DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 7-18 in the reply filed on 02/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Amended claims 1-6 do not read on the elected invention in that they require a gate connected between first and second side rails that define an enclosure. These claims are an invention that distinct from the elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shafer et al US 2021/0276849.
Regarding claim 7, Shafer discloses a gate assembly for a safety rail on an aerial work platform, the gate assembly comprising a gate (76) pivotally connected to the safety rail via a hinge (80), wherein the hinge comprises a quick release pin (Shafter, ¶0049), and wherein the hinge is configured such that removal of the quick release pin enables separation of the gate from the safety rail (74).
Regarding claim 12, Shafer discloses a work platform for an aerial lift, the platform comprising: a platform floor (40); a safety rail (74); and a gate assembly coupled with the safety rail, the gate assembly including a gate (76) pivotally connected to the safety rail via a hinge (80), wherein the hinge comprises a quick release pin (Shafer, ¶0049), and wherein the hinge is configured such that removal of the quick release pin enables removal of the gate from the safety rail.
Claim(s) 7, 9, 12, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Crick et al GB 2487505.
Regarding claim 7, Crick discloses a gate assembly for a safety rail on an aerial work platform, the gate assembly comprising a gate (103) pivotally connected to the safety rail (1205) via a hinge (104), wherein the hinge comprises a quick release pin (112), and wherein the hinge is configured such that removal of the quick release pin enables separation of the gate from the safety rail (Crick, page 8: lines 1-11).
Regarding claim 9, Crick further discloses a spring (110) secured on the quick release pin, the spring urging the gate toward a closed position (Crick, page 9: lines 27-30).
Regarding claim 12, Crick discloses a work platform for an aerial lift, the platform comprising: a platform floor (1204); a safety rail (1205); and a gate assembly coupled with the safety rail, the gate assembly including a gate (103) pivotally connected to the safety rail via a hinge (104), wherein the hinge comprises a quick release pin (112), and wherein the hinge is configured such that removal of the quick release pin enables removal of the gate from the safety rail (Crick, page 8: lines 1-11).
Regarding claim 14, Crick further discloses a spring (110) secured on the quick release pin, the spring urging the gate toward a closed position (Crick, page 9: lines 27-30).
Regarding claim 17, Crick further discloses the gate comprises top (107) and bottom (108) connecting plates fixed thereto, and wherein the hinge comprises: a top support plate (502) fixed to the safety rail, a bottom support plate (503) fixed to the safety rail, and the quick release pin extending through the top and bottom support plates and through the top and bottom connecting plates (Crick, Figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10, 11, 13, 15, 16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to disclose either alone or in combination a gate assembly as claimed having a R-clip, a second door, or a hinge having sandwiched plates.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 20230056050.
/KRISTEN C HAYES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642