DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The amendment filed on April 16th, 2026 has been acknowledged. Claims 1-19 are pending in the present application in which claims 1, 17, and 18 are in independent form. Applicant’s amendment to the title has been accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11, 12, and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (KR 10-2022-0058385, cited in the IDS filed on 03/11/2024, Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0137424) being used as English equivalent) in view of Yokogawa (U.S. Pub. 2018/0090531), cited in the IDS filed on 03/11/2024.
In re claim 1, Lee discloses an image sensor comprising: a sensor substrate 110 comprising a plurality of first pixels 131 configured to sense light having a first wavelength and a plurality of second pixels 132 configured to sense light having a second wavelength that is different from the first wavelength (see paragraphs [0090], [0092], and figs. 4A, 4B, 15A, and 15B); a nano-photonic lens array 130 having a light incident surface and comprising a plurality of nanostructures configured to condense an incident light onto the plurality of first pixels 131 and the plurality of second pixels 132 (see paragraphs [0090], [0092], [0101], [0102], [0103] and figs. 4A, 4B, 15A, 15B); an antireflection layer 170 disposed on the light incident surface of the nano-photonic lens array 130 (see paragraph [0180] and figs. 15A and 15B).
Lee is silent to wherein an antireflection layer disposed on the light incident surface of the nano-photonic lens array and comprising a plurality of holes, wherein the plurality of holes comprises: a plurality of first holes provided at positions corresponding to a boundary between first pixels, among the plurality of first pixels, and second pixels, among the plurality of second pixels, that are adjacent to the first pixels; and a plurality of second holes facing an inner region of at least one of a first pixel of the plurality of first pixels or a second pixel of the plurality of second pixels.
However, Yokogawa discloses in a same field of endeavor, an image sensor including, inter-alia, wherein an antireflection layer 300 disposed on the light incident surface of the nano-photonic lens array and comprising a plurality of holes 305, wherein the plurality of holes comprises: a plurality of first holes provided at positions corresponding to a boundary between first pixels, among the plurality of first pixels, and second pixels, among the plurality of second pixels, that are adjacent to the first pixels; and a plurality of second holes facing an inner region of at least one of a first pixel of the plurality of first pixels or a second pixel of the plurality of second pixels (see paragraphs [0010], [0111], [0113], [0114] and figs. 2, 3, and 6).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Yokogawa into the image sensor of Lee in order to enable wherein an antireflection layer disposed on the light incident surface of the nano-photonic lens array and comprising a plurality of holes, wherein the plurality of holes comprises: a plurality of first holes provided at positions corresponding to a boundary between first pixels, among the plurality of first pixels, and second pixels, among the plurality of second pixels, that are adjacent to the first pixels; and a plurality of second holes facing an inner region of at least one of a first pixel of the plurality of first pixels or a second pixel of the plurality of second pixels in Lee to be formed in order to obtain an image sensor that is capable of realizing a spectroscopic/imaging device for visible/near-infrared light having a high sensitivity and high wavelength resolution, and of achieving two-dimensional spectrum mapping with high spatial resolution (see paragraph [0037] of Yokogawa). Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
In re claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Lee in combination with Yokogawa discloses wherein a center of each of the plurality of first holes 305 is positioned above the boundary between the first pixels and second pixels that are adjacent to the first pixels (see paragraphs [0010], [0111], [0113], [0114] and figs. 3, and 6 of Yokogawa).
In re claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Lee in combination with Yokogawa discloses wherein each of the plurality of holes 305 has a same width (see paragraphs [0010], [0111], [0113], [0114] and figs. 3, and 6 of Yokogawa).
In re claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Lee in combination with Yokogawa discloses wherein a second hole facing the first pixel, among the plurality of second holes, has a first width, wherein a second hole facing the second pixel, among the plurality of second holes, has a second width different from the first width, and wherein the plurality of first holes have the first width or the second width (see paragraphs [0010], [0111], [0113], [0114] and figs. 3, and 6 of Yokogawa).
In re claim 5, as applied to claim 4 above, Lee in combination with Yokogawa discloses wherein a distance between adjacent holes of the plurality of holes 305 is the same (see paragraphs [0010], [0111], [0113], [0114] and figs. 3, and 6 of Yokogawa).
In re claim 6, as applied to claim 4 above, Lee in combination with Yokogawa discloses wherein the first wavelength is greater than the second wavelength, and the first width is less than the second width (see paragraphs [0010], [0111], [0113], [0114] and figs. 3, and 6 of Yokogawa).
