to the second upper frame ([0034] The clamping assembly 11 can be rotated by rotating assembly 10; see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 12, Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first upper frame and the second upper frame are moveable independently of each other ([0028] The two electric telescopic rods are independent of each other and do not affect each other; see Figure 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR20150114407A- Machine translation provided herein), and further in view of Ming (CN112996268A- Machine translation provided herein).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a bending apparatus (Figure 7a- 7h) comprising:
a first height control part (contact auxiliary means 634; Figure 7a) which ascends in a first direction and descend in a direction opposite to the first direction (see Figure 7h);
a second height control part spaced apart from the first height control part in a second direction crossing the first direction (contact auxiliary means 634; Figure 7a), wherein the second height control part ascends in the first direction and descends in the direction opposite to the first direction (see Figure 7h);
and a support part (contact member 632; Figure 7a) disposed between the first height control part and the second height control part (see contact member 632 between contact auxiliary means 634 in Figure 7a).
However, Lee fails to teach the bending apparatus comprises a first rotation part attached to the first height control part, wherein the first rotation part rotates with respect to a rotation axis; a second rotation part attached to the second height control part, wherein the second rotation part rotates with respect to the rotation axis; and the supporting part being disposed between the first rotation part and the second rotation part, wherein a first end of the supporting part is attached to the first rotation part, and a second end of the supporting part, which is opposite to the first end thereof, is attached to the second rotation part.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to the processing of flexible circuit boards, Ming teaches a first rotation part (rotating component 10; Figure 7) attached to a first height control part ([0028] The clamping mechanism includes a rotating component 10 and a clamping component 11. The two rotating components 10 are respectively installed on the first placement plate 6 and the second placement plate 7), wherein the first rotation part rotates with respect to a rotation axis ([0034] The clamping assembly 11 can be rotated by rotating assembly 10, so that the side of the circuit board body 32 faces upward);
a second rotation part attached to a second height control part, wherein the second rotation part rotates with respect to the rotation axis ([0027] The clamping mechanism includes a rotating component 10 and a clamping component 11. The two rotating components 10 are respectively installed on the first placement plate 6 and the second placement plate 7); and
a supporting part (circuit board body 32; Figure 7) disposed between the first rotation part and the second rotation part (see annotated Figure 7 in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein a first end of the supporting part is attached to the first rotation part (via clamping component 26 shown in Figure 5), and a second end of the supporting part, which is opposite to the first end thereof, is attached to the second rotation part (via clamping component 26 shown in Figure 5).
Rotating and tilting the supporting part allows for panel portions to be processed on a vertical plane at the corners of the support ([0034] When repairing the corner of the circuit board body 32, the circuit board body 32 can be placed on a vertical plane by manually supporting the circuit board body 32 or by setting up a fixed platform between the two clamping mechanisms, and keeping the circuit board body 32 tilted so that the corner to be processed faces upward).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the bending apparatus of Lee comprise a first rotation part attached to the first height control part and a second rotation part attached to the second height control part, and the supporting part to be disposed between the first rotation part and the second rotation part, as taught by Ming, for the benefit of processing panel portions on a vertical plane at the corners of the support.
Regarding claim 4, Lee modified with Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 1. Further, Lee teaches the first height control part relatively moves in a third direction crossing the first direction and the second direction and in a direction opposite to the third direction with respect to the second height control part (see contact auxiliary means 634 move along rail 650 in Figure 7d).
Regarding claim 5, Lee modified with Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 4. While Lee teaches wherein the first height control part relatively moves in the third direction or the direction opposite to the third direction (see contact auxiliary means 634 move along rail 650 in Figure 7d), Lee fails to teach the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a plane defined by the first direction and the second direction.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to the processing of flexible circuit boards, Ming teaches the rotation axis is inclined with respect to a plane defined by the first direction and the second direction ([0034] During clamping, the circuit board body 32 is held by the first flexible pad 30. When it is necessary to repair the side of the components on the circuit board body 32, the clamping mechanism can be moved up or down via the telescopic component 8 to keep the circuit board body 32 in an inclined state; see Figure 8).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the rotation axis of Lee modified with Ming be inclined with respect to a plane defined by the first direction and the second direction, as taught by Ming, when the first height control part relatively moves in the third direction or the direction opposite to the third direction, as taught by Lee, for the benefit of processing panel portions on a vertical plane at the corners of the support.
Regarding claim 8, Lee modified with Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 1. Lee teaches the bending apparatus further comprising: a stage (second gripper 424; Figure 7a) which relatively moves in a third direction crossing the first direction and the second direction and in a direction opposite to the third direction with respect to the supporting part ([0168] The gantry (420) is configured to be movable in the first axis direction, for example, in the X-axis direction, along the first rail (450); see Figure 7d).
Regarding claim 9, Lee modified with Ming teaches the bending apparatus of claim 8. Further, Lee teaches wherein the stage ascends in the first direction and descends in the direction opposite to the first direction (see Figure 7f).
Relevant prior art
The following is a list of relevant prior art not relied upon:
Moon (US6126060).
Scarlett (GB8113723A)
Conclusion
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743