DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 20 be found allowable, claim 19 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shafer et al US 2021/0276849.
Regarding claim 7, Shafer discloses a gate assembly for a safety rail on an aerial work platform, the gate assembly comprising a gate (76) pivotally connected to the safety rail via a hinge (80), wherein the hinge comprises a quick release pin (Shafter, ¶0049), and wherein the hinge is configured such that removal of the quick release pin enables separation of the gate from the safety rail (74).
Regarding claim 12, Shafer discloses a work platform for an aerial lift, the platform comprising: a platform floor (40); a safety rail (74); and a gate assembly coupled with the safety rail, the gate assembly including a gate (76) pivotally connected to the safety rail via a hinge (80), wherein the hinge comprises a quick release pin (Shafer, ¶0049), and wherein the hinge is configured such that removal of the quick release pin enables removal of the gate from the safety rail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafer et al US 2021/0276849 in view of Francis et al US 20230056050.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Shafer discloses the gate assembly of claim 7 but fails to disclose the quick release pin having a finger pull. Francis teaches a gate assembly with a quick release pin (122) having a finger pull (124). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the quick release pin of Shafer with a finger pull as taught by Francis as to provide a way to easily grasp the pin.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims rejected under Crick GB 2487505 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims rejected under Shafer et al US 2021/0276849 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Safety rails of the instant invention are not claimed in a way that excludes the lower rails of Shafer (Shafer, ¶0049). The gate of Shafer pivots about lower safety rails and therefore meets the limitations of the claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11, and 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to disclose either alone or in combination a gate assembly as claimed having a R-clip, a second door, or a hinge having sandwiched plates.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISTEN C HAYES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642