In re claim 7, as applied to claim 1 above, Lee in combination with Yokogawa discloses wherein an average refractive index of the antireflection layer 170 is greater than a refractive index of air and less than an average refractive index of the nano-photonic lens array 130 (see paragraphs [0180], [0183] and figs. 15A and 15B of Lee, note that, the refractive index of the antireflection layer 170 is larger than the reflective index of air but is smaller than that of the nano-photonic lens array 130).
In re claim 11, as applied to claim 1 above, Lee in combination with Yokogawa discloses wherein the antireflection layer 170 comprises an inorganic material having a refractive index that is equal to or greater than about 1 and equal to or less than about 3 (see paragraph [0183] of Lee).
In re claim 12, as applied to claim 1 above, Lee in combination with Yokogawa discloses wherein the nano-photonic lens array 130 comprises a plurality of first lenses facing the plurality of first pixels and a plurality of second lenses facing the plurality of second pixels, and the plurality of nanostructures are configured to condense light of the first wavelength among an incident light incident on a first lens among the plurality of lenses and an incident light incident on at least part of a second lens among the plurality of lenses to a first pixel, and condense light of the second wavelength among an incident light incident on the second lens and an incident light incident on at least part of the first lens to a second pixel (see paragraphs [0092], [0180] and figs. 4A, 4B, 15A, and 15B of Lee).
In re claim 14, as applied to claim 1 above, Lee in combination with Yokogawa discloses wherein each of the plurality of first pixels and the plurality of second pixels comprises a plurality of photosensitive cells grouped in a first direction and a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, arranged two-dimensionally, and independently sensing the incident light, and wherein the sensor substrate 110 comprises an isolation layer electrically isolating the plurality of photosensitive cells (111, 112, 113, 114) from one another (see paragraph [0102] and figs. 4A and 4B of Lee).
In re claim 15, as applied to claim 14 above, Lee in combination with Yokogawa discloses wherein the plurality of second holes 305 are arranged so as not to face the isolation layer (see paragraphs [0113], [0114] and fig. 3 of Yokogawa, note that, a plurality of second holes may not face the isolation layer if the plurality of second holes are arranged in orthodox matrix arrangement 302, since the isolation layer separate a central part of pixel).
In re claim 16, as applied to claim 1 above, Lee in combination with Yokogawa discloses wherein each respective first pixel of the plurality of first pixels and each respective second pixel of the plurality of second pixels comprises the inner region and an outer edge region, wherein the plurality of first pixels and the plurality of second pixels are arranged so that an at least one first pixel of the plurality of first pixels is adjacent to at least one second pixel of the plurality of second pixels such that the edge region of the at least one first pixel and the edge region of the at least one second pixel form the boundary, and wherein an at least one first hole, among the plurality of first holes, faces the boundary (see paragraphs [0113], [0114] and fig. 3 of Yokogawa).
In re claim 17, Lee discloses an electronic apparatus comprising: a lens assembly 1910 configured to form an optical image of a subject; an image sensor 1000 configured to convert the optical image formed by the lens assembly into an electrical signal; and a processor 1960 configured to process the electrical signal generated by the image sensor (see paragraph [0209] and fig. 19), wherein the image sensor comprises: a sensor substrate 110 comprising a plurality of first pixels 131 configured to sense light having a first wavelength and a plurality of second pixels 132 configured to sense light having a second wavelength that is different from the first wavelength (see paragraphs [0090], [0092] and figs. 4A, 4B, 15A, and 15B); a nano-photonic lens array 130 having a light incident surface and comprising a plurality of nanostructures arranged to condense an incident light onto the plurality of first pixels 131 and the plurality of second pixels 132 (see paragraphs [0090], [0092], [0101], [0102], [0103] and figs. 4A, 4B, 15A, and 15B); and an antireflection layer 170 disposed on a light incident surface of the nano-photonic lens array 130 (see paragraph [0180] and fig. 15A).
Lee is silent to wherein an antireflection layer disposed on a light incident surface of the nano-photonic lens array and comprising a plurality of holes arranged periodically and two-dimensionally, wherein the plurality of holes comprise: a plurality of first holes provided at positions corresponding to boundary between first pixels, among the plurality of first pixels, and second pixels, among the plurality of second pixels, that are adjacent to each other; and a plurality of second holes facing an inner region of at least one of a first pixel among the plurality of first pixels or a second pixel among the plurality of second pixels.
