DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office action based on the 18235575 application filed 08/18/23
Claim(s) 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,20 are pending and claim(s) 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10 have been fully considered
Claim(s) 11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,20 non-elected/withdrawn
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/05/2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 12/05/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim(s) 11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"an air supply unit" in claim 1 drawn to "[0018] The air supply unit 200 may include an intake port 11, a fan 210, and a first temperature control unit 220."
"a temperature control unit" in claim 7 drawn to "the first temperature control unit 220 may be a thermoelectric cooling unit including a Peltier element." para 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 10 has the phrase, “a separation guide,” which (in the context of the claim) is unclear what is included and excluded by the scope of claim language;
Particularly, it is unclear what is “a separation guide”
Though one or more of the claim(s) are indefinite, for the sake of compact prosecution, the examiner has done his best to ascertain their meaning for the following 35 USC § 102 and/or 35 USC § 103 rejection(s)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 10639578 (herein known as KITAGUCHI)
With regard to claim 1, KITAGUCHI sufficiently teaches a system intended use of being used with cooling (in an alternative, the air movement is a cooling breeze or the cool side of the turbine) comprising: , especially at c5ln20-42
an air supply unit (compressor 81 type fan, is a structural equivalent), especially at c1ln10-20,c5ln20-42, fig 1
a filter unit 1 providing an air intake path 3 and an air exhaust path 85, especially at c5ln40-67, fig 1
a first filter part including a first filter 4 and providing a first panel slot 3, especially at c5ln40-67, fig 1
a second filter part including a second filter (another of 4) and providing a second panel slot (another of 3), especially at c5ln40-67, fig 1
a blocking panel 28, especially at fig 4, c8ln60-c9ln5
wherein the blocking panel is located in one of the first and second panel slots and is capable of blocking a path of air through one of the first filter part and the second filter part (as depicted), especially at figs 2,4, c5ln40-67, c8ln60-c9ln5; Apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP § 2114 & § 2173.05(g))
With regard to claim 2, KITAGUCHI sufficiently teaches
wherein the blocking panel is closer to the air intake path than to the air exhaust path (as depicted), especially at figs 2,4, c5ln40-67, c8ln60-c9ln5
With regard to claim 3, KITAGUCHI sufficiently teaches
wherein the air intake path and the air exhaust path are provided adjacent to side surfaces of the filter unit, respectively, and are opposite to each other (as depicted), especially at c5ln40-67, fig 1
With regard to claim 5, KITAGUCHI sufficiently teaches
wherein the filter unit further comprises: a first door (upper 15) and a second door (middle 15), especially at fig 2, c7ln39-46, c8ln15-25
wherein the first door and the second door are capable of to be operated independently of each other (alternatively, as depicted), especially at fig 2, c7ln39-46, c8ln15-25; Apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. The manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP § 2114 & § 2173.05(g))
With regard to claim 9, KITAGUCHI sufficiently teaches
wherein the first filter part and the second filter part are stacked in a vertical direction (as depicted), especially at c5ln40-67, fig 1
With regard to claim 10, KITAGUCHI sufficiently teaches
a separation guide 23 between the first filter part and the second filter part, especially at fig 3, c7ln13-25
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4,6,7,8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims; and As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY SHUMATE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776