However, Yokogawa discloses in a same field of endeavor, an image sensor including, inter-alia, wherein an antireflection layer 300 disposed on the light incident surface of the nano-photonic lens array and comprising a plurality of holes 305 arranged periodically and two-dimensionally, wherein the plurality of holes comprises: a plurality of first holes provided at positions corresponding to a boundary between first pixels, among the plurality of first pixels, and second pixels, among the plurality of second pixels, that are adjacent to each other; and a plurality of second holes facing an inner region of at least one of a first pixel among the plurality of first pixels or a second pixel among the plurality of second pixels (see paragraphs [0010], [0111], [0113], [0114] and figs. 2, 3, and 6).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Yokogawa into the image sensor of Lee in order to enable wherein an antireflection layer disposed on a light incident surface of the nano-photonic lens array and comprising a plurality of holes arranged periodically and two-dimensionally, wherein the plurality of holes comprise: a plurality of first holes provided at positions corresponding to boundary between first pixels, among the plurality of first pixels, and second pixels, among the plurality of second pixels, that are adjacent to each other; and a plurality of second holes facing an inner region of at least one of a first pixel among the plurality of first pixels or a second pixel among the plurality of second pixels in Lee to be formed in order to obtain an image sensor that is capable of realizing a spectroscopic/imaging device for visible/near-infrared light having a high sensitivity and high wavelength resolution, and of achieving two-dimensional spectrum mapping with high spatial resolution (see paragraph [0037] of Yokogawa). Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
In re claim 18, Lee discloses an image sensor comprising: a sensor substrate 110 110 comprising a first pixel 131 configured to sense light of a first wavelength, a second pixel 132 configured to sense light of a second wavelength different from the first wavelength (see paragraphs [0090], [0092] and figs. 4A, 4B, 15A, and 15B), and an isolation layer dividing each of the first pixel and the second pixel into a plurality of photosensitive cells (111,112,113,114) (see paragraphs [0090], [0092], [0101], [0102], [0103] and figs. 4A, 4B, 15A, and 15B); a nano-photonic lens array 130 having a light incident surface and comprising a plurality of nanostructures configured to condense an incident light onto the first pixel 131 and the second pixel 132 (see paragraphs [0090], [0092], [0101], [0102], [0103] and figs. 4A, 4B, 15A, and 15B); and an antireflection layer 170 disposed on the light incident surface of the nano-photonic lens array 130, wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel comprises an edge region and an inner region (see paragraph [1080] and figs. 15A and 15B).
Lee is silent to wherein an antireflection layer disposed on the light incident surface of the nano-photonic lens array, wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel comprises an edge region and an inner region, and wherein the antireflection layer comprises a plurality of holes that face the inner region of each of the first pixel and the second pixel, and do not face the isolation layer.
However, Yokogawa discloses in a same field of endeavor, an image sensor including, inter-alia, wherein an antireflection layer 300 disposed on the light incident surface of the nano-photonic lens array, wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel comprises an edge region and an inner region, and wherein the antireflection layer 170 comprises a plurality of holes 305 that face the inner region of each of the first pixel and the second pixel, and do not face the isolation layer (see paragraphs [0010], [0111], [0113], [0114] and figs. 2, 3, and 6, note that if the plurality of holes 305 are arranged in an orthogonal matrix arrangement 302, the plurality of holes do not face the isolation layer since a separation film separates a central parts of pixels (see figs. 2, 3, and 6)).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Yokogawa into the image sensor of Lee in order to enable wherein an antireflection layer disposed on the light incident surface of the nano-photonic lens array, wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel comprises an edge region and an inner region, and wherein the antireflection layer comprises a plurality of holes that face the inner region of each of the first pixel and the second pixel, and do not face the isolation layer in Lee to be formed in order to obtain an image sensor that is capable of realizing a spectroscopic/imaging device for visible/near-infrared light having a high sensitivity and high wavelength resolution, and of achieving two-dimensional spectrum mapping with high spatial resolution (see paragraph [0037] of Yokogawa). Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
In re claim 19, as applied to claim 18 above, Lee in combination with Yokogawa discloses wherein the sensor substrate further comprises a plurality of first pixels, comprising the first pixel, and a plurality of second pixels, comprising the second pixel, and the antireflection layer 170 further comprising a plurality of holes 305 arranged at positions facing a boundary between a first pixel among the plurality of first pixels and a second pixel, among the plurality of second pixels, that adjacent to each other (see paragraphs [0010], [0111], [0113], [0114] and figs. 2, 3, and 6).
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (KR 10-2022-0058385, cited in the IDS filed on 03/11/2024, Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0137424) being used as English equivalent) in view of Yokogawa (U.S. Pub. 2018/0090531, cited in the IDS filed on 03/11/2024), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakashikiryo et al. (U.S. Pub. 2017/0278889, cited in the IDS filed on 03/11/2024).
In re claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, Lee and Yokogawa are silent to wherein the antireflection layer comprises: a first antireflection layer disposed on the light incident surface of the nano-photonic lens array; and a second antireflection layer disposed on the first antireflection layer, and wherein the second antireflection layer is patterned to include the plurality of holes.
However, Nakashikiryo discloses in a same field of endeavor, an image sensor, including, inter-alia, wherein the antireflection layer comprises: a first antireflection layer 99 disposed on the light incident surface of the nano-photonic lens array 98; and a second antireflection layer 100 disposed on the first antireflection layer 99, and wherein the second antireflection layer 100 is patterned to include the plurality of holes 101 (see paragraphs [0065], [0066], [0067] and figs. 4 and 11).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Nakashikiryo into the image sensor of Lee in order to enable wherein the antireflection layer comprises: a first antireflection layer disposed on the light incident surface of the nano-photonic lens array; and a second antireflection layer disposed on the first antireflection layer, and wherein the second antireflection layer is patterned to include the plurality of holes in Lee to be formed because in doing so a solid-state imaging device that can diffuse components in the interfaces between microlenses and an antireflection layer can be obtain (see paragraph [0024] of Nakashikiryo).
In re claim 9, as applied to claim 8 above, Lee in combination with Yokogawa and Nakashikiryo discloses wherein the first antireflection layer 99 has a first refractive index, the second antireflection layer 100 has a second refractive index, and the first refractive index is higher than the second refractive index (see paragraphs [0065], [0066] and figs. 4 and 11 of Nakashikiryo).
In re claim 10, as applied to claim 8 above, Lee in combination with Yokogawa and Nakashikiryo discloses wherein the first antireflection layer 99 is at least partially patterned to include the plurality of holes 101 (see paragraph [0065] and fig. 4 of Nakashikiryo).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (KR 10-2022-0058385, cited in the IDS filed on 03/11/2024, Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0137424) being used as English equivalent) in view of (Yokogawa (U.S. Pub. 2018/0090531, cited in the IDS filed on 03/11/2024), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of ROH et al. (U.S. Pub. 2021/0126035, cited in the IDS filed on 03/11/2024).
In re claim 13, as applied to claim 1 above, Lee and Yokogawa are silent to wherein the image sensor further comprising: a color filter layer disposed between the sensor substrate and the nano-photonic lens array; and a planarization layer disposed between the color filter layer and the nano-photonic lens array.
However, ROH discloses in a same field of endeavor, an image sensor, including, inter-alia, wherein the image sensor further comprising: a color filter layer 105 disposed between the sensor substrate 110 and the nano-photonic lens array 130; and a planarization layer 120 disposed between the color filter layer 105 and the nano-photonic lens array 130 (see paragraphs [0195], [0196], [0197] and fig. 19).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by ROH into the image sensor of Lee in order to enable wherein the image sensor further comprising: a color filter layer disposed between the sensor substrate and the nano-photonic lens array; and a planarization layer disposed between the color filter layer and the nano-photonic lens array in Lee to be formed in order to improve light utilization efficiency of the image sensor (see paragraph [0004] of ROH).
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 16th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the rejection of claims 1-7, 11, 12, and 14-19 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over KR 10-2022-0058385 (Lee et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0137424) being used as English equivalent) in view of Yokogawa (U.S. Pub. 2018/0090531), Applicant argues that the Lee reference was published less than one year before the effective filing date of the present application, therefore, pursuant to the exception of 35 U.S.C. § 102(b)(1)(A), it is respectfully submitted that the Lee reference does not qualify as prior art under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) with respect to the claims of the present application.
However, it is respectfully submitted that Applicant’s above argument is not persuasive because Applicant’s filing date is 08/18/2023 and that Applicant has not provided an English language translation to the foreign application to KR 10-2022-0103478 which has the filing date of 08/18/2022. Note that, the effective filing date (EFD) claim to foreign priority need to be perfected by providing a certified copy of the priority application, and a translation of the priority application if not in English. In the instant case, the certified copy of KR 10-2022-0103478 has been received. However, the document is in Korean and not in English and the Applicant has not provided an English language translation of KR 10-2022-0103478 and a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. Thus, currently, the reference (KR 10-2022-0058385) was published on 05/09/2022 which is more than a year prior of the current EFD of the present application which is 08/18/2023. Therefore, KR (10-2022-0058385) is a 102(a)(1), 102(a)(2) reference outside of the one year grace period, and thus the exceptions (35 U.S.C. § 102(b)(1)(A) does not apply. Thus, should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a) -(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action, 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
For this reason, it is respectfully submitted the rejections are being maintained in the office action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892